DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of a thioketal-containing composition as the thiol or selenium species and an anionic linker, reading on claims 1, 6-8, 11 and 13-14, in the response dated 7/20/2026, is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.03(a)).
Claims 2-5, 9-10, and 12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Status
Claims 1-14 are pending.
Claims 2-5, 9-10, and 12 are withdrawn.
Claims 1, 6-8, 11, and 13-14 are examined on the merits in this prosecution.
CLAIM REJECTIONS
Indefiniteness Rejections
Claims 1, 6-8, 11, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 13 recite the term “biomaterial.” However, the term is not defined in the specification or the claims, and the metes and bounds of the limitation are unclear. See MPEP 2173.02(III)(B). The term “biomaterial” is recited in claim 13 as including polymeric coatings, hydrogels, and nanoparticles, but these elements are not necessarily materials with a biological function, and it is unclear whether polymeric coatings, hydrogels, and nanoparticles that do not have a biological function are within the scope of the claim.
For the purposes of this examination, any element that may have a biological function is considered a “biomaterial.”
Furthermore, claim 1 is confusing in that it is unclear what process is being claimed, what the individual steps are recited by the method, and what step requires the presence of an acid catalyst.
Obviousness Rejection
1. Claims 1, 6, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (“ROS-Responsive Polyprodrug Nanoparticles for Triggered Drug Delivery and Effective Cancer Therapy,” Adv. Mater. 2017, 29, 1700141), in view of Wilson (“Mercaptans From Thioketals: Cyclododecyl Mercaptan,” Organic Syntheses, Coll. Vol. 7, p. 124 (1990); Vol. 61, p .74 (1983)).
It is noted that the Supporting Information accompanying this prior art is considered part of the teaching of the Xu publication for the purposes the Obviousness Rejection.
Xu teaches a method of incorporating one or more linkers into a biomaterial comprising at least one ketone by reacting a linker-containing material (including a thioketal) with the biomaterial in the presence of an acid catalyst.
Xu teaches the following synthetic method; the transformation of the ketal to the thioketal to yield diacetate 2 is catalyzed by p-toluenesulfonic acid (Supplementary Material, pg 15) :
Scheme S1:
In compound 2, the biomaterial is the acetate group, a compound with known immunomodulatory properties.
Xu does not teach a ketone unit, but rather an equivalent, 2,2-dimethoxypropane.
Wilson teaches the missing element of Xu.
Wilson teaches thioketals can be prepared from ketones by the reaction of the ketone with 2 equivalents of thiol (as one equivalent of a dithiol) in a reaction catalyzed by p-toluenesulfonic acid (first page, figure).
The skilled artisan would have expected success in substituting Wilson's ketone, or acetone, for the 2,2 dimethoxypropane in Xu’s method because Wilson teaches a method of forming a thioketal from a ketone and two equivalents of thiol utilizing p-toluenesulfonic acid as the acid catalyst and Wilson teaches the method is general (see pg 3, Table 1) and may utilize the lower boiling solvent benzene (Note 3).
CONCLUSION
/MICHAEL P COHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612