DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendment filed 04 June 2026, in which claims 10, 12, and 15 were amended.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: Examiner suggests changing “a body outer skin” back to --the body outer skin -- (line 16), since this feature has already been claimed. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 10 recites the limitation "the body outer side" in line 15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10 and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Esders et al. (WO 2022129366 A1; English language equivalent US 12202342 B2; paragraph numbers pointed out below correlate to the machine translation from the EPO website included in previous office action).
In regards to claims 10, 16, and 17, Esders et al. (WO 2022129366 A1) discloses a method for integrating an electrically activatable display element (electronic display #4) in a body outer skin (including display carrier #1 with outer surface #13 facing user) of a motor vehicle body or a motor vehicle body element (figures 1, 2; paragraphs 0013-0018), the method comprising the steps of:
(claim 10) (a) providing a body structure comprising the body outer skin (#1), the body outer skin having an outer surface (#13) facing a vehicle outer side and an inner surface facing a vehicle inner side (paragraphs 0003, 0007, 0014; figures 1, 2);
(b) providing at least one viewing window aperture (#2) in the body outer skin (#1; figures 1, 2; paragraphs 0013-0017);
(c) depositing at least one adhesive web (including adhesive #3 and/or optical adhesive fluid #8) on the inner surface of the body outer skin (#1) in a region of edges of the at least one viewing window aperture (#2; figures 1, 2; paragraphs 0007, 0013, 0017);
(d) applying the display element (#4) to the adhesive web (including adhesive #3 and/or optical adhesive fluid #8; figures 1, 2; paragraphs 0007, 0013, 0017);
(e) applying a potting compound (including adhesive #3, transparent castable polymer material #5, and/or optical adhesive fluid #8), from the vehicle inner side, to the display element (#4) and to that region of the inner surface of the body outer skin (#1) that surrounds the display element, in order to seal the display element with respect to a surrounding area on the vehicle inner side (figures 1, 2; paragraphs 0002, 0006-0009, 0014-0018);
(f) applying a transparent film (including transparent castable polymer material #5 and/or optical adhesive fluid #8), from the body outer side, to the outer surface (#13) of the body outer skin (#1) at least in a region of the at least one aperture (#2), so as to sealingly surround the edges of the aperture (figures 1, 2; paragraphs 0002, 0006-0009, 0014-0018);
(g) connecting the display element (#4) to an electrical energy supply and control device (electronic display #4 may be connected via electrical connection #7; paragraphs 0020-0023);
(claim 16) wherein the adhesive web (including adhesive #3 and/or optical adhesive fluid #8) deposited on the inner surface of the body outer skin (#1) in step (c) surrounds the edge of the at least one viewing window aperture (#2; figures 1, 2; paragraphs 0007, 0013, 0017);
(claim 17) wherein the adhesive web (including adhesive #3 and/or optical adhesive fluid #8) deposited on the inner surface of the body outer skin (#1) forms a closed adhesive layer, to which the display element (#4) is connected over a large area in step (d) (figures 1, 2; paragraphs 0007, 0013, 0017).
In regards to claims 18 and 19, Esders et al. (WO 2022129366 A1) discloses a motor vehicle (paragraph 0003), comprising:
a body outer skin (including display carrier #1 with outer surface #13 facing user) of a motor vehicle body or a motor vehicle body element (paragraphs 0003, 0007, 0014; figures 1, 2);
an electrically activatable display element (electronic display #4) integrated into at least one viewing window aperture (#2) which is formed in the body outer skin (#1) and behind which the display element is provided on an inner side of the body outer skin (figures 1, 2; paragraphs 0013-0018);
a transparent viewing window layer (including transparent castable polymer material #5) provided in or on an outer surface (#13) of the body outer skin (#1) in front of or in the at least one viewing window aperture (#2; figures 1, 2; paragraphs 0002, 0006-0009, 0014-0018);
wherein the at least one viewing window aperture (#2) is covered by a transparent film (including polymer material #5 and/or optical adhesive fluid #8) connected to the body outer skin (#1; figures 1, 2; paragraphs 0002, 0006-0009, 0014-0018);
a transparent potting compound (including transparent castable polymer material #5 and/or optical adhesive fluid #8) that fills the at least one viewing window aperture (#2), and is polished (seamless) on an outer side thereof such that a surface merges seamlessly into a surrounding outer surface of the body outer skin (#1; figures 1, 2; paragraphs 0002, 0006-0009, 0014-0018).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Esders et al. (WO 2022129366 A1; English language equivalent US 12202342 B2; paragraph numbers pointed out below correlate to the machine translation from the EPO website included in previous office action) in view of Tesch (US 3655501 A). Esders et al. does not disclose a display film with compression slots. Tesch teaches a formed element including a film into which a pattern of compression slots, which pass through the film in a thickness direction and confer flexible properties on the element, is cut in a pretreatment step prior to applying an adhesive web of (various patterns of compression slits shown in figures 1-52, and discussion of the slit patterns and application of adhesive film discussed throughout specification). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Esders et al. to include a display film with compression slots, as taught by Tesch, so as to provide additional flexibility to the formed element by allowing for stretching and expansion in at least one direction (discussed throughout Tesch), thereby allowing for use with curved vehicle body elements.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Esders et al. (WO 2022129366 A1; English language equivalent US 12202342 B2; paragraph numbers pointed out below correlate to the machine translation from the EPO website included in previous office action) in view of Tesch (US 3655501 A), further in view of De Castro Turner et al. (US 2021/0114462 A1). Esders et al., as modified by Tesch, does not disclose e-paper film. De Castro Turner et al. teaches a method for integrating an electrically activatable display element (flexible display screen #17) in a body outer skin of a motor vehicle body or a motor vehicle body element (including bodywork panel #13; figures 6-10), wherein the display element is an e-paper film (Abstract; paragraphs 0109, 0110, 0116, 0117, 0119). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Esders et al., as modified by Tesch, to include wherein the display element is an e-paper film, as taught by De Castro Turner et al., so as to provide a flexible display screen that better fits a curved motor vehicle body element (De Castro Turner et al.: Abstract; paragraphs 0002, 0024, 0102, 0103, 0109, 0110, 0116, 0117, 0119, 0120).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Esders et al. (WO 2022129366 A1; English language equivalent US 12202342 B2; paragraph numbers pointed out below correlate to the machine translation from the EPO website included in previous office action) in view of Grevener et al. (US 2014/0042773 A1). Esders et al. does not disclose cathodic dip coating. Grevener et al. teaches a body outer skin is subjected to cathodic dip coating (Abstract; paragraphs 0002, 0007, 0008, 0040-0043; claims). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Esders et al. to include a cathodic dip coating, as taught by Grevener et al., so as to provide a corrosion protection coating for the body outer skin (Grevener et al.: Abstract; paragraphs 0002, 0007, 0008, 0040-0043; claims), thereby extending the lifespan of the vehicle components.
Claim(s) 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Esders et al. (WO 2022129366 A1; English language equivalent US 12202342 B2; paragraph numbers pointed out below correlate to the machine translation from the EPO website included in previous office action) in view of De Castro Turner et al. (US 2021/0114462 A1).
In regards to claim 14, Esders et al. does not disclose a paint finish. De Castro Turner et al. teaches a method for integrating an electrically activatable display element (flexible display screen #17) in a body outer skin of a motor vehicle body or a motor vehicle body element (including bodywork panel #13; figures 6-10), wherein an outer surface of the body outer skin is provided with a paint finish comprising at least one coat of paint after depositing of an adhesive web (such as, adhesive between optically clear panel #16 and rebate #15, 15’ of body work panel #13) and before application of the display element (figures 7-10; Abstract; paragraphs 0033, 0034, 0107-0119, 0125; claims). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Esders et al. to include a paint finish, as taught by De Castro Turner et al., so as to camouflage the joining between components of the display element and the body outer skin, which provides better visual appeal and aerodynamic smoothness (De Castro Turner et al.: Abstract; paragraphs 0033, 0034, 0107-0119, 0125; claims).
In regards to claim 15, Esders et al. does not disclose an external covering. De Castro Turner et al. teaches a method for integrating an electrically activatable display element (flexible display screen #17) in a body outer skin of a motor vehicle body or a motor vehicle body element (including bodywork panel #13; figures 6-10), wherein an external covering (including foam pad #20 and/or retaining panel #21) which covers a display unit (#17) is applied and connected to an inner surface of the body outer skin (figure 10; paragraph 0119). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Esders et al. to include an external covering, as taught by De Castro Turner et al., so as to more securely hold the display element against the outer panels (De Castro Turner et al.: paragraph 0119).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regards to page 6 and claim 10, Applicant argues that Esders et al. (WO 2022129366 A1; English language equivalent US 12202342 B2) does not disclose step (f) applying a transparent film, from the body outer side, to the outer surface of the body outer skin at least in a region of the at least one aperture. As set forth above, Esders et al. (WO 2022129366 A1; English language equivalent US 12202342 B2) discloses applying a transparent film (including transparent castable polymer material #5 and/or optical adhesive fluid #8), from the body outer side, to the outer surface (#13) of the body outer skin (#1) at least in a region of the at least one aperture (#2; figures 1, 2; paragraphs 0002, 0006-0009, 0014-0018).
In regards to page 6 and claim 18, Applicant argues that Esders et al. (WO 2022129366 A1; English language equivalent US 12202342 B2) does not disclose wherein the at least one viewing window aperture is covered by a transparent film connected to the body outer skin. As set forth above, Esders et al. (WO 2022129366 A1; English language equivalent US 12202342 B2) discloses wherein the at least one viewing window aperture (#2) is covered by a transparent film (including polymer material #5 and/or optical adhesive fluid #8) connected to the body outer skin (#1; figures 1, 2; paragraphs 0002, 0006-0009, 0014-0018).
In regards to page 6 and claim 19, Applicant argues that Esders et al. (WO 2022129366 A1; English language equivalent US 12202342 B2) does not disclose a transparent potting compound that fills the at least one viewing window aperture, and is polished on an outer side thereof such that a surface merges seamlessly into a surrounding outer surface of the body outer skin. As set forth above, Esders et al. (WO 2022129366 A1; English language equivalent US 12202342 B2) discloses a transparent potting compound (including transparent castable polymer material #5 and/or optical adhesive fluid #8) that fills the at least one viewing window aperture (#2), and is polished (seamless) on an outer side thereof such that a surface merges seamlessly into a surrounding outer surface of the body outer skin (#1; figures 1, 2; paragraphs 0002, 0006-0009, 0014-0018).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAURA FREEDMAN/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3614