DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the venting holes" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, the limitation is interpreted as reciting --one of the at least one venting hole--.
Claim 11 is rejected based upon its dependence on claim 10.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 11 is in improper form for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 11 requires that the sealing member is installed in the hollow venting channel of the housing of the venting device, while claim 1 requires that the sealing member is installed on at least one of the side wall of the lower case and the upper case to cover at least one venting hole. As such, it is impossible for the sealing member to be “on at least one of the side wall of the lower case and the upper case” and also “in the hollow venting channel of the housing” of the venting device. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (CN 112751121 with reliance upon the machine translation; hereinafter “Liu”).
In regard to claim 1, Liu discloses a battery pack (battery box 100) comprising a lower case (shell 1) configured to accommodate a plurality of battery modules (battery modules 101) therein; an upper case (necessarily present but not pictured) coupled to the lower case while covering the lower case; at least one venting hole (mounting holes 14) provided in a side wall of the lower case; a sealing member (explosion proof valve 3) installed on the side wall of the lower case to cover the at least one venting hole, and configured to be deformed under a predetermined pressure or a predetermined temperature or higher (“the high temperature gas acts on the explosion-proof valve; the explosion-proof valve is opened by high pressure;” see page 5 of the translation) to open at least one venting hole; and a flame control block (filtering unit 2) mounted on an inner surface of the side wall of the lower case to cover the at least one venting hole and the sealing member, the flame control block including a flame blocking surface with a plurality of flame discharge holes (mesh plate 212) and an inner space that communicates with the flame discharge holes and that is open toward the venting holes and the sealing member. See Figures 1-3 and 5 and pages 4-7 of the translation.
In regard to claim 2, Liu discloses a mesh-shaped flame extinction member (inner mesh plate 22) installed inside of the sealing member. See Figure 5 and page 6 of the translation.
In regard to claim 3, Liu discloses wherein the flame control block comprises a protruding frame (side plate 211) protruding toward an inside of the battery pack while surrounding the at least one venting hole and the sealing member, and wherein a protruding surface (mesh plate 212) of the protruding frame forms the flame blocking surface, and the inner space is between an inner surface of the protruding frame, at least one venting hole, and the sealing member. See Figures 2-3 and 5 and page 7 of the translation.
In regard to claim 4, Liu discloses a mounting bracket (connecting plate 213) on an end of the protruding frame opposite to the flame blocking surface, wherein the mounting bracket is mounted on the inner surface of the side wall of the lower case. See Figures 2-3 and 5 and page 7 of the translation.
In regard to claim 12, Liu discloses wherein the flame control block further comprises at least one partition frame (inner mesh plate 22) including flame discharge holes (holes in the mesh) communicating with the flame discharge holes in the flame blocking surface, configured to partition the inner space (“inner layer mesh plate 22 is fixed on the inner mounting cavity”), and installed in the protruding frame. See Figure 5 and page 7 of the translation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu as applied to claims 3 and 12 above and further in view of Li et al. (US 2016/0133901; hereinafter “Li”).
In regard to claim 5, Liu is silent in regard to wherein a gas inlet is provided at a corner of the protruding frame.
Li discloses a battery pack with a safety protection device 40 (equivalent to the recited flame control block) for covering a venting hole (relief hole 510) which has a sealing member (relief disk) installed therein. The safety protection device 40 is disclosed to have several different embodiments, with at least the embodiment of Figure 8 including a plurality of flame discharge holes in baffle plate 48 and a gas inlet (open side walls) at a corner of a protruding frame (the legs from the mounting flanges to the baffle plate to allow more gas to pass through while blocking particles. See Figure 8 and [0045].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the safety protection device of Li for the filtering unit of Liu for the purpose of proving a flame blocking member that allows more gas to pass through while still blocking particles from escaping the battery pack. Applying a known technique to a known device (method or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, D.).
In regard to claim 13, Liu is silent in regard to wherein the flame discharge holes in the at least one partition frame is provided to overlap at least some of the flame discharge holes in the flame blocking surface.
Li discloses, in an other embodiment depicted in Figure 9, a safety protection device 40 wherein flame discharge holes in the partition frame (side wall 49) overlap with some of the flame discharge holes in the flame blocking surface (baffle 48). See Figure 9 and [0046].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the safety protection device of Li for the filtering unit of Liu for the purpose of proving a flame blocking member that allows more gas to pass through while still blocking particles from escaping the battery pack to effectively balance a sparks baffle effect and a gas discharge velocity. Applying a known technique to a known device (method or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, D.).
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Jeon et al. (US 2022/0367970; hereinafter “Jeon”).
In regard to claims 10 and 11, Liu is silent in regard to further comprising a venting device mounted on at least one of an outer side of the side wall of the lower case and the upper case while covering the venting holes, wherein the venting device comprises: a housing provided with a hollow venting channel communicating with at least one venting hole; and a mesh-shaped flame extinction member coupled to an entrance of the hollow venting channel communicating with the at least one venting hole, wherein the sealing member is installed in the hollow venting channel of the housing.
Jeon discloses a venting device (non-flammable member 1200) mounted on an outer side of the side wall of the lower case while covering a venting hole 1101, wherein the venting device comprises: a housing (body part 1230) provided with a hollow venting channel (internal space 1240) communicating with the venting hole 1101; and a mesh-shaped flame extinction member (blocking portion 1210 in the form of “mesh nets;” see [0087]) coupled to an entrance of the hollow venting channel communicating with the at least one venting hole, and wherein the sealing member (blocking film 1220) is installed in the hollow venting channel of the housing. See Figures 1-3 and paragraphs [0037]-[0045].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the non-flammable member of Jeon with the battery pack of Li for the purpose of providing an additional external structure to suppress or minimize a spurt of flames or high-temperature gas to the outside of the battery pack to suppress the spread of fire to other neighboring battery packs or the surrounding area. The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, A.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-9 and 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY C CLEVELAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774