DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 04/08/2024.
Claims 1-12, 15-22 are currently pending.
Claims 13-14 are canceled in a preliminary amendment.
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 10, 12, 1516 are currently amended.
Claim 17-22 are newly added.
Claims 1-12, 15-22 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 9-11, 15-16, 18-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rojan Chitrakar et al (US 20250261259 A1) in view of Geonjung Ko et al (US 20230262768 A1).
For Claim 1, Chitrakar discloses a communication method (Chitrakar teaches, in ¶ 0051, lines 1-4, that both the originator and recipient support multi-link TS and multi-link BA and have indicated a capability in the Multi-link TS and Block Ack field in the multi-link capability element), comprising:
determining, by an access point (AP) that supports multi-link communication, a multi-station block acknowledgement message (Chitrakar teaches, in ¶ 0056, lines 9-13, generates and transmits a multi-link block acknowledgement frame 534 on one of the plurality of frequency bands 206 acknowledging the signal frames 536a, 536b, 536c received on the plurality of frequency bands 204, 206, 208); and
sending, in a first link, the multi-station block acknowledgement message to a second station (Chitrakar teaches, in ¶ 0053, lines 6-12, that Upon receiving the multi-link BlockAckReq 532 from the multi-link originator 302, the multi-link recipient 304 transmits the multi-link Block Ack 534 on the same link on which the multi-link BlockAckReq 532 was received to indicate that the multi-link recipient 304 successfully received QoS Data A-MPDUs 536a and 536b. Chitrakar explains, in ¶ 0051, lines 24-28, that If the multi-band TS setup 510 was for uplink traffic, the Multi-band ADDBA Request would be would be transmitted in the opposite direction, i.e. by the multi-link recipient 304 to the multi-link originator 302),
the second station supports multi-link communication with the AP, and the first link is a connection that the first station establishes block acknowledgement feedback with the AP (Chitrakar teaches, in ¶ 0074, lines 12-16, that In some deployments Link One 1302 (e.g., the 2.4 GHz band) may be primarily used to exchange management and control frames such as the Multi-link Block Ack Request frames 1308 and the Multi-link BlockAck frames 1310 and may be known as a Primary link).
Examiner notes that Chitrakar’s recitation in ¶ 0074 of using the first link [i.e., the 2.4 GHz band] is consistent with Applicant’s specification which states “For pre-802.11be STA, the sending of the ADDBA request frame needs to be performed in the link (the first link or Link1) in step 120, i.e., the BA feedback is performed in the link in which the ADDBA request frame is sent” (see spec ¶ 0044).
Chitrakar fails to expressly teach that the first station supports single-link communication with the AP.
However, Ko, in the analogous art, discloses wherein the first station supports single-link communication with the AP (Ko teaches, in ¶ 0403, that An operation of a non-STR soft AP multi-link device with a legacy station or a single-link station may be restricted to be performed only in a mandatory link ... The single-link station may be a station incapable of operating in multiple links).
Ko also shows, in ¶ 0357, that Referring to FIG. 35A, AP1 belonging to the AP MLD may perform a frame transmission or reception operation with multiple terminals connected to the AP. For example, AP1 may simultaneously transmit downlink frames to STA1-1, STA2-1, and STA3 by using an OFDMA operation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system taught in Chitrakar with the mandatory link taught in Ko. The motivation is to enable AP-MLD to communicate with a legacy station and/or a single-link station.
For Claim 3, Chitrakar discloses a communication method, further comprising: receiving, in the first link, an add block acknowledgement request message from the first station (Chitrakar teaches, in ¶ 0043, that Block Ack agreement for corresponding TIDs also needs to be performed via an Add Block Ack (ADDBA) Request/Response exchange).
For Claim 4, Chitrakar discloses a communication method, further comprising: receiving, in the first link or an other link different from the first link, an add block acknowledgement request message from the second station (Chitrakar teaches, in ¶ 0054, that The Block Ack is also setup across multiple links using a single Multi-link ADDBA frame exchange 522, 524 on any one link. In addition, in accordance with present embodiments, a consolidated Multi-link BlockAck frame 534 acknowledges a multi-link aggregated transmission, a multi-link BlockAck frame 544 may be used to acknowledge transmission in another link).
For Claim 5, Chitrakar discloses a communication method, wherein the first link or the other link is a link where a traffic identifier is mapped (Chitrakar teaches, in ¶ 0121, that transmit frames of a Traffic Identifier (TID) on one or more links to the second multi-link device based on the block acknowledgement agreement, wherein the first plurality of stations are configured to share a common transmit buffer).
For Claims 7, 9-11, please refer to the rejection of Claims 1, 3-5, above.
For Claim 15, Chitrakar discloses an electronic device, comprising: a processor[[,]]; and a memory storing a computer program executable by the processor (Chitrakar teaches, in ¶ 0119, that FIG. 27, the multi-link device 2700 may include circuitry 2714, radio transmitter 2702, radio receiver 2704 and multiple antennas 2712, controller 2706), wherein the processor is configured to: comprising:
determine, by an access point (AP) that supports multi-link communication, a multi- station block acknowledgement message (Chitrakar teaches, in ¶ 0056, lines 9-13, generates and transmits a multi-link block acknowledgement frame 534 on one of the plurality of frequency bands 206 acknowledging the signal frames 536a, 536b, 536c received on the plurality of frequency bands 204, 206, 208); and
send, in a first link, the multi-station block acknowledgement message to a second station (Chitrakar teaches, in ¶ 0053, lines 6-12, that Upon receiving the multi-link BlockAckReq 532 from the multi-link originator 302, the multi-link recipient 304 transmits the multi-link Block Ack 534 on the same link on which the multi-link BlockAckReq 532 was received to indicate that the multi-link recipient 304 successfully received QoS Data A-MPDUs 536a and 536b. Chitrakar explains, in ¶ 0051, lines 24-28, that If the multi-band TS setup 510 was for uplink traffic, the Multi-band ADDBA Request would be would be transmitted in the opposite direction, i.e. by the multi-link recipient 304 to the multi-link originator 302),
the second station supports multi-link communication with the AP, and the first link is a connection that the first station establishes block acknowledgement feedback with the AP (Chitrakar teaches, in ¶ 0074, lines 12-16, that In some deployments Link One 1302 (e.g., the 2.4 GHz band) may be primarily used to exchange management and control frames such as the Multi-link Block Ack Request frames 1308 and the Multi-link BlockAck frames 1310 and may be known as a Primary link).
Examiner notes that Chitrakar’s recitation in ¶ 0074 of using the first link [i.e., the 2.4 GHz band] is consistent with Applicant’s specification which states “For pre-802.11be STA, the sending of the ADDBA request frame needs to be performed in the link (the first link or Link1) in step 120, i.e., the BA feedback is performed in the link in which the ADDBA request frame is sent” (see spec ¶ 0044).
Chitrakar fails to expressly teach that the first station supports single-link communication with the AP.
However, Ko, in the analogous art, discloses wherein the first station supports single-link communication with the AP (Ko teaches, in ¶ 0403, that An operation of a non-STR soft AP multi-link device with a legacy station or a single-link station may be restricted to be performed only in a mandatory link ... The single-link station may be a station incapable of operating in multiple links).
Ko also shows, in ¶ 0357, that Referring to FIG. 35A, AP1 belonging to the AP MLD may perform a frame transmission or reception operation with multiple terminals connected to the AP. For example, AP1 may simultaneously transmit downlink frames to STA1-1, STA2-1, and STA3 by using an OFDMA operation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system taught in Chitrakar with the mandatory link taught in Ko. The motivation is to enable AP-MLD to communicate with a legacy station and/or a single-link station.
For Claim 16, Chitrakar discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program which, when executed by a processor, Chitrakar teaches, in ¶ 0119, that The circuitry may include at least one controller 2706 for use in software and hardware aided execution of tasks it is designed to perform, including control of communications with one or more other multi-link devices in a M IMO wireless network ) causes the processor to perform the method of claim 1 (please refer to the rejection of Claim 1, above).
For Claim 18, Chitrakar discloses a communication method, wherein multi-links are configured for establishment of block acknowledgement feedback between the second station and the AP (Chitrakar teaches, in ¶ 0051, lines 1-4, that both the originator and recipient support multi-link TS and multi-link BA and have indicated a capability in the Multi-link TS and Block Ack field in the multi-link capability element. (Chitrakar teaches, in ¶ 0074, lines 12-16, that In some deployments Link One 1302 (e.g., the 2.4 GHz band) may be primarily used to exchange management and control frames such as the Multi-link Block Ack Request frames 1308 and the Multi-link BlockAck frames 1310 and may be known as a Primary link)). Additionally, Ko also discloses in ¶ 0403, lines 1-3, that the multiple links may be classified as a mandatory link and an optional link.
For Claim 19, Chitrakar discloses a communication method, further comprising: performing a communication operation based on the multi-station block acknowledgement message, wherein the communication operation comprises at least one of: sending a delete block acknowledgement request; or in response to determining, based on the multi-station block acknowledgement message, that a data frame sent for first time is not received by the AP, sending the data frame for second time (Chitrakar teaches, in ¶ 0048, that When it is determined that transmission of a data frame has failed (e.g., within the data transmission 452, as indicated in the BlockAck frame), the data frame is retransmitted on the same link).
For Claims 20, please refer to the rejection of Claim 18, above.
For Claim 21, Chitrakar discloses an electronic device, comprising: a processor; and a memory storing a computer program executable by the processor (Chitrakar teaches, in ¶ 0119, that FIG. 27, the multi-link device 2700 may include circuitry 2714 … circuitry may include at least one controller 2706 for use in software and hardware aided execution of tasks it is designed to perform, including control of communications with one or more other multi-link devices in a M IMO wireless network), wherein the processor is configured to perform the method of claim 7 (please refer to the rejection of Claim 7, above).
For Claim 22, Chitrakar discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program which, when executed by a processor, Chitrakar teaches, in ¶ 0119, that The circuitry may include at least one controller 2706 for use in software and hardware aided execution of tasks it is designed to perform, including control of communications with one or more other multi-link devices in a M IMO wireless network ) causes the processor to perform the method of claim 7 (please refer to the rejection of Claim 7, above).
Claims 2, 6, 8, 12, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rojan Chitrakar et al (US 20250261259 A1) in view of Geonjung Ko et al (US 20230262768 A1) as applied to claim 1, or 7 above, and further in view of Xiaofei Wang et al (US 20180241531 A1).
For Claims 2, 8, Chitrakar & Ko disclose all of the claimed subject matter with the exception that the multi-station block acknowledgement message is a delayed block acknowledgement message.
However, Wang, in the analogous art, teaches that the multi-station block acknowledgement message is a delayed block acknowledgement message (Wang discloses, in ¶ 0101, 1-3, that the MU-MIMO PPDU format may be used to transmit a delayed multi-user ACKs or block ACKs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system taught in Chitrakar & Ko with the delayed block acknowledgement taught in Wang. The motivation is to effectively reduce the overhead for data packets by acknowledging packets from multiple users simultaneously [Wang: ¶ 0129].
For Claims 6, 12, Chitrakar & Ko disclose all of the claimed subject matter with the exception that the multi-station block acknowledgement message is sent based on: a multicast address assigned to the first station and the second station, or a broadcast address as a receiving address for the multi-station block acknowledgement message.
However, Wang, in the analogous art, teaches that the multi-station block acknowledgement message is sent based on: a multicast address assigned to the first station and the second station, or a broadcast address as a receiving address for the multi-station block acknowledgement message (Wang discloses, in ¶ 0010, that In response to the receiving, an ACK frame may be transmitted to the first STA and to the second STA. The ACK frame may be addressed to a broadcast address. Boger discloses, in in ¶ 0111, that The aggregated multi-user ACK packet may be broadcast or multicast to more than one user (e.g., STA)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system taught in Chitrakar & Ko with the multicast address taught in Wang. The motivation is to improves the system efficiency by allowing the recipient of multiple frames to transmit a single block ACK to acknowledge a block of data frames[Wang: ¶ 0075].
For Claim 17, Chitrakar & Ko disclose all of the claimed subject matter with the exception of receiving, in the first link, a delete block acknowledgement request from the first station and the second station; or receiving, in the first link, a delete block acknowledgement request from the first station, and receiving, in the first link or an other link different from the first link, a delete block acknowledgement request from the second station.
However, Wang, in the analogous art, teaches receiving, in the first link, a delete block acknowledgement request from the first station and the second station; or receiving, in the first link, a delete block acknowledgement request from the first station, and receiving, in the first link or an other link different from the first link, a delete block acknowledgement request from the second station (Wang discloses, in ¶ 0138, that the transmitting and receiving STAs or AP may delete the delayed multi-user ACK arrangement by transmitting a Delete Delayed Multi-user ACK frame (DELDMA) frame, which may be immediately acknowledged by the other party in the delayed multi-user ACK. Boger discloses, in in ¶ 0135, that A Delete Block ACK frame (DELBA) frame may be used as a format of the DELDMA frame).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system taught in Chitrakar & Ko with the multicast address taught in Wang. The motivation is to improves the system efficiency by allowing the recipient of multiple frames to transmit a single block ACK to acknowledge a block of data frames[Wang: ¶ 0075].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure includes: Frederiks (US 20060239213 A1) is pertinent to block acknowledgment protocols in a multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) wireless network, and more particularly to the reduction of overhead and channel bandwidth consumed by block acknowledgment signaling.
/MOHAMED A KAMARA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412