Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 08-19-2026 has been entered and considered.
Claims 1 and 11-23 are pending in the current application.
Claims 1 and 11-23 remain rejected as discussed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 11-13 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al (KR 20190041909) in view of Tsiatsis et al (US 2022/0124488, hereinafter referred to as Tsiatsis) and further in view of ALMEIDA (EP 4165904).
Regarding claims 1 and 17. Ko discloses a method by a user equipment (UE) supporting a plurality of group communications having different qualities of service (QoS) in a wireless communication system (The 5G QoS method currently being discussed seems to be attempting a new approach such asadding a flow identifier such as QFI (QoS Flow ID), but in reality it is not beyond the limit of theexisting 4G. 5G also provides QoS by performing traffic flow classification based on an SDF (ServiceData Flow) template that can be compared to an access control list (ACL) of a wired router as in 4G.), the method comprising determining that a plurality of groups mapped to a predetermined address value are associated with different protocol data unit (PDU) sessions (see at least figure 2 : The AN (Access Network) and the UPF between the UE and the mobile core network provide QoS foreach flow using the QFI information thus marked…2 is a view for explaining a method of providing QoS for each PDU session according to 3GPPstandards.); establishing a first PDU session for a data network name (DNN) targeting a first group among the plurality of groups (see at least figures 1-2: ).
Ko discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention with the exception of having the plurality of groups mapped to predetermined address value is associated to different data network name (DNN)and different PDU sessions are used to transfer data sent to different groups. However, Tsiatsis, from the same field of endeavor teaches the plurality of groups mapped to predetermined address value is associated to different data network name (DNN) and different PDU sessions are used to transfer data sent to different groups (see at least paragraph [0083] and figure 9). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to employ the teaching of Tsiatsis, as indicated, into the communication method of Ko, form the purpose of improving security and data delivery.
Ko in view of Tsiatsis discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention with the exception of transmitting data to a user plane function (UPF) based on a first QoS corresponding to the first PDU. However, ALMEIDA , from the same field of endeavor, teaches transmitting data to a user plane function (UPF) based on a first QoS corresponding to the first PDU (see at least figures 7). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to employ the teaching ALMEIDA , as indicated, into the communication method of Ko for the purpose of maintaining flow transmission in both directions.
Regarding claims 11 and 18. Ko in view of Tsiatsis in view of ALMEIDA discloses a method wherein the predetermined address value is an internet protocol (IP) address or an Ethernet address (see at least abstract: IP flows).
Regarding claims 12 and 19. Ko in view of Tsiatsis in view of ALMEIDA discloses a method further comprising: establishing a second PDU session for a DNN targeting a second group among the plurality of groups; and transmitting data to the UPF based on a second QoS corresponding to the second PDU session (see at least figures 1-2).
Regarding claims 13 and 20. Ko in view of Tsiatsis in view of ALMEIDA discloses a method wherein the first group and the second group are configured by an application function (AF) (Barreto: The techniques described herein are implemented by an application function (AF) node).
Claims 14-15 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko in view of Tsiatsis in view of ALMEIDA and Further in view of GUERZONI et al (PCT/EP2020/083669, hereinafter referred to as GUERZONI ).
Regarding claims 14 and 21. Ko in view of Tsiatsis in view of Barreto discloses receiving traffic from an application via the UPF based on a determined forwarding path; and transmitting the traffic to a application corresponding to the predetermined address value (see at least figures 2)
Ko in view of Tsiatsis in view of ALMEIDA discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention with the exception that transmitting and receiving are to different Applications. However, GUERZONI, from the same field of endeavor, teaches transmitting and receiving are to different Applications (see at least claim 1). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to employ the teaching of Guerzoni, as indicated, into the communication method of Ko in view of ALMEIDA for the purpose of expanding the network, enhancing capabilities and enforcing policies
Regarding claim 15 and 22. Ko in view of Tsiatsis in view of ALMEIDA discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention with the exception of adding a generic public subscription identifier (GPSI) of the UE as a member to the first group. However, Guerzoni, from the same field of endeavor, teaches adding a generic public subscription identifier (GPSI) of the UE as a member to the first group (see at least paragraphs [0054] and [0064]: an UE address (e.g. GPSI), if it is associated with the PDU Session, a DNN). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to employ the teaching of Guerzoni, as indicated, into the communication method of Ko in view of Almeida for the purpose of providing a stable, globally unique address for a subscriber without revealing private identifiers.
Claims 16 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko in view of Tsiatsis in view of ALMEIDA and Further in view of Karampatsis et al (US 2023/0422341, hereinafter referred to as Karampatsis).
Regarding claims 16 and 23. Ko in view of Tsiatsis in view of ALMEIDA discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention with the exception of receiving traffic from at least one application client having an address value associated with the first group, wherein the traffic is directed toward an application server. However, Karampatsis, from the same field of endeavor, teaches receiving traffic from at least one application client having an address value associated with the first group, wherein the traffic is directed toward an application server (see at least figure 1). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to employ the teaching of Karampatsis, as indicated, into the communication method of Ko in view of Almeida for the purpose of expanding network range.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 11-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO_892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
When responding to this office action, applicants are advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which they think the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Applicants must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. See 37C.F.R 1.111(c). In addition, applicants are advised to provide the examiner with the line numbers and pages numbers in the application and/or references cited to assist examiner in locating the appropriate paragraphs.
/MOUNIR MOUTAOUAKIL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476