DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/08/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 9-11 are claiming the conveying system for the inspection device as well as a conveying method. Therefore, it is unclear whether the claims are apparatus claims or a method claims. Appropriate correction is required and respectfully requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carver et al. (US Patent 6,542,580 B1) in view of Liu et al. (CN 108002055 A; the prior art is provided by applicant).
With respect to claim 1, Carver teaches a conveying system (22) for an inspection device (10), comprising (see abstract; Figs. 1-8; column 2, line 46 - column 3, line 33; column 4, line 7 -column 6, line 56; column 7, line 44 – column 9, line 54):
an imaging system (12) configured to scan and inspect an object (11) to be inspected (see Figs. 1 and 2); a first transmission mechanism (24) as a first conveyor section (24) of the conveyor system (22) disposed on an entrance side of the imaging system (12), and configured to convey the object (11) to be inspected to the imaging system (12) (see Figs.1 and 2); and a supporting structure (34) intersecting an inspection surface of the imaging system (12), wherein the first transmission mechanism (24) pushes the object (11) to be inspected to slide along the supporting structure (34) and passes through the imaging system (12), wherein the first transmission mechanism (24) comprises: a chassis; a driving device fixed on the chassis (see abstract; Figs. 1 and 2; column 8, lines 14-48) but fails to explicitly teach an arrangement wherein a lead screw connected to the driving device, and driven by the driving device; a first slide rail fixed on the chassis, wherein an extension direction of the first slide rail is parallel to an extension direction of the lead screw; a sliding mechanism connected to the lead screw, wherein the lead screw drives the sliding mechanism to move, so that the sliding mechanism pushes the object to be inspected to slide on the first slide rail and the supporting structure.
Liu et al. (see translated abstract text and Figs.1-3) teaches the conveying system which explicitly teaches a transmission mechanism comprises:
a chassis; a driving device fixed on the chassis; a lead screw connected to the driving device, and driven by the driving device; a first slide rail fixed on the chassis, wherein an extension direction of the first slide rail is parallel to an extension direction of the lead screw; a sliding mechanism connected to the lead screw, wherein the lead screw drives the sliding mechanism to move, so that the sliding mechanism pushes the object to be inspected to slide on the first slide rail and the supporting structure (see translated abstract text and Figs.1-3) in order to provide user with the capabilities to more precisely move/push the object on the conveyer as needed (see translated abstract text and Figs.1-3).
Carver and Liu et al. disclose related apparatuses for convey the object by the transmission mechanisms.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide teachings of the lead screw connected to the driving device, and driven by the driving device; the first slide rail fixed on the chassis, wherein an extension direction of the first slide rail is parallel to an extension direction of the lead screw; the sliding mechanism connected to the lead screw, wherein the lead screw drives the sliding mechanism to move, so that the sliding mechanism pushes the object to be inspected to slide on the first slide rail and the supporting structure as suggested by Liu et al. in the apparatus of Calver, since such a modification would provide user with the capabilities to more precisely move/push the object on the conveyer for imaging as needed.
It would have been obvious to treat Carver and Liu et al. as related art whereby an improvement on one of the systems would readily be apparent as an improvement on either of the systems.
The Examiner’s conclusion that claim 1 would have been obvious is based on the fact that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art, that one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and that the combination teaches nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR, 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d at 1385 (2007); Sakraida v. AG Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273, 282, 189 USPQ 449, 453 (1976); Anderson ’s-Black Rock, Inc. v. Pavement Salvage Co., 396 U.S. 57, 62-63, 163 USPQ 673, 675 (1969); Great Atlantic & P. Tea Co. v. Supermarket Equipment Corp., 340 U.S. 147, 152, 87 USPQ 303, 306 (1950).
With respect to claim 2, Carver (see abstract; Figs. 1-8; column 2, line 46 - column 3, line 33; column 4, line 7 -column 6, line 56; column 7, line 44 – column 9, line 54) as modified by Liu et al. (see translated abstract text and Figs.1-3) teaches the conveying system for the inspection device of claim 1, wherein Liu et al. further teaches a second slide rail, wherein the second slide rail is fixed on the chassis, the second slide rail is configured to support the sliding mechanism, and the lead screw drives the sliding mechanism to slide on the second slide rail in order to provide user with the capabilities to more precisely move/push the object on the conveyer for imaging as needed.
With respect to claim 3, Carver (see abstract; Figs. 1-8; column 2, line 46 - column 3, line 33; column 4, line 7 - column 6, line 56; column 7, line 44 – column 9, line 54) as modified by Liu et al. (see translated abstract text and Figs.1-3) teaches the conveying system for the inspection device of claim 1, wherein Liu et al further teaches that the driving device comprises a servo motor, one end of the lead screw is connected to an output end of the servo motor, and the other end of the lead screw is connected to the chassis in order to provide user with the capabilities to more precisely move/push the object on the conveyer for imaging as needed.
With respect to claim 9, Carver (see abstract; Figs. 1-8; column 2, line 46 - column 3, line 33; column 4, line 7 - column 6, line 56; column 7, line 44 – column 9, line 54) as modified by Liu et al. (see translated abstract text and Figs.1-3) teaches the conveying system for the inspection device of claim 1, further comprising a second transmission mechanism (26), wherein the second transmission mechanism (26) is disposed on an exit side of the imaging system, and the second transmission mechanism (26) is configured to convey the object (11) to be inspected from the supporting structure (34) (see abstract; Figs. 1-8; column 2, line 46 - column 3, line 33; column 4, line 7 - column 6, line 56; column 7, line 44 – column 9, line 54).
With respect to claim 10, Carver (see abstract; Figs. 1-8; column 2, line 46 - column 3, line 33; column 4, line 7 - column 6, line 56; column 7, line 44 – column 9, line 54) as modified by Liu et al. (see translated abstract text and Figs.1-3) teaches the conveying system for the inspection device of claim 9, wherein a conveying method of the second transmission mechanism (26) comprises an unpowered conveying (see abstract; Figs. 1-8; column 2, line 46 - column 3, line 33; column 4, line 7 - column 6, line 56; column 7, line 44 – column 9, line 54).
With respect to claim 11, Carver (see abstract; Figs. 1-8; column 2, line 46 - column 3, line 33; column 4, line 7 - column 6, line 56; column 7, line 44 – column 9, line 54) as modified by Liu et al. (see translated abstract text and Figs.1-3) teaches the conveying system for the inspection device of claim 9, wherein a conveying method of the second transmission mechanism (26) comprises a belt conveyer conveying, a power roller conveying, a synchronous belt conveying or a lead screw conveying (see abstract; Figs. 1-8; column 2, line 46 - column 3, line 33; column 4, line 7 - column 6, line 56; column 7, line 44 – column 9, line 54).
With respect to claim 12, Carver (see abstract; Figs. 1-8; column 2, line 46 - column 3, line 33; column 4, line 7 - column 6, line 56; column 7, line 44 – column 9, line 54) as modified by Liu et al. (see translated abstract text and Figs.1-3) teaches the conveying system for the inspection device of claim 1, wherein the imaging system comprises a CT imaging system or a DR imaging system (see abstract; Figs. 1-8; column 2, line 46 - column 3, line 33; column 4, line 7 - column 6, line 56; column 7, line 44 – column 9, line 54).
With respect to claim 13, Carver (see abstract; Figs. 1-8; column 2, line 46 - column 3, line 33; column 4, line 7 - column 6, line 56; column 7, line 44 – column 9, line 54) as modified by Liu et al. (see translated abstract text and Figs.1-3) teaches the conveying system for the inspection device of claim 1, wherein protective covers (21) are provided on both the entrance side and the exit side of the imaging system (12), and the protective covers (21) are configured to shield a radiation ray of the imaging system (12) (see abstract; Figs. 1-8; column 2, line 46 - column 3, line 33; column 4, line 7 - column 6, line 56; column 7, line 44 – column 9, line 54).
With respect to claim 14, Carver a conveying system (22) for an inspection device (10), comprising (see abstract; Figs. 1-8; column 2, line 46 - column 3, line 33; column 4, line 7 -column 6, line 56; column 7, line 44 – column 9, line 54):
an imaging system (12) configured to scan and inspect an object (11) to be inspected; a first transmission mechanism (24) as a first conveyor section (24) of the conveyor system (22) disposed on an entrance side of the imaging system (12), and configured to convey the object (11) to be inspected to the imaging system (12); and a supporting structure (34) intersecting an inspection surface of the imaging system (12), wherein the first transmission mechanism (22) pushes the object (11) to be inspected to slide along the supporting structure (34) and passes through the imaging system (12); wherein the first transmission mechanism comprises (24): a chassis; a driving device fixed on the chassis; a synchronous belt driven by the driving device (see abstract; Figs. 1 and 2; column 8, lines 14-48) but fails to explicitly mention a first slide rail fixed on the chassis, wherein the first slide rail is configured to support the object to be inspected and convey the object to be inspected to the supporting structure; a sliding mechanism, wherein the belt drives the sliding mechanism to move, so that the sliding mechanism pushes the object to be inspected to slide on the first slide rail and the supporting structure.
Liu et al. discloses a system for convey an object which explicitly teaches (see translated abstract text and Figs.1-3)
a conveyor as a transmission mechanism comprising a first slide rail fixed on the chassis, wherein the first slide rail is configured to support the object to be inspected and convey the object to be inspected to the supporting structure (see translated abstract text and Figs.1-3); a sliding mechanism, wherein a belt drives the sliding mechanism to move, so that the sliding mechanism pushes the object to be inspected to slide on the first slide rail and the supporting structure (see translated abstract text and Figs.1-3) in order to provide user with the capabilities to more precisely move/push the object on the conveyer as needed.
Carver and Liu et al. disclose related apparatuses for convey the object by the transmission mechanisms.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide teachings of the transmission mechanism comprising a first slide rail fixed on the chassis, wherein the first slide rail is configured to support the object to be inspected and convey the object to be inspected to the supporting structure; a sliding mechanism, wherein the belt drives the sliding mechanism to move, so that the sliding mechanism pushes the object to be inspected to slide on the first slide rail and the supporting structure as suggested by Liu et al. in the Carver, since such a modification would provide user with the capabilities to more precisely move/push the object on the conveyer for imaging as needed.
It would have been obvious to treat Carver and Liu et al. as related art whereby an improvement on one of the systems/methods would readily be apparent as an improvement on either of the systems.
The Examiner’s conclusion that claim 14 would have been obvious is based on the fact that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art, that one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and that the combination teaches nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR, 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d at 1385 (2007); Sakraida v. AG Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273, 282, 189 USPQ 449, 453 (1976); Anderson ’s-Black Rock, Inc. v. Pavement Salvage Co., 396 U.S. 57, 62-63, 163 USPQ 673, 675 (1969); Great Atlantic & P. Tea Co. v. Supermarket Equipment Corp., 340 U.S. 147, 152, 87 USPQ 303, 306 (1950).
Claims 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carver et al. (US Patent 6,542,580 B1) in view of Liu et al. (CN 108002055 A; the prior art is provided by applicant) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Xiang et al. (CN 20938284 U; the prior art provided by applicant).
With respect to claim 4, Carver (see abstract; Figs. 1-8; column 2, line 46 - column 3, line 33; column 4, line 7 - column 6, line 56; column 7, line 44 – column 9, line 54) as modified by Liu et al. (see translated abstract text and Figs. 1-3) teaches the conveying system for the inspection device of claim 1 but fails to explicitly mention that at least one push component is provided on the sliding mechanism, and the push component moves with the sliding mechanism and is configured to push the object to be inspected to move on the first slide rail, wherein the push component comprises: a lever disposed on the sliding mechanism; a knob rotatably disposed on the lever with a Z-axis as a rotating axis, wherein under a driving of the sliding mechanism, the knob abuts onto the object to be inspected to drive the object to be inspected to move.
Xiang et al. discloses a system for convey an object by the transmission mechanisms (see translated abstract text and Figs. 1-9), which explicitly teaches at least one push component is provided on the sliding mechanism, and the push component moves with the sliding mechanism and is configured to push the object on the first slide rail, wherein the push component comprises: a lever disposed on the sliding mechanism; a knob rotatably disposed on the lever with a Z-axis as a rotating axis (see translated abstract text and Figs. 1-9), wherein under a driving of the sliding mechanism, the knob abuts onto the object to drive the object in order to provide user with the capabilities to more precisely move/push the object on the conveyer as needed.
Carver, Liu et al. and Xiang et al. disclose related apparatuses for convey the object by the transmission mechanisms.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide teachings of at least one push component is provided on the sliding mechanism, and the push component moves with the sliding mechanism and is configured to push the object to move on the first slide rail, wherein the push component comprises: a lever disposed on the sliding mechanism; a knob rotatably disposed on the lever with a Z-axis as a rotating axis, wherein under a driving of the sliding mechanism, the knob abuts onto the object to drive the object as suggested by Xiang et al. in the apparatus of Calver as modified by Liu et al., since such a modification would provide user with the capabilities to more precisely move/push the object on the conveyer for imaging as needed.
It would have been obvious to treat Carver, Liu et al. and Xiang et al. as related art whereby an improvement on one of the systems would readily be apparent as an improvement on either of the systems.
The Examiner’s conclusion that claim 4 would have been obvious is based on the fact that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art, that one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and that the combination teaches nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR, 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d at 1385 (2007); Sakraida v. AG Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273, 282, 189 USPQ 449, 453 (1976); Anderson ’s-Black Rock, Inc. v. Pavement Salvage Co., 396 U.S. 57, 62-63, 163 USPQ 673, 675 (1969); Great Atlantic & P. Tea Co. v. Supermarket Equipment Corp., 340 U.S. 147, 152, 87 USPQ 303, 306 (1950).
With respect to claim 5, Carver (see abstract; Figs. 1-8; column 2, line 46 - column 3, line 33; column 4, line 7 - column 6, line 56; column 7, line 44 – column 9, line 54) as modified by Liu et al. (see translated abstract text and Figs.1-3) and Xiang et al. (see translated abstract text and Figs. 1-9) teaches the conveying system for the inspection device of claim 4, wherein Xiang et al. further teaches that at least one knob is rotatably disposed on the lever and is configured as an eccentric structure, wherein the knob has a first position at which the knob protrudes from a carrying surface under a driving of an eccentric force and a second position at which the knob flips below the carrying surface under an action of an external force, wherein the carrying surface is configured to place the object to be inspected; when the sliding mechanism moves in an X direction, the knob is configured to push the object to be inspected to move in the X direction with the knob being at the first position in order to provide user with the capabilities to more precisely move/push the object on the conveyer as needed.
With respect to claim 6, Carver (see abstract; Figs. 1-8; column 2, line 46 - column 3, line 33; column 4, line 7 - column 6, line 56; column 7, line 44 – column 9, line 54) as modified by Liu et al. (see translated abstract text and Figs.1-3) and Xiang et al. (see translated abstract text and Figs. 1-9) teaches the conveying system for the inspection device of claim 5, wherein Xiang et al. further teaches that the knob has: a push surface applicable to abut onto the object to be inspected; a guide surface disposed at an angle with the push surface, and applicable to accept the external force; a limiting structure configured to limit a rotation of the knob when the knob moves to the first position, wherein when the sliding mechanism moves in a negative direction of the X-axis, the guide surface collides with the object to be inspected to drive the knob to move to the second position in order to provide user with the capabilities to more precisely move/push the object on the conveyer as needed.
With respect to claim 7, Carver (see abstract; Figs. 1-8; column 2, line 46 - column 3, line 33; column 4, line 7 - column 6, line 56; column 7, line 44 – column 9, line 54) as modified by Liu et al. (see translated abstract text and Figs.1-3) and Xiang et al. (see translated abstract text and Figs. 1-9) teaches the conveying system for the inspection device of claim 5, wherein Xiang et al. further teaches: a counterweight block disposed on the knob to adjust an eccentricity of the knob, so that the knob automatically resets to the first position, and the push surface is perpendicular to a YZ plane at the first position in order to provide user with the capabilities to more precisely move/push the object on the conveyer as needed.
With respect to claim 8, Carver (see abstract; Figs. 1-8; column 2, line 46 - column 3, line 33; column 4, line 7 - column 6, line 56; column 7, line 44 – column 9, line 54) as modified by Liu et al. (see translated abstract text and Figs.1-3) and Xiang et al. (see translated abstract text and Figs. 1-9) teaches the conveying system for the inspection device of claim 5, wherein Xiang et al. further teaches that a knob is rotatably disposed at one end of the sliding mechanism away from the push component, and the knob away from the push component is spaced apart from the knob of the push component in the X direction in order to provide user with the capabilities to more precisely move/push the object on the conveyer as needed.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to IRAKLI KIKNADZE whose telephone number is (571)272-6494. The examiner can normally be reached 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Irakli Kiknadze
/IRAKLI KIKNADZE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884 /I.K./ February 18, 2026