Claims 1-20 are pending in the application. Claims 1-20 are rejected.
The rejection over Hanley in view of Eckhardt has been maintained.
The rejection over Bieber in view of Eckhardt has been maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2010/0098962 to Hanley et al. (hereinafter “Hanley”) in view of US 2019/0345367 to Eckhardt et al. (hereinafter “Eckhardt”).
As to claims 1, 8, 9, 13, 17 and 18, Hanley discloses a double-sided adhesive tape comprising a polymeric foam layer having a first major surface and a second major surface; a first PSA layer on the first major surface; and a second PSA layer on the second major surface of the polymeric foam layer (abstract, and paragraphs 18-20). The first and second PSA layers are identical (paragraph 10). The double-sided adhesive tape comprises a Kraton D1161 block copolymer (table 2).
As shown in table 3 of Bieber (US 2017/0321089), Kraton D1161 block copolymer has a FOG value of 234 ppm according to VDA 278. This is within the claimed range.
Hanley teaches that the first PSA layer comprises:
a linear block copolymer of the formula R-(G)m wherein m is 1 or 2;
a multi-am block copolymer of the formula Qn-Y wherein:
Q represents an arm of the multi-arm block copolymer and each arm independently has the formular G-R,
n represents the number of arms and is a whole number of at least 3, and
Y is the residue of a multifunctional coupling agent,
wherein each R is a rubber block comprising a polymerized conjugated diene, a hydrogenated derivative of a polymerized conjugated diene, or combinations thereof, and
each G is a glassy block comprising a polymerized monovinyl aromatic monomer, and at least one hydrocarbon tackifier (paragraphs 27-35 and 42).
The first PSA layer contains 31.8 wt% of a multi-arm block copolymer and 13.63 wt% of a linear block copolymer, based on the total weight of the first PSA layer (table 2, ADH1).
The first PSA layer is obtained from composition which is free of a (meth)acrylate copolymer having a glass transition temperature higher than 25oC, a weight average molecular weight from 1000 to 100,000 g/mol, and a polymeric plasticizer having a weight average molecular weight of at least 10,000 g/mol (table 2).
The polymeric foam comprises 0.38 wt% of CMB 4900 carbon black (paragraph 90).
Hanley does not explicitly disclose the polymeric foam comprising activated carbon.
Eckhardt, however, discloses a multilayer PSA assembly comprising a polymeric foam layer having a first major surface and a second major surface, a first PSA layer on the first major surface and a second PSA on the second major surface of the polymeric foam layer (abstract and paragraphs 216-221). The first PSA layer comprises: 20-80 wt% of a linear block copolymer, 20-70 wt% of a hydrocarbon tackifier, 3 to 25 wt% of a (meth)acrylate copolymer, 1 to 15 wt% of a multi-arm block copolymer, 1 to 20 wt% of a deblock copolymer, and 0.1 to 10 wt% of a crosslinking additive, based on the weight of the first PSA layer (paragraphs 179-185). Eckhardt also teaches that the polymeric foam layer is a polyacrylate foam comprising a plurality of activated carbon particles distributed therein (paragraphs 56 and 62). The activated carbon particles act as an efficient absorbent material for volatile organic compounds (VOC) emitted from the PSA assembly, thereby enhancing the reduction of VOC’s emission (paragraph 62). Unlike carbon black, activated carbon does not detrimentally affect the mechanical properties of the polymeric foam layer while forming a true black polymer foam layer (paragraphs 63 and 64). The activated carbon particles have an individual specific surface area in a range from 100 to 2000 m2/g, when measured according to the BET nitrogen absorption test method (paragraph 68). The activated carbon particles are present in an amount of 2 to 15 wt% based on the weight of the polymeric foam (paragraph 72).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute activated carbon disclosed in Eckhardt for the carbon black disclosed in Hanley because unlike carbon black, activated carbon does not detrimentally affect the mechanical properties of the polymeric foam layer while forming a true black polymer foam layer.
As to claim 2, Hanley discloses that the first PSA layer comprises Regalite R1125 and Cumar 130 tackifiers and their combined content of 44.97 wt% based on the total weight of the first PSA layer (table 2, ADH-1). This is within the claimed range.
As to claims 3 and 6, Hanley discloses that the rubbery block of the linear block copolymer comprises at least one of polyisobutylene, polyisoprene or polybutadiene while at least one glassy block G of the linear block copolymer comprises at least one of styrene or an alkylated styrene (paragraph 34).
As to claim 4, Hanley discloses a double-sided adhesive tape comprising a polymeric foam layer having a first major surface and a second major surface; a first PSA layer on the first major surface; and a second PSA layer on the second major surface of the polymeric foam layer (abstract, and paragraphs 18-20). The first and second PSA layers are identical (paragraph 10). The double-sided adhesive tape comprises a Kraton D1161 block copolymer (table 2).
As shown in table 3 of Bieber (US 2017/0321089), Kraton D1161 block copolymer has a volatile FOG value of 234 ppm according to VDA 278. This is within the claimed range.
Hanley teaches that the first PSA layer comprises:
a linear block copolymer of the formula R-(G)m wherein m is 1 or 2;
a multi-am block copolymer of the formula Qn-Y wherein:
Q represents an arm of the multi-arm block copolymer and each arm independently has the formular G-R,
n represents the number of arms and is a whole number of at least 3, and
Y is the residue of a multifunctional coupling agent,
wherein each R is a rubber block comprising a polymerized conjugated diene, a hydrogenated derivative of a polymerized conjugated diene, or combinations thereof, and
each G is a glassy block comprising a polymerized monovinyl aromatic monomer, and at least one hydrocarbon tackifier (paragraphs 27-35 and 42).
The first PSA layer contains 31.8 wt% of a multi-arm block copolymer and 13.63 wt% of a linear block copolymer, based on the total weight of the first PSA layer (table 2, ADH1).
The first PSA layer is obtained from composition which is free of a (meth)acrylate copolymer having a glass transition temperature higher than 25oC, a weight average molecular weight from 1000 to 100,000 g/mol, and a polymeric plasticizer having a weight average molecular weight of at least 10,000 g/mol (table 2).
The polymeric foam comprises 0.38 wt% of CMB 4900 carbon black (paragraph 90).
Hanley does not explicitly disclose the polymeric foam comprising activated carbon.
Eckhardt, however, discloses a multilayer PSA assembly comprising a polymeric foam layer having a first major surface and a second major surface, a first PSA layer on the first major surface and a second PSA on the second major surface of the polymeric foam layer (abstract and paragraphs 216-221). The first PSA layer comprises: 20-80 wt% of a linear block copolymer, 20-70 wt% of a hydrocarbon tackifier, 3 to 25 wt% of a (meth)acrylate copolymer, 1 to 15 wt% of a multi-arm block copolymer, 1 to 20 wt% of a deblock copolymer, and 0.1 to 10 wt% of a crosslinking additive, based on the weight of the first PSA layer (paragraphs 179-185). Eckhardt also teaches that the polymeric foam layer is a polyacrylate foam comprising a plurality of activated carbon particles distributed therein (paragraphs 56 and 62). The activated carbon particles act as an efficient absorbent material for volatile organic compounds (VOC) emitted from the PSA assembly, thereby enhancing the reduction of VOC’s emission (paragraph 62). Unlike carbon black, activated carbon does not detrimentally affect the mechanical properties of the polymeric foam layer while forming a true black polymer foam layer (paragraphs 63 and 64). The activated carbon particles have an individual specific surface area in a range from 100 to 2000 m2/g, when measured according to the BET nitrogen absorption test method (paragraph 68). The activated carbon particles are present in an amount of 2 to 15 wt% based on the weight of the polymeric foam (paragraph 72).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute activated carbon disclosed in Eckhardt for the carbon black disclosed in Hanley because unlike carbon black, activated carbon does not detrimentally affect the mechanical properties of the polymeric foam layer while forming a true black polymer foam layer.
As to claim 5, Hanley discloses a double-sided adhesive tape comprising a polymeric foam layer having a first major surface and a second major surface; a first PSA layer on the first major surface; and a second PSA layer on the second major surface of the polymeric foam layer (abstract, and paragraphs 18-20). The first and second PSA layers are identical (paragraph 10). The double-sided adhesive tape comprises a Kraton D1161 block copolymer (table 2).
As shown in table 3 of Bieber (US 2017/0321089), Kraton D1161 block copolymer has a volatile FOG value of 234 ppm according to VDA 278. This is within the claimed range.
Hanley teaches that the first PSA layer comprises:
a linear block copolymer of the formula R-(G)m wherein m is 1 or 2;
a multi-am block copolymer of the formula Qn-Y wherein:
Q represents an arm of the multi-arm block copolymer and each arm independently has the formular G-R,
n represents the number of arms and is a whole number of at least 3, and
Y is the residue of a multifunctional coupling agent,
wherein each R is a rubber block comprising a polymerized conjugated diene, a hydrogenated derivative of a polymerized conjugated diene, or combinations thereof, and
each G is a glassy block comprising a polymerized monovinyl aromatic monomer, and at least one hydrocarbon tackifier (paragraphs 27-35 and 42).
The first PSA layer contains 31.8 wt% of a multi-arm block copolymer and 13.63 wt% of a linear block copolymer, based on the total weight of the first PSA layer (table 2, ADH1).
The first PSA layer is obtained from composition which is free of a (meth)acrylate copolymer having a glass transition temperature higher than 25oC, a weight average molecular weight from 1000 to 100,000 g/mol, and a polymeric plasticizer having a weight average molecular weight of at least 10,000 g/mol (table 2).
The polymeric foam comprises 0.38 wt% of CMB 4900 carbon black (paragraph 90).
Hanley does not explicitly disclose the polymeric foam comprising activated carbon.
Hanley does not explicitly disclose the polymeric foam comprising activated carbon.
Eckhardt, however, discloses a multilayer PSA assembly comprising a polymeric foam layer having a first major surface and a second major surface, a first PSA layer on the first major surface and a second PSA on the second major surface of the polymeric foam layer (abstract and paragraphs 216-221). The first PSA layer comprises: 20-80 wt% of a linear block copolymer, 20-70 wt% of a hydrocarbon tackifier, 3 to 25 wt% of a (meth)acrylate copolymer, 1 to 15 wt% of a multi-arm block copolymer, 1 to 20 wt% of a deblock copolymer, and 0.1 to 10 wt% of a crosslinking additive, based on the weight of the first PSA layer (paragraphs 179-185). Eckhardt also teaches that the polymeric foam layer is a polyacrylate foam comprising a plurality of activated carbon particles distributed therein (paragraphs 56 and 62). The activated carbon particles act as an efficient absorbent material for VOCs emitted from the PSA assembly, thereby enhancing the reduction of VOC’s emission (paragraph 62). Unlike carbon black, activated carbon does not detrimentally affect the mechanical properties of the polymeric foam layer while forming a true black polymer foam layer (paragraphs 63 and 64).
The activated carbon particles have an individual specific surface area in a range from 100 to 2000 m2/g, when measured according to the BET nitrogen absorption test method (paragraph 68). The activated carbon particles are present in an amount of 2 to 15 wt% based on the weight of the polymeric foam (paragraph 72).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute activated carbon disclosed in Eckhardt for the carbon black disclosed in Hanley because unlike carbon black, activated carbon does not detrimentally affect the mechanical properties of the polymeric foam layer while forming a true black polymer foam layer.
As to claim 7, Hanley discloses that the double-sided adhesive tape is crosslinked by electron beam crosslinking (paragraph 79).
As to claims 10 and 11, Hanley discloses that the polymeric foam comprises 96.8 wt% polyacrylate, 2.8 wt% microspheres and 0.38 wt% pigment (table 3). The polyacrylate is formed from polymerization of 2-ethylhexyl acrylate and acrylic acid (table 3, and paragraph 83).
As to claim 12, Hanley discloses that the double-sided adhesive tape comprises an ESCOREZ 1310 (E1310) hydrocarbon tackifier (table 2, paragraph 88).
As shown in table 3 of Bieber (US 2017/0321089), ESCOREZ 1304 (E1304) hydrocarbon tackifier has VOC and volatile FOG values of 296 ppm and 1476 ppm, respectively. As the E1310 and E1304 are both grades within the 1300 series of hydrocarbon tackifiers, they share a common chemical structure and cluster around similar physical properties. Given their shared series classification and similar properties, the examiner takes the position that E1310 would exhibit VOC and FOG values comparable to those of E1304, thereby satisfying the claimed limitations.
As to claim 14, Hanley discloses that the double-sided adhesive tape comprises a Kraton D1161 block copolymer (table 2).
As shown in table 3 of Bieber (US 2017/0321089), Kraton D1161 block copolymer has a volatile FOG value of 234 ppm according to VDA 278. This is within the claimed range.
As to claims 15 and 16, Hanley discloses a process for making the adhesive tape comprising: compound the multi-arm block copolymer and at least one hydrocarbon tackifier to form a PSA formulation, melt co-extruding the polymeric foam layer and the PSA formulation to form the adhesive, crosslinking the adhesive tape with electron beam irradiation (paragraphs 91-94).
As to claim 19, Hanley discloses that the first PSA layer comprises: 26.73 wt% of a multi-arm block copolymer, 14.39 wt% of a linear block copolymer, based on the weight of the first PSA layer (table 6, ADH-4). Hence, a weight ratio of the multi-arm block copolymer to the linear block copolymer in the first PSA layer is 1.85:1 within the claimed range.
As to claim 20, Hanley discloses that the polymeric foam layer further includes expandable microspheres (table 3).
Response to Arguments
Applicant alleges that Hanley fails to disclose a multilayer pressure sensitive adhesive assembly has at least one of a VOC level of less than 500 ppm according to VDA278, a volatile FOG level of less than 1000 ppm according to VDA278, or an odor level of not more than 3 according to VDA270.
The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Hanley discloses that the double-sided adhesive tape comprises a Kraton D1161 block copolymer (table 2). As shown in table 3 of Bieber (US 2017/0321089), the Kraton D1161 block copolymer has a volatile FOG value of 234 ppm according to VDA 278. This is within the claimed range.
Applicant asserts that Hanley fails to disclose a multilayer pressure sensitive adhesive assembly wherein at least one hydrocarbon tackifier has at least one of a VOC value of less than 1000 ppm, or a volatile FOG value of less than 1500 ppm.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As shown in table 3 of Bieber (US 2017/0321089), ESCOREZ 1304 (E1304) hydrocarbon tackifier has VOC and volatile FOG values of 296 ppm and 1476 ppm, respectively. As the E1310 and E1304 are both grades within the 1300 series of hydrocarbon tackifiers, they share a common chemical structure and cluster around similar physical properties. Given their shared series classification and similar properties, the examiner takes the position that E1310 would exhibit VOC and FOG values comparable to those of E1304, thereby satisfying the claimed limitations.
Accordingly, the rejection over Hanley in view of Eckhardt has been maintained.
Claims 1-4, and 6-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0321089 to Bieber et al. (hereinafter “Bieber”) in view of Eckhardt.
As to claims 1, 4, 8, 9, 13, 17 and 18, Bieber discloses a multilayer pressure sensitive adhesive (PSA) assembly comprising a polymeric foam layer having a first major surface and a second major surface, a first PSA layer on the first major surface and a second PSA layer on the second major surface of the polymeric foam layer (abstract, and paragraphs 135 and 136). The first and second PSA layers are identical (paragraph 135). The multilayer PSA assembly has at least one of a Volatile Organic Compound (VOC) value of less than 500 ppm according to VDA278, or a Volatile Fogging Compound (FOG) value of less than 1000 ppm according to VDA278 (paragraphs 152-154).
The PSA layer is obtained from composition which is free of a (meth)acrylate copolymer having a glass transition temperature higher than 25oC, a weight average molecular weight from 1000 to 100,000 g/mol (table 4, S1 and S2).
The first PSA layer comprises:
a multi-arm block copolymer in an amount of 20 wt% to 80 wt%, based on the total weight of the first PSA layer, the multi-arm block copolymer having formular Qn-Y wherein:
Q represents an arm of the multi-arm block copolymer and each arm independently has the formular G-R,
n represents the number of arms and is a whole number of at least 3, and
Y is the residue of a multifunctional coupling agent,
wherein each R is a rubber block comprising a polymerized conjugated diene, a hydrogenated derivative of a polymerized conjugated diene, or combinations thereof, and
each G is a glassy block comprising a polymerized monovinyl aromatic monomer, and at least one hydrocarbon tackifier (abstract, and paragraph 57).
Bieber does not explicitly disclose the polymeric foam layer comprising a plurality of activated carbon particles distributed therein.
Eckhardt, however, discloses a multilayer PSA assembly comprising a polymeric foam layer having a first major surface and a second major surface, a first PSA layer on the first major surface and a second PSA on the second major surface of the polymeric foam layer (abstract and paragraphs 216-221). The first PSA layer comprises: 20-80 wt% of a linear block copolymer, 20-70 wt% of a hydrocarbon tackifier, 3 to 25 wt% of a (meth)acrylate copolymer, 1 to 15 wt% of a multi-arm block copolymer, 1 to 20 wt% of a deblock copolymer, and 0.1 to 10 wt% of a crosslinking additive, based on the weight of the first PSA layer (paragraphs 179-185). Eckhardt also teaches that the polymeric foam layer is a polyacrylate foam comprising a plurality of activated carbon particles distributed therein (paragraphs 56 and 62). The activated carbon particles act as an efficient absorbent material for VOCs emitted from the PSA assembly, thereby enhancing the reduction of VOC’s emission (paragraph 62). Unlike carbon black, activated carbon does not detrimentally affect the mechanical properties of the polymeric foam layer while forming a true black polymer foam layer (paragraphs 63 and 64). The activated carbon particles have an individual specific surface area in a range from 100 to 2000 m2/g, when measured according to the BET nitrogen absorption test method (paragraph 68). The activated carbon particles are present in an amount of 2 to 15 wt% based on the weight of the polymeric foam (paragraph 72).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a plurality of activated carbon particles disclosed in Eckhardt in the polymeric foam layer disclosed in Bieber motivated by the desire to enhance the reduction of VOC’s emission from the PSA assembly (the motivational statement extracted from paragraph 62 of Eckhardt).
As to claim 2, Bieber discloses that the first PSA layer comprises: 25-60 wt% of a multi-arm block copolymer, 25-60 wt% of a hydrocarbon tackifier, and 3-40 wt% of a linear block copolymer, based on the weight of the first PSA layer (paragraphs 120-125). In particular, the first PSA layer comprises: 32.43 wt% of a multi-arm block copolymer, 44.81 wt% of a hydrocarbon tackifier, and 13.90 wt% of a linear block copolymer, based on the weight of the first PSA layer (table 4, skin 1).
As to claims 3 and 6, Bieber discloses that the rubbery block of the linear block copolymer comprises at least one of polyisobutylene, polyisoprene or polybutadiene while at least one glassy block G of the linear block copolymer comprises at least one of styrene or an alkylated styrene (paragraphs 60 and 61).
As to claim 7, Bieber discloses that the multilayer PSA assembly is crosslinked by electron beam crosslinking (paragraph 266).
As to claim 10, Bieber discloses that the polymeric foam comprises a polymer base material comprising at least one of a polyacrylate, a polyurethane, polyolefin or rubber-based elastomer material (paragraphs 143-144).
As to claim 11, Bieber discloses that the polymeric foam comprises a polyacrylate (paragraphs 143 and 144). Bieber does not explicitly disclose the polyacrylate whose main monomer component comprises a linear of branched alkyl (meth)acrylate ester.
Eckhardt, however, discloses a multilayer PSA assembly comprising a polymeric foam layer having a first major surface and a second major surface, a first PSA layer on the first major surface and a second PSA on the second major surface of the polymeric foam layer (abstract and paragraphs 216-221). The polymeric foam comprises a polyacrylate whose main monomer component comprises a linear of branched alkyl (meth)acrylate ester including methyl (meth)acrylate or ethyl (meth)acrylate (paragraph 56).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a polyacrylate whose main monomer component comprises a linear of branched alkyl (meth)acrylate ester disclosed in Eckhardt for formation of the polymeric foam disclosed in Beiber because such is a typical material for the polymeric foam layer used in the multilayer PSA assemble and Eckhardt provides necessary details to practice the invention of Beiber.
As to claim 12, Bieber discloses that the hydrocarbon tackifier has at least one of a VOC value of less than 1000 ppm, or a Volatile FOG value of less than 1500 ppm, when measured by thermogravimetric analysis (paragraphs 61 and 65).
As to claim 14, Bieber discloses that the multilayer PSA assembly has at least one of a VOC value of less than 500 ppm according to VDA278, a volatile FOG value of less than 1000 ppm according to VDA278 (paragraphs 152-154).
As to claims 15 and 16, Bieber discloses a process for making the multilayer PSA assembly comprising: compound the multi-arm block copolymer and at least one hydrocarbon tackifier to form a PSA formulation, melt co-extruding the polymeric foam layer and the PSA formulation to form the multilayer PSA assembly, crosslinking the multilayer PSA assembly with electron beam irradiation (paragraphs 262-266).
As to claim 19, Bieber discloses that the first PSA layer comprises: 32.43 wt% of a multi-arm block copolymer, 44.81 wt% of a hydrocarbon tackifier, and 13.90 wt% of a linear block copolymer, based on the weight of the first PSA layer (table 4, skin 1). Hence, a weight ratio of the multi-arm block copolymer to the linear block copolymer in the first PSA layer is 2.3:1 within the claimed range.
As to claim 20, Bieber discloses that the polymeric foam layer further includes expandable microspheres (paragraph 138).
Response to Arguments
Regarding claims 1 and 4, Applicant alleges that Bieber fails to disclose a multilayer pressure sensitive adhesive assembly which is free of at least one of:
a (meth)acrylate copolymer having a glass transition temperature higher than 25oC, a weight average molecular weight from 1000 to 100,000 g/mol, and comprising (meth)acrylate acid ester monomer units having a glass transition temperature higher than 25oC when homopolymerized, or
a polymeric plasticizer having a weight average molecular weight of at least 10,000 g/mol.
The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Bieber discloses that the PSA layer is obtained from composition which is free of a (meth)acrylate copolymer having a glass transition temperature higher than 25oC, a weight average molecular weight from 1000 to 100,000 g/mol (table 4, S1 and S2).
Accordingly, the rejection over Bieber in view of Eckhardt has been maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Hai Vo/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1788