DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to the correspondence filled on 2/26/26.
Claims 1-21 are presented for examination.
IDS Considerations
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/8/24 is/are being considered by the examiner as the submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/26/26 with respect to claims 1-21 have been considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argued in page 6 that Koga does not discuss at least "a valve located within the working channel to control flow of drainage fluid therethrough" where the working channel is "included in an insertion tube" where the insertion tube is "configured for insertion into an internal passage of a patient," as recited in independent claim 1.
Examiner disagree on this because Koga Fig. 3 [0045] In FIG. 3, the fluid port 40 is disposed at an end of the fluid lumen 39 [where the working channel is "included in an insertion tube" where the insertion tube is "configured for insertion into an internal passage of a patient"] opposite to its end with the water jet nozzle 38. A wall of the fluid port 40 is formed integrally with an outer cover of the light guide connection plug 30. The fluid lumen 39 is connected to the fluid supply source 15 by the adapter tube set 16 which is attached to the fluid port 40.
Kuramoto teach "a valve located within the working channel to control flow of drainage fluid therethrough" as shown in Kuramoto [0059] That is, as shown in FIG. 7, in the cleaning channel 42 leading end side inside the endoscope leading end
portion 71, valve accommodating chamber 72 which is enlarged is formed, on the valve housing chamber 72, slidable in the front-and-off valve 73 which is bent in the observation window 13 direction, the on-off valve 73, normally, a coil spring 74 in which the cleaning channel 42 is urged in a direction to be occluded is disposed. Incidentally, the biasing force of the coil spring 74 is set smaller than the fluid pressure from the washing channel 42. [0060] Therefore, if the fluid is fed from the wash channel 42 during cleaning, this fluid pressure, the on-off valve 73 is slid forward against the biasing force of the coil spring 74, the washing channel 42 is opened to. Then, the fluid is caused to direct the flow path to the observation window 13 direction by opening and closing valve 73 performs cleaning of the observation window 13. [0046] That is, as shown in FIG. 4, the tip of the cleaning channel 42 that is facing the tip of the endoscope front end portion 41, disposing a plurality of slit-shaped rubber valve 43. The rubber valve 43 is a check valve, even under pressure from the endoscope distal end portion 41 outwardly is disposed so as not to open, said the washing channel 42 inside the fluid pressure, so as to be opened It has become. In addition, in a state that has been opened by the fluid pressure inside the washing channel 42, it becomes a kind of nozzle shape to be directed to the observation window 13. [0048] Further, as shown in FIG. 5, the front end of the cleaning channel 42 that is facing the tip of the endoscope front end portion 41, it may be one of two rubber slit valve 44 is disposed. [0049] In this case, the rubber slit valve 44, similarly to the rubber valve 43, even when a pressure from the endoscope distal end portion 41 outwardly is disposed so as not to open by the fluid pressure inside the washing channel 42 It is adapted to be opened. Further, in the state of being opened by the fluid pressure inside the washing channel 42, fluid is directed to the observation window 13 direction, which enables cleaning of the observation window 13. [0053] That is, as shown in FIG. 6, the distal end of the endoscope front end portion 61 so as to close the opening 42a of the cleaning channel 42, valve 62 made of a soft resin material is disposed, the opening and closing some of the valve 62 is secured to the endoscope tip portion 61, as a fulcrum the fixing portion, and is freely opening-closing the opening portion 42a of the cleaning channel 42.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Koga, further incorporating Kuramoto to have the control valve for water jet nozzle 38 of Koga Fig. 3 near the distal of working channel using the algorithm of Kuramoto Fig. 7 with predictable results.
Applicant argued in page 7 that neither Koga nor Kuramoto appears to discuss a valve controlling "flow of drainage fluid therethrough.
Examiner disagree on this because Koga Fig. 3 shows water jet nozzle 38 which obviously has a water control valve. Kuramoto [0059] That is, as shown in FIG. 7, in the cleaning channel 42 leading end side inside the endoscope leading end portion 71, valve accommodating chamber 72 which is enlarged is formed, on the valve housing chamber 72, slidable in the front-and-off valve 73 which is bent in the observation window 13 direction, the on-off valve 73, normally, a coil spring 74 in which the cleaning channel 42 is urged in a direction to be occluded is disposed. Incidentally, the biasing force of the coil spring 74 is set smaller than the fluid pressure from the washing channel 42. Valve discussed in Kuramoto is for controlling the fluid pressure from the washing channel 42.
Remaining arguments are not related to claim language, so is not addressed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koga (U.S. Pub. No. 20120018011 A1), in view of Kuramoto (JPH05103752A).
Regarding to claim 1:
1. Koga teach an endoscope system comprising: a control handle; (Koga [0004] The fluid lumen of the endoscope has a distal end and a proximal end. The distal end has a water jet nozzle disposed at a distal surface of the elongated tube. The proximal end has a fluid port for water jet by connection with the check valve assembly. The fluid port is formed with a handle device of the endoscope on a proximal side of the elongated tube. Also, it is possible that the fluid port is formed with a connector disposed with the handle device for connection with a universal cable.)
an insertion tube extending (Koga [0037] The endoscope 10 includes an elongated tube 21 or guide tube, a handle device 22 and a universal cable 23. The elongated tube 21 is entered in a body cavity of a patient for imaging. The handle device 22 is disposed to extend from the elongated tube 21 in a proximal direction, and manipulated by a doctor or operator. The universal cable 23 extends from the handle device 22, and connects the endoscope 10 to external devices, such as the processing apparatus 11, the light source apparatus 12, the air/water supply device 13 and the fluid supply source 15.) from the control handle (Koga [0040] Plural steering wheels 27 are disposed on the handle device 22, and operable for steering the steering device 25 up and down and to the right and left. This is effective in imaging a wall of a body cavity by the steering in any desired direction. The flexible tube device 26 is a portion of connection between the handle device 22 and the steering device 25, and has flexibility owing to its small diameter and long shape. [0041] The handle device 22 includes a proximal instrument opening, an instrument channel 28, and an air/water supply button 29 as well as the steering wheels 27. The instrument opening is used for entry of a forceps or other medical instrument into the instrument channel 28. The air/water supply button 29 is manually operable for supplying air and water into the body cavity) and configured for insertion into an internal passage of a patient, (Koga [0037] The endoscope 10 includes an elongated tube 21 or guide tube, a handle device 22 and a universal cable 23. The elongated tube 21 is entered in a body cavity of a patient for imaging)
the insertion tube including a working channel therein; (Koga [0037] The endoscope 10 includes an elongated tube 21 or guide tube, a handle device 22 and a universal cable 23. The elongated tube 21 is entered in a body cavity of a patient for imaging. The handle device 22 is disposed to extend from the elongated tube 21 in a proximal direction, and manipulated by a doctor or operator. The universal cable 23 extends from the handle device 22, and connects the endoscope 10 to external devices, such as the processing apparatus 11, the light source apparatus 12, the air/water supply [channel] device 13 and the fluid supply source 15. [0045] In FIG. 3, the fluid port 40 is disposed at an end of the fluid lumen 39 opposite to its end with the water jet nozzle 38. A wall of the fluid port 40 is formed integrally with an outer cover of the light guide connection plug 30. The fluid lumen 39 is connected to the fluid supply source 15 by the adapter tube set 16 which is attached to the fluid port 40.) and a valve to control flow of drainage fluid therethrough, (Koga [0026] Accordingly, a valve element can open and close reliably for preventing backflow in a simple structure, because of the disposition of the fluid opening and the elastic tubular portion in the valve housing.)
Koga FIGS. 4, 5 and 6 [0049] teach: The check valve assembly 50 includes a discharge nozzle unit 52 (or valve seat device) and an elastic tubular portion 53 (or elastic valve sleeve or elastic check valve flap [movable between a first position and a second position]). The discharge nozzle unit 52 has a closed distal end on a side of the endoscope 10. A fluid opening 54 is formed in the discharge nozzle unit 52 to come through its wall. The elastic tubular portion 53 covers the discharge nozzle unit 52 to close the fluid opening 54. The valve housing 51 includes a housing chamber 55 and a plug-in valve port 56 for coupling. The housing chamber 55 of a tubular shape contains the discharge nozzle unit 52 and the elastic tubular portion 53 together. The plug-in valve port 56 is disposed at a distal end of the housing chamber 55. An outer diameter of the portion of the plug-in valve port 56 is smaller than that of the housing chamber 55. An engaging flange 56a is formed at a distal end of the plug-in valve port 56. The outer portion of the plug-in valve port 56 is fitted on an inner surface of the flexible tube 16a. The engaging flange 56a is firmly engaged with the flexible tube 16a to fix the second connection coupling 42 on its tube end. Koga do not explicitly teach a valve located within the working channel; the valve movable between a first position and a second position, the first position having a higher resistance to flow of the drainage fluid than the second position.
However Kuramoto teach a valve located within the working channel; (Kuramoto [0059] That is, as shown in FIG. 7, in the cleaning channel 42 leading end side inside the endoscope leading end portion 71, valve accommodating chamber 72 which is enlarged is formed, on the valve housing chamber 72, slidable in the front-and-off valve 73 which is bent in the observation window 13 direction, the on-off valve 73, normally, a coil spring 74 in which the cleaning channel 42 is urged in a direction to be occluded is disposed. Incidentally, the biasing force of the coil spring 74 is set smaller than the fluid pressure from the washing channel 42. [0060] Therefore, if the fluid is fed from the wash channel 42 during cleaning, this fluid pressure, the on-off valve 73 is slid forward against the biasing force of the coil spring 74, the washing channel 42 is opened to. Then, the fluid is caused to direct the flow path to the observation window 13 direction by opening and closing valve 73 performs cleaning of the observation window 13. [0046] That is, as shown in FIG. 4, the tip of the cleaning channel 42 that is facing the tip of the endoscope front end portion 41, disposing a plurality of slit-shaped rubber valve 43. The rubber valve 43 is a check valve, even under pressure from the endoscope distal end portion 41 outwardly is disposed so as not to open, said the
washing channel 42 inside the fluid pressure, so as to be opened It has become. In addition, in a state that has been opened by the fluid pressure inside the washing channel 42, it becomes a kind of nozzle shape to be directed to the observation window 13. [0048] Further, as shown in FIG. 5, the front end of the cleaning channel 42 that is facing the tip of the endoscope front end portion 41, it may be one of two rubber slit valve 44 is disposed. [0049] In this case, the rubber slit valve 44, similarly to the rubber valve 43, even when a pressure from the endoscope distal end portion 41 outwardly is disposed so as not to open by the fluid pressure inside the washing channel 42 It is adapted to be opened. Further, in the state of being opened by the fluid pressure inside the washing channel 42, fluid is directed to the observation window 13 direction, which enables cleaning of the observation window 13. [0053] That is, as shown in FIG. 6, the distal end of the endoscope front end portion 61 so as to close the opening 42a of the cleaning channel 42, valve 62 made of a soft resin material is disposed, the opening and closing some of the valve 62 is secured to the endoscope tip portion 61, as a fulcrum the fixing portion, and is freely opening-closing the opening portion 42a of the cleaning channel 42.) the valve movable between a first position and a second position, the first position having a higher resistance to flow of the drainage fluid than the second position. (Kuramoto [0020] Further, the tip end inside the washing channel 23, telescopic, the opening 18 of the cleaning channel 23, openings, balloon 25 [valve including an elastic body] is circumferentially provided as closable opening sealing means. Furthermore, in parallel with the washing channel 23, air supply (not shown) provided in the light source apparatus and water supply means communicated with the two small-diameter air-water lumen 26 it has is provided with, this gas supply and water supply lumen 26 is communicated with the balloon 25.)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Koga, further incorporating Kuramoto in video/camera technology. One would be motivated to do so, to incorporate a valve located within the working channel and the valve movable between a first position and a second position, the first position having a higher resistance to flow of the drainage fluid than the second position. This functionality will improve user experience with predictable results. It is obvious to have the control valve for water jet nozzle 38 of Koga Fig. 3 near the distal of working channel using the algorithm of Kuramoto Fig. 7 with predictable results.
Regarding to claim 2:
2. Koga teach the endoscope system of claim 1, wherein the working channel extends through a distal end of the insertion tube. (Koga [0003] An endoscope includes an elongated tube or guide tube and a fluid lumen [working channel] for water jet. The elongated tube is entered in a body cavity of a patient for imaging. The fluid lumen extends through the elongated tube, and used for ejecting fluid through a water jet nozzle at a distal end of the elongated tube. Examples of the fluid include drug solution for treatment, washing water such as physiological saline water, and the like. A fluid supply source or fluid dispensing apparatus is connected with the fluid lumen of the endoscope, and introduces the fluid by use of a supply pump. A check valve assembly for preventing backflow is used between the endoscope and the fluid supply source, and operates for preventing a backflow of the fluid from the fluid lumen back into the fluid supply source.)
Regarding to claim 3:
3. Koga teach the endoscope system of claim 2, wherein the valve is located within the working channel near the distal end of the insertion tube. (Koga [0048] In FIGS. 4, 5 and 6, the second connection coupling 42 for the adapter tube set 16 includes a valve housing 51 or valve body and the check valve assembly 50. The check valve assembly 50 is contained in the valve housing 51, and prevents a backflow from the fluid lumen 39 to the fluid supply source 15.)
Regarding to claim 4:
4. Koga teach the endoscope system of claim 3, Koga do not explicitly teach wherein the valve is a baffle system that extends radially within the working channel.
However Kuramoto teach wherein the valve is a baffle system that extends radially within the working channel. (Kuramoto [0020] Further, the tip end inside the washing channel 23, telescopic, the opening 18 of the cleaning channel 23, openings, balloon 25 [valve/baffle including an elastic body] is circumferentially provided as closable opening sealing means. Furthermore, in parallel with the washing channel 23, air supply (not shown) provided in the light source apparatus and water supply means communicated with the two small-diameter air-water lumen 26 it has is provided with, this gas supply and water supply lumen 26 is communicated with the balloon 25.)
Regarding to claim 5:
5. Koga teach the endoscope system of claim 4, Koga do not explicitly teach wherein the baffle system moves between the first position and the second position.
However Kuramoto teach wherein the baffle system moves between the first position and the second position. (Kuramoto [0020] Further, the tip end inside the washing channel 23, telescopic, the opening 18 of the cleaning channel 23, openings, balloon 25 [valve/baffle including an elastic body] is circumferentially provided as closable opening sealing means. Furthermore, in parallel with the washing channel 23, air supply (not shown) provided in the light source apparatus and water supply means communicated with the two small-diameter air-water lumen 26 it has is provided with, this gas supply and water supply lumen 26 is communicated with the balloon 25.)
Regarding to claim 6:
6. Koga teach the endoscope system of claim 5, Koga do not explicitly teach wherein the valve is biased to the first position.
However Kuramoto teach wherein the valve is biased to the first position. (Kuramoto [0020] Further, the tip end inside the washing channel 23, telescopic, the opening 18 of the cleaning channel 23, openings, balloon 25 [valve/baffle including an elastic body] is circumferentially provided as closable opening sealing means. Furthermore, in parallel with the washing channel 23, air supply (not shown) provided in the light source apparatus and water supply means communicated with the two small-diameter air-water lumen 26 it has is provided with, this gas supply and water supply lumen 26 is communicated with the balloon 25.)
Regarding to claim 7:
7. Koga teach the endoscope system of claim 6, Koga do not explicitly teach wherein the baffle system is configured to move from the first position to the second position when an instrument passes through the valve from the working channel.
However Kuramoto teach wherein the baffle system is configured to move from the first position to the second position (Kuramoto [0020] Further, the tip end inside the washing channel 23, telescopic, the opening 18 of the cleaning channel 23, openings, balloon 25 [valve/baffle including an elastic body] is circumferentially provided as closable opening sealing means. Furthermore, in parallel with the washing channel 23, air supply (not shown) provided in the light source apparatus and water supply means communicated with the two small-diameter air-water lumen 26 it has is provided with, this gas supply and water supply lumen 26 is communicated with the balloon 25.) when an instrument passes through the valve from the working channel. (Kuramoto teach ballon valve can control movement flexibility of tube through a channel. [0019] Further, the above-mentioned endoscope 1, and cleaning channel 23 is provided, the cleaning channel 23, from the operation portion 3 of the insertion opening 17 of the end of the tip portion 7 through the inside the insertion portion 2 leading to the opening 18. The cleaning channel 23 is formed of flexible tubing inside the insertion portion 2, the distal end of the tube is fixed to the cap that is fixed to the through hole of the distal end portion 7 (not shown).)
Regarding to claim 8:
8. Koga teach the endoscope system of claim 7, Koga do not explicitly teach wherein the baffle system contacts a shaft of the instrument when the baffle system is in the first position.
However Kuramoto teach wherein the baffle system contacts a shaft of the instrument when the baffle system is in the first position. (Kuramoto [0020] Further, the tip end inside the washing channel 23, telescopic, the opening 18 of the cleaning channel 23, openings, balloon 25 [valve/baffle including an elastic body] is circumferentially provided as closable opening sealing means. Furthermore, in parallel with the washing channel 23, air supply (not shown) provided in the light source apparatus and water supply means communicated with the two small-diameter air-water lumen 26 it has is provided with, this gas supply and water supply lumen 26 is communicated with the balloon 25.)
Regarding to claim 9:
9. Koga teach the endoscope system of claim 2, wherein the working channel defines an interior surface including a groove near the distal end of the insertion tube, wherein the valve is installed within the groove of the interior surface. (Koga Fig. 5-6 [0054] The positioning groove 55b is formed to receive the ridge 60b of the support sleeve 60. The positioning ridge 55c projects to enter the groove 60c. When the outer surface 60a of the support sleeve 60 is engaged with the inner surface 55a of the housing chamber 55, the ridge 60b and the groove 60c are retained on respectively the positioning groove 55b and the positioning ridge 55c, so as to position the support sleeve 60 relative to the housing chamber 55 exactly in the axial direction)
Regarding to claim 10:
10. Koga teach the endoscope system of claim 9, the shell located within the groove of the interior surface (Koga Fig. 5-6 [0054] The positioning groove 55b is formed to receive the ridge 60b of the support sleeve 60. The positioning ridge 55c projects to enter the groove 60c. When the outer surface 60a of the support sleeve 60 is engaged with the inner surface 55a of the housing chamber 55, the ridge 60b and the groove 60c are retained on respectively the positioning groove 55b and the positioning ridge 55c, so as to position the support sleeve 60 relative to the housing chamber 55 exactly in the axial direction) to secure the valve to the working channel. (Koga Fig. 5-6 [0048] In FIGS. 4, 5 and 6, the second connection coupling 42 for the adapter tube set 16 includes a valve housing 51 or valve body and the check valve assembly 50. The check valve assembly 50 is contained in the valve housing 51, and prevents a backflow from the fluid lumen 39 to the fluid supply source 15. [0049] The check valve assembly 50 includes a discharge nozzle unit 52 (or valve seat device) and an elastic tubular portion 53 (or elastic valve sleeve or elastic check valve flap))
Koga do not explicitly teach wherein the valve further comprises: an elastic body movable between the first position and the second position; and a shell connected to a periphery of the elastic body.
However Kuramoto teach wherein the valve further comprises: an elastic body movable between the first position and the second position; and a shell connected to a periphery of the elastic body. (Kuramoto [0020] Further, the tip end inside the washing channel 23, telescopic, the opening 18 of the cleaning channel 23, openings, balloon 25 [valve/baffle including an elastic body] is circumferentially provided as closable opening sealing means. Furthermore, in parallel with the washing channel 23, air supply (not shown) provided in the light source apparatus and water supply means communicated with the two small-diameter air-water lumen 26 it has is provided with, this gas supply and water supply lumen 26 is communicated with the balloon 25 [elastic body])
Regarding to claim 11:
11. Koga teach the endoscope system of claim 10, Koga do not explicitly teach wherein the elastic body of the valve is biased to the first position, and the elastic body of the valve is configured to be compressed circumferentially toward the second position by an instrument.
However Kuramoto teach wherein the elastic body of the valve is biased to the first position, and the elastic body of the valve is configured to be compressed circumferentially toward the second position by an instrument. (Kuramoto [0020] Further, the tip end inside the washing channel 23, telescopic, the opening 18 of the cleaning channel 23, openings, balloon 25 [valve/baffle including an elastic body] is circumferentially provided as closable opening sealing means. Furthermore, in parallel with the washing channel 23, air supply (not shown) provided in the light source apparatus and water supply means communicated with the two small-diameter air-water lumen 26 it has is provided with, this gas supply and water supply lumen 26 is communicated with the balloon 25 [elastic body])
Regarding to claim 14:
14. Koga teach an endoscope system comprising: a control handle; an insertion tube extending from the control handle and configured for insertion into an internal passage of a patient, (Claim 14 is rejected for the same reasons as the independent claim 1 above. However, claim has following additional limitation:)
Koga do not explicitly teach the insertion tube including a drainage lumen therein that defines a major diameter; and a valve located within the drainage lumen and defining a drainage bore, the valve movable between a restricted position where the drainage bore defines a first drainage diameter smaller than the major diameter and an expanded position where the drainage bore defines a second drainage diameter smaller than the major diameter and larger than the first drainage diameter.
However Kuramoto teach the insertion tube including a drainage lumen therein that defines a major diameter; (Kuramoto [0019] Further, the above-mentioned endoscope 1, and cleaning channel 23 is provided, the cleaning channel 23, from the operation portion 3 of the insertion opening 17 of the end of the tip portion 7 through the inside the insertion portion 2 leading to the opening 18. The cleaning channel 23 is formed of flexible tubing inside the insertion portion 2, the distal end of the tube is fixed to the cap that is fixed to the through hole of the distal end portion 7 (not shown).) and a valve located within the drainage lumen and defining a drainage bore, (Kuramoto [0025] First, by observation with the endoscope 1, when no cleaning, i.e., in the case of not using the cleaning channel 23, the light source device air-water lumen from gas supply and water supply means provided on the side 26 (not shown) flushed with fluid such as liquid or gas, is inflated balloon 25 that is provided around the opening 18 of the washing channel 23, a state of closing the opening 18 of the cleaning channel 23.)
the valve movable between a restricted position where the drainage bore defines a first drainage diameter smaller than the major diameter (Kuramoto [0026] Then, the adhered dirt and the like to the observation window 13 of the endoscope front end portion 7, in the case of washing the observation window 13, by the air-water unit, through the air-water lumen 26 liquid or fluid was aspirated, such as gas, expanding and contracting the balloon 25)
and an expanded position where the drainage bore defines a second drainage diameter smaller than the major diameter and larger than the first drainage diameter. (Kuramoto [0020] Further, the tip end inside the washing channel 23, telescopic, the opening 18 of the cleaning channel 23, openings, balloon 25 [valve including an elastic body] is circumferentially provided as closable opening sealing means. Furthermore, in parallel with the washing channel 23, air supply (not shown) provided in the light source apparatus and water supply means communicated with the two small-diameter air-water lumen 26 it has is provided with, this gas supply and water supply lumen 26 is communicated with the balloon 25.)
Regarding to claim 15:
15. Koga teach the endoscope system of claim 14, Koga do not explicitly teach wherein the drainage lumen extends through a distal end of the insertion tube and wherein the valve is located within the drainage lumen near the distal end of the insertion tube.
However Kuramoto teach wherein the drainage lumen extends through a distal end of the insertion tube and wherein the valve is located within the drainage lumen near the distal end of the insertion tube. (Kuramoto teach ballon valve can control movement flexibility of drainage lumen tube through a channel. [0019] Further, the above-mentioned endoscope 1, and cleaning channel 23 is provided, the cleaning channel 23, from the operation portion 3 of the insertion opening 17 of the end of the tip portion 7 through the inside the insertion portion 2 leading to the opening 18. The cleaning channel 23 is formed of flexible tubing inside the insertion portion 2, the distal end of the tube is fixed to the cap that is fixed to the through hole of the distal end portion 7 (not shown).)
Regarding to claim 16:
16. Koga teach the endoscope system of claim 15, Koga do not explicitly teach wherein the valve is biased to the restricted position to partially occlude the drainage lumen.
However Kuramoto teach wherein the valve is biased to the restricted position to partially occlude the drainage lumen. (Kuramoto [0059] That is, as shown in FIG. 7, in the cleaning channel 42 leading end side inside the endoscope leading end portion 71, valve accommodating chamber 72 which is enlarged is formed, on the valve housing chamber 72, slidable in the front-and-off valve 73 which is bent in the observation window 13 direction, the on-off valve 73, normally, a coil spring 74 in which the cleaning channel 42 is urged in a direction to be occluded is dispose ding. Incidentally, the biasing force of the coil spring 74 is set smaller than the fluid pressure from the washing channel 42.)
Regarding to claim 17:
17. Koga teach the endoscope system of claim 16, wherein the valve is configured to receive an instrument from the drainage lumen through the drainage bore to move the valve from the restricted position to the expanded position. (Koga Fig. 5-6 [0048] In FIGS. 4, 5 and 6, the second connection coupling 42 for the adapter tube set 16 includes a valve housing 51 [shaft] or valve body and the check valve assembly 50. The check valve assembly 50 is contained in the valve housing 51, and prevents a backflow from the fluid lumen 39 to the fluid supply source 15.)
Regarding to claim 18:
18. Koga teach the endoscope system of claim 17, wherein, in the restricted position, the valve is configured to contact a shaft of the instrument. (Koga Fig. 5-6 [0048] In FIGS. 4, 5 and 6, the second connection coupling 42 for the adapter tube set 16 includes a valve housing 51 [shaft] or valve body and the check valve assembly 50. The check valve assembly 50 is contained in the valve housing 51, and prevents a backflow from the fluid lumen 39 to the fluid supply source 15.)
Regarding to claim 19:
19. Koga teach the endoscope system of claim 18, Koga do not explicitly teach wherein the shaft of the instrument and the valve together at least partially occlude the drainage lumen when the valve is in the restricted position.
However Kuramoto teach wherein the shaft of the instrument and the valve together at least partially occlude the drainage lumen when the valve is in the restricted position. (Kuramoto [0059] That is, as shown in FIG. 7, in the cleaning channel 42 leading end side inside the endoscope leading end portion 71, valve accommodating chamber 72 which is enlarged is formed, on the valve housing chamber 72, slidable in the front-and-off valve 73 which is bent in the observation window 13 direction, the on-off valve 73, normally, a coil spring 74 in which the cleaning channel 42 is urged in a direction to be occluded is dispose ding. Incidentally, the biasing force of the coil spring 74 is set smaller than the fluid pressure from the washing channel 42.)
Regarding to claim 20:
20. Koga teach an endoscope system comprising: a control handle; an insertion tube extending from the control handle to a distal end and configured for insertion into an internal passage of a patient, the insertion tube including a working channel therein, and a valve located within the working channel, (Claim 20 is rejected for the same reasons as the independent claim 1 above. However, claim has following additional limitation:)
Koga do not explicitly teach the valve including an elastic body that at least partially occludes the working channel and is configured to be compressed circumferentially by an instrument.
However Kuramoto teach the valve including an elastic body that at least partially occludes the working channel (Kuramoto [0059] That is, as shown in FIG. 7, in the cleaning channel 42 leading end side inside the endoscope leading end portion 71, valve accommodating chamber 72 which is enlarged is formed, on the valve housing chamber 72, slidable in the front-and-off valve 73 which is bent in the observation window 13 direction, the on-off valve 73, normally, a coil spring 74 in which the cleaning channel 42 is urged in a direction to be occluded is dispose ding. Incidentally, the biasing force of the coil spring 74 is set smaller than the fluid pressure from the washing channel 42.) and is configured to be compressed circumferentially by an instrument. (Kuramoto [0020] Further, the tip end inside the washing channel 23, telescopic, the opening 18 of the cleaning channel 23, openings, balloon 25 [valve including an elastic body] is circumferentially provided as closable opening sealing means. Furthermore, in parallel with the washing channel 23, air supply (not shown) provided in the light source apparatus and water supply means communicated with the two small-diameter air-water lumen 26 it has is provided with, this gas supply and water supply lumen 26 is communicated with the balloon 25.)
Closely related prior art
Examiner notes teaching of Fig. 17-18 and paragraph [82] of U.S. Pub. No. 20140012180 A1 is/are pertinent to the independent claim(s), however is not used because dependent claims are covered by primary reference.
Allowable subject matter
Regarding to claim 12-13 and 21:
Claims 12-13 and 21 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims because the limitations of these dependent claims are not obvious from the prior art search when all the limitations of independent and intervening claims are taken into account.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NASIM N NIRJHAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896