Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-7 and 9-11 in the reply filed on 09/04/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 8 and 12-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/04/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Osabe et al. (US 2015/0053609A1).
Regarding claim 1 and 5, Osabe teaches a polysulfone based hollow fiber membrane (refer abstract), wherein an average pore size of an inner surface of the hollow fiber membrane is 0.50 µm (refer [0160]).
The limitation “particles having a particle size of 0.15 µm have a permeability of 50% or more and 100% or less” is reciting how permeability property of the hollow fiber membrane is calculated without imparting additional structure. Membrane having an average pore size of 0.50 µm inherently allows permeation of 0.15 µm particles.
Regarding claim 3, Osabe teaches limitations of claim 1 as set forth above. Osabe further teaches that average pore diameter of outer surface is 0.7 µm (refer [0165]).
Regarding claim 4, Osabe teaches limitations of claim 1 as set forth above. Osabe further teaches that the membrane has inner diameter of 300 µm and membrane thickness of 80 µm (refer [0149]).
Regarding claims 9-11, Osabe teaches limitations of claim 1 as set forth above. Osabe further teaches a membrane module comprising the hollow fibers and that the module is used for blood purification (Refer abstract, [0001]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osabe et al. (US 2015/0053609A1), in view of Kayama et al. (US 2017/0348650A1).
Regarding claim 2, Osabe teaches limitations of claim 1 as set forth above. Osabe further teaches providing a dense layer (refer [0069], [0184]). Osabe does not teach thickness of the dense layer, however, Kayama teaches hollow fiber membrane having a dense layer having a thickness of 2 to 10 μm (refer [0028], [0052], [0078], [0079]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the hollow fiber membrane of Osabe to provide a dense layer in a range of 2 to 10 μm to control permeability as taught by Kayama.
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osabe et al. (US 2015/0053609A1), in view of Hayashi et al. (JP 2018-057852, refer attached English language machine translation for claim mapping).
Regarding claims 6-7, Osabe teaches limitations of claim 1 as set forth above. Osabe further teaches that the membrane comprises a hydrophilic polymer comprising vinyl ester (refer [0036]). Osabe does not disclose that the hydrophilic polymer comprises monocarboxylic acid and that content of hydrophilic polymer is 5.0 mass% to 15.0 mass%. However, hollow fiber membrane having hydrophilic polymer having monocarboxylic acid vinyl ester units is known in the art and disclosed by Hayashi (refer abstract). Hayashi also teaches that copolymer composed of the above hydrophilic unit and hydrophobic unit, and when the monocarboxylic acid vinyl ester unit is contained as the hydrophobic unit, the hydrophilic unit and the hydrophobic unit in the entire hydrophobic unit Is preferably 10% to 90%, more preferably 20% to 80%. Setting the molar fraction to the above upper limit is preferable for suppressing the increase in hydrophobicity of the entire copolymer and avoiding the adhesion of proteins and platelets. Further, setting the molar fraction to the above lower limit is preferable for suppressing the increase in hydrophilicity of the entire copolymer, avoiding structural instability / denaturation of platelets and proteins, and thus preventing adhesion (refer page 8).
Selection of a known hydrophilic polymer comprising monocarboxylic acid vinyl ester units would have been an obvious matter of choice to one of ordinary skill in the art. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Carlos Echaide-Gorriz et al., Nanofiltration thin-film composite membrane on either the internal or the external surface of a polysulfone hollow fiber, AIChE J. 2020; 66:16970 teaches filtration membrane having gradient pore structure.
/PRANAV N PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779