DETAILED ACTION
The following is a Final Office Action in response to communications received on 5/5/2026. Claims 20-39 are currently pending and have been examined. Claims 1-19 are cancelled and claims 20-39 are added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20, 21, 26-28, 30. 31, 36-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ITOU (US20170278057) in view of KONO (US 20110312266).
Regarding claim 20, ITOU discloses:
A method of using an electronic shelf label system (shelf label management system 4000), the method comprising:
detecting, via a trigger stage of the electronic shelf label system [0108-0109][0108] There are various timings when the product information transmission unit 2080 operates. For example, the product information transmission unit 2080 transmits the product information when the relation information generation unit 2060 generates the relation information, as illustrated in FIG. 11. However, a timing when the product information transmission unit 2080 operates is not limited to the timing illustrated in FIG. 11. […] As a concrete example of usage, there is a case where the information processing apparatus 2000 operates after the products are exhibited and the electronic shelf label 3000 is placed in a required location, wherein the electronic shelf label includes a display screen configured to display product information; [0109] According to the present exemplary embodiment, the product information is transmitted to the electronic shelf label 3000 by using the relation information generated by the relation information generation unit 2060. For example, if the product information is not set for the electronic shelf label 3000, the product information is newly set for the electronic shelf label 3000. As a concrete example of usage, there is a case where the information processing apparatus 2000 operates after the products are exhibited and the electronic shelf label 3000 is placed in a required location. By doing so, the product information is automatically set for each electronic shelf label 3000 by using the analyzed result of the target image. Thus, the effort and the time required to set the product information for the electronic shelf label 3000 are reduced. [0081] The electronic shelf label 3000 may be configured so as to be able to become in 1) a state in which the product information is displayed and 2) in a state in which the shelf label ID of the electronic shelf label 3000 is displayed. Here, the state in which the product information is displayed is referred to as a first mode, and the state in which the shelf label ID is displayed is referred to as a second mode.
generating, via the trigger stage, a trigger signal [0108-0109][0108] There are various timings when the product information transmission unit 2080 operates. For example, the product information transmission unit 2080 transmits the product information when the relation information generation unit 2060 generates the relation information, as illustrated in FIG. 11. However, a timing when the product information transmission unit 2080 operates is not limited to the timing illustrated in FIG. 11. […] As a concrete example of usage, there is a case where the information processing apparatus 2000 operates after the products are exhibited and the electronic shelf label 3000 is placed in a required location [0109] According to the present exemplary embodiment, the product information is transmitted to the electronic shelf label 3000 by using the relation information generated by the relation information generation unit 2060. For example, if the product information is not set for the electronic shelf label 3000, the product information is newly set for the electronic shelf label 3000. As a concrete example of usage, there is a case where the information processing apparatus 2000 operates after the products are exhibited and the electronic shelf label 3000 is placed in a required location. By doing so, the product information is automatically set for each electronic shelf label 3000 by using the analyzed result of the target image. Thus, the effort and the time required to set the product information for the electronic shelf label 3000 are reduced.,
obtaining image data via an imaging device [0053] The target image is imaged by a camera provided in a store. Only one type of product may be pictured or a plurality of different products may be pictured on one target image. and in response to the trigger signal [0108-0109], wherein the image data includes an optical depiction of the electronic shelf label and a product to be associated with the electronic shelf label; [0058] The product recognition unit 2020 analyzes a target image, and recognizes a product. Here, a technique for recognizing an object such as a product pictured on an image is a well-known technique, and various known techniques may be used for recognizing the object. Hereinafter, an example of a process performed by the product recognition unit 2020 will be described. [0059] FIG. 4 is a diagram illustrating the target image. Product shelving on which the products are exhibited is pictured on the target image 10. Note that, an exhibition method of the products is not limited to a method of exhibiting the products on the product shelving, as long as the product and the electronic shelf label 3000 may be pictured on the target image.
analyzing the image data to identify the electronic shelf label [0071] The shelf label recognition unit 2040 analyzes the target image, and extracts the ID of the electronic shelf label 3000. Here, the shelf label ID for identifying the electronic shelf label 3000 is displayed on the electronic shelf label 3000. The shelf label recognition unit 2040 extracts the shelf label ID of the electronic shelf label 3000 displayed by the electronic shelf label 3000. and the product; and [0061] The product recognition unit 2020 recognizes each product by using information that associates the product with a feature value indicating an appearance feature of the product. For example, this information is included in the aforementioned product information. Here, the product information may be stored in advance in the storage unit provided inside or outside the information processing apparatus 2000. The product recognition unit 2020 acquires the product information from the storage unit.
causing the display screen of the electronic shelf label to display information about the product.[0081] The electronic shelf label 3000 may be configured so as to be able to become in 1) a state in which the product information is displayed and 2) in a state in which the shelf label ID of the electronic shelf label 3000 is displayed. Here, the state in which the product information is displayed is referred to as a first mode, and the state in which the shelf label ID is displayed is referred to as a second mode. [0082] FIG. 7 are diagrams illustrating the electronic shelf label 3000 that may be in two states. FIG. 7A is a diagram illustrating the electronic shelf label 3000 in the first mode. In this diagram, the display unit 3020 displays the product name and price. On the other hand, FIG. 7B is a diagram illustrating the electronic shelf label 3000 in the second mode. In this diagram, the display unit 3020 displays the two-dimensional code representing the shelf label ID.
While ITOU does disclose [0120] Note that, the information processing apparatus 2000 may have a function of performing the notification to the salesperson in a case where the plurality of pieces of product information is associated with the electronic shelf label 3000. The salesperson performs an operation of adding the electronic shelf label 3000 in response to receive this notification. In this case, the electronic shelf label 3000 displays the plurality of pieces of product information as a temporary action until the salesperson performs the operation of adding the electronic shelf label 3000, the reference does not explicitly disclose:
a user interaction with an electronic shelf label of the electronic shelf label system,
in response to the detected user interaction;
However KONO teaches:
a user interaction with an electronic shelf label of the electronic shelf label system, [0081] As described above, according to this embodiment, the electronic shelf label terminal 1 performs the relay device search, and displays the information on the terminal-accessible relay devices 2, with the result that the person in charge of installing the electronic shelf label terminal 1 can easily check the installation place with good signal quality without using any dedicated device or the like. In other words, the person in charge only needs to carry the electronic shelf label terminal 1 when installing the electronic shelf label terminal 1, and hence there is no need to carry the dedicated device or other devices. Further, when the mode switch 17 is depressed, the information on the terminal-accessible relay devices 2 is displayed on the electronic shelf label terminal 1, and hence the person in charge can grasp the information on the relay devices 2 currently accessible from the electronic shelf label terminal 1 through a simple operation. Further, the person in charge can easily grasp an area in the store which the radio wave does not reach from any relay device 2, without using the dedicated device or the like, and hence the person can reinstall the relay devices 2 in appropriate places so that the radio waves can reach all the areas in the store.
in response to the detected user interaction; [0081] As described above, according to this embodiment, the electronic shelf label terminal 1 performs the relay device search, and displays the information on the terminal-accessible relay devices 2, with the result that the person in charge of installing the electronic shelf label terminal 1 can easily check the installation place with good signal quality without using any dedicated device or the like. In other words, the person in charge only needs to carry the electronic shelf label terminal 1 when installing the electronic shelf label terminal 1, and hence there is no need to carry the dedicated device or other devices. Further, when the mode switch 17 is depressed, the information on the terminal-accessible relay devices 2 is displayed on the electronic shelf label terminal 1, and hence the person in charge can grasp the information on the relay devices 2 currently accessible from the electronic shelf label terminal 1 through a simple operation. Further, the person in charge can easily grasp an area in the store which the radio wave does not reach from any relay device 2, without using the dedicated device or the like, and hence the person can reinstall the relay devices 2 in appropriate places so that the radio waves can reach all the areas in the store.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the salesperson performing operations with the electronic shelf label in ITOU to include […] a user interaction with an electronic shelf label of the electronic shelf label system, in response to the detected user interaction, as taught in KONO, in order to allow for the result that the person in charge of installing the electronic shelf label terminal can easily check the installation place with good signal quality without using any dedicated device or the like (see [0081]).
Regarding claim 30, ITOU discloses:
An electronic shelf label system, comprising: (shelf label management system 4000)
an electronic shelf label including a display screen configured to display product information; [0081] The electronic shelf label 3000 may be configured so as to be able to become in 1) a state in which the product information is displayed and 2) in a state in which the shelf label ID of the electronic shelf label 3000 is displayed. Here, the state in which the product information is displayed is referred to as a first mode, and the state in which the shelf label ID is displayed is referred to as a second mode. [0082] FIG. 7 are diagrams illustrating the electronic shelf label 3000 that may be in two states. FIG. 7A is a diagram illustrating the electronic shelf label 3000 in the first mode. In this diagram, the display unit 3020 displays the product name and price. On the other hand, FIG. 7B is a diagram illustrating the electronic shelf label 3000 in the second mode. In this diagram, the display unit 3020 displays the two-dimensional code representing the shelf label ID.
a trigger stage operably associated with the electronic shelf label [0108-0109][0108] There are various timings when the product information transmission unit 2080 operates. For example, the product information transmission unit 2080 transmits the product information when the relation information generation unit 2060 generates the relation information, as illustrated in FIG. 11. However, a timing when the product information transmission unit 2080 operates is not limited to the timing illustrated in FIG. 11. […] As a concrete example of usage, there is a case where the information processing apparatus 2000 operates after the products are exhibited and the electronic shelf label 3000 is placed in a required location [0109] According to the present exemplary embodiment, the product information is transmitted to the electronic shelf label 3000 by using the relation information generated by the relation information generation unit 2060. For example, if the product information is not set for the electronic shelf label 3000, the product information is newly set for the electronic shelf label 3000. As a concrete example of usage, there is a case where the information processing apparatus 2000 operates after the products are exhibited and the electronic shelf label 3000 is placed in a required location. By doing so, the product information is automatically set for each electronic shelf label 3000 by using the analyzed result of the target image. Thus, the effort and the time required to set the product information for the electronic shelf label 3000 are reduced.
an imaging device; and [0053] The target image is imaged by a camera provided in a store. Only one type of product may be pictured or a plurality of different products may be pictured on one target image.
one or more processors operably coupled to the electronic shelf label and the trigger stage, [0047] FIG. 3 is a block diagram illustrating a hardware configuration of a computer 5000 that realizes the information processing apparatus 2000. The computer 5000 includes a bus 5020, a processor 5040, a memory 5060, a storage 5080, and an input and output interface 5100. The bus 5020 is a data transmission path through which the processor 5040, the memory 5060, the storage 5080, and the input and output interface 5100 transmit and receive data to and from one another. Here, the method of connecting the processor 5040 and the like is not limited to bus connection. The processor 5040 is, for example, an arithmetic processing apparatus such as a central processing unit (CPU) or a graphics processing unit (GPU). and see [0108-0109]
wherein the one or more processors are configured to perform operations comprising- detecting, via the trigger stage, the user interaction with the electronic shelf label, generating, via the trigger stage, a trigger signal [0108-0109][0108] There are various timings when the product information transmission unit 2080 operates. For example, the product information transmission unit 2080 transmits the product information when the relation information generation unit 2060 generates the relation information, as illustrated in FIG. 11. However, a timing when the product information transmission unit 2080 operates is not limited to the timing illustrated in FIG. 11. […] As a concrete example of usage, there is a case where the information processing apparatus 2000 operates after the products are exhibited and the electronic shelf label 3000 is placed in a required location, [0109] According to the present exemplary embodiment, the product information is transmitted to the electronic shelf label 3000 by using the relation information generated by the relation information generation unit 2060. For example, if the product information is not set for the electronic shelf label 3000, the product information is newly set for the electronic shelf label 3000. As a concrete example of usage, there is a case where the information processing apparatus 2000 operates after the products are exhibited and the electronic shelf label 3000 is placed in a required location. By doing so, the product information is automatically set for each electronic shelf label 3000 by using the analyzed result of the target image. Thus, the effort and the time required to set the product information for the electronic shelf label 3000 are reduced.
obtaining, via an imaging device and in response to the trigger signal, image data including an optical depiction of the electronic shelf label and a product to be associated with the electronic shelf label, analyzing the image data to identify the electronic shelf label and the product, [0058] The product recognition unit 2020 analyzes a target image, and recognizes a product. Here, a technique for recognizing an object such as a product pictured on an image is a well-known technique, and various known techniques may be used for recognizing the object. Hereinafter, an example of a process performed by the product recognition unit 2020 will be described. [0059] FIG. 4 is a diagram illustrating the target image. Product shelving on which the products are exhibited is pictured on the target image 10. Note that, an exhibition method of the products is not limited to a method of exhibiting the products on the product shelving, as long as the product and the electronic shelf label 3000 may be pictured on the target image. and see [0071 and 0061]
causing the display screen of the electronic shelf label to display information about the product. [0081] The electronic shelf label 3000 may be configured so as to be able to become in 1) a state in which the product information is displayed and 2) in a state in which the shelf label ID of the electronic shelf label 3000 is displayed. Here, the state in which the product information is displayed is referred to as a first mode, and the state in which the shelf label ID is displayed is referred to as a second mode. [0082] FIG. 7 are diagrams illustrating the electronic shelf label 3000 that may be in two states. FIG. 7A is a diagram illustrating the electronic shelf label 3000 in the first mode. In this diagram, the display unit 3020 displays the product name and price. On the other hand, FIG. 7B is a diagram illustrating the electronic shelf label 3000 in the second mode. In this diagram, the display unit 3020 displays the two-dimensional code representing the shelf label ID.
While ITOU does disclose [0120] Note that, the information processing apparatus 2000 may have a function of performing the notification to the salesperson in a case where the plurality of pieces of product information is associated with the electronic shelf label 3000. The salesperson performs an operation of adding the electronic shelf label 3000 in response to receive this notification. In this case, the electronic shelf label 3000 displays the plurality of pieces of product information as a temporary action until the salesperson performs the operation of adding the electronic shelf label 3000, the reference does not explicitly disclose:
and configured to detect a user interaction with the electronic shelf label;
in response to the detected user interaction,
However KONO teaches:
and configured to detect a user interaction with the electronic shelf label; [0081] As described above, according to this embodiment, the electronic shelf label terminal 1 performs the relay device search, and displays the information on the terminal-accessible relay devices 2, with the result that the person in charge of installing the electronic shelf label terminal 1 can easily check the installation place with good signal quality without using any dedicated device or the like. In other words, the person in charge only needs to carry the electronic shelf label terminal 1 when installing the electronic shelf label terminal 1, and hence there is no need to carry the dedicated device or other devices. Further, when the mode switch 17 is depressed, the information on the terminal-accessible relay devices 2 is displayed on the electronic shelf label terminal 1, and hence the person in charge can grasp the information on the relay devices 2 currently accessible from the electronic shelf label terminal 1 through a simple operation. Further, the person in charge can easily grasp an area in the store which the radio wave does not reach from any relay device 2, without using the dedicated device or the like, and hence the person can reinstall the relay devices 2 in appropriate places so that the radio waves can reach all the areas in the store.
in response to the detected user interaction; [0081] As described above, according to this embodiment, the electronic shelf label terminal 1 performs the relay device search, and displays the information on the terminal-accessible relay devices 2, with the result that the person in charge of installing the electronic shelf label terminal 1 can easily check the installation place with good signal quality without using any dedicated device or the like. In other words, the person in charge only needs to carry the electronic shelf label terminal 1 when installing the electronic shelf label terminal 1, and hence there is no need to carry the dedicated device or other devices. Further, when the mode switch 17 is depressed, the information on the terminal-accessible relay devices 2 is displayed on the electronic shelf label terminal 1, and hence the person in charge can grasp the information on the relay devices 2 currently accessible from the electronic shelf label terminal 1 through a simple operation. Further, the person in charge can easily grasp an area in the store which the radio wave does not reach from any relay device 2, without using the dedicated device or the like, and hence the person can reinstall the relay devices 2 in appropriate places so that the radio waves can reach all the areas in the store.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the salesperson performing operations with the electronic shelf label in ITOU to include […] a user interaction with an electronic shelf label of the electronic shelf label system, in response to the detected user interaction, as taught in KONO, in order to allow for the result that the person in charge of installing the electronic shelf label terminal can easily check the installation place with good signal quality without using any dedicated device or the like (see [0081]).
Regarding claim 21 and 31, ITOU in view of KONO teaches the limitations set forth above. ITOU further discloses:
wherein the electronic shelf label includes the trigger stage [0108-0109][0108] There are various timings when the product information transmission unit 2080 operates. For example, the product information transmission unit 2080 transmits the product information when the relation information generation unit 2060 generates the relation information, as illustrated in FIG. 11. However, a timing when the product information transmission unit 2080 operates is not limited to the timing illustrated in FIG. 11. […] As a concrete example of usage, there is a case where the information processing apparatus 2000 operates after the products are exhibited and the electronic shelf label 3000 is placed in a required location [0109] According to the present exemplary embodiment, the product information is transmitted to the electronic shelf label 3000 by using the relation information generated by the relation information generation unit 2060. For example, if the product information is not set for the electronic shelf label 3000, the product information is newly set for the electronic shelf label 3000. As a concrete example of usage, there is a case where the information processing apparatus 2000 operates after the products are exhibited and the electronic shelf label 3000 is placed in a required location. By doing so, the product information is automatically set for each electronic shelf label 3000 by using the analyzed result of the target image. Thus, the effort and the time required to set the product information for the electronic shelf label 3000 are reduced.
While ITOU does disclose [0120] Note that, the information processing apparatus 2000 may have a function of performing the notification to the salesperson in a case where the plurality of pieces of product information is associated with the electronic shelf label 3000. The salesperson performs an operation of adding the electronic shelf label 3000 in response to receive this notification. In this case, the electronic shelf label 3000 displays the plurality of pieces of product information as a temporary action until the salesperson performs the operation of adding the electronic shelf label 3000, the reference does not explicitly disclose:
and wherein detecting the user interaction includes detecting a user interaction with the electronic shelf label via the electronic shelf label.
However KONO teaches:
and wherein detecting the user interaction includes detecting a user interaction with the electronic shelf label via the electronic shelf label. [0081] As described above, according to this embodiment, the electronic shelf label terminal 1 performs the relay device search, and displays the information on the terminal-accessible relay devices 2, with the result that the person in charge of installing the electronic shelf label terminal 1 can easily check the installation place with good signal quality without using any dedicated device or the like. In other words, the person in charge only needs to carry the electronic shelf label terminal 1 when installing the electronic shelf label terminal 1, and hence there is no need to carry the dedicated device or other devices. Further, when the mode switch 17 is depressed, the information on the terminal-accessible relay devices 2 is displayed on the electronic shelf label terminal 1, and hence the person in charge can grasp the information on the relay devices 2 currently accessible from the electronic shelf label terminal 1 through a simple operation. Further, the person in charge can easily grasp an area in the store which the radio wave does not reach from any relay device 2, without using the dedicated device or the like, and hence the person can reinstall the relay devices 2 in appropriate places so that the radio waves can reach all the areas in the store.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the salesperson performing operations with the electronic shelf label in ITOU to include and wherein detecting the user interaction includes detecting a user interaction with the electronic shelf label via the electronic shelf label, as taught in KONO, in order to allow for the result that the person in charge of installing the electronic shelf label terminal can easily check the installation place with good signal quality without using any dedicated device or the like (see [0081]).
Regarding claim 26 and 36, ITOU in view of KONO teaches the limitations set forth above. ITOU further discloses:
the electronic shelf label system (shelf label management system 4000) further includes a signal receiving device operably (product and shelf label recognition units 2020 and 2040) coupled to the imaging device, (information processing apparatus 2000) all shown in Figure 10
the signal receiving device is configured to receive the trigger signal from the trigger stage and cause the imaging device to obtain the image data, and the method further comprises- receiving the trigger signal via the trigger stage, and causing, via the trigger stage, the imaging device to obtain the image data. [0108] There are various timings when the product information transmission unit 2080 operates. For example, the product information transmission unit 2080 transmits the product information when the relation information generation unit 2060 generates the relation information, as illustrated in FIG. 11. However, a timing when the product information transmission unit 2080 operates is not limited to the timing illustrated in FIG. 11. […] As a concrete example of usage, there is a case where the information processing apparatus 2000 operates after the products are exhibited and the electronic shelf label 3000 is placed in a required location [0109] According to the present exemplary embodiment, the product information is transmitted to the electronic shelf label 3000 by using the relation information generated by the relation information generation unit 2060. For example, if the product information is not set for the electronic shelf label 3000, the product information is newly set for the electronic shelf label 3000. As a concrete example of usage, there is a case where the information processing apparatus 2000 operates after the products are exhibited and the electronic shelf label 3000 is placed in a required location. By doing so, the product information is automatically set for each electronic shelf label 3000 by using the analyzed result of the target image. Thus, the effort and the time required to set the product information for the electronic shelf label 3000 are reduced.
Regarding claim 27 and 37, ITOU in view of KONO teaches the limitations set forth above. ITOU further discloses:
wherein generating the trigger signal includes generating an optical signal. [0075] Here, the process of acquiring the shelf label ID by analyzing the area representing the shelf label is different depending on a display format of the shelf label ID. For example, the shelf label ID displayed on the electronic shelf label 3000 may be a character string that directly represents the shelf label ID, another character string converted from the shelf label ID, or a figure such as a two-dimensional code or a barcode converted from the shelf label ID. Note that, the “another character sting converted from the shelf label ID” is, for example, a character string acquired by encrypting the shelf label ID. [0077] In a case where the shelf label ID is displayed by the figure such as the aforementioned two-dimensional code, the shelf label recognition unit 2040 extracts the figure from the target image. The shelf label recognition unit 2040 calculates the shelf label ID from the extracted figure. Here, the technique for calculating a value represented by the figure from the figure such as the two-dimensional code or the barcode is a well-known technique, and thus, the description thereof will not be repeated.
Regarding claim 28 and 38, ITOU in view of KONO teaches the limitations set forth above. ITOU does not disclose:
wherein generating the trigger signal includes generating a radio signal.
However KONO teaches:
wherein generating the trigger signal includes generating a radio signal. [0016] Further, according to the present invention, the above-mentioned electronic shelf label terminal further includes a storage unit for storing a list of the channels to be used for receiving the radio waves, in which the switching unit switches the channel to be used for receiving the radio waves by referring to the list stored in the storage unit.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the salesperson performing operations with the electronic shelf label in ITOU to include wherein generating the trigger signal includes generating a radio signal, as taught in KONO, in order to allow for the result that the person in charge of installing the electronic shelf label terminal can easily check the installation place with good signal quality without using any dedicated device or the like (see [0081]).
Claims 22-25 and 32-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ITOU (US20170278057) in view of KONO (US 20110312266) in further view of IZAKI (JP 2013183929).
Regarding claims 22 and 32,ITOU in view of KONO teaches the limitations set forth above, but does not teach:
the electronic shelf label system further includes a rail device configured to be coupled to a shelf and to receive and support the electronic shelf label,
the trigger stage is configured to detect when the electronic shelf label has been coupled to the rail device, and wherein detecting the user interaction includes detecting when a user has coupled to the electronic shelf label to the rail device.
However IZAKI teaches:
the electronic shelf label system further includes a rail device configured to be coupled to a shelf and to receive and support the electronic shelf label, As shown in FIG. 2, the commodity shelf 300 includes electronic shelf label mounting rails (also referred to as mounting rails) 301a to 301c. In FIG. 2, the horizontal direction of the product shelf 300 is the x-axis direction, and the vertical direction of the product shelf 300 is the y-axis direction. Further, the shelf to which the electronic shelf label mounting rail 301a is attached is referred to as the first shelf, the shelf to which the electronic shelf label attachment rail 301b is attached is referred to as the second shelf, and the electronic shelf label mounting rail 301c. The shelf to which is attached is referred to as the third shelf.
the trigger stage is configured to detect when the electronic shelf label has been coupled to the rail device, and wherein detecting the user interaction includes detecting when a user has coupled to the electronic shelf label to the rail device. The electronic shelf label mounting rails 301a to 301c are rails on which, for example, a store clerk can attach, move, or remove the electronic shelf label terminal 100. The electronic shelf label mounting rails 301a to 301c are collectively referred to as an electronic shelf label mounting rail 301. As will be described later, the electronic shelf label mounting rail 301 has electrical contacts for communicating with the electronic shelf label terminal 100. Further, signal lines 230a to 230c are connected to the electronic shelf label mounting rails 301a to 301c, respectively.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic shelf label in ITOU in view of KONO to include the electronic shelf label system further includes a rail device configured to be coupled to a shelf and to receive and support the electronic shelf label, the trigger stage is configured to detect when the electronic shelf label has been coupled to the rail device, and wherein detecting the user interaction includes detecting when a user has coupled to the electronic shelf label to the rail device, as taught in IZAKI, in order to improve business efficiency through the improvement of efficiently updating price and product information (see Background).
Regarding claims 23 and 33 , ITOU in view of KONO in further view of IZAKI teaches the limitations set forth above. ITOU in view of KONO does not teach:
the rail device includes the trigger stage, the electronic shelf label is configured to change an electrical state of the rail device when coupled to the rail device,
the trigger stage is configured to detect the change to the electrical state of the rail device, and wherein detecting the user interaction includes detecting the change to the electrical state of the rail device.
However IZAKI teaches:
the rail device includes the trigger stage, the electronic shelf label is configured to change an electrical state of the rail device when coupled to the rail device, The electronic shelf label mounting rails 301a to 301c are rails on which, for example, a store clerk can attach, move, or remove the electronic shelf label terminal 100. The electronic shelf label mounting rails 301a to 301c are collectively referred to as an electronic shelf label mounting rail 301. As will be described later, the electronic shelf label mounting rail 301 has electrical contacts for communicating with the electronic shelf label terminal 100. Further, signal lines 230a to 230c are connected to the electronic shelf label mounting rails 301a to 301c, respectively.
the trigger stage is configured to detect the change to the electrical state of the rail device, and wherein detecting the user interaction includes detecting the change to the electrical state of the rail device. The electronic shelf label mounting rails 301a to 301c are rails on which, for example, a store clerk can attach, move, or remove the electronic shelf label terminal 100. The electronic shelf label mounting rails 301a to 301c are collectively referred to as an electronic shelf label mounting rail 301. As will be described later, the electronic shelf label mounting rail 301 has electrical contacts for communicating with the electronic shelf label terminal 100. Further, signal lines 230a to 230c are connected to the electronic shelf label mounting rails 301a to 301c, respectively. And see In order to generate the above-described shelf label position information when it is detected that the electronic shelf label terminal 100 is attached to the electronic shelf label mounting rail 301, for example, the electronic shelf label terminal 100 may When attached to 301, communication with the shelf label control device 200 is started. Then, the electronic shelf label terminal 100 transmits identification information to the shelf label control device 200. When the identification information is received, the shelf label control apparatus 200 performs the processing of steps S1 to S6 in FIG. 7 with respect to the mounting rail that has detected the identification information, and generates the arrangement order of the electronic shelf label terminal 100. Thus, the arrangement order of the electronic shelf label terminals may be detected again. Alternatively, when the attached electronic shelf label terminal 100 emits light, the shelf label control device 200 identifies the electronic shelf label terminal 100 that has received the light. Then, the shelf label control apparatus 200 determines that the attached electronic shelf label terminal 100 is arranged next to the received electronic shelf label terminal 100, and a new electronic shelf label terminal 100 is created with respect to the already generated arrangement order. May be regenerated to interrupt the arrangement order. Thereby, even when the electronic shelf label terminal 100 is newly attached, the shelf label control apparatus 200 can manage the arrangement order.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic shelf label in ITOU in view of KONO to include the rail device includes the trigger stage, the electronic shelf label is configured to change an electrical state of the rail device when coupled to the rail device, the trigger stage is configured to detect the change to the electrical state of the rail device, and wherein detecting the user interaction includes detecting the change to the electrical state of the rail device, as taught in IZAKI, in order to improve business efficiency through the improvement of efficiently updating price and product information (see Background).
Regarding claims 24 and 34 , ITOU in view of KONO in further view of IZAKI teaches the limitations set forth above. ITOU in view of KONO does not teach:
the rail device includes a power supply configured to provide power to the electronic shelf label when the electronic shelf label is coupled to the rail device,
the power supply includes the trigger stage, the trigger stage is configured to detect a loading on the power supply caused by coupling the electronic shelf label to the rail device, and wherein detecting the user interaction includes detecting the loading on the power supply.
However IZAKI teaches:
the rail device includes a power supply configured to provide power to the electronic shelf label when the electronic shelf label is coupled to the rail device, The power supply unit 107 supplies power to each functional unit of the electronic shelf label terminal 100. The power supply unit 107 includes a battery in its own unit. The battery provided is, for example, a button type battery. The electronic shelf label terminal 100 may be supplied with power via the electronic shelf label mounting rail 301.
the power supply includes the trigger stage, the trigger stage is configured to detect a loading on the power supply caused by coupling the electronic shelf label to the rail device, and wherein detecting the user interaction includes detecting the loading on the power supply. The electronic shelf label mounting rails 301a to 301c are rails on which, for example, a store clerk can attach, move, or remove the electronic shelf label terminal 100. The electronic shelf label mounting rails 301a to 301c are collectively referred to as an electronic shelf label mounting rail 301. As will be described later, the electronic shelf label mounting rail 301 has electrical contacts for communicating with the electronic shelf label terminal 100. Further, signal lines 230a to 230c are connected to the electronic shelf label mounting rails 301a to 301c, respectively. And see In order to generate the above-described shelf label position information when it is detected that the electronic shelf label terminal 100 is attached to the electronic shelf label mounting rail 301, for example, the electronic shelf label terminal 100 may When attached to 301, communication with the shelf label control device 200 is started. Then, the electronic shelf label terminal 100 transmits identification information to the shelf label control device 200. When the identification information is received, the shelf label control apparatus 200 performs the processing of steps S1 to S6 in FIG. 7 with respect to the mounting rail that has detected the identification information, and generates the arrangement order of the electronic shelf label terminal 100. Thus, the arrangement order of the electronic shelf label terminals may be detected again. Alternatively, when the attached electronic shelf label terminal 100 emits light, the shelf label control device 200 identifies the electronic shelf label terminal 100 that has received the light. Then, the shelf label control apparatus 200 determines that the attached electronic shelf label terminal 100 is arranged next to the received electronic shelf label terminal 100, and a new electronic shelf label terminal 100 is created with respect to the already generated arrangement order. May be regenerated to interrupt the arrangement order. Thereby, even when the electronic shelf label terminal 100 is newly attached, the shelf label control apparatus 200 can manage the arrangement order.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic shelf label in ITOU in view of KONO to include the rail device includes a power supply configured to provide power to the electronic shelf label when the electronic shelf label is coupled to the rail device, the power supply includes the trigger stage, the trigger stage is configured to detect a loading on the power supply caused by coupling the electronic shelf label to the rail device, and wherein detecting the user interaction includes detecting the loading on the power supply, as taught in IZAKI, in order to improve business efficiency through the improvement of efficiently updating price and product information (see Background).
Regarding claims 25 and 35 ,ITOU in view of KONO in further view of IZAKI teaches the limitations set forth above. ITOU in view of KONO does not teach:
the rail device includes-- a rail controller, and a bus system configured to communicatively couple the rail controller to the electronic shelf label when the electronic shelf label is coupled to the rail device, the rail controller or the electronic shelf label includes the trigger stage, the trigger stage is configured to detect one or more communications between the electronic shelf label and the rail controller via the bus system when the electronic shelf label is coupled to the rail device, and wherein detecting the user interaction includes detecting the one or more communications
However IZAKI teaches:
the rail device includes the trigger stage, the electronic shelf label is configured to change an electrical state of the rail device when coupled to the rail device, The electronic shelf label mounting rails 301a to 301c are rails on which, for example, a store clerk can attach, move, or remove the electronic shelf label terminal 100. The electronic shelf label mounting rails 301a to 301c are collectively referred to as an electronic shelf label mounting rail 301. As will be described later, the electronic shelf label mounting rail 301 has electrical contacts for communicating with the electronic shelf label terminal 100. Further, signal lines 230a to 230c are connected to the electronic shelf label mounting rails 301a to 301c, respectively.
the trigger stage is configured to detect the change to the electrical state of the rail device, and wherein detecting the user interaction includes detecting the change to the electrical state of the rail device. The electronic shelf label mounting rails 301a to 301c are rails on which, for example, a store clerk can attach, move, or remove the electronic shelf label terminal 100. The electronic shelf label mounting rails 301a to 301c are collectively referred to as an electronic shelf label mounting rail 301. As will be described later, the electronic shelf label mounting rail 301 has electrical contacts for communicating with the electronic shelf label terminal 100. Further, signal lines 230a to 230c are connected to the electronic shelf label mounting rails 301a to 301c, respectively. And see In order to generate the above-described shelf label position information when it is detected that the electronic shelf label terminal 100 is attached to the electronic shelf label mounting rail 301, for example, the electronic shelf label terminal 100 may When attached to 301, communication with the shelf label control device 200 is started. Then, the electronic shelf label terminal 100 transmits identification information to the shelf label control device 200. When the identification information is received, the shelf label control apparatus 200 performs the processing of steps S1 to S6 in FIG. 7 with respect to the mounting rail that has detected the identification information, and generates the arrangement order of the electronic shelf label terminal 100. Thus, the arrangement order of the electronic shelf label terminals may be detected again. Alternatively, when the attached electronic shelf label terminal 100 emits light, the shelf label control device 200 identifies the electronic shelf label terminal 100 that has received the light. Then, the shelf label control apparatus 200 determines that the attached electronic shelf label terminal 100 is arranged next to the received electronic shelf label terminal 100, and a new electronic shelf label terminal 100 is created with respect to the already generated arrangement order. May be regenerated to interrupt the arrangement order. Thereby, even when the electronic shelf label terminal 100 is newly attached, the shelf label control apparatus 200 can manage the arrangement order.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic shelf label in ITOU in view of KONO to include the rail device includes-- a rail controller, and a bus system configured to communicatively couple the rail controller to the electronic shelf label when the electronic shelf label is coupled to the rail device, the rail controller or the electronic shelf label includes the trigger stage, the trigger stage is configured to detect one or more communications between the electronic shelf label and the rail controller via the bus system when the electronic shelf label is coupled to the rail device, and wherein detecting the user interaction includes detecting the one or more communications, as taught in IZAKI, in order to improve business efficiency through the improvement of efficiently updating price and product information (see Background).
Claims 29 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ITOU (US20170278057) in view of KONO (US 20110312266) in further view of Nagamachi (US 20060283942).
Regarding claims 29 and 39 , ITOU in view of KONO teaches the limitations set forth above. ITOU in view of KONO does not teach:
the electronic shelf label further includes a user interface element, the trigger stage is configured to detect a user interaction with the user interface element, and wherein detecting the user interaction includes detecting the user interaction with the user interface element.
However Nagamachi teaches:
the electronic shelf label further includes a user interface element, the trigger stage is configured to detect a user interaction with the user interface element, and wherein detecting the user interaction includes detecting the user interaction with the user interface element. [0043] Display data is output from each shelf label interface 36 to the article name display portion 21, list price display portion 22 and selling price display portion 23 of a corresponding one of the electronic shelf labels 8. Further, fingerprint data detected by the fingerprint detecting portion 24 of each electronic shelf label 8 is input to a corresponding one of the shelf label interfaces 36. [0050] Further, the CPU 31 waits for detection of fingerprint data by the fingerprint detecting portion 24 of one of the electronic shelf labels 8 in the step ST2. If fingerprint data is input via the shelf label interface 36, the CPU 31 acquires the interface number of the shelf label interface 36 in the step ST3. When acquiring the interface number, the CPU 31 retrieves the shelf label display management table 41 in the step ST4. Then, it reads out shelf label ID set in correspondence to the interface number. The thus readout shelf label ID is stored in the work area of the RAM 33.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic shelf label in ITOU in view of KONO to include the electronic shelf label further includes a user interface element, the trigger stage is configured to detect a user interaction with the user interface element, and wherein detecting the user interaction includes detecting the user interaction with the user interface element, as taught in Nagamachi, in order to provide authentication for the user interacting with the interface (see [0080])
Relevant Art Not Cited
(RSS) Configuration of RFID tag to use as Electronic Shelf Label: It is a key advantage for the retailer to minimize the cost of keeping these shelf edge labels up-to-date with current prices. Essential to consumer satisfaction is to have the price correctly reflecting the price that will be charged at checkout by the point of sale system. Electronic shelf labels (ESLs) provide the technology that allows for automation of in-store price publishing. Each tag must be written with the correct price of the product where it is located on the shelf, and the ESL is capable of displaying that price to the shopper. ESLs require extensive infrastructure in the store for the wireless or wired network to each ESL, and configuration which allows association of the address of the tag with the product at that location. Software programs are provided which can recognize that a price needs to be changed and can push the correct price out to the appropriate tag over the network. The software must have a correct data correlation between the ESL network address and the product UPC. Another method of updating ESLs is marking each one with an RFID (Radio Frequency Identifier) tag, and to correlate the tag ID with the product location and the associated price. These systems require unique data to be configured for each of the ESLs. In this case, they require specific knowledge of the location of each tag by ID based on the planogram of products located in the store. This process makes the tags complex to install, configure and maintain. This invention provides the method for installing ESLs into the physical store without having preassigned product per tag location.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/5/2026 have been fully considered.
With respect to the remarks directed to the previously cited prior art, the rejection has been updated in view of the claim amendments and the remarks are determined to be moot.
With respect to the remarks directed to subject matter eligibility under 35 USC 101, the examiner has determined the claims as amended to be eligible. The claims now recite the previously identified eligible subject matter in claims 5-8 and 16-19 and recite further structural features such as the claim being directed to the electronic shelf label and its system, not merely reciting an abstract idea carried out by a high level recitation of additional elements. The recitation of the "signals" in the claims are determined to be descriptive of the structural arrangement and are not part of the abstract idea. For at least these reasons claims 20-39 are eligible under 35 USC 101.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
VICTORIA E. FRUNZI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit TC 3689
/VICTORIA E. FRUNZI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3689 6/17/2026