DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 9-14, 16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bang et al (US 2018/0122875 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Bang et al discloses a semiconductor device (Figures 3-5) comprising: a plurality of pixels arrayed in a two-dimensional matrix shape (Figures 3-5, references RP, GP and BP); and a partition wall (Figures 4 and 5, reference 270) disposed between the pixels (Figures 3-5, references RP, GP and BP), the partition wall (Figures 4 and 5, reference 270) partitioning each of the pixels (Figures 3-5, references RP, GP and BP), wherein each of the pixels (Figures 3-5, references RP, GP and BP) comprises: a first electrode (Figures 4 and 5, references 264) provided on a substrate (Figures 4 and 5, reference 111); an antireflection film (Figures 4 and 5, reference 261) provided on at least a part of a peripheral portion of the first electrode (Figures 4 and 5, references 264); a light emitting layer (Figures 4 and 5, reference 262) provided on the first electrode (Figures 4 and 5, references 264); and a second electrode (Figures 4 and 5, reference 263) provided on the light emitting layer (Figures 4 and 5, reference 262).
Regarding claim 2, Bang et al discloses wherein the antireflection film contains at least one of molybdenum or titanium nitride (Figures 4 and 5, reference 261; paragraphs 0066-0067).
Regarding claim 3, Bang et al discloses wherein a film thickness of the antireflection film (Figures 4 and 5, reference 261) located on the peripheral portion of the first electrode (Figures 4 and 5, references 264) is within a range between 20 nanometers (µm) and 1 micrometer (µm) (Figures 4 and 5).
Regarding claim 4, Bang et al discloses wherein the antireflection film (Figures 4 and 5, reference 261) is provided on at least a part of the peripheral portion from a side surface of the first electrode (Figures 4 and 5, references 264).
Regarding claim 5, Bang et al discloses wherein the partition wall (Figures 4 and 5, reference 270) extends over the peripheral portion of the first electrode (Figures 4 and 5, reference 264), and upper surface and a side surface of the antireflection film (Figures 4 and 5 reference 261) are covered with the partition wall (Figures 4 and 5, reference 270; paragraph 0074) extending over the peripheral portion of the first electrode (Figures 4 and 5, references 264).
Regarding claim 7, Bang et al discloses wherein the partition wall (Figures 4 and 5, reference 270) extends over the peripheral portion of the first electrode (Figures 4 and 5, reference 264), and the antireflection film (Figures 4 and 5 reference 261) is provided on at least a part of the partition wall (Figures 4 and 5, reference 270) provided on the peripheral portion of the first electrode (Figures 4 and 5, reference 264).
Regarding claim 9, Bang et al discloses wherein the antireflection film (Figures 4 and 5 reference 261) is provided on at least a part of the peripheral portion from a side surface of the first electrode (Figures 4 and 5, reference 264), and the partition wall (Figures 4 and 5, reference 270) is provided between the antireflection films (Figures 4 and 5 reference 261) in adjacent pixels (Figures 3-5, references RP, GP and BP).
Regarding claim 10, Bang et al discloses wherein the partition wall (Figures 4 and 5, reference 270) and the antireflection film (Figures 4 and 5 reference 261) are a same film. parent
Regarding claim 11, Bang et al discloses wherein the antireflection film has a stacked structure (Figures 4 and 5, references 261).
Regarding claim 12, Bang et al discloses wherein the antireflection film is an optical interference film (Figures 4 and 5, references 261; paragraphs 0066-0067).
Regarding claim 13, Bang et al discloses wherein the first electrode has a stacked structure (Figures 4 and 5, reference 264).
Regarding claim 14, Bang et al discloses wherein the first electrode has the stacked structure (Figures 4 and 5, reference 264), an uppermost layer of the first electrode is a transparent electrode (Figures 4 and 5, reference 264; paragraph 0066), and the antireflection film is (Figures 4 and 5, references 261) made of a material having a lower charge injection property than a charge injection property of the transparent electrode (Figures 4 and 5, reference 264; paragraphs 0066-0067).
Regarding claim 16, Bang et al discloses wherein an opening shape of the partition wall (Figures 4 and 5, reference 270) and an opening shape of the antireflection film (Figures 4 and 5, reference 261) are different from each other.
Regarding claim 20, Bang et al discloses display device (Figures 1-5, reference 100) comprising: the semiconductor device (Figures 4 and 5, references 260) according to claim 1; and a drive unit (Figure 2, reference 120) that drives the semiconductor device (Figures 4 and 5, reference 260).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 8, 15 and 17-19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art does not disclose nor fairly suggest a semiconductor device comprising: wherein the partition wall extends over the peripheral portion of the first electrode, a part of an upper surface of the antireflection film is covered with the partition wall extending over the peripheral portion of the first electrode, and a side surface of the antireflection film on the peripheral portion of the first electrode protrudes towards a center of the first electrode with respect to a side surface of the partition wall located on the peripheral portion of the first electrode (claim 6), wherein a portion of the antireflection film on the peripheral portion of the first electrode protrudes towards a center of the first electrode with respect to the partition wall provided on the peripheral portion of the first electrode, and an air gap is provided under the antireflection film protruding from the partition wall provided on the peripheral portion of the first electrode (claim 8), wherein an opening shape of the antireflection film is similar to an opening shape of the partition wall (claim 15), wherein a central axis of an opening of the antireflection film coincides with a central axis of an opening of the partition wall (claim 17), wherein a central axis of an opening of the antireflection film is shifted from a central axis of an opening of the partition wall (claim 18) and wherein an opening shape of the antireflection film is a rectangular shape, a stripe shape, a polygonal shape, a circular shape, or an elliptical shape (claim 19) further incorporated in to the independent claim and in the context of its recited apparatus, along with its depending claims.
Conclusion
/MONICA D HARRISON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815
mdh
August 20, 2026