DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kuriyama et al. (US 20130245157 A1; herein referred to as “Kuriyama”).
With respect to Claim 1, Kuriyama teaches a binder for aqueous inkjet inks (¶0021) comprising:
an aqueous medium (B) (¶0022),
the composite resin (A) (i.e., “composite resin particles (C)”; ¶0022) forming core-shell-type particles (¶0023) having
a shell part containing a polyurethane (a1) (i.e., “urethane resin”; ¶0022-0023) having acid groups (i.e., in the production of the “urethane resin”, “hydrophilic group-containing polyol (a1-1) and other polyols may be used in combination”, such as “polyols having a carboxyl group” combined with “a polycarbonate polyol”; ¶0050; 0055-0056).
a core part containing an acrylic polymer (a2) (i.e., “vinyl polymer” that can be produced with “meth(acrylic) monomers”; emphasis added; ¶0022-0023; ¶0086).
With respect to Claim 2, Kuriyama teaches the binder for aqueous inkjet inks (¶0021) according to claim 1, wherein the polyurethane (a1) (i.e., “urethane resin”; ¶0022-0023 & ¶0042) has an acid value of 10 to 70 mgKOH/g (i.e., “acid value of 10 to 80”; ¶0042). The acid value range taught by Kuriyama anticipates the claimed range.
With respect to Claim 3, Kuriyama teaches the binder for aqueous inkjet inks (¶0021) according to claim 1 or 2, wherein the acrylic polymer (a2) (i.e., “vinyl polymer” that can be produced with “meth(acrylic) monomers”; emphasis added; ¶0022-0023; ¶0086) has a C4-10 alkyl (meth)acrylate as an essential raw material (i.e., “methyl(meth)acrylate” used as the monomer; ¶0085-0087).
With respect to Claim 4, Kuriyama teaches the binder for aqueous inkjet inks (¶0021) according to claim 1, wherein a mass ratio (a1/a2) of the polyurethane (a1) (i.e., “urethane resin (A)”; ¶0022-0023 & ¶0030) to the acrylic polymer (a2) (i.e., “vinyl polymer (B)” that can be produced with “meth(acrylic) monomers”; emphasis added; ¶0022-0023, ¶0086, & ¶0030) is 95/5 to 50/50 (i.e., a mass ratio of “1/99 to 99/1”; ¶0030). The mass ratio range taught by Kuriyama anticipates the claimed range.
With respect to Claim 5, Kuriyama teaches an aqueous inkjet ink (i.e., “ink-jet printing ink…includes…an aqueous medium”; ¶0021) comprising the binder for aqueous inkjet inks (¶0021) according to claim 1.
With respect to Claim 6, Kuriyama teaches a printed layer formed by the aqueous inkjet ink (i.e., printed matter on a substrate, formed by an ink-jet printer using the ink taught in Kuriyama; ¶0145) according to claim 5.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Chen et al. (US 20160319147A1; herein referred to as “Chen”) teaches a binder for aqueous inkjet inks with the limitations claimed (Chen: Abstract; ¶0047-0048, ¶0057-0058, ¶0067, ¶0069-0070), disclosing “a post-treatment fluid includes a fluid vehicle and an anionic polyurethane acrylic hybrid polymer binder dispersed in the fluid vehicle…The anionic polyurethane acrylic hybrid polymer binder includes an acrylic polymer or copolymer, and an anionic polyurethane polymer encapsulating the acrylic polymer or copolymer” (Chen: Abstract).
/RICARDO I MAGALLANES/ Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/SHLOMIT CHELST/ Examiner, Art Unit 2853