DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Examiner notes Applicant has cancelled claims 2-3.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended independent claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection for the independent claim does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant arguments regarding dependent claims are also now moot, given they are based on an independent claim 1 that has new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 & 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 20160319147 A1; herein referred to “Chen”).
With respect to Claim 1, Chen teaches a binder (i.e., binder used in an inkjet ink set; Chen: Abstract) for aqueous inkjet inks (i.e., ink may include water; Chen: ¶0021) comprising:
a composite resin (A) (i.e., “anionic polyurethane acrylic hybrid binder”; Chen: ¶0048); and
an aqueous medium (B) (i.e. water used in anionic polyurethane acrylic hybrid polymer binder; Chen: ¶0049; water may also be used as the fluid vehicles in Chen’s inkjet ink and in Chen’s post treatment liquid used for inkjet ink; Chen: ¶0021 & ¶0042),
the composite resin (A) forming core-shell-type particles (i.e., “anionic polyurethane acrylic hybrid binder” with core and shell; Chen: ¶0048) having a shell part containing a polyurethane (a1) (i.e., “polyurethane polymer may be the shell”; Chen: ¶0048) having acid groups (i.e., “anionic polyurethane polymer” with an acid number from about 15 mg KOH/g to about 150 mg KOH/g; Chen: ¶0067 & Table 1) and a core part containing an acrylic polymer (a2) (i.e., “acrylic polymer or copolymer may be the core”; Chen: ¶0048),
wherein a monomer raw material of the acrylic polymer (a2) comprises (Chen: ¶0069-0070)
an alkyl (meth) acrylate having a total carbon number of 4 to 10 (i.e., “methyl methacrylate”; Chen: ¶0069-0070). Methyl methacrylate has a total carbon number of five, which falls within the claimed range.
and a hydroxy group-containing (meth) acrylate (i.e., “hydroxyethyl acrylate”; Chen: ¶0069-0070),
wherein the alkyl (meth) acrylate is methyl methacrylate (i.e., “methyl methacrylate”; Chen: ¶0069-0070),
wherein the hydroxy group-containing (meth) acrylate is 2-hydroxyethyl (meth) acrylate (i.e., “hydroxyethyl acrylate”; Chen: ¶0069-0070),
wherein a glass transition temperature of the acrylic polymer (a2) is 20°C to 110°C (i.e., “ranges -30°C to 100°C; Chen: ¶0069). Chen teaches a range that overlaps with the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a Prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05).
and wherein an acid value of the polyurethane (a1) is 10 to 30 mg KOH/g (i.e., 15 mg KOH/g to 150 mg KOH/g; Chen: ¶0067). Chen teaches a range that overlaps with the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a Prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05).
With respect to Claim 4, Chen teaches the binder (i.e., binder used in an inkjet ink set; Chen: Abstract) for aqueous inkjet inks (i.e., ink may include water; Chen: ¶0021) according to claim 1, wherein a mass ratio (a1/a2) of the polyurethane (a1) to the acrylic polymer (a2) is 95/5 to 50/50 (i.e., 50/50; Chen: ¶0048). Chen teaches a range that overlaps with the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a Prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05).
With respect to Claim 5, Chen teaches an aqueous inkjet ink comprising the binder for aqueous inkjet inks according to claim 1 (i.e., ink composition which comprises “water, the pigment, and an anionic polymer that disperses the pigment”, such as the “anionic polyurethane acrylic hybrid binder”; Chen: ¶0025 & ¶0047-0048). Chen does not preclude the binder from being used within an aqueous inkjet ink, but does acknowledge that smaller quantities of the binder would be used within an ink compared to the binder’s mass percentage within a post-treatment liquid (¶0047-0048).
With respect to Claim 6, Chen teaches a printed layer (i.e., depositing ink onto a medium; Chen: ¶0075-0078) formed by the aqueous inkjet ink according to claim 5 (i.e., aqueous inkjet ink; Chen: ¶0021, 0025, & 0047-0048).
With respect to Claim 7, Chen teaches the binder (i.e., binder used in an inkjet ink set; Chen: Abstract) for aqueous inkjet inks (i.e., ink may include water; Chen: ¶0021) according to claim 1, wherein the glass transition temperature of the acrylic polymer (a2) is 78°C to 110°C (i.e., -30 °C to 100°C; Chen: ¶0069). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a Prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHLOMIT CHELST/ Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/RICARDO I MAGALLANES/ Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853