DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-2 are pending and currently under review.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 1-2 recite the term “round bar”, which is indefinite because this is a relative term which relates to a shape of the steel. It is unclear as to what specific shape, if any, is required by the term “round bar”. It is unclear whether this requires a circular shape, or merely any shape having a non-straight profile, or whether at least some degree or ratio of roundness is required. The examiner interprets the claim to be met by any shape that would be considered to be a rounded bar.
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 recites the term “center position”, which is indefinite because it is unclear whether “center” requires specifically a midpoint that is equidistant from all edges of the cross section, or merely any position that is not located at an edge of the cross section, or any location that can be considered to be located along a midpoint between two extreme edge points of the cross section, or something else entirely. The examiner interprets the claim to be met by any of the aforementioned interpretations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashizume et al. (US 5,496,421) in view of Matsuo et al. (US 2019/0177823).
Regarding claim 1, Hashizume et al. discloses a martensitic stainless steel for oil country tubular goods, which one of ordinary skill would understand to include round bar shapes [abstract, background]. Hashizume et al. further teaches that the steel has a composition as seen in table 1 below as well as a yield strength of 75 kg/mm2 or more [col.3 ln.23, col.4 ln.5 to col.6 ln.65]. The examiner notes that the overlap between the steel composition and strength of Hashizume et al. and that as claimed is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I). Hashizume et al. is further silent regarding the requirement of non-recited elements, which meets the limitation of “consisting of…” as claimed.
Hashizume et al. does not expressly teach a concentration of Mo and W in a center portion as claimed. However, the examiner submits that overlapping Mo and W concentrations would have naturally flowed from the disclosure of Hashizume et al. One of ordinary skill would readily understand that steel inclusions and structure are directly affected by steel composition and manufacturing. Hashizume et al. discloses an overlapping steel microstructure and amount of Mo and W as stated above. Hashizume et al. also discloses an overlapping tempering step as shown in table 1 below, wherein the claimed Mo and W concentration features are directly and mainly influenced by said tempering parameters [0131-0146]. Since Hashizume et al. discloses an overlapping steel composition of Mo and W and an overlapping tempering step, the examiner submits that overlapping values of Mo and W concentrations in a center portion as claimed would have naturally flowed. See MPEP 2112 & MPEP 2144.05(I).
Hashizume et al. does not expressly teach an inclusion of Co as claimed. Matsuo et al. discloses that it is known to include up to 0.5 weight percent Co in martensitic stainless steels for oil country tubular goods to improve strength [abstract, 0080-0081]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the steel of Hashizume et al. by including Co for the aforementioned benefit of Matsuo et al. The examiner notes that the overlap between the Co amount of Matsuo et al. and that as claimed is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Table 1.
Element (wt.%)
Claim 1 (wt.%)
Hashizume et al. (wt.%)
C
0 – 0.03
0 – 0.06
Si
0 – 1
0 – 1
Mn
0 – 1
0 – 2
P
0 – 0.03
0 – 0.04
S
0 – 0.01
0 – 0.01
Cr
10 – 14
12 – 16
Ni
5 – 7.5
0.5 – 8
Mo
1.5 – 4
0.1 – 2.5
Cu
1 – 3.5
0.3 – 4
W
0.01 – 2
0 – 4
Co
0.01 – 0.5
0 – 0.5 (Matsuo et al.)
Ti
0.05 – 0.3
0 – 0.2
V
0.01 – 0.1
0.01 – 0.1
Ca
0.0005 – 0.01
0 – 0.01
Al
0.001 – 0.1
0.01 – 0.1
N
0 – 0.05
0 – 0.05
O
0 – 0.05
0
Nb
0 – 0.05
0.01 – 0.1
Sn
0 – 0.01
0
As
0 – 0.01
0
Sb
0 – 0.01
0
B
0 – 0.005
0
Mg
0 – 0.01
0
Rare earth
0 – 0.01
0 – 0.02
Fe & Impurities
Balance
Balance
Tempering Parameters
Instant specification [0131-0146]
Hashizume et al.
550 to 650 degrees C for 240 to 600 minutes
500 to 630 degrees C for a time in hours such that (20+log(t))(273+T) is between 15200 to 17800, which overlaps with time and formula FA of the instant specification. Example of overlap: 550 degrees and 6 hours [col.5 ln.45 to col.6 ln.30]
Meeting formula FA in [0132 spec.]
Subsequent cooling to 200 degrees C at 5 degrees C per second or higher
Air cooling to room temperature well known and commonly understood by one of ordinary skill, which encompasses the cooling rate of the instant specification.
Regarding claim 2, the aforementioned prior art discloses the steel of claim 1 (see previous). The examiner notes that the above composition of Hashizume et al. further overlaps with the claimed Nb range. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS A WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734