Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Gaseous cavities can be understood as voids. Hence, the reference to gaseous cavities as filler material is confusing. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, and 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US 2010/0098962 to Hanley et al. (hereinafter “Hanley”).
As to claims 1, 9, 13, 17 and 18, Hanley discloses a double-sided adhesive tape comprising a polymeric foam layer having a first major surface and a second major surface; a first PSA layer on the first major surface and a second PSA layer on the second major surface of the polymeric foam layer (abstract, and paragraphs 18-20). The first and second PSA layers are identical (paragraph 10). The first PSA layer comprises:
a linear block copolymer of the formula R-(G)m wherein m is 1 or 2;
a multi-am block copolymer of the formula Qn-Y wherein:
Q represents an arm of the multi-arm block copolymer and each arm independently has the formular G-R,
n represents the number of arms and is a whole number of at least 3, and
Y is the residue of a multifunctional coupling agent,
wherein each R is a rubber block comprising a polymerized conjugated diene, a hydrogenated derivative of a polymerized conjugated diene, or combinations thereof, and
each G is a glassy block comprising a polymerized monovinyl aromatic monomer, and at least one hydrocarbon tackifier (paragraphs 27-35 and 42).
The first PSA layer contains 31.8 wt% of a multi-arm block copolymer and 13.63 wt% of a linear block copolymer, based on the total weight of the first PSA layer (table 2, ADH1).
The polymeric foam comprises 0.38 wt% of CMB 4900 carbon black (paragraph 90).
As to claim 2, Hanley discloses that the first PSA layer comprises Regalite R1125 and Cumar 130 tackifiers and their combined content of 44.97 wt% based on the total weight of the first PSA layer (table 2, ADH-1). This is within the claimed range.
As to claims 3 and 6, Hanley discloses that the rubbery block of the linear block copolymer comprises at least one of polyisobutylene, polyisoprene or polybutadiene while at least one glassy block G of the linear block copolymer comprises at least one of styrene or an alkylated styrene (paragraph 34).
As to claim 4, the first PSA layer is free of a (meth) acrylate copolymer (table 2).
As to claim 5, the first PSA layer is free of a polymeric plasticizer (table 2, ADH-3). It is noted that naphthenic oil plasticizer is not a polymeric plasticizer.
As to claim 7, Hanley discloses that the double-sided adhesive tape is crosslinked by electron beam crosslinking (paragraph 79).
As to claims 10 and 11, Hanley discloses that the polymeric foam comprises 96.8 wt% polyacrylate, 2.8 wt% microspheres and 0.38 wt% pigment (table 3). The polyacrylate is formed from polymerization of 2-ethylhexyl acrylate and acrylic acid (table 3, and paragraph 83).
As to claim 12, Hanley discloses that the hydrocarbon tackifier is commercially available under the trade name of REGALITE, ESCOREZ (table 1). Therefore, it is not seen that at least one of a Volatile Organic Compound (VOC) value of less than 1000 ppm, or a Volatile Fogging Compound (FOG) value of less than 1500 ppm, when measured by thermogravimetric analysis could not be present as like material has like property.
As to claim 14, Hanley discloses that the hydrocarbon tackifier is commercially available under the trade name of REGALITE, ESCOREZ (table 1). Therefore, it is not seen that at least one of a Volatile Organic Compound (VOC) value of less than 500 ppm according to VDA278, or a Volatile Fogging Compound (FOG) value of less than 1000 ppm according to VDA278 or an odor level of not more than 3 according to VDA 270 could not be present as like material has like property.
As to claims 15 and 16, Hanley discloses a process for making the adhesive tape comprising: compound the multi-arm block copolymer and at least one hydrocarbon tackifier to form a PSA formulation, melt co-extruding the polymeric foam layer and the PSA formulation to form the adhesive, crosslinking the adhesive tape with electron beam irradiation (paragraphs 91-94).
As to claim 19, Hanley discloses that the first PSA layer comprises: 26.73 wt% of a multi-arm block copolymer, 14.39 wt% of a linear block copolymer, based on the weight of the first PSA layer (table 6, ADH-4). Hence, a weight ratio of the multi-arm block copolymer to the linear block copolymer in the first PSA layer is 1.85:1 within the claimed range.
As to claim 20, Hanley discloses that the polymeric foam layer further includes expandable microspheres (table 3).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanley as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of US 2019/0345367 to Eckhardt et al. (hereinafter “Eckhardt”).
Hanley does not explicitly disclose the carbon black having a specific surface area from 100 to 2000 m2/g, when measured according to the BET nitrogen absorption test method.
Eckhardt, however, discloses a multilayer PSA assembly comprising a polymeric foam layer having a first major surface and a second major surface, a first PSA layer on the first major surface and a second PSA on the second major surface of the polymeric foam layer (abstract and paragraphs 216-221). The first PSA layer comprises: 20-80 wt% of a linear block copolymer, 20-70 wt% of a hydrocarbon tackifier, 3 to 25 wt% of a (meth)acrylate copolymer, 1 to 15 wt% of a multi-arm block copolymer, 1 to 20 wt% of a deblock copolymer, and 0.1 to 10 wt% of a crosslinking additive, based on the weight of the first PSA layer (paragraphs 179-185). Eckhardt also teaches that the polymeric foam layer is a polyacrylate foam comprising a plurality of activated carbon particles distributed therein (paragraphs 56 and 62). The activated carbon particles have an individual specific surface area in a range from 100 to 2000 m2/g, when measured according to the BET nitrogen absorption test method (paragraph 68). The activated carbon particles are present in an amount of 2 to 15 wt% based on the weight of the polymeric foam (paragraph 72).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use carbon black disclosed in Hanely having an individual specific surface area disclosed in Eckhardt motivated by the desire to promote adsorbing capability of the carbon black for the volatile organic compounds emitted from the adhesive tape.
Claims 1-3, and 6-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0321089 to Bieber et al. (hereinafter “Bieber”) in view of Eckhardt.
As to claims 1, 8, 9, 13, 17 and 18, Bieber discloses a multilayer pressure sensitive adhesive (PSA) assembly comprising a polymeric foam layer having a first major surface and a second major surface, a first PSA layer on the first major surface and a second PSA layer on the second major surface of the polymeric foam layer (abstract, and paragraphs 135 and 136). The first and second PSA layers are identical (paragraph 135). The first PSA layer comprises:
a multi-arm block copolymer in an amount of 20 wt% to 80 wt%, based on the total weight of the first PSA layer, the multi-arm block copolymer having formular Qn-Y wherein:
Q represents an arm of the multi-arm block copolymer and each arm independently has the formular G-R,
n represents the number of arms and is a whole number of at least 3, and
Y is the residue of a multifunctional coupling agent,
wherein each R is a rubber block comprising a polymerized conjugated diene, a hydrogenated derivative of a polymerized conjugated diene, or combinations thereof, and
each G is a glassy block comprising a polymerized monovinyl aromatic monomer, and at least one hydrocarbon tackifier (abstract, and paragraph 57).
Bieber does not explicitly disclose the polymeric foam layer comprising a plurality of activated carbon particles distributed therein.
Eckhardt, however, discloses a multilayer PSA assembly comprising a polymeric foam layer having a first major surface and a second major surface, a first PSA layer on the first major surface and a second PSA on the second major surface of the polymeric foam layer (abstract and paragraphs 216-221). The first PSA layer comprises: 20-80 wt% of a linear block copolymer, 20-70 wt% of a hydrocarbon tackifier, 3 to 25 wt% of a (meth)acrylate copolymer, 1 to 15 wt% of a multi-arm block copolymer, 1 to 20 wt% of a deblock copolymer, and 0.1 to 10 wt% of a crosslinking additive, based on the weight of the first PSA layer (paragraphs 179-185). Eckhardt also teaches that the polymeric foam layer is a polyacrylate foam comprising a plurality of activated carbon particles distributed therein (paragraphs 56 and 62). The activated carbon particles have an individual specific surface area in a range from 100 to 2000 m2/g, when measured according to the BET nitrogen absorption test method (paragraph 68). The activated carbon particles are present in an amount of 2 to 15 wt% based on the weight of the polymeric foam (paragraph 72).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a plurality of activated carbon particles disclosed in Eckhardt in the polymeric foam layer disclosed in Bieber motivated by the desire to decrease of volatile organic compounds emissions from the PSA assembly.
As to claim 2, Bieber discloses that the first PSA layer comprises: 25-60 wt% of a multi-arm block copolymer, 25-60 wt% of a hydrocarbon tackifier, and 3-40 wt% of a linear block copolymer, based on the weight of the first PSA layer (paragraphs 120-125). In particular, the first PSA layer comprises: 32.43 wt% of a multi-arm block copolymer, 44.81 wt% of a hydrocarbon tackifier, and 13.90 wt% of a linear block copolymer, based on the weight of the first PSA layer (table 4, skin 1).
As to claims 3 and 6, Bieber discloses that the rubbery block of the linear block copolymer comprises at least one of polyisobutylene, polyisoprene or polybutadiene while at least one glassy block G of the linear block copolymer comprises at least one of styrene or an alkylated styrene (paragraphs 60 and 61).
As to claim 7, Bieber discloses that the multilayer PSA assembly is crosslinked by electron beam crosslinking (paragraph 266).
As to claim 10, Bieber discloses that the polymeric foam comprises a polymer base material comprising at least one of a polyacrylate, a polyurethane, polyolefin or rubber-based elastomer material (paragraphs 143-144).
As to claim 11, Bieber discloses that the polymeric foam comprises a polyacrylate (paragraphs 143 and 144). Bieber does not explicitly disclose the polyacrylate whose main monomer component comprises a linear of branched alkyl (meth)acrylate ester.
Eckhardt, however, discloses a multilayer PSA assembly comprising a polymeric foam layer having a first major surface and a second major surface, a first PSA layer on the first major surface and a second PSA on the second major surface of the polymeric foam layer (abstract and paragraphs 216-221). The polymeric foam comprises a polyacrylate whose main monomer component comprises a linear of branched alkyl (meth)acrylate ester including methyl (meth)acrylate or ethyl (meth)acrylate (paragraph 56).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a polyacrylate whose main monomer component comprises a linear of branched alkyl (meth)acrylate ester disclosed in Eckhardt for formation of the polymeric foam disclosed in Beiber because such is a typical material for the polymeric foam layer used in the multilayer PSA assemble and Eckhardt provides necessary details to practice the invention of Beiber.
As to claim 12, Bieber discloses that the hydrocarbon tackifier has at least one of a Volatile Organic Compound (VOC) value of less than 1000 ppm, or a Volatile Fogging Compound (FOG) value of less than 1500 ppm, when measured by thermogravimetric analysis (paragraphs 61 and 65).
As to claim 14, Bieber discloses that the hydrocarbon tackifier has at least one of a Volatile Organic Compound (VOC) value of less than 500 ppm according to VDA278, or a Volatile Fogging Compound (FOG) value of less than 1000 ppm according to VDA278 or an odor level of not nor than 3 according to VDA 270 (paragraphs152-154).
As to claims 15 and 16, Bieber discloses a process for making the multilayer PSA assembly comprising: compound the multi-arm block copolymer and at least one hydrocarbon tackifier to form a PSA formulation, melt co-extruding the polymeric foam layer and the PSA formulation to form the multilayer PSA assembly, crosslinking the multilayer PSA assembly with electron beam irradiation (paragraphs 262-266).
As to claim 19, Bieber discloses that the first PSA layer comprises: 32.43 wt% of a multi-arm block copolymer, 44.81 wt% of a hydrocarbon tackifier, and 13.90 wt% of a linear block copolymer, based on the weight of the first PSA layer (table 4, skin 1). Hence, a weight ratio of the multi-arm block copolymer to the linear block copolymer in the first PSA layer is 2.3:1 within the claimed range.
As to claim 20, Bieber discloses that the polymeric foam layer further includes expandable microspheres (paragraph 138).
Conclusion
/Hai Vo/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1788