DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The response filed on July 9, 2026 is acknowledged. One page of drawing was received on July 9, 2026. The drawing is acceptable to correct the obvious scrivener’s errors in the original disclosure.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I in the reply filed on February 10, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 16 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on February 10, 2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore:
the closure part in claim 18 (In the response filed on July 9, 2026, the Applicant clarifies that element 16, "closure 16" and "closure portion 16" is/are the closure part in claim 18. Examiner’s note: While there appears to be basis for these terms in the original specification nonetheless the meaning of every terms, especially terms now used to patentably define over the prior art, used in any of the claims should be apparent from the descriptive portion of the specification with clear disclosure as to its import. The use of a confusing variety of terms for the same thing or the use of same terms to refer a variety of different things should not be permitted); and
a thickness of an arc-shaped portion of each of the plurality of spiral wedge elements near the cover is greater than a thickness of an arc-shaped portion of each of the plurality of spiral wedge elements away from the cover as amended in claim 1. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“spraying equipment” in line 1 of claim 11, where the “equipment” is the placeholder and “spraying” is the functional language; and
“connection portion” in line 2 of claim 17, where the “portion” is the placeholder and “connection” is the functional language. Same interpretation applies to all pending claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites “a thickness of an arc-shaped portion of each of the plurality of spiral wedge elements near the cover is greater than a thickness of an arc-shaped portion of each of the plurality of spiral wedge elements away from the cover” in lines 15-17 rendering the claim indefinite because the plurality of spiral wedge elements are elements of the cover 2, it is unclear how can the plurality of spiral wedge elements be measured nearer or closer to itself? Clarification is respectfully requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-15 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gerson et al. (US11040360. Gerson hereinafter) in view of Farrar et al. (US 8245860. Farrar hereinafter).
With respect to claim 11, Gerson discloses
a liquid supply device (Figs. 1-12) for spraying equipment (spray gun. Not shown), comprising:
a cover (200) having a fluid outlet (230), wherein the fluid outlet is configured to (capable of) connect the cover to the spraying equipment (via 240. Fig. 2);
an inner liner (130) having a flange (outer rim) , wherein the inner liner collapses when fluid contained within the inner liner is drawn from the liquid supply device; and,
a rigid outer cup (110, 120) having an open end (accommodating 130), wherein the cover extends over the open end, the inner liner is received in the rigid outer cup (Fig. 7), and the cover is adapted to both the rigid outer cup and the inner liner;
wherein a plurality of spiral wedge elements (270) is uniformly arranged on an outer edge of the cover (Fig. 3); a plurality of spiral wedge grooves (in between 1630) is uniformly arranged on an upper edge of an inner wall of the rigid outer cup (Fig. 9A-C); the plurality of spiral wedge elements are adapted to the plurality of spiral wedge grooves in one-to-one correspondence (Col. 6, lines 14-16); and when each of the plurality of spiral wedge elements is screwed into a corresponding spiral wedge grooves, the cover is connected to the rigid outer cup.
Gerson fails to disclose wherein a thickness of an arc-shaped portion of each of the plurality of spiral wedge elements near the cover is greater than a thickness of an arc-shaped portion of each of the plurality of spiral wedge elements away from the cover.
However, Farrar teaches a cover (15. Fig. 1(a)), a rigid outer cup (3) having an open end (9), wherein a plurality of spiral wedge elements (19 and 25) is uniformly arranged on an outer edge of the cup; a plurality of spiral wedge grooves (in between 21) is uniformly arranged on a lower edge of an inner wall of the cover); the plurality of spiral wedge elements are adapted to the plurality of spiral wedge grooves in one-to-one correspondence; and when each of the plurality of spiral wedge elements is screwed into a corresponding spiral wedge grooves, the cover is connected to the rigid outer cup and wherein a thickness of an arc-shaped portion (at 25) of each of the plurality of spiral wedge elements near the cover is greater than a thickness of an arc-shaped portion (19) of each of the plurality of spiral wedge elements away from the cover.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of a wedge-shaped projection, as taught by Farrar, to Gerson’s thread connection, in order to allow for the removal of the collar from the container body (Col. 9, lines 16-23).
As for the reversal of the spiral wedge elements and spiral wedge grooves on the cover and cup, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reverse the spiral wedge elements and spiral wedge grooves on the cover and cup. It has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167.
With respect to claim 12, Gerson’s liquid supply device modified by Farrar’s wedge-shaped projection, Gerson further discloses the liquid supply device for spraying equipment according to claim 11, wherein the plurality of spiral wedge elements comprises four spiral wedge elements are uniformly arranged on the cover (Fig. 12).
With respect to claim 13, Gerson’s liquid supply device modified by Farrar’s wedge-shaped projection, Gerson further discloses the liquid supply device for spraying equipment according to claim 11, wherein each of the plurality of spiral wedge groove is formed by a unidirectional protrusion (of 1630. same configuration as the Applicant’s invention), and the unidirectional protrusion protrudes in the direction of (toward) a center of a circle of the open end of the rigid outer cup; and an upper surface of the unidirectional protrusion is located in the same plane as an upper surface of the upper edge of the inner wall of the rigid outer cup (See Fig. 9C with additional annotations below), and a lower surface of the unidirectional protrusion is a spiral surface, and the lower surface is oriented towards a bottom of the rigid outer cup (Fig. 9C).
With respect to claim 14, Gerson’s liquid supply device modified by Farrar’s wedge-shaped projection, Gerson further discloses the liquid supply device for spraying equipment according to claim 11, wherein the plurality of spiral wedge elements and plurality of spiral wedge grooves are only in the form of one part of one turn of corresponding external and internal threads, respectively (Same configuration as the Applicant’s invention).
With respect to claim 15, Gerson’s liquid supply device modified by Farrar’s wedge-shaped projection, Gerson further discloses the liquid supply device for spraying equipment according to claim 11, wherein a corresponding place of the inner wall of the rigid outer cup below the plurality of spiral wedge grooves is provided with a placing ring surface (pointed by “1620” in Fig. 9A), and the placing ring surface is used for placing the flange of the inner liner (Fig. 10B).
With respect to claim 17, Gerson’s liquid supply device modified by Farrar’s wedge-shaped projection, Gerson further discloses the liquid supply device for spraying equipment according to claim 11, wherein the fluid outlet is provided with a connection portion (230), the connection portion is adapted to a connection method of the spraying equipment.
With respect to claim 18, Gerson’s liquid supply device modified by Farrar’s wedge-shaped projection, Gerson further discloses the liquid supply device for spraying equipment according to claim 11, wherein a closure part (275) matching with an opening of the inner liner is provided at a corresponding place of the cover (Fig. 10B).
With respect to claim 19, Gerson and Farrar disclose the liquid supply device for spraying equipment according to claim 11, wherein a stop sheet (pointed by “1620” in Fig. 9A) is provided at a tail (lower) end of the spiral wedge groove; and a cross section of the spiral wedge element is a trapezoidal shape or a triangular shape (Fig. 9C).
Gerson and Farrar fail to specifically disclose the length of the spiral wedge element is between 1-2 cm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the length of the spiral wedge element is between 1-2 cm, since the claimed values are merely an optimum or workable range. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
With respect to claim 20, Gerson’s liquid supply device modified by Farrar’s wedge-shaped projection, Gerson further discloses the liquid supply device for spraying equipment according to claim 12, wherein the four spiral wedge elements are identical (Fig. 12).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-15 and 17-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. See revised drawing objections and 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections elaborated above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHEE-CHONG LEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 July 20, 2026