DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I in the reply filed on February 10, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 16 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on February 10, 2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore:
the closure part in claim 18; and
the stop sheet in claim 19 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“spraying equipment” in line 1 of claim 11, where the “equipment” is the placeholder and “spraying” is the functional language; and
“connection portion” in line 2 of claim 17, where the “portion” is the placeholder and “connection” is the functional language. Same interpretation applies to all pending claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the spiral wedge elements" in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner is unsure if the “spiral wedge elements" in line 12 is or is not the “spiral wedge elements" from the "plurality of spiral wedge elements" recited in line 9 of claim 1 or additional “spiral wedge elements" are required in addition to the "plurality of spiral wedge elements" recited in line 9 of claim 1? Furthermore, the Examiner is unsure if the “spiral wedge elements" in line 12 is all or part (some or subset) of the “spiral wedge elements" from the "plurality of spiral wedge elements" recited in line 9 of claim 1. Similar rejection applies to the limitation "the spiral wedge grooves" in line 12. Same rejection applies to all pending claims
In claim 12, lines 1-2, the recitation “four spiral wedge elements” appears to be a double inclusion of the “plurality of spiral wedge elements” recited in lines 1-2. In the interest of compact prosecution, the limitations in claim 12 will be interpreted as “wherein the plurality of spiral wedge elements comprises four spiral wedge elements that are uniformly arranged on the cover.” Similar rejection applies to claim 20.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the spiral wedge groove" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There are more that one “spiral wedge groove” in the claim, it is unclear which particular “spiral wedge groove” is referred by the Applicant. Clarification is respectfully requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-15, 17, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gerson et al. (US11040360. Gerson hereinafter).
With respect to claim 11, Gerson discloses a liquid supply device (Figs. 1-12) for spraying equipment (spray gun. Not shown), comprising: a cover (200) having a fluid outlet (230), wherein the fluid outlet is configured to (capable of) connect the cover to the spraying equipment (via 240. Fig. 2); an inner liner (130) having a flange (outer rim) , wherein the inner liner collapses when fluid contained within the inner liner is drawn from the liquid supply device; and, a rigid outer cup (110, 120) having an open end (accommodating 130), wherein the cover extends over the open end and the inner liner is received in the rigid outer cup (Fig. 7), the cover is adapted to both the rigid outer cup and the inner liner; wherein a plurality of spiral wedge elements (270) is uniformly arranged on an outer edge of the cover (Fig. 3); a plurality of spiral wedge grooves (in between 1630) is uniformly arranged on an upper edge of an inner wall of the rigid outer cup (Fig. 9A-C); the spiral wedge elements are adapted to the spiral wedge grooves in one-to-one correspondence (Col. 6, lines 14-16); and when the spiral wedge elements are screwed into the spiral wedge grooves, the cover is connected to the rigid outer cup.
With respect to claim 12, Gerson discloses the liquid supply device for spraying equipment according to claim 11, wherein four spiral wedge elements are uniformly arranged on the cover (Fig. 12).
With respect to claim 13, Gerson discloses the liquid supply device for spraying equipment according to claim 11, wherein the spiral wedge groove is formed by a unidirectional protrusion (of 1630. same configuration as the Applicant’s invention), the unidirectional protrusion protrudes in the direction of (toward) a center of a circle of the open end of the rigid outer cup; an upper surface of the unidirectional protrusion is located in the same plane as an upper surface of the upper edge of the inner wall of the rigid outer cup (See Fig. 9C with additional annotations below), and a lower surface of the unidirectional protrusion is a spiral surface, the lower surface is oriented towards a bottom of the rigid outer cup (Fig. 9C).
With respect to claim 14, Gerson discloses the liquid supply device for spraying equipment according to claim 11, wherein the spiral wedge elements and spiral wedge grooves are only in the form of one part of one turn of corresponding external and internal threads, respectively (Same configuration as the Applicant’s invention).
With respect to claim 15, Gerson discloses the liquid supply device for spraying equipment according to claim 11, wherein a corresponding place of the inner wall of the rigid outer cup below the plurality of spiral wedge grooves is provided with a placing ring surface (pointed by “1620” in Fig. 9A), and the placing ring surface is used for placing the flange of the inner liner (Fig. 10B).
With respect to claim 17, Gerson discloses the liquid supply device for spraying equipment according to claim 11, wherein the fluid outlet is provided with a connection portion (230), the connection portion is adapted to a connection method of the spraying equipment.
With respect to claim 18, Gerson discloses the liquid supply device for spraying equipment according to claim 11, wherein a closure part (275) matching with an opening of the inner liner is provided at a corresponding place of the cover (Fig. 10B).
With respect to claim 20, Gerson discloses the liquid supply device for spraying equipment according to claim 12, wherein the four spiral wedge elements are identical (Fig. 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gerson.
With respect to claim 19, Gerson discloses the liquid supply device for spraying equipment according to claim 11, wherein a stop sheet (pointed by “1620” in Fig. 9A) is provided at a tail (lower) end of the spiral wedge groove; and a cross section of the spiral wedge element is a trapezoidal shape or a triangular shape (Fig. 9C).
Gerson fails to specifically disclose the length of the spiral wedge element is between 1-2 cm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the length of the spiral wedge element is between 1-2 cm, since the claimed values are merely an optimum or workable range. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following patents are cited to show the art with respect to a liquid supply device: Yang, Joseph et al., Malin, Janssen et al., Valpey, III et al., Bouic et al., Kosmyna et al., Pendleton et al., Joseph et al., O'Brien, Kosmyna et al. and Bouic et al.
/CHEE-CHONG LEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 April 2, 2026