DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendment filed on 6/11/2026. Claims 1-3, 5, 8, 10-12, 14, 16-19, 22, 24, 26, 55-58 are pending and have been considered below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) filed 6/11/26 have been considered but they are moot in view of new ground of rejection necessitated by the amendment as set forth below in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3,5,8,10,16,17,22,24,26, 55-58 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chong et al. (US 2024/0205719) in view of Chong (US 2024/0236935; Chong ‘935 hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1:
Chong discloses a system and method for providing a sensing service, performed by a user equipment (UE) (abstract; see figures), comprising:
sending a sensing request to an access management function (AMF) (para 6-10; 157, partially reproduced herein with emphasis {UE may alternatively directly send the sensing service request message to the network (the AMF… }; figure 8 [step 1b, sensing service request message]; para 58,64,133 [consumer UE, sensing terminal device (UE)]; para 158; para 135,150-151);
receiving sensing parameters returned by a target sensing function (SF) selected by the AMF (fig 8 [step 3a, related information of a sensing service]; fig 10 [step 3a]; para 179 {AMF sends the related information of the sensing service to the sensing terminal device by using a downlink NAS message, where the related information of the sensing service includes the sensing service correlation ID, the sensing device identifier, the description information of the sensing service (sensing service description) (optional), and the configuration information of the sensing service }; para 180-181; para 185-197; para 217-219); and
providing the sensing service based on the sensing parameters (figs 8,10 [step 4a, sensing measurement]; para 180 {obtain the sensing measurement data…}; figs 2-6; para 199; para 218; and see throughout the disclosure).
Chong discloses all of the subject matter as described above, except for specifically teaching that wherein the sensing request comprises object information of a sensing object.
However, Chong ‘935 in the same field of endeavor discloses a system and method for sensing wherein the sensing request comprises object information of a sensing object (para 181 {.. sensing object information includes, but is not limited to, at least one of objects, equipment, people, animals, buildings, cars, environment, air quality…}; para 216-218 {.. following information in the first sensing service request message: … sensing object information}; para 260; figs; and see throughout the disclosure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use teachings of Chong ‘935 in Chong in order to provide performing of sensing service for object based on sensing service request by selecting target sensing control function (KSR: Combining Prior Art Elements According to Known Methods to Yield Predictable Results).
Regarding claim 2:
Chong discloses all of the subject matter as described above and wherein the sensing request comprises at least one of [Note: the optional language require only one element; and further dependent claim 3 reciting an element that is related to the option not considered for rejection in claim 2, would not be required]:
identifier information of the UE; sensing model information, indicating a sensing model providing the sensing service; or quality of service (QOS) information, indicating a QoS of the sensing service (para 135 [UE identifier (ID)]; para 152; figures; and see throughout the disclosure).
Regarding claim 3:
Chong discloses all of the subject matter as described above and wherein the sensing model comprises at least one of: [Note: the optional language in claim 2; and further dependent claim 3 depends on claim 2, and in claim 2 element/option considered for rejection is UE ID; claim 3 reciting an element that is related to the option not considered for rejection in claim 2. Therefore claim 3 is anticipated as described above in claim 2]
a first sensing model where a base station is used as a transmitter and a receiver; a second sensing model where the UE is used as the transmitter and the receiver; a third sensing model where the base station is used as the transmitter and the UE is used as the receiver; a fourth sensing model where the UE is used as the transmitter and the base station is used as the receiver; or a fifth sensing model other than the first sensing model, the second sensing model, the third sensing model, and the fourth sensing model-; or wherein the object information comprises at least one of: a region where the sensing object is located; a type of the sensing object; a moving speed of the sensing object; or a volume of the sensing object.
Regarding claim 5:
Chong discloses all of the subject matter as described above and wherein providing the sensing service based on the sensing parameters comprises at least one of: [Note: the multiple optional language citations require only one element; and further dependent claim 8 reciting an element that is related to the option not considered for rejection in claim 5, would not be required]
transmitting a sensing signal based on a transmitting parameter contained in the sensing parameters; receiving, based on a receiving parameter contained in the sensing parameters, a reflected signal generated from reflecting the sensing signal by a sensing object, to obtain sensing data; or processing the sensing data to obtain a sensing result (para 135-143; para 150-151 [sensing parameters]; para 175-176 [reflection point]); or
wherein providing the sensing service based on the sensing parameters comprises: sending sensing data to the target SF; or sending the sensing data to an application function (AF) of the sensing service, an initiator of the sensing service or a target server; or
wherein providing the sensing service based on the sensing parameters comprises: sending a sensing result to the target SF; or sending the sensing result to the AF, the initiator of the sensing service or the target server.
Regarding claim 8:
Chong discloses all of the subject matter as described above and wherein the sensing result comprises at least one of an intermediate result of the sensing data or a final processing result of the sensing data [Note: the optional language in claim 5; and further dependent claim 8 depends on claim 5, and in claim 2 element/option considered for rejection is not recited in claim 8, therefore this element of claim 8 is anticipated as described above in claim 5];
wherein the method further comprises [Note: further reciting options]: establishing a connection with an application function (AF), an initiator of the sensing service or a target server based on address information contained in the sensing parameters, wherein the connection is at least used for delivering at least one of the sensing data or the sensing result (para 64-67 [AF]; fig 8 [steps 6,8; sensing measurement to SCF, and further to AF]; and throughout).
Regarding claim 10:
Chong discloses a system and method for providing a sensing service, performed by an access management function (AMF) (abstract; see figures), comprising:
receiving a sensing request from a user equipment (UE) (para 74; 157, {UE may alternatively directly send the sensing service request message to the network (the AMF… }; figure 8 [step 1b, sensing service request message]; para 58,64,133 [consumer UE, sensing terminal device (UE)]; para 158; para 135,150-151);
determining a target sensing function (SF) (para 155; para 159 {the AMF needs to select a suitable SCF …}; figure 8,10); and
sending the sensing request to the target SF (para 159 {then the AMF forwards the sensing service request message to the SCF. This implementation…}; fig 8 [part to step 1b, arrow from AMF to SCF]; fig 10; and see throughout the disclosure).
Chong discloses all of the subject matter as described above, except for specifically teaching that wherein the sensing request comprises object information of a sensing object.
However, Chong ‘935 in the same field of endeavor discloses a system and method for sensing wherein the sensing request comprises object information of a sensing object (para 181 {.. sensing object information includes, but is not limited to, at least one of objects, equipment, people, animals, buildings, cars, environment, air quality…}; para 216-218 {.. following information in the first sensing service request message: … sensing object information}; para 260; figs; and see throughout the disclosure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use teachings of Chong ‘935 in Chong in order to provide performing of sensing service for object based on sensing service request by selecting target sensing control function (KSR: Combining Prior Art Elements According to Known Methods to Yield Predictable Results).
Regarding claim 16:
Chong discloses all of the subject matter as described above and wherein determining the target SF comprises: selecting the target SF from candidate SFs capable of providing the sensing service based on at least one of the sensing request, an SF selection configuration of the AMF, or a network discovery mechanism (para 155; para 159 {the AMF needs to select a suitable SCF …}; figure 8,10; and throughout the disclosure).
Regarding claim 17:
Chong discloses a system and method for providing a sensing service, performed by a sensing function (SF) (see abstract; and figures), comprising:
receiving a sensing request of a user equipment (UE) provided by an access management function (AMF) (figure 8 [step 1b, sensing service request message to SCF]; figs 2-6; para 157 {UE may alternatively directly send the sensing service request message to the network (the AMF… }; para 159 {..the AMF forwards the sensing service request message to the SCF }; para 58,64,133; para 158; para 135,150-151);
determining sensing parameters based on the sensing request (para 158 {Content of the sensing service request message is similar to that in step 1a}; see para 135-143; para 150-151 {…description information of the sensing service in step 1a may be the same as or different from that in step 0}); and
sending the sensing parameters to the UE through the AMF, wherein the sensing parameters are used for the UE to provide the sensing service (figure 8 [steps 2 and 3a]; para 165 {The SCF sends related information of the sensing service (corresponding to the sensing service control information in the foregoing embodiments) to the AMF…}; para 178 {The AMF sends the related information of the sensing service (corresponding to the sensing service control information in the foregoing embodiments) to the sensing device}; para 179-181; fig 10; and see throughout).
Chong discloses all of the subject matter as described above, except for specifically teaching that wherein the sensing request comprises object information of a sensing object.
However, Chong ‘935 in the same field of endeavor discloses a system and method for sensing wherein the sensing request comprises object information of a sensing object (para 181 {.. sensing object information includes, but is not limited to, at least one of objects, equipment, people, animals, buildings, cars, environment, air quality…}; para 216-218 {.. following information in the first sensing service request message: … sensing object information}; para 260; figs; and see throughout the disclosure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use teachings of Chong ‘935 in Chong in order to provide performing of sensing service for object based on sensing service request by selecting target sensing control function (KSR: Combining Prior Art Elements According to Known Methods to Yield Predictable Results).
Regarding claim 22:
Chong discloses all of the subject matter as described above and wherein determining the sensing parameters based on the sensing request comprises: determining the sensing parameters based on at least one of the sensing request and policy parameters ([note: optional language]; see para 158; figures ; see para 135-143; para 150-151); wherein the policy parameters comprise: local policy parameters of the SF; or policy parameters provided by a policy control function (PCF) (para 170 [configuration information of the sensing service is policy and control information]; and throughout).
Regarding claim 24:
Chong discloses all of the subject matter as described above and wherein determining the sensing parameters based on at least one of the sensing request and the policy parameters comprises: sending a policy request to the PCF based on the sensing request; receiving a policy response returned by the PCF; wherein the policy response includes the policy parameters provided by the PCF; and determining the sensing parameters based on the policy response (para 170,219,248); wherein the sensing request comprises: identifier information of the UE; and the policy request comprises the identifier information of the UE; and the policy response is returned based on the identifier information of the UE (para 135 [UE identifier (ID)]; para 152; figures; and see throughout the disclosure).
Regarding claim 26:
Chong discloses all of the subject matter as described above and receiving sensing data sent by the UE (figs 8,10); processing the sensing data to obtain a sensing result; and sending the sensing result to an application function (AF) or an initiator of the sensing service; or receiving sensing data sent by the UE; and sending the sensing data to an application function (AF) or an initiator of the sensing service (see figure 8 [steps 6,7,8]; fig 10; para 209-215; and throughout).
Regarding claim 55:
Chong discloses all of the subject matter as described above for claim 1, and further discloses a communication device, comprising a processor, a transceiver, a memory (see figure 13-14 [receiving, processing and sending modules]; figure 17 [processor, memory, interface]; para 296-307), and an executable program stored on the memory and capable of being run by the processor, wherein when the processor runs the executable program, the method of claim 1 as above, is performed (para 30-36; para 294,301; and throughout).
Regarding claim 56:
Chong discloses all of the subject matter as described above for claim 1, and further discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, having an executable program stored thereon; after the executable program is executed by a processor, the method of claim 1 is performed (para 34,301; figures 11-18; para 312-320; and throughout disclosure).
Regarding claim 57:
Chong discloses all of the subject matter as described above for claim 10 and discloses a communication device, comprising a processor, a transceiver, a memory (see figure 11-12 [receiving, processing and sending modules]; figure 16-17 [processor, memory, interface]; para 296-307), and an executable program stored on the memory and capable of being run by the processor, wherein when the processor runs the executable program, the method of claim 10 is performed (para 30-36; para 294,301; and throughout disclosure).
Regarding claim 58:
Chong discloses all of the subject matter as described above for claim 17 and discloses a communication device, comprising a processor, a transceiver, a memory (figure 11-12 [receiving, processing and sending modules]; figure 16-17 [processor, memory, interface]; para 30-32; para 296-307) and an executable program stored on the memory and capable of being run by the processor, wherein when the processor runs the executable program, the method of claim 17 is performed (para 30-36; para 294,301; and see throughout the disclosure).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11,12,14,18,19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
HIRDEPAL SINGH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2631
/HIRDEPAL SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631