Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-8, 12-15, 17 and 19-22 in the reply filed on 12/18/25 is acknowledged. Currently claims 9-11 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 20-21, the limitation “the polarization conversion structure comprises a ground structure layer, a first dielectric substrate, and a radiation structure layer which are stacked” renders the claimed indefinite since it is not clear “a ground structure layer”, “a first dielectric substrate”, and “a radiation structure layer” are same or different with “a ground structure layer”, “a first dielectric substrate” and “a radiation structure layer” in lines 1-3 of claim 1. For examination purpose, it is interpreted as they are same.
Clarifications are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Claims 1-3, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pouyanfar, N., Nourinia, J. & Ghobadi, C. Multiband and multifunctional polarization converter using an asymmetric metasurface. Sci Rep 11, 9306 (2021), cited on IDS dated 09/29/24, herein after “Pouyanfar”.
Regarding claim 1, Pouyanfar discloses in Figure 5a, a polarization conversion structure, comprising:
a ground structure layer (“bottom metallic ground”, see “Structure design procedure”),
a first dielectric substrate (“middle dielectric substrate”, see “Structure design procedure”) and a radiation structure layer which are stacked in a direction perpendicular to a plane where the polarization conversion structure is located;
wherein the radiation structure layer comprises at least one radiation unit, the radiation unit comprises a radiation structure, the radiation structure is symmetrical with respect to a first centerline (diagonal line), and the first centerline is a centerline of the radiation structure extending in a fourth direction on a plane parallel to the polarization conversion structure; and orthographic projections of the radiation unit and the ground structure layer on the first dielectric substrate are at least partially overlapped.
Regarding claim 2, as applied to claim 1, Pouyanfar discloses in Figure 5a,
wherein the radiation unit further comprises a resonant structure spaced apart from the radiation structure, the resonant structure is located around the radiation structure to form an annular structure, the resonant structure comprises a resonant opening and the annular structure is disconnected at a position of the resonant opening.
Regarding claim 3, as applied 2, Pouyanfar discloses in Figure 5a,
wherein a shape of an outer contour of the resonant structure is a square, and resonant openings are located at at least one set of opposite corners of the square, or
the resonant openings are located at at least one set (see Fig. 5a) of opposite sides of the square; on a plane parallel to the polarization conversion structure, a set (opening structures in two horizontal sides) of opposite sides of the resonant structure extend in a first direction (horizontal or X direction) and another set of opposite sides of the resonant structure extend in a second direction,
the resonant structure is symmetrical with respect to a third centerline and a fourth centerline, wherein the third centerline is a centerline of the resonant structure extending in the first direction and the fourth centerline is a centerline of the resonant structure extending in the second direction, wherein, the first direction, the second direction and the fourth direction intersect with each other.
Regarding claim 5, as applied to claim 3, Pouyanfar discloses in Figure 5a,
wherein the radiation structure is also symmetrical with respect to a second centerline, on a plane parallel to the polarization conversion structure, the second centerline is a centerline of the radiation structure extending in a third direction, wherein the third direction intersects with the first direction, the second direction, and the fourth direction.
Regarding claim 6, as applied to claim 5, Pouyanfar discloses in Figure 5a,
wherein the radiation structure is a polygonal structure, and the first centerline coincides with a diagonal line of the polygonal structure extending in the fourth direction.
Regarding claim 7, as applied to claim 6, Pouyanfar discloses in Figure 5a,
wherein the radiation structure is shaped as a hexagon, the hexagon comprises a first set of opposite sides, a second set of opposite sides, and a third set of opposite sides, two sides of each set of opposite sides are parallel to each other, the first set of opposite sides extend in the first direction, the second set of opposite sides extend in the second direction, and the third set of opposite sides extend in the fourth direction.
Claims 1-6, 12-14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wu (CN 113644451A).
Regarding claim 1, Wu discloses in Figures 1 and 7, a polarization conversion structure, comprising
a ground structure layer (bottom layer in Fig. 7, par. 0064), a first dielectric substrate and a radiation structure layer which are stacked in a direction perpendicular to a plane where the polarization conversion structure is located;
wherein the radiation structure layer comprises at least one radiation unit (central patch, Fig. 1), the radiation unit comprises a radiation structure (central patch), the radiation structure is symmetrical with respect to a first centerline, and the first centerline is a centerline of the radiation structure extending in a fourth direction on a plane parallel to the polarization conversion structure; and
orthographic projections of the radiation unit and the ground structure layer on the first dielectric substrate are at least partially overlapped.
Regarding claim 2, as applied to claim 1, Wu discloses in Figure 1, wherein the radiation unit further comprises
a resonant structure spaced apart from the radiation structure, the resonant structure is located around the radiation structure to form an annular structure, the resonant structure comprises a resonant opening, and the annular structure is disconnected at a position of the resonant opening.
Regarding claim 3, as applied to claim 2, Wu discloses in Figure 1, wherein a shape of an outer contour of the resonant structure is a square, and
resonant openings are located at at least one set of opposite corners of the square (two sets, see Fig. 2), or the resonant openings are located at at least one set of opposite sides of the square;
on a plane parallel to the polarization conversion structure, a set of opposite sides of the resonant structure extend in a first direction and another set of opposite sides of the resonant structure extend in a second direction, the resonant structure is symmetrical with respect to a third centerline and a fourth centerline, wherein the third centerline is a centerline of the resonant structure extending in the first direction and the fourth centerline is a centerline of the resonant structure extending in the second direction, wherein, the first direction, the second direction and the fourth direction intersect with each other.
Regarding claim 4, as applied to claim 3, Wu discloses in Figure 2,
wherein in a structure in which the resonant openings are located at at least one set of opposite corners (two sets, see Fig. 2) or two sets of opposite sides of the square,
the resonant structure is symmetrical with respect to a fifth centerline and a sixth centerline, on a plane parallel to the polarization conversion structure, the fifth centerline is a centerline of the resonant structure extending in the fourth direction, the sixth centerline is a centerline of the resonant structure extending in a third direction, the fifth centerline coincides with the first centerline, and the third direction intersects with the first direction, the second direction, and the fourth direction.
Regarding claim 5, as applied to claim 3, Wu discloses in Figure 2, wherein the radiation structure is also symmetrical with respect to a second centerline, on a plane parallel to the polarization conversion structure, the second centerline is a centerline of the radiation structure extending in a third direction, wherein the third direction intersects with the first direction, the second direction, and the fourth direction.
Regarding claim 6, as applied to claim 5, Wu discloses in Figure 2,
wherein the radiation structure is a polygonal structure, and the first centerline coincides with a diagonal line of the polygonal structure extending in the fourth direction.
Regarding claims 12-13, as applied to claim 3, Wu discloses in Figure 1,
wherein there are a plurality of radiation units, and the plurality of radiation units are arranged in an array;
wherein a plurality of radiation structures among the plurality of radiation units are arranged in a uniform manner.
Regarding claim 14, as applied to claim 13, Wu discloses in Figure 1,
wherein the polarization conversion structure is shaped as a square, on a plane parallel to the polarization conversion structure,
a set of opposite sides of the polarization conversion structure extend along the first direction (horizontal direction) and another set of opposite sides of the polarization conversion structure extend along the second direction (vertical direction), and the plurality of radiation units are disposed symmetrically with respect to a seventh centerline and an eighth centerline, the seventh centerline is a centerline of the polarization conversion structure extending along a third direction and the eighth centerline is a centerline of the polarization conversion structure extending along the fourth direction.
Regarding claim 19, as applied to claim 1, Wu discloses in pars. [0003] and [0030], an antenna comprising at least one polarization conversion structure according to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pouyanfar.
Regarding claim 8, as applied to claim 7, Pouyanfar discloses in Figure 5a,
a size of the radiation structure along the first direction is equal to a size along the second direction, both of which are 5 mm to 7 mm (p=6mm, see structure design procedure section).
Pouyanfar does not disclose wherein the annular structure has a line width of 0.1 mm to 0.4 mm; side lengths of two sides in the first set of opposite sides are equal to side lengths of two sides in the second set of opposite sides, both of which are 2 mm to 6 mm.
However, such difference is not patentable merit. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to select the line width and the side lengths at desired values to achieve desired polarization conversion ratio based on particular application or environment of use and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only ordinary skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (CN 113644451).
Regarding claim 17, as applied to claim 12, Wu discloses in Figure 2,
wherein a length of the radiation unit in an arrangement direction is: p=a+2*d+2*w;
wherein, p is a length of the radiation unit (wo, see Fig. 2) along the arrangement direction, w is a line width of the resonant structure (t, Fig. 2), a is a length of the radiation structure (wi) along the arrangement direction, and d is a distance between opposite side surfaces of the resonant structure and a corresponding radiation structure (gap between center patch and the outer ring in Fig.2), wherein the length a of the radiation structure in the arrangement direction is 5 mm to 7 mm (wo=6.2mm, see par. 0062), the line width w of the resonant structure is 0.1 mm to 0.4 mm (t=0.4mm, see par. 0062), the length of the radiation unit along the arrangement direction is 5.2 mm to 8.6 mm (p=6.3mm).
Wu does not disclose the distance d between opposite side surfaces of two adjacent radiation units is 0.1 mm to 0.4 mm, and a distance between two adjacent radiation units is half an operating wavelength. However, such difference is not patentable merit. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to set or select the distance d between opposite side surfaces of two adjacent radiation units the distance between two adjacent radiation units at desired values to achieve desired polarization conversion ratio based on particular application or environment of use and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only ordinary skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (CN 113644451) in view of Zhong (CN 109786976).
Regarding claim 20, Wu discloses every feature of claimed invention as expressly recited in claim 19, except for further comprising
a feed, wherein in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the polarization conversion structure, [[the polarization conversion structure comprises a ground structure layer, a first dielectric substrate, and a radiation structure layer which are stacked]],
the feed is disposed at a side of the radiation structure layer away from the first dielectric substrate, the polarization conversion structure is configured to receive an electromagnetic wave from the feed and polarize the received electromagnetic wave.
Zhong discloses in Figure 12, further comprising a feed, wherein in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the polarization conversion structure, the feed is disposed at a side of the radiation structure layer away from the first dielectric substrate, the polarization conversion structure is configured to receive an electromagnetic wave from the feed and polarize the received electromagnetic wave.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the antenna of Wu with the antenna having a feed as taught by Zhong to feed electromagnetic wave to the polarization conversion structure. Therefore, to employ having the feed as claimed invention would have been obvious to person skill in the art.
Claims 21-22 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (CN 113644451) in view of Park et al (US 2017/0117633).
Regarding claim 21, Wu discloses every feature of claimed invention as expressly recited in claim 19, except for further comprising a second dielectric substrate and a feed structure layer, wherein in a direction perpendicular to a plane where the antenna is located, the polarization conversion structure comprises a ground structure layer, a first dielectric substrate, a radiation structure layer which are stacked; the second dielectric substrate and the feed structure layer are located between the ground structure layer and the first dielectric substrate, and the feed structure layer is located at a side of the second dielectric substrate away from the ground structure layer.
However, such difference is not patentable merit. the technique of using a dielectric substrate and a feed structure layer to provide or feed signal is not new in the art of antenna. One of such examples is the teaching of Park discloses in Figure 1, a second dielectric substrate (100) and a feed structure layer (300), wherein in a direction perpendicular to a plane where the antenna is located, [[the polarization conversion structure comprises a ground structure layer, a first dielectric substrate, a radiation structure layer which are stacked]]; the second dielectric substrate (100) and the feed structure layer (300) are located between the ground structure layer (110) and the first dielectric substrate (200), and the feed structure layer (300) is located at a side of the second dielectric substrate (100) away from the ground structure layer (110).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the antenna of Wu with the antenna having the feed structure layer as taught by Park to feed signal to the antenna. Therefore, to employ having the feed structure layer as claimed invention would have been obvious to person skill in the art.
Regarding claim 22, as applied to claim 21, Park discloses in Figure 1, further comprising
at least one coaxial conductive structure (500), wherein the radiation structure layer comprises at least one radiation unit, the feed structure layer comprises at least one feed structure (300), and
the at least one feed structure is electrically connected to the ground structure layer through the at least one coaxial conductive structure (520);
the at least one feed structure corresponds to the at least one radiation structure, and an orthographic projection of the feed structure on the first dielectric substrate is at least partially overlapped with an orthographic projection of a corresponding radiation structure on the first dielectric substrate.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Inquiry
/DIEU HIEN T DUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845