CTNF 18/699,537 CTNF 83247 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement submitted on April 8, 2024 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: on line 8 of claim 13, replace “access” with --accessing --. Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 1, 2, 5-8, 12, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by LUO et al. (hereinafter Luo) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2021/0378011 A1) . Regarding claims 1 and 13 , Luo teaches and discloses a method and apparatus (base station/BS/IAB node; figures 2-5 and 12) , comprising: a processor (processor, figure 12) ; and a memory (memory, figure 12) coupled to the processor, the processor configured to cause the apparatus to: perform a first part of channel sensing (channel access/channel sensing) on a shared medium (channel of an unlicensed spectrum; [0007]) by using a first entity of the apparatus (entity of the IAB node, such as IAB-DU; figure 4B) ([0006]; “ a channel in an unlicensed 5G spectrum…an IAB node of the IAB network may perform a channel access procedure to acquire or initiate the COT and share the COT with a parent IAB node and/or a child IAB node for the parent IAB node and/or child IAB node to use the COT for communication with, or in turn share the COT (or what remains thereof) with, another IAB node that is different from the COT-initiating node… ”; [0032]; “ …a channel access procedure can refer to a procedure based on sensing that evaluates the availability of a channel for performing transmissions… ”; [0080]; “ …COT sharing, across IAB nodes of an IAB network, of COT initiated for communications by a DU of an IAB node… ”; [0081]; [0082]; teaches the DU of an IAB node performs a first part (initiated) of channel access/channel sensing on a shared channel of an unlicensed spectrum) ; perform, using a second entity of the apparatus (entity of the IAB node, such as IAB-MT; figure 4B) , a second part of the channel sensing on the shared medium in response to determining that the second entity is allowed to perform a second part of the channel sensing on the shared medium ([0006]; “ a channel in an unlicensed 5G spectrum…an IAB node of the IAB network may perform a channel access procedure to acquire or initiate the COT and share the COT with a parent IAB node and/or a child IAB node for the parent IAB node and/or child IAB node to use the COT for communication with, or in turn share the COT (or what remains thereof) with, another IAB node that is different from the COT-initiating node… ”; [0032]; “ …a channel access procedure can refer to a procedure based on sensing that evaluates the availability of a channel for performing transmissions… ”; [0080]; [0081]; “ …the child MT of the IAB node 908 may share the COT with the co-located DU of the same IAB node…by performing a type 2 channel access procedure…the MT of the IAB node 910 may perform a type 2 channel access procedure 926 to access the COT…The MT of the IAB node 910 may perform the type 2 channel access procedure 926 (e.g., type 2A) to access the remaining COT… ”; [0082]; teaches the MT of an IAB node performs a second part of channel access/channel sensing on the shared channel of an unlicensed spectrum) ; and access, using the second entity of the apparatus, the shared medium in response to determining that the shared medium is idle based on the channel sensing ([0061]; “ …a type 1 LBT channel access procedure…spectrum sharing mechanism by which a device (e.g., an IAB node) senses the channel using a clear channel assessment (CCA) check before accessing to it…a device such as an IAB node initiating a transmission may initially wait for the channel to be idle… ”; [0081]; [0082]; teaches the MT of the IAB node accesses the shared channel in response to determining that the shared channel is idle) . Regarding claim 2 , Luo further teaches wherein: channel sensing comprises: sensing the shared medium; and decrementing a backoff timer in response to determining that the shared medium is idle; performing the first part of the channel sensing comprises performing a first subset of the plurality of steps by using the backoff timer; and performing the second part of the channel sensing comprises performing a remaining subset of the plurality of steps using the same backoff timer ([0061]; “ …an LBT with random back-off with a contention window of fixed size, in which the extended CCA period is drawn by a random number within a fixed contention window…a device such as an IAB node initiating a transmission may initially wait for the channel to be idle…the device may then proceed to perform a CCA after each of the m required observation or sensing slots…the backoff stage, the device can select a random whole number N in {0, . . . , CW}, where CW is the contention window. CCA may then be performed for each observation slot and can result either in decrementing N by 1…the backoff procedure… ”; teaches decrementing a backoff timer/window and performing channel access/channel sensing using the remaining time) . Regarding claim 5 , Luo further teaches wherein the processor is configured to: determine that the second entity is allowed to perform the second part of the channel sensing on the shared medium based at least in part on first hardware associated with the first entity being collocated with second hardware associated with the second entity ([0081]; “ …the child MT of the IAB node 908 may share the COT with the co-located DU of the same IAB node 908, which allows the co-located DU to access the COT by performing a type 2 channel access procedure… ”; [0082]; “ …the COT-initiating DU of the IAB node 902 may itself share with the co-located MT of the same IAB node 902 the COT 914, which allows the co-located MT to use the COT… ”; teaches performing channel access/channel sensing procedure on the shared channel where the first entity is collated with the second entity) . Regarding claim 6 , Luo further teaches wherein the processor is configured to: determine that the second entity is allowed to perform the second part of the channel sensing on the shared medium based at least in part on an indication in a channel access configuration ([0055]; [0059]; teaches configuration of the MT of the IAB node indicates resources for channel access/channel sensing) . Regarding claim 7 , Luo further teaches wherein the processor is configured to: multiplex the first part of the channel sensing and the second part of the channel sensing according to a time-division multiplexing (“TDM”) scheme ([0049]; “ …IAB nodes (e.g., such as IAB nodes 105 or 465) of an IAB network can support duplex capabilities…orthogonally partitioned between the access links and the backhaul links of the IAB node according to the multiplex capabilities of the IAB node, which include partitioning the radio or communication resources of the node in time (i.e., time division multiplexing (TDM) capabilities)… ”; [0052]; teaches multiplexing the channel access according to TDM) . Regarding claim 8 , Luo further teaches wherein the first part of the channel sensing and the second part of the channel sensing overlap in a time domain according to a frequency-division multiplexing (“FDM”), a spatial-division multiplexing (“SDM”), or a combination thereof ([0049]; “ …IAB nodes (e.g., such as IAB nodes 105 or 465) of an IAB network can support duplex capabilities…orthogonally partitioned between the access links and the backhaul links of the IAB node according to the multiplex capabilities of the IAB node, which include partitioning the radio or communication resources of the node…in frequency (i.e., frequency division multiplexing (FDM) capabilities), and in space (i.e., space division multiplexing (SDM) capabilities… ”; [0051]; teaches multiplexing the channel access according to FDM and/or SDM) . Regarding claim 12 , Luo further teaches wherein: the apparatus is a wireless integrated access and backhaul (“IAB”) node; the first entity is at least one of an IAB-distributed unit (“DU”) or an IAB-mobile terminal (“MT”) (entity of the IAB node, such as IAB-DU; figure 4B) ; and the second entity is at least one of the IAB-MT or the IAB-DU, respectively (entity of the IAB node, such as IAB-MT; figure 4B) ([0048]; [0050]; [0080]; [0081]; teaches the first entity can be IAB-DU and the second entity can be IAB-MT) . Regarding claim 15 , Luo teaches and discloses a wireless network node (base station/BS/IAB node; figures 2-5 and 12) comprising: a processor (processor, figure 12) ; and a memory (memory, figure 12) coupled to the processor, the processor configured to cause the wireless network node to: perform, using one of an integrated access and backhaul distributed unit (“IAB-DU”) and an IAB-mobile terminal (“MT”) (entity of the IAB node, such as IAB-DU; figure 4B) , a first part of channel sensing (channel access/channel sensing) on a shared medium (channel of an unlicensed spectrum; [0007]) ([0006]; “ a channel in an unlicensed 5G spectrum…an IAB node of the IAB network may perform a channel access procedure to acquire or initiate the COT and share the COT with a parent IAB node and/or a child IAB node for the parent IAB node and/or child IAB node to use the COT for communication with, or in turn share the COT (or what remains thereof) with, another IAB node that is different from the COT-initiating node… ”; [0032]; “ …a channel access procedure can refer to a procedure based on sensing that evaluates the availability of a channel for performing transmissions… ”; [0080]; “ …COT sharing, across IAB nodes of an IAB network, of COT initiated for communications by a DU of an IAB node… ”; [0081]; [0082]; teaches the DU of an IAB node performs a first part (initiated) of channel access/channel sensing on a shared channel of an unlicensed spectrum) ; perform, using the other of the one of the IAB-DU and the IAB-MT (entity of the IAB node, such as IAB-MT; figure 4B) , the second part of the channel sensing on the shared medium in response to determining that the other of the one of the IAB-DU and the IAB-MT is allowed to perform a second part of the channel sensing on the shared medium ([0006]; “ a channel in an unlicensed 5G spectrum…an IAB node of the IAB network may perform a channel access procedure to acquire or initiate the COT and share the COT with a parent IAB node and/or a child IAB node for the parent IAB node and/or child IAB node to use the COT for communication with, or in turn share the COT (or what remains thereof) with, another IAB node that is different from the COT-initiating node… ”; [0032]; “ …a channel access procedure can refer to a procedure based on sensing that evaluates the availability of a channel for performing transmissions… ”; [0080]; [0081]; “ …the child MT of the IAB node 908 may share the COT with the co-located DU of the same IAB node…by performing a type 2 channel access procedure…the MT of the IAB node 910 may perform a type 2 channel access procedure 926 to access the COT…The MT of the IAB node 910 may perform the type 2 channel access procedure 926 (e.g., type 2A) to access the remaining COT… ”; [0082]; teaches the MT of an IAB node performs a second part of channel access/channel sensing on the shared channel of an unlicensed spectrum) ; and access, using the other of the one of the IAB-DU and the IAB-MT (entity of the IAB node, such as IAB-MT; figure 4B) , the shared medium in response to determining that the shared medium is idle based on the channel sensing ([0061]; “ …a type 1 LBT channel access procedure…spectrum sharing mechanism by which a device (e.g., an IAB node) senses the channel using a clear channel assessment (CCA) check before accessing to it…a device such as an IAB node initiating a transmission may initially wait for the channel to be idle… ”; [0081]; [0082]; teaches the MT of the IAB node accesses the shared channel in response to determining that the shared channel is idle) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-103 AIA The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co. , 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LUO et al. (hereinafter Luo) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2021/0378011 A1) in view of Smith et al. (hereinafter Smith) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0183037 A1) . Regarding claim 3 , Luo discloses an IAB node performing channel access/channel sensing on a shared channel of an unlicensed spectrum, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the processor is configured to: determine that the second entity is allowed to perform the second part of the channel sensing on the shared medium based at least in part on a first spatial parameter associated with the first part of the channel sensing by the first entity being identical to a second spatial parameter associated with the second part of the channel sensing by the second entity. Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Smith teaches and suggests wherein the processor is configured to: determine that the second entity is allowed to perform the second part of the channel sensing on the shared medium based at least in part on a first spatial parameter associated with the first part of the channel sensing by the first entity being identical to a second spatial parameter associated with the second part of the channel sensing by the second entity ([0030]; [0102]; “ …facilitate parallelism of spatial filters, whereby spatial LBT operation is performed concurrently on multiple beam indices…if spatial LBT is performed on multiple beam indexes, each of which is used for a different UE, then those spatial beams that meet LBT criteria for clear channel assessment can be prioritized for immediate data transmission… ”; [0113]; [0137]; [0140]; teaches IAB node performing channel access/channel sensing based on spatial parameters) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate IAB node performing channel access/channel sensing based on spatial parameters as taught by Smith with the method and apparatus for performing channel access/channel sensing on a shared channel of an unlicensed spectrum as disclosed by Luo for the purpose of improvements to operation of such networks in shared spectrum, as suggested by Smith. Regarding claim 4 , Luo discloses an IAB node performing channel access/channel sensing on a shared channel of an unlicensed spectrum, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the processor is configured to: determine that the second entity is allowed to perform the second part of the channel sensing on the shared medium based at least in part on a first spatial parameter associated with the first part of the channel sensing by the first entity being associated with a second spatial parameter associated with the second part of the channel sensing by the second entity based at least in part on an angular relationship between a first beam associated with transmission of a first plurality of signals and a second beam associated with transmission of a second plurality of signals, the angular relationship comprising the first beam overlapping with the second beam, a first coverage of one of the first beam and the second beam being a subset of a second coverage of the other of the first beam and the second beam, a first relationship between beam angles of the first beam and the second beam, a second relationship between widths of the first beam and the second beam, or a combination thereof . Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Smith teaches and suggests wherein the processor is configured to: determine that the second entity is allowed to perform the second part of the channel sensing on the shared medium based at least in part on a first spatial parameter associated with the first part of the channel sensing by the first entity being associated with a second spatial parameter associated with the second part of the channel sensing by the second entity based at least in part on an angular relationship between a first beam associated with transmission of a first plurality of signals and a second beam associated with transmission of a second plurality of signals, the angular relationship comprising the first beam overlapping with the second beam, a first coverage of one of the first beam and the second beam being a subset of a second coverage of the other of the first beam and the second beam ([0030]; “ …each spatial transmit beam can have a coverage area that extends beyond a coverage area of a spatial receive beam used to determine availability of a subset that includes a range of azimuths and elevations of the spatial transmit beam… ”; [0102]; “ …facilitate parallelism of spatial filters, whereby spatial LBT operation is performed concurrently on multiple beam indices…if spatial LBT is performed on multiple beam indexes, each of which is used for a different UE, then those spatial beams that meet LBT criteria for clear channel assessment can be prioritized for immediate data transmission… ”; [0113]; [0137]; “ …the plurality of adjacent spatial regions can comprise a coverage area and, for each spatial region, the associated gain can be based on position of the spatial region relative to the center of the coverage area and size of the spatial region relative to the coverage area… ”; [0140]; teaches IAB node performing channel access/channel sensing based on spatial parameters and an angular relationship including the coverage area of the beam) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate IAB node performing channel access/channel sensing based on spatial parameters and an angular relationship including the coverage area of the beam as taught by Smith with the method and apparatus for performing channel access/channel sensing on a shared channel of an unlicensed spectrum as disclosed by Luo for the purpose of improvements to operation of such networks in shared spectrum, as suggested by Smith . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 9-11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LUO et al. (hereinafter Luo) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2021/0378011 A1) in view of FUJISHIRO (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2024/0147282 A1) . Regarding claims 9 and 14 , Luo discloses an IAB node performing channel access/channel sensing on a shared channel of an unlicensed spectrum, but may not explicitly disclose incrementing, using the first entity, a listen before talk (“LBT”) failure counter in response to determining that a first LBT failure occurred; and incrementing, using the second entity, the LBT failure counter in response to determining that the second entity is allowed to use the LBT failure counter and in response to determining that a second LBT failure occurred. Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Fujishiro teaches and suggests incrementing, using the first entity, a listen before talk (“LBT”) failure counter in response to determining that a first LBT failure occurred; and incrementing, using the second entity, the LBT failure counter in response to determining that the second entity is allowed to use the LBT failure counter and in response to determining that a second LBT failure occurred ([0069]; [0082]; teaches incrementing a LBT failure counter in response to LBT failure in order to determine channel access/channel sensing by the IAB-MT) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate incrementing a LBT failure counter in response to LBT failure in order to determine channel access/channel sensing by the IAB-MT as taught by Fujishiro with the method and apparatus for performing channel access/channel sensing on a shared channel of an unlicensed spectrum as disclosed by Luo for the purpose of performing LBT failure determination in order to improve operation of such networks in shared spectrum, as suggested by Fujishiro. Regarding claim 10 , Luo discloses an IAB node performing channel access/channel sensing on a shared channel of an unlicensed spectrum, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the processor is configured to: determine that the second entity is allowed to use the LBT failure counter based at least in part on a first spatial parameter associated with sensing the shared medium by the first entity being identical to a second spatial parameter associated with sensing the shared medium by the second entity. Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Fujishiro teaches and suggests wherein the processor is configured to: determine that the second entity is allowed to use the LBT failure counter based at least in part on a first spatial parameter associated with sensing the shared medium by the first entity being identical to a second spatial parameter associated with sensing the shared medium by the second entity ([0069]; [0082]; teaches a LBT failure counter for LBT failures in order to determine channel access/channel sensing by the IAB-MT based on spatial parameters) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a LBT failure counter for LBT failures in order to determine channel access/channel sensing by the IAB-MT based on spatial parameters as taught by Fujishiro with the method and apparatus for performing channel access/channel sensing on a shared channel of an unlicensed spectrum as disclosed by Luo for the purpose of performing LBT failure determination in order to improve operation of such networks in shared spectrum, as suggested by Fujishiro. Regarding claim 11 , Luo discloses an IAB node performing channel access/channel sensing on a shared channel of an unlicensed spectrum, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the processor is configured to: determine that the second entity is allowed to use the LBT failure counter based at least in part on first hardware associated with the first entity being collocated with second hardware associated with the second entity. Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Fujishiro teaches and suggests wherein the processor is configured to: determine that the second entity is allowed to use the LBT failure counter based at least in part on first hardware associated with the first entity being collocated with second hardware associated with the second entity ([0032]; [0060]; [0069]; [0082]; teaches a LBT failure counter for LBT failures in order to determine channel access/channel sensing by the IAB-MT collated with IAB-DU) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a LBT failure counter for LBT failures in order to determine channel access/channel sensing by the IAB-MT collated with IAB-DU as taught by Fujishiro with the method and apparatus for performing channel access/channel sensing on a shared channel of an unlicensed spectrum as disclosed by Luo for the purpose of performing LBT failure determination in order to improve operation of such networks in shared spectrum, as suggested by Fujishiro . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SUK JIN KANG whose telephone number is (571) 270-1771. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 8am-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Chirag Shah can be reached on (571) 272-3144. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600. /Suk Jin Kang/ Examiner, Art Unit 2477 April 17, 2026 Application/Control Number: 18/699,537 Page 2 Art Unit: 2477 Application/Control Number: 18/699,537 Page 3 Art Unit: 2477 Application/Control Number: 18/699,537 Page 4 Art Unit: 2477 Application/Control Number: 18/699,537 Page 5 Art Unit: 2477 Application/Control Number: 18/699,537 Page 6 Art Unit: 2477 Application/Control Number: 18/699,537 Page 7 Art Unit: 2477 Application/Control Number: 18/699,537 Page 8 Art Unit: 2477 Application/Control Number: 18/699,537 Page 9 Art Unit: 2477 Application/Control Number: 18/699,537 Page 10 Art Unit: 2477 Application/Control Number: 18/699,537 Page 11 Art Unit: 2477 Application/Control Number: 18/699,537 Page 12 Art Unit: 2477 Application/Control Number: 18/699,537 Page 13 Art Unit: 2477 Application/Control Number: 18/699,537 Page 14 Art Unit: 2477 Application/Control Number: 18/699,537 Page 15 Art Unit: 2477 Application/Control Number: 18/699,537 Page 16 Art Unit: 2477 Application/Control Number: 18/699,537 Page 17 Art Unit: 2477 Application/Control Number: 18/699,537 Page 18 Art Unit: 2477 Application/Control Number: 18/699,537 Page 19 Art Unit: 2477