DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the pair of heat transfer plates… provided in the pair of channel plates in claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. Claim 1 recites the limitation “a pair of heat transfer plates… provided in the pair of channel plates” which is unclear as to how the plates are in the pair of channel plates. The specification and drawings show the pair of heat transfer plates 11 in figure 6 are on top of the heat transfer plates 40, rather than “in the pair of channel plates”.
Claims 2-15 are rejected as being dependent from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kobayashi et al. (US Publication No.: 2021/0398799 hereinafter “Kobayashi”).
With respect to claim 1, Kobayashi discloses a temperature adjustment device (Figs. 1-6) comprising: a pair of channel plates each of (Fig. 2, two plates on top and bottom of 10 with channels 20) which has a front surface and a channel groove provided in at least a part of the front surface (Figs. 4-5, groove 42); a pair of heat transfer plates (Fig. 6, heat transfer plates 11) that respectively faces the channel grooves respectively (Fig. 6, 11 is on top of 40 and channel 20) provided in the pair of channel plates (Fig. 6); a seal member that seals a boundary between the front surface of each of the channel plates and each of the heat transfer plates (Fig. 6, seal 47); a spacer member arranged to face back surfaces of the channel plates and arranged in at least a part of a region immediately below the seal member (Fig. 6, spacer member 41 has a region 41b that is below seal member 47); and a fastening member that fastens the pair of channel plates and the pair of heat transfer plates in an overlapped state (Fig. 7, bolt 60 and nut 61 fasten the pair of plates), wherein the spacer member has higher compressive strength than the channel plates (Para 0049).
With respect to claim 9, Kobayashi discloses the temperature adjustment device according to claim 1 as discussed above. Kobayashi also discloses wherein the spacer member is made of resin or metal (Para 0049).
With respect to claim 10, Kobayashi discloses the temperature adjustment device according to claim 1 as discussed above. Kobayashi also discloses wherein a plurality of the spacer members is provided along the seal member (Fig. 6, spacers 41 are next to or along seals 47).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi et al. (US Publication No.: 2021/0398799 hereinafter “Kobayashi”) in view of Ohkubo et al. (US Publication No.: 2003/0172657 hereinafter “Ohkubo”).
With respect to claims 2-3, Kobayashi discloses the temperature adjustment device according to claim 1 as discussed above. Kobayashi does not disclose further comprising regulation members that are arranged on opposite sides of the channel plates with respect to the heat transfer plates and regulate an increase in an interval between the pair of heat transfer plates, wherein the fastening member fastens the regulation members together with the pair of channel plates and the pair of heat transfer plates (as per claim 2) further comprising a spring member that biases the pair of heat transfer plates in a direction in which the interval between the pair of heat transfer plates is shortened (as per claim 3)
Ohkubo teaches adding springs as regulation members (Fig. 1, spring 64). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the bolts of Kobayashi with the regulation members as taught by Ohkubo to aid in absorbing dimensional reduction due to plastic deformation (Para 0016 and 0038).
With respect to claim 11, Kobayashi and Ohkubo teach the temperature adjustment device according to claim 2 as discussed above. Ohkubo also teaches wherein the regulation member includes a base portion arranged in a manner of facing one of the heat transfer plates with a space (Fig. 1, base portion 52 is spaced from 61a), and a leg portion extending from the base portion toward the heat transfer plate (Fig. 1, leg portion of the spring 62 that extends towards 61a), and the leg portion extends in a direction in which the pair of channel plates and the pair of heat transfer plates overlap each other (Fig. 1).
With respect to claim 12, Kobayashi and Ohkubo teach the temperature adjustment device according to claim 3 as discussed above. Ohkubo also teaches wherein the fastening member is inserted into the spring member (Fig. 1, bolt 62 is inserted into spring 64).
With respect to claim 13, Kobayashi and Ohkubo teach the temperature adjustment device according to claim 11 as discussed above. Ohkubo also teaches further comprising a spring member that biases the pair of heat transfer plates in a direction in which the interval between the pair of heat transfer plates is shortened (Fig. 1, springs 64 compress plates 61), wherein the spring member is arranged between the base portion of the regulation member (Fig. 1, spring 64 is between base on 61a and 65) and the heat transfer plate arranged in a manner of facing the base portion (Fig. 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-8 and 14-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The prior art does not anticipate nor render obvious the combination set forth in the independent claims, and specifically does not show the size of the space member cross-sectional area compared to a cross-sectional area of the region immediately below the seal member. The closest prior art of record Kobayashi discloses a space member, but not a cross-sectional area compared to a cross-sectional area below the seal member. Although it is well known to provide space members between plates, there is no teaching in the prior art of record that would, reasonably and absent impermissible hindsight, motivate one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the prior art to incorporate a cross-sectional area of a spacer member relative to an area below a seal member as claimed. Thus, for at least the foregoing reasons, the prior art of record neither anticipates nor rendered obvious the present invention as set forth in claims 4-6.
Conclusion
/CLAIRE E ROJOHN III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763