DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 4/9/2024 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 because JP-2001-32330-A, JP-2010-65577-A, and JP-2017-71982-A are not provided in the application folder. It appears that foreign applications JP-2001-032330-A, JP-2010-065577-A, and JP-2017-071982-A have been incorrectly cited as JP-2001-32330-A, JP-2010-65577-A, and JP-2017-71982-A respectively causing this issue. Examiner recommends submitting a corrected IDS with the corrected citations. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits. Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information contained in this information disclosure statement or the submission of any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the statement, including all certification requirements for statements under 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-7 objected to because of the following informalities: Line 1 of claims 2-7 read "a work machine" which appears to be a continuity error since "work machine" already has antecedent basis to claim 1 and thus should read "the work machine" to maintain consistency within the claims and avoid confusion. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
In claim 1, the “rotation speed setting member” in the limitation “a rotation speed setting member manually operable for setting a target rotation speed of the engine” invokes 112(f) as “member” is a term that does not have definite structure which enables the setting of an engine rotation speed.
A review of the specification (paragraph 0045) shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure to these claim limitations:
“A rotation speed setting member 48 is a member that sets a target rotation speed
of engine 31 by setting a target value of an amount of fuel supply to engine 31.
Rotation speed setting member 48 is provided, for example, in an instrument panel on
the right of operator's cab 2a in operator's cab 2a. Rotation speed setting member 48
is, for example, a member like a dial and provided as being manually operable.
Rotation speed setting member 48, however, may be another member such as a lever, a
pedal, or a switch.” (Emphasis added.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In claim 1, applicant uses the term “contents of works” which is not lexicographically defined within the specification and does not have a well-known definition within the art. Examiner understands that this is likely a translation error of a term that makes more sense in the original Japanese. Paragraph 0062 and Figures 5-7 seem to indicate that “contents of works” is meant to mean a vehicle operating state such as an excavating state, a loaded state, a soil ejection state, an unloaded state, or some other state. This is not reflected within the utilized term “contents of works” which, upon initial read, may be mistaken as meaning the contents of the work implement (e.g. what type of material is within the work implement or how much material is in the work implement) which, in light of the specification, is clearly not the intended meaning behind the utilized term. Examiner recommends amending the claims and disclosure to replace every instance of “contents of works” with a more accurate translation that reflects the idea to be captured such as “vehicle working state” or “working step” or some other translation that adequately reflects the disclosed idea provided no new matter is added. For the purpose of examination, examiner will interpret “contents of works” to mean “vehicle working state” (e.g. excavating).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. KR 20180111055 A (hereinafter Kim; a translated copy has been provided which the examiner relies upon) in view of Yamaguchi et al. US 20120245805 A1 (hereinafter Yamaguchi) and Dongare et al. US 20220135036 A1 (hereinafter Dongare).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a control device of a work machine (translated Abstract "a control system for construction equipment"), the work machine including a vehicular body (Figure 1 shows a bulldozer with a body), a work implement supported on the vehicular body (Figure 1 shows a bulldozer with a bucket 30 connected to a boom 20 which is connected to the bulldozer body), and an engine which is a drive source of the work implement (translated paragraph 0020, for example, provides an explicit example of the engine driving the bucket by raising the attached boom), the control device comprising:
a rotation speed setting member manually operable for setting a target rotation speed of the engine (translated paragraph 0002 discloses an accelerator pedal normally connected to a driving power to increase driving speed); and
a controller that selectively carries out any one of ordinary control and intervention control (translated paragraph 0006 discloses a vehicle control unit (VCU) connected to an engine control unit (ECU) to perform an engine RPM increase according to load weight and boom position; translated paragraph 0036 discloses that operator can choose to turn this on or off indicating that normal control and control based on load weight and boom position is selectively performed; translated paragraphs 0045-0047 provide additional detail on selectively entering this engine RPM increase mode),
wherein in carrying out the intervention control, the controller obtains sensor data related to the work implement (translated paragraph 0006 discloses that the VCU receives position of a boom and weight of a load), sets the target rotation speed corresponding to the sensor data (translated paragraph 0007 discloses that the VCU determines an engine RPM increase according to the load weight and boom position), and controls the engine at the set target rotation speed regardless of an amount of operation onto the rotation speed setting member (translated paragraph 0006 discloses that the VCU sends a control signal to the ECU to adjust the engine's rotation frequency based on the engine RPM increase value; it is important to Kim's operation that the accelerator pedal operation is ignored via transmission cut-off during this so that an operator can focus on operating the work implement as detailed in translated paragraphs 0001-0005 for example).
Kim does not explicitly teach that in carrying out the ordinary control, the controller controls the engine at the target rotation speed based on an operation onto the rotation speed setting member. This may be implicitly interpreted from translated paragraph 0002 in light of translated paragraphs 0036-0047 when a transmission cut-off is not performed, but for completeness of the record, Yamaguchi is utilized to teach this explicitly.
Yamaguchi teaches that in carrying out the ordinary control, the controller controls the engine at the target rotation speed based on an operation onto the rotation speed setting member (paragraph 0010 discloses a control unit receives inputs into an accelerator wherein engine speed is controlled based on accelerator operation).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Kim to incorporate the teachings of Yamaguchi such that the accelerator of Kim may be utilized according to the teachings of Yamaguchi when the engine RPM increase mode of Kim is not being performed. This modification would be done with a reasonable expectation of success to improve operator control and handling.
Kim does not teach that in carrying out the intervention control, the controller estimates contents of works by the work implement and sets the target rotation speed corresponding to the estimated contents of works.
Dongare teaches that in carrying out the intervention control, the controller estimates contents of works by the work implement (Abstract discloses determining a work state based on sensor inputs) and sets the target rotation speed corresponding to the estimated contents of works (Abstract discloses generating control signals, such as engine speed adjustments, based on the determined work state).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have further modified Kim to incorporate the teachings of Dongare such that, upon obtaining the sensor data according to the teachings of Kim, said sensor data can be utilized to determine a vehicle work state which can further be used to determine an engine RPM adjustment according to the teachings of Dongare wherein the determined engine adjustment amount can be utilized according to the teachings of Kim. This modification would be done with a reasonable expectation of success to increase productivity and ease of operating the vehicle as disclosed in Dongare (paragraph 0005).
Regarding claim 5, the modified Kim reference teaches all of claim 1 as detailed above. Kim further teaches that the controller obtains a weight of loads loaded on the work implement (translated paragraph 0040 discloses determining the weight of a load loaded on a vehicle with a boom cylinder pressure sensor).
Kim does not teach that the controller estimates the contents of works based on a weight of loads loaded on the work implement.
Dongare further teaches that the controller estimates the contents of works based on a weight of loads loaded on the work implement (Abstract discloses determining a work state based on sensor inputs).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have further modified Kim to incorporate the further teachings of Dongare such that the sensor data of Kim can be utilized in a work state determination which can further be used to determine an engine RPM adjustment according to the teachings of Dongare wherein the determined engine adjustment amount can be utilized according to the teachings of Kim. This modification would be done with a reasonable expectation of success to increase productivity and ease of operating the vehicle as disclosed in Dongare (paragraph 0005).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Kim reference teaches all of claim 1 as detailed above. Kim further teaches that the controller carries out the intervention control when a function to measure a weight of loads loaded on the work implement has been activated (translated paragraph 0040 discloses determining the weight of a load loaded on a vehicle with a boom cylinder pressure sensor; translated paragraph 0007 discloses that the VCU determines an engine RPM increase according to the load weight).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as modified by Yamaguchi and Dongare as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kato et al. US 20150275798 A1 (hereinafter Kato).
Regarding claim 2, the modified Kim reference teaches all of claim 1 as detailed above. Kim further teaches that the controller includes an engine controller that outputs a control signal to the engine (translated paragraph 0006 discloses an ECU which controls the engine) and an intervention controller (translated paragraph 0006 discloses a VCU connected to the ECU which performs the engine RPM increase control).
Kim does not teach that the intervention controller is interposed in a signal path between the rotation speed setting member and the engine controller.
Kato teaches that the intervention controller is interposed in a signal path between the rotation speed setting member and the engine controller (Figure 1 shows an VCU 30 connected between the pathways of an accelerator 33 and ECU 31).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have further modified Kim to incorporate the teachings of Kato since the arrangement of components detailed is a mere rearrangement of parts which has been shown to only require ordinary skill in the art as detailed in MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
All further limitations of claim 2 are a substantial repetition of the limitations of claim 1 in context of a dual controller system. For the purpose of conciseness of this Office Action, rejection of these limitations will not be repeated. See claim 1 above for the details of rejection for the repeated limitations.
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as modified by Yamaguchi and Dongare as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tinker et al. US 20200064130 A1 (hereinafter Tinker).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Kim reference teaches all of claim 1 as detailed above. Kim further teaches that the work machine further includes a work implement position sensor attached to the work implement to detect a position of the work implement (translated paragraph 0038 discloses a boom position detection unit for detecting position of the boom such as an angle or displacement sensor).
Kim does not teach that the work machine further includes a vehicular body position sensor attached to the vehicular body to detect a position of the vehicular body
Tinker teaches that the work machine further includes a vehicular body position sensor attached to the vehicular body to detect a position of the vehicular body (paragraph 0005 discloses an IMU attached to a chassis of a machine to take a measurement of body position) and a work implement position sensor attached to the work implement to detect a position of the work implement (paragraph 0005 discloses an IMU attached to a tilt lever and another IMU attached to a lift arm of a machine to determine positions of a work element).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have further modified Kim to incorporate the teachings of Tinker such that both vehicle and work implement position sensors are utilized according to the teachings of Tinker with a reasonable expectation of success to improve linkage angle measurements as disclosed in Tinker (paragraph 0002).
Kim does not teach that the controller estimates the contents of works based on results of detection by the vehicular body position sensor and the work implement position sensor.
Dongare further teaches that the controller estimates the contents of works based on results of detection by the vehicular body position sensor and the work implement position sensor (Abstract discloses determining a work state based on sensor inputs).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have further modified Kim to incorporate the further teachings of Dongare such that the sensor data of Kim and Tinker can be utilized within a sensor based work state determination which can further be used to determine an engine RPM adjustment according to the teachings of Dongare wherein the determined engine adjustment amount can be utilized according to the teachings of Kim. This modification would be done with a reasonable expectation of success to increase productivity and ease of operating the vehicle as disclosed in Dongare (paragraph 0005).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Kim reference teaches all of claim 3 as detailed above. Kim further teaches that the results of detection by the work implement position sensor are directly inputted to the controller (translated paragraph 0006 discloses that the VCU receives boom position data from the boom position detection unit).
Kim does not teach that the results of detection by the vehicular body position sensor are directly inputted to the controller.
Tinker further teaches that the results of detection by the vehicular body position sensor and the work implement position sensor are directly inputted to the controller (paragraph 0015 discloses that a controller may receive all position measurements).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have further modified Kim to incorporate the further teachings of Tinker such that the vehicle body sensor data of Tinker can be utilized and fed into the VCU of Kim with a reasonable expectation of success to improve linkage angle measurements as disclosed in Tinker (paragraph 0002).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as modified by Yamaguchi and Dongare as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nagano et al. JP 2001032330 A (hereinafter Nagano; Nagano was previously provided as a translated Abstract by the applicant, but examiner has provided a full translation which the examiner relies upon).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Kim reference teaches all of claim 1 as detailed above.
Kim does not teach that the controller estimates the contents of works based on a result of previous estimation of the contents of works.
Nagano teaches that the controller estimates the contents of works based on a result of previous estimation of the contents of works (translated paragraph 0011 discloses basing engine speed on a magnitude of load detected during a previous round of work; examiner understands this would accomplish the same goal of basing engine speed off of vehicle state which is based on a previous vehicle state).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have further modified Kim to incorporate the teachings of Nagano such that engine speed can be set according to the sensor results of a previous cycle as taught by Nagano with a reasonable expectation of success to set the engine speed of each cycle quickly and improve economics and workability of driving as detailed in Nagano (translated page 9 last three paragraphs).
Documents Considered but not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hyodo et al. US 20200378089 A1 discloses modifying engine speed based on operation state and otherwise controlling engine speed according to an accelerator pedal.
Matsushita et al. US 5564507 A discloses a vehicle body sensor which determines body orientation.
Conclusion
/A.T.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/Erin M Piateski/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669