DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Applicant’s submission filed on 06/22/2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 13 were amended. Claims 1, 3-10, and 13-15 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, 9-10, and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meerbeek et al. (US 2021/0150816) in view of Strauss (US 2014/0229874), Hammad et al. (US 2005/0086093), and Lee et al. (US 2019/0108909).
Regarding claim 1, Meerbeek teaches/suggests: A method for displaying devices located in an enclosure on an output device of a user (Meerbeek [0056] “If the augmented reality user interface is realized on augmented reality glasses, then information will typically be superimposed over 3D images”), the method comprising:
maintaining an object model comprising representations of the devices located and/or equipped in the enclosure (Meerbeek [0056] “A BIM may range from an empty room with only walls/doors/windows in the proper location to images that also contain more details like the furniture and installed lighting/sensors” [0058] “the sensor is preferably added to a 3D model (e.g. BIM) of at least part of a building of which the image captures at least a portion”),
wherein the devices comprise one or more assets from the group consisting of: controllers, sensors, and
Meerbeek is silent regarding activators. Strauss, however, teaches/suggests activators (Strauss [0005] “where devices comprise sensors, actuators, air handlers, chillers, steam plants, security systems, smoke detectors and lighting systems”). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the assets of Meerbeek to include the activators of Strauss for activation.
Meerbeek as modified by Strauss does not teach/suggest one or more assets selected by the user. Hammad, however, teaches/suggests one or more assets selected by the user (Hammad [0069] “the user may choose to display on the floor plan selected types of assets”). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the assets of Meerbeek as modified by Strauss to be selected as taught/suggested by Hammad for display.
Meerbeek further teaches/suggests a 3D engine (Meerbeek [0056] “information will typically be superimposed over 3D images”). Meerbeek as modified by Strauss and Hammad does not teach/suggest:
operating a 3D engine to display a route from a current user position to a user defined area of the enclosure on the output device; and
once the user has arrived at the user defined area, displaying the selected devices located and/or equipped in the user defined area on the output device.
Lee, however, teaches/suggests:
operating a 3D engine to display a route from a current user position to a user defined area of the enclosure on the output device (Lee [0065] “the wayfinding component 142 can determine an appropriate route [from] the patient's current location to the appointment location and provide the patient with real-time navigation information along the route to guide the patient to the destination location ... the wayfinding component 142 can further guide the user whether to enter the building and where to go once inside the building”);
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the AR glasses of Meerbeek as modified by Strauss and Hammad to include the wayfinding component of Lee to guide the user to the selected assets. As such, Meerbeek as modified by Strauss, Hammad, and Lee teaches/suggests:
once the user has arrived at the user defined area, displaying the selected devices located and/or equipped in the user defined area on the output device (Meerbeek [0052] “displaying the image and virtual representations of the sensor and the detection zone superimposed over the image” Hammad [0017] “The association of indicators representing particular types of asset into groups for selective display allows different types of asset to be displayed on the floor plan individually, all at the same time, or in selected combinations” Lee [0065] “the wayfinding component 142 can determine an appropriate route [from] the patient's current location to the appointment location and provide the patient with real-time navigation information along the route to guide the patient to the destination location”).
Regarding claim 5, Meerbeek as modified by Strauss, Hammad, and Lee teaches/suggests: The method according to claim 1, further comprising displaying all devices located in the user defined area of the enclosure in correlation with a device selected by the user on the output device (Meerbeek [0052] “displaying the image and virtual representations of the sensor and the detection zone superimposed over the image” Hammad [0017] “The association of indicators representing particular types of asset into groups for selective display allows different types of asset to be displayed on the floor plan individually, all at the same time, or in selected combinations”). The same rationale to combine as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 6, Meerbeek as modified by Strauss, Hammad, and Lee teaches/suggests: The method according to claim 5, further comprising displaying user selectable types of correlation on the output device (Hammad [0069] “the user may choose to display on the floor plan selected types of assets”). The same rationale to combine as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 9, Meerbeek as modified by Strauss, Hammad, and Lee teaches/suggests: The method according to claim 1, wherein the output device comprises a smartphone, and/or a tablet computer, and/or AR-glasses (Meerbeek [0051] “the electronic device of the invention may be a mobile phone, augmented reality glasses”).
Regarding claim 10, Meerbeek as modified by Strauss, Hammad, and Lee teaches/suggests: The method according to claim 1, wherein the object model comprises a building information model (BIM) and/or a CAD model and/or a UNITY-based rendered model (Meerbeek [0056] “a Building Information Model (BIM) may be constructed from these captured 3D images”).
Claims 13-15 recite limitation(s) similar in scope to those of claims 1 and 5-6, respectively, and are rejected for the same reason(s). Meerbeek as modified by Strauss, Hammad, and Lee further teaches/suggests a processor (Meerbeek Fig. 1: processor 3).
Claim(s) 3 and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meerbeek et al. (US 2021/0150816) in view of Strauss (US 2014/0229874), Hammad et al. (US 2005/0086093), and Lee et al. (US 2019/0108909) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Stokking et al. (US 2021/0209855).
Regarding claim 3, Meerbeek as modified by Strauss, Hammad, and Lee does not teach/suggest: The method according claim 1, further comprising displaying the user defined area on the output device as a sphere or a cube or a cuboid. Stokking, however, teaches/suggests a sphere (Stokking [0223] “The processor system 545 of the local user may then render the virtual reality environment by inserting an avatar representing the remote user 500 in the virtual reality environment and projecting the imaged scene onto a sphere surrounding the avatar, thereby establishing a ‘backdrop’ for the VR session”). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the augmented image of Meerbeek as modified by Strauss, Hammad, and Lee to be projected onto a sphere as taught/suggested by Stokking to establish a backdrop.
As such, Meerbeek as modified by Strauss, Hammad, Lee, and Stokking teaches/suggests displaying the user defined area on the output device as a sphere or a cube or a cuboid (Meerbeek [0052] “displaying the image and virtual representations of the sensor and the detection zone superimposed over the image” Stokking [0223] “The processor system 545 of the local user may then render the virtual reality environment by inserting an avatar representing the remote user 500 in the virtual reality environment and projecting the imaged scene onto a sphere surrounding the avatar, thereby establishing a ‘backdrop’ for the VR session”).
Regarding claim 7, Meerbeek as modified by Strauss, Hammad, and Lee does not teach/suggest: The method according to claim 1, further comprising displaying the user on the output device as a pointer positioned on a current position of the user in the user defined area of the enclosure. Stokking, however, teaches/suggests displaying the user on the output device as a pointer positioned on a current position of the user in the user defined area of the enclosure (Stokking [0223] “The processor system 545 of the local user may then render the virtual reality environment by inserting an avatar representing the remote user 500 in the virtual reality environment and projecting the imaged scene onto a sphere surrounding the avatar” [0155] “the user may also be able to move around in the virtual environment”). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the augmented image of Meerbeek as modified by Strauss, Hammad, and Lee to include the avatar (the pointer) of Stokking to move around a room remotely.
Regarding claim 8, Meerbeek as modified by Strauss, Hammad, Lee, and Stokking teaches/suggests: The method according to claim 7, further comprising keeping the pointer on track and synchronized with the position of the user by scanning landmark codes attached in the enclosure and/or by radio and/or audio and/or camera means of the output device (Stokking [0155] “The field of view of the camera 310 may correspond to the field of view shown to the user, e.g., using an HMD … the user may also be able to move around in the virtual environment, e.g., based on additional input … by so-called 6-DoF tracking of the user head or HMD”). The same rationale to combine as set forth in the rejection of claim 7 is incorporated herein.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meerbeek et al. (US 2021/0150816) in view of Strauss (US 2014/0229874), Hammad et al. (US 2005/0086093), and Lee et al. (US 2019/0108909) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Delfino et al. (US 2021/0200421).
Regarding claim 4, Meerbeek as modified by Strauss, Hammad, and Lee teaches/suggests a device selected by the user (Hammad [0069] “the user may choose to display on the floor plan selected types of assets”). The same rationale to combine as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Meerbeek as modified by Strauss, Hammad, and Lee does not teach/suggest: The method according to claim 1, further comprising using a device selected by the user as the center point of the user defined area of the enclosure. Delfino, however, teaches/suggests the center point (Delfino [0051] “Once selected, the camera is positioned on the plane of the locked viewpoint of the 3D scene so that the first 3D view displays the target object in the centre of the 3D scene”). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the selected asset of Meerbeek as modified by Strauss, Hammad, and Lee to be displayed in the center of the display as taught/suggested by Delfino for focus.
As such, Meerbeek as modified by Strauss, Hammad, Lee, and Delfino teaches/suggests using a device selected by the user as the center point of the user defined area of the enclosure (Meerbeek [0052] “displaying the image and virtual representations of the sensor and the detection zone superimposed over the image” Hammad [0069] “the user may choose to display on the floor plan selected types of assets” Delfino [0051] “Once selected, the camera is positioned on the plane of the locked viewpoint of the 3D scene so that the first 3D view displays the target object in the centre of the 3D scene”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's argument(s) filed on 06/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection set forth in this Office action.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2012/0319597 – route guidance
US 2015/0369612 – route guidance
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ANH-TUAN V NGUYEN whose telephone number is 571-270-7513. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 9AM-5PM ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, JASON CHAN can be reached on 571-272-3022. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ANH-TUAN V NGUYEN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2619