Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Applicant has explained the claim limitation, “the distance between the axes of the adjacent oil spray holes is equal to 0”, is in reference to the adjacent spray holes 40 that form the oil spray channel 4 in order to create a hole structure with a smooth inner wall, as shown in Applicants Fig. 20 therefore, the 112 rejection that was addressed in the previous action has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see page 9 lines 4 - 21, filed 03/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues Graves et al. does not explicitly provide a quantitative relationship between the oil spray channel, the length of the stator end winding and the distance from the oil outlet of the oil spray channel to the stator end winding. However, one of ordinary skill in the art can look to Graves et al. to satisfy Applicant’s quantitative relationship between the oil spray channel, the length of the stator end winding and the distance from the oil outlet of the oil spray channel to the stator end winding as those are individual components provided by Graves et al., which can easily be modified to optimize cooling efficiency for the stator end windings.
In response to applicant's argument, page 10 whole page, that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “First, by introducing a mathematical relationship between an L/H ratio and predetermined angle a, the claimed invention provides a quantization method to optimize the design of an oil injection passage, thereby allowing a designer to calculate an optimal angle a of inclination of the oil injection passage according to specific dimensions of a motor (such as a length L of a stator end winding and a distance from the oil outlet of the oil spray channel to the stator end winding). Second, since the predetermined angle a formed between the axis of the oil spray channel 4 and the axis of the stator core 2 ensures that the cooling medium can cover a larger area, the surface of the cooling medium contacting the stator end winding is increased, and the cooling efficiency and heat dissipation performance are improved. Thus, a larger area of spray is applied to the stator end winding, the oil pipe and the oil pipe connection piece are omitted, and the structure is simple. As a result, the installation process is simplified, and the heat dissipation efficiency is improved. Again, by setting a reasonable oil spraying angle range, it is ensured that the oil liquid can be effectively sprayed onto the stator end winding, and at the same time, the oil liquid cannot be uniformly covered or an excessive oil spraying resistance cannot be generated due to being excessively large or small. This design not only takes into account the cooling effect, but also takes into account the dynamic characteristics of the oil flow, and has good feasibility and practicability.”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 15 – 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Graves et al.
Regarding Claim 1, Graves et al. discloses an oil cooled motor heat dissipation structure (first jet ring 120 and second jet ring 121) (Graves et al. Fig. 3), comprising:
oil spray parts (also first jet ring 120 and second jet ring 121) (Graves et al. Fig. 3),
the oil spray parts are disposed on two ends of a stator core (116) (Graves et al. Fig. 3);
an outside diameter of the oil spray part is not less than an outside diameter of the stator core (Graves et al. Fig. 3 discloses the oil spray part is greater than the outside diameter of stator 116),
and the oil spray part is in contact with a case (310) (Graves et al. Fig. 3);
an outer surface of the stator core (side surface 304), the case (aperture 303 of housing 310) and the oil spray parts (first space 305 and second space 307 defined between housing 310, and first jet ring 120 and second jet ring 121, respectively) construct a cooling medium flow chamber (first stator cooling channels 202 and second stator cooling channels 203) (Graves et al. Fig. 3),
so as to facilitate the flowing of a cooling medium (oil, abstract) in the cooling medium flow chamber along the outer surface of the stator core (Graves et al. Fig. 3);
the oil spray part comprises an oil spray channel (oil hole 312 of first jet ring 120 and oil hole 314 of second jet ring 121) (Graves et al. Fig. 3);
one end of the oil spray channel is communicated with the cooling medium flow chamber (Graves et al. Fig. 3),
and the other end of the oil spray channel is communicated with a chamber inside the motor (Graves et al. Fig. 3);
the oil spray channel is tilted from an end face of the oil spray part to a direction of a stator end winding (first end-windings 306 and second end-windings 308) (Graves et al. Fig. 3 and Para [0036] lines 4 – 6 disclose the angle of oil holes 312 and 314 can be changed such that they can be tilted towards a direction of respective stator windings 306 and 308),
so that the cooling medium is sprayed to the stator end winding from the cooling medium flow chamber along the oil spray channel (Graves et al. Fig. 3);
the oil spray channel comprises a plurality of oil spray holes (Graves et al. Para [0032] lines 25 – 28);
the plurality of oil spray holes are sequentially disposed along one side surface of the oil spray part which faces the stator core to the other side surface of the oil spray part (Graves et al. Para [0032] lines 28 – 33);
there is a distance between axes of the adjacent oil spray holes (Graves et al. Fig. 3 and Fig. 4B discloses the circumferential distance between adjacent oil spray holes on one side near stator end winding 306),
and the plurality of oil spray holes are arranged in an inclined direction (Graves et al. Fig. 3 and Para [0036] lines 4 – 6 disclose the angle of oil holes 312 and 314 can be changed such that they can be in an inclined direction towards respective stator windings 306 and 308).
Graves does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the axes of the oil spray channel and the stator core intersect and form a predetermined angle α,
and the predetermined angle α satisfies the following relational expression:
0<α<arctan (L/H) wherein L is the length of the stator end winding,
and H is a distance from the oil outlet of the oil spray channel to the stator end winding.
However, Graves et al. discloses the angle of the oil spray channel can be easily changed, this
shows that one of ordinary skill in the art would look to Graves et al. to have wherein the axes of the oil
spray channel and the stator core intersect and form a predetermined angle α, such to satisfy the
relational expression 0<α<arctan (L/H) wherein L is the length of the stator end winding, and H is a
distance from the oil outlet of the oil spray channel to the stator end winding in order to optimize
cooling efficiency for the stator end windings.
As a result, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Graves et al. so that wherein the
axes of the oil spray channel and the stator core intersect and form a predetermined angle α, and the
predetermined angle α satisfies the following relational expression: 0<α<arctan (L/H) wherein L is the
length of the stator end winding, and H is a distance from the oil outlet of the oil spray channel to the
stator end winding as to optimize cooling efficiency for the stator end windings.
Regarding Claim 15, Graves et al. discloses the oil cooled motor heat dissipation structure as claimed in claim 1, wherein a number of oil spray channels is multiple (the plurality of oil spray channels is explicitly and inherently multiple, since there is a plurality of oil spray channels, MPEP 2112 and Graves et al. Para [0032] lines 25 – 28),
the oil spray channels are disposed on an upper half part of the oil spray part which is at least located inside the motor (Graves et al. Fig. 3);
and multiple oil spray channels are disposed in a circumferential direction of the oil spray part (Graves et al. Para [0032] lines 25 – 28).
Regarding Claim 16, Graves discloses the oil cooled motor heat dissipation structure as claimed in claim 1, wherein the oil spray part is an annular structure (Graves et al. Fig. 4B discloses first jet ring 120 has an annular structure);
the oil spray part is disposed at an end (first end 300 and second end 302, respectively) and which is close to an outside diameter side of the stator core (Graves et al. Fig. 3);
the distance between the axes of the adjacent oil spray holes is equal to 0 (Graves et al. Fig. 3 discloses respective oil spray holes 312 and 314 each have two oil spray hole ends, such that the distance between the axes of the adjacent two oil spray hole ends are equal to 0), and the oil spray channel is a hole structure with a smooth inner wall (Graves et al. Fig. 3 discloses respective oil spray holes 312 and 314 have a smooth inner wall).
Regarding Claim 18, Graves et al. discloses a motor (112) (Graves et al. Fig. 1), comprising the oil cooled motor heat dissipation structure as claimed in claim 1 (see above in rejection of claim 1).
Claims 13 – 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Graves et al. in view of Kong et al. (CN 211183563 U).
Regarding Claim 13, Graves et al. discloses the oil cooled motor heat dissipation structure as claimed in claim 1.
Graves et al. does not disclose:
wherein a plurality of heat sinks are disposed on an outer surface of the stator core;
and the plurality of heat sinks are disposed in the circumferential direction of the stator core.
Kong et al. discloses:
wherein a plurality of heat sinks (first partition 31, second partition 32, and third partition 33) (Kong et al. Fig. 1) are disposed on an outer surface of the stator core (1) (Kong et al. Fig. 6);
and the plurality of heat sinks are disposed in the circumferential direction of the stator core (Kong et al. Fig. 2).
Graves et al. and Kong et al. disclose stator cores therefore, Kong et al. constitutes prior art. Kong et al. discloses a stator core with a plurality of partition walls that form a flow channel on the outer surface of the stator core. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein a plurality of heat sinks are disposed on an outer surface of the stator core; and the plurality of heat sinks are disposed in the circumferential direction of the stator core of Kong et al. for the purpose of having a plurality of cooling areas for the outer surface of the stator core.
Regarding Claim 14, Graves et al. and Kong et al. disclose the oil cooled motor heat dissipation structure as claimed in claim 13.
Graves et al. does not disclose:
wherein the plurality of heat sinks are disposed in multiple groups; multiple groups heat sinks are sequentially disposed in the circumferential direction of the stator core; each of the multiple groups heat sinks comprises a first blocking rod, a second blocking rod and a third blocking rod; the first blocking rod, the second blocking rod and the third blocking rod are all disposed in an axis direction of the stator core, and the first blocking rod and the second blocking rod are disposed on a same straight line; a gap is disposed between the first blocking rod and the second blocking rod; the third blocking rod is disposed at any side of the first blocking rod; the third blocking rod corresponds to the gap between the first blocking rod and the second blocking rod;
or, the length of the heat sink is less than the length of the stator core, and the plurality of heat sinks are disposed in an S-shape;
or, the plurality of heat sinks are disposed in multiple groups; the multiple groups heat sinks are sequentially disposed in the axis direction of the stator core; each of the multiple groups heat sinks are disposed in the circumferential direction of the stator core, and each heat sink intersects the axis of the stator core; the heat sinks in adjacent two groups are disposed in a staggered manner; in the axis direction of the stator core, a plurality of heat dissipation areas are disposed on the outer surface of the stator core; the multiple groups heat sinks are disposed on each of the heat dissipation areas; first inclination directions of the heat sinks in two groups which are disposed on both sides of the heat dissipation area are consistent; the second inclination directions of the heat sinks in the remaining groups except the two groups which are disposed on both sides of the heat dissipation area are consistent, and the second inclination directions of the heat sinks in the remaining groups and the first inclination directions of the heat sinks in the two groups which are disposed on both sides of the heat dissipation area are disposed symmetrically;
or, the plurality of heat sinks are disposed in multiple groups; the multiple groups heat sinks are sequentially disposed in the axis direction of the stator core; each of the multiple groups heat sinks are disposed in the circumferential direction of the stator core, and each heat sink intersects the axis of the stator core; the heat sinks in adjacent two groups are disposed in a staggered manner, and the inclination directions of the heat sinks in the two groups are 6 disposed symmetrically;
or, the plurality of heat sinks are disposed in multiple groups; the multiple groups heat sinks are sequentially disposed in the axis direction of the stator core; each of the multiple groups heat sinks are disposed in the circumferential direction of the stator core, and the heat sink comprises a first blocking piece and a second blocking piece; the first blocking piece is connected with the second blocking piece; both the first blocking piece and the second blocking piece are disposed in the circumferential direction of the stator core; the first blocking piece and the second blocking piece are disposed in a stepped manner; the heat sinks in the two adjacent groups are disposed in a staggered manner; and the heat sinks in the two adjacent groups are disposed symmetrically.
Kong et al. discloses:
wherein the plurality of heat sinks are disposed in multiple groups; multiple groups heat sinks are sequentially disposed in the circumferential direction of the stator core; each of the multiple groups heat sinks comprises a first blocking rod, a second blocking rod and a third blocking rod; the first blocking rod, the second blocking rod and the third blocking rod are all disposed in an axis direction of the stator core, and the first blocking rod and the second blocking rod are disposed on a same straight line; a gap is disposed between the first blocking rod and the second blocking rod; the third blocking rod is disposed at any side of the first blocking rod; the third blocking rod corresponds to the gap between the first blocking rod and the second blocking rod (since the wording of the claim is such that there are multiple alternatives in “or” form which makes the alternative forms to be obvious of one another.);
or, the length of the heat sink is less than the length of the stator core (Kong et al. Fig. 1 discloses the first partition 31, second partition 32, and third partition 33 have respective lengths that is less than the length of the stator core, which comprise cylinder 10 and pressure plates 11), and the plurality of heat sinks are disposed in an S-shape (Kong et al. Fig. 1);
or, the plurality of heat sinks are disposed in multiple groups; the multiple groups heat sinks are sequentially disposed in the axis direction of the stator core; each of the multiple groups heat sinks are disposed in the circumferential direction of the stator core, and each heat sink intersects the axis of the stator core; the heat sinks in adjacent two groups are disposed in a staggered manner; in the axis direction of the stator core, a plurality of heat dissipation areas are disposed on the outer surface of the stator core; the multiple groups heat sinks are disposed on each of the heat dissipation areas; first inclination directions of the heat sinks in two groups which are disposed on both sides of the heat dissipation area are consistent; the second inclination directions of the heat sinks in the remaining groups except the two groups which are disposed on both sides of the heat dissipation area are consistent, and the second inclination directions of the heat sinks in the remaining groups and the first inclination directions of the heat sinks in the two groups which are disposed on both sides of the heat dissipation area are disposed symmetrically (since the wording of the claim is such that there are multiple alternatives in “or” form which makes the alternative forms to be obvious of one another);
or, the plurality of heat sinks are disposed in multiple groups; the multiple groups heat sinks are sequentially disposed in the axis direction of the stator core; each of the multiple groups heat sinks are disposed in the circumferential direction of the stator core, and each heat sink intersects the axis of the stator core; the heat sinks in adjacent two groups are disposed in a staggered manner, and the inclination directions of the heat sinks in the two groups are 6 disposed symmetrically (since the wording of the claim is such that there are multiple alternatives in “or” form which makes the alternative forms to be obvious of one another);
or, the plurality of heat sinks are disposed in multiple groups; the multiple groups heat sinks are sequentially disposed in the axis direction of the stator core; each of the multiple groups heat sinks are disposed in the circumferential direction of the stator core, and the heat sink comprises a first blocking piece and a second blocking piece; the first blocking piece is connected with the second blocking piece; both the first blocking piece and the second blocking piece are disposed in the circumferential direction of the stator core; the first blocking piece and the second blocking piece are disposed in a stepped manner; the heat sinks in the two adjacent groups are disposed in a staggered manner; and the heat sinks in the two adjacent groups are disposed symmetrically (since the wording of the claim is such that there are multiple alternatives in “or” form which makes the alternative forms to be obvious of one another).
It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the plurality of heat sinks are disposed in multiple groups; multiple groups heat sinks are sequentially disposed in the circumferential direction of the stator core; each of the multiple groups heat sinks comprises a first blocking rod, a second blocking rod and a third blocking rod; the first blocking rod, the second blocking rod and the third blocking rod are all disposed in an axis direction of the stator core, and the first blocking rod and the second blocking rod are disposed on a same straight line; a gap is disposed between the first blocking rod and the second blocking rod; the third blocking rod is disposed at any side of the first blocking rod; the third blocking rod corresponds to the gap between the first blocking rod and the second blocking rod; or, the length of the heat sink is less than the length of the stator core, and the plurality of heat sinks are disposed in an S-shape; or, the plurality of heat sinks are disposed in multiple groups; the multiple groups heat sinks are sequentially disposed in the axis direction of the stator core; each of the multiple groups heat sinks are disposed in the circumferential direction of the stator core, and each heat sink intersects the axis of the stator core; the heat sinks in adjacent two groups are disposed in a staggered manner; in the axis direction of the stator core, a plurality of heat dissipation areas are disposed on the outer surface of the stator core; the multiple groups heat sinks are disposed on each of the heat dissipation areas; first inclination directions of the heat sinks in two groups which are disposed on both sides of the heat dissipation area are consistent; the second inclination directions of the heat sinks in the remaining groups except the two groups which are disposed on both sides of the heat dissipation area are consistent, and the second inclination directions of the heat sinks in the remaining groups and the first inclination directions of the heat sinks in the two groups which are disposed on both sides of the heat dissipation area are disposed symmetrically; or, the plurality of heat sinks are disposed in multiple groups; the multiple groups heat sinks are sequentially disposed in the axis direction of the stator core; each of the multiple groups heat sinks are disposed in the circumferential direction of the stator core, and each heat sink intersects the axis of the stator core; the heat sinks in adjacent two groups are disposed in a staggered manner, and the inclination directions of the heat sinks in the two groups are 6 disposed symmetrically; or, the plurality of heat sinks are disposed in multiple groups; the multiple groups heat sinks are sequentially disposed in the axis direction of the stator core; each of the multiple groups heat sinks are disposed in the circumferential direction of the stator core, and the heat sink comprises a first blocking piece and a second blocking piece; the first blocking piece is connected with the second blocking piece; both the first blocking piece and the second blocking piece are disposed in the circumferential direction of the stator core; the first blocking piece and the second blocking piece are disposed in a stepped manner; the heat sinks in the two adjacent groups are disposed in a staggered manner; and the heat sinks in the two adjacent groups are disposed symmetrically of Kong et al. for the purpose of expanding the cooling flow length around the outer surface of the stator core.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 – 8, 10 – 12, and 19 – 20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 2, the prior art discloses various oil cooled motor heat dissipation structures having an oil spray cooling structure to cool stator end windings. However, the particular structure of the oil cooled motor heat dissipation structure, in combination with previously recited features, wherein the oil spray channel is a hole structure with a stepped inner wall is not disclosed in the prior art. Thus, the invention recited above is neither anticipated nor rendered obvious by the art.
Regarding Claims 3 – 8, 10 – 12, and 19 – 20, they are objected to as being dependent on allowable claim 2 or objected as being dependent on another claim dependent on allowable claim 2.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THEODORE L PERKINS/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TERRANCE L KENERLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834