DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Instant claim 1 has been amended to recite the phrase “consisting of.” The transitional phrase "consisting of" excludes any element, step, or ingredient not specified in the claim. See MPEP 2111.03(II). Instant claim 1 has also been amended to recite the phrase “optionally, a solvent” and “optionally, an additive.” For the purposes of examination under prior art, the examiner understands that prior art teaching a mixture of solvents and/or a mixture of additives reads on the recited optional solvent or additive respectively. This determination is made at least in view of the fact that claim 13 recites that the additive may include multiple ingredients.
The implication of this is that, with regard to claim 1, prior art which teaches a tizanidine-containing layer comprising multiple elements other than tizanidine, polar polymers, nonpolar polymers, and fatty acids is still within the scope of the claim despite the recited “consisting of” language. This is because the additional elements read on the recited optional solvent or optional additive.
Claim 1 recites an optional solvent. The instant specification defines the term “solvent” in the following manner as of page 8 of the instant specification.
For the purposes of examination under prior art, the examiner understands a liquid substance to be a substance that is liquid at the temperatures at which the claimed composition is used, e.g. room or body temperature. In view of the fact that the examiner is tasked with giving the claims their broadest reasonable interpretation rather than their broadest possible interpretation during examination, the examiner takes the position that a material that is solid at room temperature but melts to a liquid state at a temperature well above body temperature (e.g. a material with a melting point of 134°C) is not understood to be a liquid and is therefore not understood to read on the required solvent.
The examiner further notes that claim 1 recites “comprising” on the third line of the claim and “consisting of” on the fifth line of the claim. The transitional term "comprising", which is synonymous with "including," "containing," or "characterized by," is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method step, whereas the transitional phrase "consisting of" excludes any element, step, or ingredient not specified in the claim. See MPEP 2111.03(I & II). The examiner takes the position that the inclusion of these phrases together in the same claim does not render the claim indefinite. This is because claim 1 is understood to recite that the tizanidine-containing layer consists of only the recited elements and excludes unrecited elements. However, other portions of the transdermal therapeutic system (such as the backing layer) are not limited by the transitional phrase “consisting of” and can include unrecited elements.
Claim 4 recites an acrylic copolymer based on vinyl acetate, 2-ethylhexyl acrylate, 2-hydroxyethyl acrylate, and optionally glycidyl methacrylate. The examiner understands this to require that the copolymer be a polymer made from polymerization of the monomers of vinyl acetate, 2-ethylhexyl acrylate, and 2-hydroxyethyl acrylate, and optionally crosslinked with glycidyl methacrylate.
The examiner also understands that the material known by the trade names of “Duro-tak 87-4287”, “Duro-tak 287-2287” “Duro-tak 87-2287”, “Duro-tak 387-2516” and “Duro-tak 87-2516” as well as other trade names disclosed on pages 13-14, paragraph 0087 of the instant specification as filed to meet this claim limitation.
The examiner will proceed with examination with the understanding that prior art drawn to the product with the trade name “Dow Corning Bio-PSA 7-4202”, which is taught to be a polysiloxane adhesive on page 21 of the instant specification, meets the requirements of the polysiloxane of instant claim 8.
Claim 13 limits the additive to lauryl lactate, methyl laurate, dihydrolevoglucosenone, dimethyl propylene urea, and a combination thereof. Claim 13 also provides numerical limitations regarding the amount of the additive. In view of the “consisting of” language in claim 1, the examiner notes that the claim is understood to recite that the tizanidine-containing layer consists of tizanidine, at least one polar polymer, at least one nonpolar polymer, at least one fatty acid, lauryl lactate, methyl laurate, dihydrolevoglucosenone, dimethyl propylene urea, or a combination thereof, and an optional solvent. As such, any ingredient that is not tizanidine, not a polar polymer, not a nonpolar polymer, not a fatty acid, not a solvent, and not one of lauryl lactate, methyl laurate, dihydrolevoglucosenone, dimethyl propylene urea or a combination thereof is excluded from the tizanidine-containing layer of claim 13.
Multiple Numerical Ranges in Claims
The examiner notes that various claims have multiple numerical ranges in the same claim. As an example of this, the examiner cites claim 6, which recites at least one polar polymer in a range of about 10% to about 50% or about 10% to about 25%. These ranges are recited in the alternative.
The reciting of multiple numerical ranges of varying scope in the alternative would not appear to render the claim indefinite. In support of this position, the examiner notes that the Markush group, "selected from the group consisting of amino, halogen, nitro, chloro and alkyl" should be acceptable even though "halogen" is generic to "chloro." See MPEP 2173.05(h)(I), last paragraph. In a similar vein, the reciting of the broader range of about 10% to about 50% together with a narrower range of about 10% to about 25% is acceptable.
The examiner notes that description of examples or preferences is properly set forth in the specification rather than the claims. If stated in the claims, examples and preferences may lead to confusion over the intended scope of a claim. In those instances where it is not clear whether the claimed narrower range is a limitation, a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph should be made. See MPEP 2173.05(c) and 2173.05(d). However, in the preliminary amendment on 23 October 2024, applicant amended the claims so that they are not drawn to examples or preferences by cancelling the term “preferably” from the claims. As such, because the term “preferably” is no longer recited by the claims, the instant claims are not rejected as indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 – Obviousness
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 10-12, 14-17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miwa et al. (US 2021/0030724 A1) in view of Shahid et al. (Drug Development and Industrial Pharmacy, Vol. 44 No. 12, 2018, pages 2061-2070).
Miwa et al. (hereafter referred to as Miwa) is drawn to transdermal patch comprising tizanidine, as of Miwa, title, abstract, and figure on front page, which is reproduced below.
In one embodiment, Miwa teaches that the drug adhesive matrix layer comprises the following ingredients, as of Miwa, page 10, paragraph 0116, reproduced below.
As to claim 1, part (A), the claim requires a backing layer. This is taught by the above-reproduced figure from the front page of Miwa.
As to claim 1, part (B)(i), Miwa teaches tizanidine, as of Miwa, title, abstract, and above-reproduced table. Miwa is not anticipatory because in the above-reproduced table, Miwa teaches tizanidine hydrochloride rather than tizanidine free base. Nevertheless, in the abstract, Miwa teaches “tizanidine or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof.” The examiner understands this to provide motivation for the skilled artisan to have substituted tizanidine free base in place of tizanidine hydrochloride. The simple substitution of one known element (e.g. tizandine free base) in place of another (tizanidine hydrochloride) in order to achieve predictable results (the therapeutic effects of tizanidine) is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2143, Exemplary Rationale B.
As to claim 1, part (B)(iii), Miwa teaches terpene resin and styrene-isoprene-styrene block copolymer, as of the above-reproduced table. These are non-polar polymers.
As to claim 1, part (B)(iv), Miwa teaches oleic acid, as of the above-reproduced table.
Miwa differs from the claimed invention because in the composition of Miwa, there does not appear to be a polar polymer in the tizanidine-containing layer. While Miwa teaches a polar polymer such as that known by the trade name “DURO-TAK 387-2287”, it is present in a separate layer as compared to the tizanidine containing layer, rendering the composition of Miwa different from the claimed composition.
Shahid et al. (hereafter referred to as Shahid) is drawn to a drug delivery system for transdermal delivery of tizanidine hydrochloride, as of Shahid, page 2061, title and abstract. The composition of Shahid appears to be a matrix-type composition having the following components, as of Shahid, page 2062, Tables 1 and 2, reproduced below.
CAP is cellulose acetate phthalate, PVP is polyvinyl pyrrolidone, and EL100 is Eudragit L100, which is an acrylate containing polymer; see Shahid, page 2062, left column, section entitled “Materials.” The examiner understands these to be polar polymers.
Shahid differs from the claimed invention at least because does not appear to teach a fatty acid.
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined the polymers of Shahid with the matrix drug-containing layer of the composition of Miwa. Miwa is drawn to a tizanidine containing transdermal patch, and teaches a tizanidine-containing matrix layer. While the matrix layer of Miwa does not include polar polymers, it is nevertheless the case that Shahid teaches polar polymers in a tizanidine matrix layer of a transdermal patch. As such, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to have included the polar polymers of the matrix layer of Shahid in the matrix layer of Miwa for predictable delivery of tizanidine transdermally with a reasonable expectation of success. Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material (e.g. polyvinylpyrrolidone, Eudragit, and/or cellulose acetate phthalate, as of Shahid) for incorporation into a composition (e.g. the matrix layer in the composition of Miwa), based on its recognized suitability for its intended use (transdermal delivery of tizanidine). See MPEP 2144.07.
As to claim 1, the examiner notes that the claim has been amended to recite the language “consisting of.” This transitional phrase excludes any element, step, or ingredient not specified in the claim (or in this case, in the recited tizanidine-containing layer). See MPEP 2111.03(II). The examiner admits that the prior art teaches elements in the tizanidine-containing layer that are not tizanidine, a polar polymer, a nonpolar polymer, or a fatty acid. Such elements include propylene glycol, butylene glycol, and oleyl alcohol (which is a fatty alcohol rather than a fatty acid). Nevertheless, the combination of these ingredients reads on the optional solvent and optional additive, and is therefore not outside the scope of the claims as defined by the “consisting of” language recited by the claim. See the above section entitled “Claim Interpretation” for further information regarding this issue.
As to claim 2, Miwa teaches 1.72% tizanidine in the drug adhesive matrix layer, as of page 10, paragraph 0116. Miwa also teaches a range of from 0.5% to 10% as of paragraph 0043.
As to claim 3, Shahid teaches both polyvinylpyrrolidone as well as Eudragit L100, which is an acrylic polymer, as of Shahid, page 2062, left column, “Materials” section.
As to claim 5, Shahid teaches polyvinylpyrrolidone, as of Shahid, page 2062, left column, “Materials” section.
As to claim 6, Shahid teaches 400 mg of Eudragit L100 per (200 mg cellulose acetate phthalate, + 400 mg Eudragit L100 +10 mg drug + 240 mg propylene glycol) in the first line of Table 2 on page 2062 (i.e. T1-PE01). This appears to be about 47% Eudragit L100 in that embodiment. Shahid teaches lower percentages of Eudragit L100, as of the second line of Table 1 (i.e. T2-PE02). As such, the amounts of the polymer taught by Shahid appear to overlap with the claimed range. While the prior art does not disclose the exact claimed values, but does overlap: in such instances even a slight overlap in range establishes a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
As to claim 7, Miwa teaches polyisobutylene in paragraph 0055. As best understood by the examiner, Miwa teaches polyisobutylene in the overlaying adhesive layer, which is separate from the drug adhesive matrix layer. Nevertheless, this difference is insufficient to overcome the applied rejection. This is because placing the polyisobutylene integral to the drug layer would still appear to result in a prima facie case of obviousness in the absence of unexpected results; see MPEP 2144.04(V)(B).
As to claim 10, Miwa teaches 16% styrene-isoprene-styrene block copolymer and 28% terpene resin. The amount of terpene resin appears to be within the claimed range. Also, when the terpene resin in combination with styrene-isoprene-styrene is taken together, this amount appears to be about 44% and is also within the claimed range.
As to claim 11, Miwa teaches oleic acid, as of the table in paragraph 0116. This has 18 carbons and reads on the requirement of claim 11.
As to claim 12, the amount of aliphatic acid taught by Miwa appears to be lower than what is claimed. Nevertheless, generally, differences in concentration between the prior art and claimed invention will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). In this case, there is no evidence on the record that the concentration of oleic acid is critical. Additionally, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). In this case, the general conditions of a tizanidine transdermal patch comprising oleic acid have been taught by the prior art. As such, it would not have been inventive for the skilled artisan to have discovered the optimum or workable ranges of this component via routine experimentation.
As to claim 14, Miwa teaches the following on page 10, Table 13, reproduced below.
As to claim 15, Miwa teaches the following, as of paragraph 0042, relevant text reproduced below.
Miwa suggests applying the patch for 72 hours, as of paragraph 0079. As such, the skilled artisan would have expected that the composition of Miwa would have provided the required amount of tizanidine in the required time period.
As to claim 16, Miwa teaches treating a human patient as of at least paragraph 0072.
As to claim 17, Miwa teaches 1.72% tizanidine in the drug adhesive matrix layer, as of page 10, paragraph 0116. Miwa also teaches a range of from 0.5% to 10% as of paragraph 0043.
As to claim 19, Miwa teaches oleic acid, as of the table in paragraph 0116. This has 18 carbons and reads on the requirement of claim 11.
Note Regarding Filing Date: The examiner notes that the instant application appears to have an earliest effective filing date of 15 October 2021, based upon a foreign priority claim. Miwa was published on 4 February 2021, which is less than a year earlier than the earliest effective filing date of the instant application. As such, Miwa is prior art under AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1). In addition, the examiner notes Miwa et al. (WO 2019/151423 A1). This is a Japanese-language WIPO publication that appears to have the same text as Miwa et al. (US 2021/0030724 A1), but was published over a year earlier than the earliest effective filing date of the instant application.
Claim(s) 4 and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miwa et al. (US 2021/0030724 A1) in view of Shahid et al. (Drug Development and Industrial Pharmacy, Vol. 44 No. 12, 2018, pages 2061-2070), the combination further in view of Friedrich et al. (US 2015/0148759 A1).
Miwa is drawn to a transdermal tizanidine drug delivery form. Shahid is also drawn to a transdermal tizanidine drug delivery form. See the rejection above over Miwa in view of Shahid. Both Miwa and Shahid teach the inclusion of an adhesive; see at least Miwa, paragraph 0041 and Shahid, page 2066, right column, first paragraph below figure 2.
Neither Miwa nor Shahid teach an acrylic copolymer based on vinyl acetate, 2-ethylhexyl acrylate, and 2-hydroxyethyle acrylate.
Friedrich et al. (hereafter referred to as Friedrich) is drawn to a transdermal patch for the administration of tapentadol, as of Friedrich, title and abstract. Friedrich teaches various pressure sensitive adhesives, as of Friedrich, abstract. These pressure sensitive adhesives may include the adhesive known by the trade name “Durotak 87-4287” as of paragraph 0314. The adhesives may also include polyisobutylene, as of paragraph 0131, and silanol endblocked polydimethylsiloxane (PDMS) with a silicate resin, as of paragraph 0141.
Friedrich differs from the claimed invention at least because the drug delivered by Friedrich different from tizanidine.
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined the adhesives of Friedrich with the composition of Miwa in view of Shahid. The combination of Miwa in view of Shahid is drawn to a transdermal patch for the delivery of tizanidine which comprises an adhesive. The Durotak 87-4287, polyisobutylene, and silanol endblocked PDMS of Friedrich are adhesives useful for transdermal patches for drug delivery. As such, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to have combined the Durotak 87-4287, polyisobutylene, and silanol endblocked PDMS of Friedrich with the composition of Miwa in view of Shahid for predictable adhesion with a reasonable expectation of success. Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material (e.g. Durotak 87-4287, polyisobutylene, and silanol endblocked PDMS, as of Friedrich) for incorporation into a composition (e.g. the transdermal patch of Miwa in view of Shahid), based on its recognized suitability for its intended use (to obtain adhesion, which is necessary for the formation of a transdermal patch for transdermal delivery of an active agent). See MPEP 2144.07.
As to claim 4, the Durotak 87-4287 of Friedrich, paragraph 0314, is understood to read on the requirements of this claim. See the section above entitled “Claim Interpretation” in which this issue is explained in greater detail.
As to claim 7, the polyisobutylene of Friedrich, paragraph 0131, is understood to read on this requirement.
As to claim 8, Friedrich teaches BIO-PSA 7-4202 in paragraph 0139. This is understood to read on the claimed requirement. See the section above entitled “Claim Interpretation.”
Claim(s) 7-9 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miwa et al. (US 2021/0030724 A1) in view Shahid et al. (Drug Development and Industrial Pharmacy, Vol. 44 No. 12, 2018, pages 2061-2070), the combination further in view of Mohr et al. (US 2020/0085759 A1).
Claim(s) 7-9 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miwa et al. (US 2021/0030724 A1) in view of Shahid et al. (Drug Development and Industrial Pharmacy, Vol. 44 No. 12, 2018, pages 2061-2070) and Friedrich et al. (US 2015/0148759 A1), the combination further in view of Mohr et al. (US 2020/0085759 A1).
Miwa is drawn to a transdermal tizanidine drug delivery form. Shahid is also drawn to a transdermal tizanidine drug delivery form. See the rejection above over Miwa in view of Shahid. Both Miwa and Shahid teach the inclusion of an adhesive; see at least Miwa, paragraph 0041 and Shahid, page 2066, right column, first paragraph below figure 2. Friedrich teaches additional pressure-sensitive adhesives; see the rejection above over the combination of Miwa in view of Shahid and Friedrich.
For the purposes of this rejection, the examiner understands that neither Miwa, Shahid, nor Friedrich teach the polysiloxane required by claim 8 nor the polyisobutylene mixture required by claim 9 in the required layer.
Mohr et al. (hereafter referred to as Mohr) is drawn to a transdermal therapeutic drug delivery system comprising a self-adhesive layer, as of Mohr, title and abstract. Mohr teaches the presence of polsiloxanes and polyisobutylenes in the same layer as the active agent, as of Mohr, item “B” in abstract, reproduced below.
As such, Mohr teaches polysiloxanes and polyisobutylenes in the same layer as the drug in a transdermal therapeutic composition. The polysiloxanes and polyisobutylenes appear to be useful as pressure-sensitive adhesives, as of Mohr, paragraph 0147.
Mohr differs from the claimed invention because the therapeutic agent in Mohr differs from the claimed therapeutic agent.
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined the polysiloxanes and polyisobutylenes of Mohr into the transdermal therapeutic system of Miwa in view of Shahid, optionally in view of Friedrich. Miwa teaches adhesives, as of Miwa, at least paragraph 0041. The polysiloxane and polyisobutylenes of Mohr are pressure sensitive adhesives. As such, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to have combined the polysiloxanes and polyisobutylenes of Mohr with the system of Miwa in view of Shahid and optionally Friedrich in order to have predictably caused the transdermal system of Miwa in view of Shahid to have adhesive properties with a reasonable expectation of success. Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material (e.g. the polysiloxanes and polyisobutylenes of Mohr) for incorporation into a composition (that of Miwa in view of Shahid), based on its recognized suitability for its intended use (as adhesives, which are desired by Miwa). See MPEP 2144.07.
As to claim 7, the polyisobutylene of the abstract of Mohr reads on the additional requirement of this claim.
As to claim 8, the material known as “BIO-PSA 7-4202” as taught by Mohr, paragraph 0283, is understood to meet the additional requirements of claim 8. See the section above entitled “Claim Interpretation” for a further description of issues related to this trade name.
As to claim 9, Mohr teaches the following as of paragraph 0288, which is reproduced in part below.
The entirety of the teachings of paragraph 0288 of Mohr are understood to meet the requirements of instant claim 9.
As to claim 17, this claim is rejected for the same reason that claim 2 is rejected.
As to claim 18, this claim is rejected for the same reason that claim 9 is rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant has presented arguments regarding the previously applied rejection, as of applicant’s response on 3 September 2026 (hereafter referred to as applicant’s response). These arguments are addressed below.
Applicant has presented the following arguments on the paragraph bridging pages 8-9, reproduced below.
This argument is not persuasive with respect to claim 1 because the combination of these ingredients reads on the recited optional additive. As such, the compositions of Miwa are not outside the scope of the recited “consisting of” language.
Regarding the Shahid reference, applicant argues that this reference fails to teach the required fatty acid or non-polar polymer in the tizanidine layer. This is not persuasive. One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See MPEP 2145(IV).
Applicant points out that Shahid teaches that a permeation enhancer was required to increase the permeation of drug through the skin, as of applicant’s response, page 9, bottom paragraph. This is not persuasive, as nothing in the claims excludes a permeation enhancer. This is because a permeation enhancer, by itself or in combination with other ingredients, could read on the recited optional additive.
Regarding the secondary references of Friedrich and Mohr, applicant appears to argue that combining these references with Miwa and Shahid does not result in the claimed invention because the resultant combination includes materials excluded by the “consisting of” language of the instant claims, as of applicant’s response, pages 10-12. The examiner disagrees. As explained above, a combination of ingredients that are not tizanidine, a polar polymer, a non-polar polymer, and a fatty acid reads on the recited optional additive. To the extent that Friedrich and Mohr teach such ingredients, said ingredients would read on the recited optional additive.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As relevant prior art, the examiner notes Miwa et al. (US 2021/0030724 A1) and Shahid et al. (Drug Development and Industrial Pharmacy, Vol. 44 No. 12, 2018, pages 2061-2070), over which the instant claims were rejected above.
Miwa et al. (hereafter referred to as Miwa) is drawn to transdermal patch comprising tizanidine, as of Miwa, title, abstract, and figure on front page, which is reproduced below.
In one embodiment, Miwa teaches that the drug adhesive matrix layer comprises the following ingredients, as of Miwa, page 10, paragraph 0116, reproduced below.
The above-indicated examples appear to include multiple ingredients that are excluded by the “consisting of” language recited by the instant claims. Such ingredients may include potassium sorbate, sorbic acid, sodium sulfite, propyl gallate, oleyl alcohol, and colloidal silicon dioxide. None of these ingredients are tizanidine. None of these ingredients are polar polymers or non-polar polymers; the examiner notes that inorganic materials such as colloidal silicon dioxide are not generally referred to by the skilled artisan as polymers. None of these ingredients are fatty acids, as oleyl alcohol is a fatty alcohol rather than a fatty acid. None of these ingredients are an additive selected from the group consisting of lauryl lactate, methyl laurate, dihydrolevoglucosenone, dimethyl propylene urea, and a combination thereof. Additionally, none of potassium sorbate, sorbic acid, sodium sulfite, propyl gallate, oleyl alcohol, and colloidal silicon dioxide are solvents because they are solids rather than liquids.
The term “solvent” appears to be defined by the instant specification as any liquid substance, as of the specification on page 8, paragraph 0048. The examiner best understands this to refer to a substance that is liquid at room temperature or at temperatures at which the claimed invention would normally operate, such as 37°C; see the section above entitled “Claim Interpretation.” The melting point of propyl gallate is about 150°C, which would render it other than a liquid substance. The melting point of sorbic acid is about 134°C, which would render it other than a liquid substance. Also, the melting point of salts such as sodium and potassium salts is very high; therefore, the prior art’s teaching of potassium sorbate or sodium sulfate. As such, these ingredients are not liquid at the temperature at which the claimed invention is intended to operate, and cannot be considered solvents.
As such, the prior art appears to teach multiple ingredients in the tizanidine layer that are excluded by the “consisting of” language recited by instant claim 13. The skilled artisan would not have been motivated to have removed these ingredients from the drug containing layer in the composition of Miwa. For example, sorbic acid and sodium sorbate are percutaneous absorption accelerators, as of Miwa, paragraph 0048. The skilled artisan would not have been motivated to have eliminated these ingredients, as they appear to be necessary to achieve a desirable rate of absorption of the active agent. As such, the previously applied rejection over Miwa in view of Shahid has been withdrawn with respect to instant claim 13.
The examiner provides a suggestion for an examiner’s amendment on the next page.
Proposed Examiner’s Amendment
The examiner presents the following proposed amendment.
X) Claim 1 is proposed to be amended in the following manner:
Claim 1 (Proposed Amendment): A transdermal therapeutic system for the transdermal administration of tizanidine comprising a tizanidine-containing layer structure, said tizanidine-containing layer structure comprising:
A) a backing layer;
B) a tizanidine-containing layer consisting of:
i) a therapeutically effective amount of tizanidine in the form of its free base;
ii) at least one polar polymer;
iii) at least one nonpolar polymer;-and
iv) at least one fatty acid;
v) optionally, a solvent; and
vi) optionally, an additive selected from the group consisting of lauryl lactate, methyl laurate, dihydrolevoglucosenone, dimethyl propylene urea, and a combination thereof.
X) Claims 2-12 – No changes proposed.
X) Claim 13 is proposed to be amended in the following manner:
Claim 13 (Proposed Amendment): The transdermal therapeutic system according to claim 1, wherein the additive is [[ ]] present, and wherein [[ ]] the content of the additive in the tizanidine-containing layer ranges from 1 to 20%, or from 5 to 15%, by weight based on the total weight of the tizanidine-containing layer; or wherein [[ ]] the mass ratio of the mass of tizanidine to the mass of the additive in the tizanidine-containing layer ranges from about 0.25 to about 4, or from about 0.3 to about 3.
X) Claims 14-19 – No amendment proposed.
X) The following new claims are proposed:
Claim 20 (New): The system of claim 1, wherein the solvent is present and is selected from the group consisting of methanol, ethanol, isopropanol, acetone, ethyl acetate, methylene chloride, hexane, n-heptane, toluene, and mixtures thereof.
The above-indicated amendments are proposed to overcome the previously applied rejection by excluding various ingredients taught by the prior art. These ingredients are excluded in view of the “consisting of” language recited by claim 1. The transitional phrase "consisting of" excludes any element, step, or ingredient not specified in the claim. See MPEP 2111.03(II). Miwa teaches various ingredients not recited by the claim and excluded by the recited “consisting of” language. Proposed new claim 20 is supported in the manner required by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as of page 8, paragraph 0048 of the instant specification.
Conclusion
Less than all claims are in condition for allowance.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ISAAC . SHOMER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1612
/ISAAC SHOMER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612