DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: Examiner suggests moving “and” from the end of line 5 to the end of line 7, such that it is placed between the last two limitations in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 20 recites the limitation "the inner surface" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10, 16, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Esders et al. (WO 2022129366 A1; English language equivalent US 12202342 B2; paragraph numbers pointed out below correlate to the machine translation from the EPO website included in previous office action) in view of Beau et al. (US 8376596 B2), further in view of Salvaggio (WO 2018081338 A1). Esders et al. discloses a method for integrating an electrically activatable display element (electronic display #4) in a body outer skin (including display carrier #1 with outer surface #13 facing user) of a motor vehicle body or a motor vehicle body element (figures 1, 2; paragraphs 0013-0018), the method comprising the steps of:
(claim 10) (a) providing a body structure comprising the body outer skin (#1), the body outer skin having an outer surface (#13) facing a vehicle outer side and an inner surface facing a vehicle inner side (paragraphs 0003, 0007, 0014; figures 1, 2);
(b) providing at least one viewing window aperture (#2) in the body outer skin (#1; figures 1, 2; paragraphs 0013-0017);
(c) depositing at least one adhesive web (including adhesive #3 and/or optical adhesive fluid #8) on the inner surface of the body outer skin (#1) in a region of edges of the at least one viewing window aperture (#2; figures 1, 2; paragraphs 0007, 0013, 0017);
(d) applying the display element (#4) to the adhesive web (including adhesive #3 and/or optical adhesive fluid #8; figures 1, 2; paragraphs 0007, 0013, 0017);
(f) potting the at least one aperture (#2) with a transparent potting compound (including transparent castable polymer material #5), in order to sealingly close the aperture (figures 1, 2; paragraphs 0002, 0006-0009, 0014-0018);
(g) connecting the display element (#4) to an electrical energy supply and control device (electronic display #4 may be connected via electrical connection #7; paragraphs 0020-0023);
(claim 16) wherein the adhesive web (including adhesive #3 and/or optical adhesive fluid #8) deposited on the inner surface of the body outer skin (#1) in step (c) surrounds the edge of the at least one viewing window aperture (#2; figures 1, 2; paragraphs 0007, 0013, 0017);
(claim 17) wherein the adhesive web (including adhesive #3 and/or optical adhesive fluid #8) deposited on the inner surface of the body outer skin (#1) forms a closed adhesive layer, to which the display element (#4) is connected over a large area in step (d) (figures 1, 2; paragraphs 0007, 0013, 0017).
Esders et al. does not specifically disclose method step (e) of applying a potting compound, from the vehicle inner side, to the display element, and to that region of the inner surface of the body outer skin that surrounds the display element. Beau et al. teaches a method for integrating an electrically activatable display element (including illuminating device #30) in a body outer skin (#14) of a motor vehicle body or a motor vehicle body element (motor vehicle interior piece #10; figures 1-7; columns 3-6), the method comprising the step of applying a potting compound (foam layer #16), from a vehicle inner side, to the display element and to a region of an inner surface of the body outer skin that surrounds the display element, in order to seal the display element with respect to a surrounding area on the vehicle inner side (figures 1, 4-7; Abstract; columns 3-6; claims). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Esders et al. to include applying a potting compound, as taught by Beau et al., so as to provide some flexibility to deform when the display element is touched (Beau et al.: Abstract; column 1, line 47-column 2, line 29; column 3, line 56-column 4, line 6; claims).
While Esders et al. discloses the transparent potting compound (including transparent castable polymer material #5), is polished (seamless; paragraphs 0008, 0015), Esders et al. does not specifically disclose in method step (f) sanding and polishing the transparent potting compound when hardened. Salvaggio teaches a vehicle body display element, in which, after curing, layers “may subsequently be filed down by a cutting machine or sander to provide a smooth outer vehicle component surface” and “a sander or cutting machine may be used to smooth the interior surface…of the vehicle component” (paragraphs 0059, 0064). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Esders et al. to include sanding and polishing, as taught by Salvaggio, so as to smooth exposed surfaces of the vehicle body display element for better visual appeal (Salvaggio: paragraphs 0011, 0059, 0064).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Esders et al. (WO 2022129366 A1; English language equivalent US 12202342 B2; paragraph numbers pointed out below correlate to the machine translation from the EPO website included in previous office action) in view of Beau et al. (US 8376596 B2), further in view of Salvaggio (WO 2018081338 A1), and further in view of Tesch (US 3655501 A). Esders et al., as modified by Beau et al. and Salvaggio, does not specifically disclose a display film with compression slots. Tesch teaches a formed element including a film into which a pattern of compression slots, which pass through the film in a thickness direction and confer flexible properties on the element, is cut in a pretreatment step prior to applying an adhesive web of (various patterns of compression slits shown in figures 1-52, and discussion of the slit patterns and application of adhesive film discussed throughout specification). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Esders et al., as modified by Beau et al. and Salvaggio, to include a display film with compression slots, as taught by Tesch, so as to provide additional flexibility to the formed element by allowing for stretching and expansion in at least one direction (discussed throughout Tesch), thereby allowing for use with curved vehicle body elements.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Esders et al. (WO 2022129366 A1; English language equivalent US 12202342 B2; paragraph numbers pointed out below correlate to the machine translation from the EPO website included in previous office action) in view of Beau et al. (US 8376596 B2), further in view of Salvaggio (WO 2018081338 A1), further in view of Tesch (US 3655501 A), and further in view of De Castro Turner et al. (US 2021/0114462 A1). Esders et al., as modified by Beau et al., Salvaggio, and Tesch, does not specifically disclose e-paper film. De Castro Turner et al. teaches a method for integrating an electrically activatable display element (flexible display screen #17) in a body outer skin of a motor vehicle body or a motor vehicle body element (including bodywork panel #13; figures 6-10), wherein the display element is an e-paper film (Abstract; paragraphs 0109, 0110, 0116, 0117, 0119). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Esders et al., as modified by Beau et al., Salvaggio, and Tesch, to include wherein the display element is an e-paper film, as taught by De Castro Turner et al., so as to provide a flexible display screen that better fits a curved motor vehicle body element (De Castro Turner et al.: Abstract; paragraphs 0002, 0024, 0102, 0103, 0109, 0110, 0116, 0117, 0119, 0120).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Esders et al. (WO 2022129366 A1; English language equivalent US 12202342 B2; paragraph numbers pointed out below correlate to the machine translation from the EPO website included in previous office action) in view of Beau et al. (US 8376596 B2), further in view of Salvaggio (WO 2018081338 A1), and further in view of Grevener et al. (US 2014/0042773 A1). Esders et al., as modified by Beau et al. and Salvaggio, does not specifically disclose cathodic dip coating. Grevener et al. teaches a body outer skin is subjected to cathodic dip coating (Abstract; paragraphs 0002, 0007, 0008, 0040-0043; claims). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Esders et al., as modified by Beau et al. and Salvaggio, to include a cathodic dip coating, as taught by Grevener et al., so as to provide a corrosion protection coating for the body outer skin (Grevener et al.: Abstract; paragraphs 0002, 0007, 0008, 0040-0043; claims), thereby extending the lifespan of the vehicle components.
Claim(s) 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Esders et al. (WO 2022129366 A1; English language equivalent US 12202342 B2; paragraph numbers pointed out below correlate to the machine translation from the EPO website included in previous office action) in view of Beau et al. (US 8376596 B2), further in view of Salvaggio (WO 2018081338 A1), and further in view of De Castro Turner et al. (US 2021/0114462 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Esders et al., as modified by Beau et al. and Salvaggio, does not specifically disclose a paint finish. De Castro Turner et al. teaches a method for integrating an electrically activatable display element (flexible display screen #17) in a body outer skin of a motor vehicle body or a motor vehicle body element (including bodywork panel #13; figures 6-10), wherein an outer surface of the body outer skin is provided with a paint finish comprising at least one coat of paint after depositing of an adhesive web (such as, adhesive between optically clear panel #16 and rebate #15, 15' of body work panel #13) and before application of the display element (figures 7-10; Abstract; paragraphs 0033, 0034, 0107-0119, 0125; claims). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Esders et al., as modified by Beau et al. and Salvaggio, to include a paint finish, as taught by De Castro Turner et al., so as to camouflage the joining between components of the display element and the body outer skin, which provides better visual appeal and aerodynamic smoothness (De Castro Turner et al.: Abstract; paragraphs 0033, 0034, 0107-0119, 0125; claims).
Regarding claim 15, Esders et al., as modified by Beau et al. and Salvaggio, does not specifically disclose an external covering. De Castro Turner et al. teaches a method for integrating an electrically activatable display element (flexible display screen #17) in a body outer skin of a motor vehicle body or a motor vehicle body element (including bodywork panel #13; figures 6-10), wherein an external covering (including foam pad #20 and/or retaining panel #21) which covers a display unit (#17) is applied and connected to an inner surface of the body outer skin (figure 10; paragraph 0119). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Esders et al., as modified by Beau et al. and Salvaggio, to include an external covering, as taught by De Castro Turner et al., so as to more securely hold the display element against the outer panels (De Castro Turner et al.: paragraph 0119).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Esders et al. (WO 2022129366 A1; English language equivalent US 12202342 B2; paragraph numbers pointed out below correlate to the machine translation from the EPO website included in previous office action) in view of Salvaggio (WO 2018081338 A1). Esders et al. discloses a motor vehicle (paragraph 0003), comprising:
a body outer skin (including display carrier #1 with outer surface #13 facing user) of a motor vehicle body or a motor vehicle body element (paragraphs 0003, 0007, 0014; figures 1, 2);
an electrically activatable display element (electronic display #4) integrated into at least one viewing window aperture (#2) which is formed in the body outer skin (#1) and behind which the display element is provided on an inner side of the body outer skin (figures 1, 2; paragraphs 0013-0018);
a transparent viewing window layer (layer including transparent castable polymer material #5 covering aperture #2) provided in or on an outer surface (#13) of the body outer skin (#1) in front of or in the at least one viewing window aperture (#2; figures 1, 2; paragraphs 0002, 0006-0009, 0014-0018);
a transparent potting compound (including transparent castable polymer material #5) that fills the at least one viewing window aperture (#2), and that is polished (seamless) on an outer side thereof such that a surface merges seamlessly into a surrounding outer surface of the body outer skin (#1; figures 1, 2; paragraphs 0002, 0006-0009, 0014-0018).
Esders et al. discloses the transparent potting compound (#5) that fills the at least one viewing window aperture (#2) is polished (seamless) on an outer side thereof (paragraphs 0002, 0006-0009, 0014-0018), but does not specifically disclose the transparent potting compound is sanded. Salvaggio teaches a vehicle body display element, in which layers “may subsequently be filed down by a cutting machine or sander to provide a smooth outer vehicle component surface” and “a sander or cutting machine may be used to smooth the interior surface…of the vehicle component” (paragraphs 0059, 0064). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the motor vehicle of Esders et al. to include sanding, as taught by Salvaggio, so as to smooth exposed surfaces of the vehicle body display element for better visual appeal (Salvaggio: paragraphs 0011, 0059, 0064).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Esders et al. (WO 2022129366 A1; English language equivalent US 12202342 B2; paragraph numbers pointed out below correlate to the machine translation from the EPO website included in previous office action) in view of Salvaggio (WO 2018081338 A1), further in view of De Castro Turner et al. (US 2021/0114462 A1). Esders et al., as modified by Salvaggio, does not specifically disclose an external covering. De Castro Turner et al. teaches a motor vehicle comprising a body outer skin of a motor vehicle body or motor vehicle body element (including bodywork panel #13; figures 6-10), a vehicle body display element (flexible display screen #17), and an external covering (including foam pad #20 and/or retaining panel #21) which covers a display unit (#17) that is applied and connected to an inner surface of the body outer skin (figure 10; paragraph 0119). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the motor vehicle of Esders et al., as modified by Salvaggio, to include an external covering, as taught by De Castro Turner et al., so as to more securely hold the display element against the outer panels (De Castro Turner et al.: paragraph 0119).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 28 September 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding page 6 of Applicant's arguments and the newly positively recited limitation in step (f) of claim 10, Esders et al. (WO 2022129366 A1) no longer discloses the claimed method step (e) of applying a potting compound from the vehicle inner side to the display element, and to that region of the inner surface of the body outer skin that surrounds the display element. A new prior art rejection, including Beau et al. (US 8376596 B2) to teach method step (e), and Salvaggio (WO 2018081338 A1) to teach sanding of the transparent potting compound in method step (f), has been set forth above.
Conclusion
/LAURA FREEDMAN/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3614