DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This action is in response to the U.S. filing dated 09 April 2024 which is a national stage entry of PCT/CN2023/114204, dated 22 August 2023, which claims a foreign priority date of 03 April 2023. A preliminary amendment was submitted on 09 April 2024. Claims 24, 30, 32, 35, 36, 39, 42 and 45 are amended. Claims 1-20, 23, 25-27, 31, 34, 40, 43, 46, 48 and 49 have been cancelled. Claims 50 and 51 have been added. Claims 21, 22, 24, 28-30, 32, 33, 35-39, 41, 42, 44, 45, 47, 50 and 51 remain pending and have been considered below.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 19 August 2024 and 27 December 2024 have been received, entered into the record, and considered. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 21, 29, 50 and 51 are objected to because of the following informalities: these claims recite “and/or” terminology. Examiner does however note that, “A and/or B” does have a meaning and that meaning is A alone, B alone, or A and B together. The “preferred verbiage” should be more simply “at least one of A and B.” Further, giving the claim limitation the broadest reasonable interpretation, the examiner will use the broader “or” recitation. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 24 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 24 attempts to make unique size classifiers for each card (e.g. a second size of the third card, a third size of the second card and a first size of the first card). However, this wording makes it seem that the second card already had a first and second size, and the third card already had a first size. Examiner suggests amending these limitations such that each card begins with a first size. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 47 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 47 is dependent upon claim 25, however claim 25 was cancelled in the preliminary amendment. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 39 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 39 recites “the third card covers a home screen background” and “the third card is inserted into a home screen background”. It is unclear how the third card can simultaneously cover the home screen background and be inserted into the home screen background; therefore, it is indefinite. Examiner believes the two limitations of claim 39 should have an “or” between them.
Claim 45 recites the limitation “the preview recommendation slots”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 24, 28-30, 32, 35-38, 42, 44, 50 and 51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tyler et al. (US 2021/0286510 A1) in view of Yano (US 2013/0249843 A1).
As for independent claim 21, Tyler teaches a method comprising:
displaying, by the electronic device, a first card on a screen of the electronic device at a first time, wherein the first card comprises first icons and the first icons comprise first application icons and/or first service cards [(e.g. see Tyler paragraph 0231 and Fig. 5A1) ”FIG. 5A1 shows a first user-arranged page 5050 of a multipage home screen user interface (also referred to as “user-arranged home screen 5050). The user-arranged home screen 5050 includes a plurality of application icons (application icons 5008a-5008m) arranged in a preset layout (e.g., on a 5×4 grid). In some embodiments, the plurality of application icons is user-selected and are placed at respective positions on the user-arranged home screen 5050 in accordance with user inputs”].
receiving a first operation on the first card, and in response to the first operation, displaying, by the electronic device, a second card, wherein the second card comprises second icons, the second icons comprises second application icons and/or second service cards, and an icon different from the first icons exists in the second icons [(e.g. see Tyler paragraphs 0232, 0234 and Figs. 5A1-5A3) ”FIGS. 5A1-5A3 shows navigation from the user-arranged page 5050 to another user-arranged page 5052 in a first navigation direction (e.g., a forward direction through the sequence of pages of the multipage home screen user interface) specified by a navigation input (e.g., a leftward swipe gesture on the user-arranged page 5050 … In FIG. 5A3, the next user-arranged page 5052 of the multipage home screen user interface (e.g., previously undisplayed user-arranged home screen 5052) is displayed as a result of the swipe input by contact 5502, replacing the previously-displayed user-arranged page 5050. User-arranged page 5052 of the multipage home screen user interface includes an additional plurality of application icons 5008r-5008w (e.g., a different set of user-selected application icons from the plurality of application icons on the user-arranged page 5050)”].
displaying, by the electronic device, a third card when a second operation on the second card is received, wherein the third card comprises third icons corresponding to the second icons, the third icons comprise third application icons and/or third service cards, and at least some icons comprised in the third icons belong to same applications or services as the second icons [(e.g. see Tyler paragraph 0236 and Figs. 5A3-5A4) ”Similar to FIG. 5A1, FIG. 5A3 shows a leftward swipe input by contact 5506. The swipe input by contact 5506 is detected after contact 5506 touched down at a respective location in the user-arranged page 5052 of the multipage home screen user interface (e.g., optionally, not at a location of application icon 5008). In some embodiments, the device detects the swipe input by contact 5506 when the device detects substantial movement (e.g., with more than a nominal amount of movement within a nominal threshold amount of time) after the touch-down of contact 5506, before contact 5506 has been maintained substantially stationary for a threshold amount of time (e.g., before a touch-hold input is detected). In response to the swipe input by contact 5506 and in accordance with a determination that the movement of contact 5506 has exceeded a predefined threshold amount of movement (e.g., half of the display width) to complete the page navigation operation, a system-arranged page 5054 of the multipage home screen user interface is displayed as a result of swipe input by contact 5506, replacing the previously-displayed user-arranged home screen 5052, as shown in FIG. 5A4”]. Examiner notes that, as depicted in Figs. 5A3-5A4, the same icons are present between a second page (numeral 5052) and a third page (numeral 5054) including voice recorder, fitness, settings, app store, and calculator.
Tyler does not specifically teach wherein the second card comprises second icons and some first icons. However, in the same field of invention, Yano teaches:
wherein the second card comprises second icons and some first icons [(e.g. see Yano paragraphs 0102, 0106, 0108 and Fig. 14) ”When detecting the flick gesture in the first direction, the smartphone 1 changes the display of the home screen 40. Specifically, the smartphone 1 displays a neighbor home screen 40 … The smartphone 1 displays the activated-icon display screen 90 as illustrated in FIG. 14, and this allows the activated icons to be displayed in the form of a list, which enables the user to easily and instantly check the activated functions. As illustrated in FIG. 13 and FIG. 14, the smartphone 1 respectively executes the change of the home screen 40 and the display of the activated-icon display screen 90 depending upon the direction of the flick gesture … The second activated icon 66 from the left indicates that the mail application 9B is being activated. The third activated icon 66 from the left indicates that a Short Message Service (SMS) application is being activated”]. Examiner notes that, as depicted in Fig. 14, at least application icons for Mail and SMS exist between the first page (numeral 40) and the second page (numeral 90).
Therefore, considering the teachings of Tyler and Yano, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add wherein the second card comprises second icons and some first icons, as taught by Yano, to the teachings of Tyler because listing the applications allows the user to easily and instantly check the activated functions (e.g. see Yano paragraph 0108).
As for dependent claim 24, Tyler and Yano teach the method as described in claim 21 and Tyler further teaches:
wherein a second size of the third card is greater than a first size of the first card, and the third size of the second card is the same as the first size of the first card [(e.g. see Tyler paragraphs 0234, 0235 and Figs. 5A1-5A4) ”In FIG. 5A3, the next user-arranged page 5052 of the multipage home screen user interface (e.g., previously undisplayed user-arranged home screen 5052) is displayed as a result of the swipe input by contact 5502, replacing the previously-displayed user-arranged page 5050 … FIG. 5A4 follows FIG. 5A3. FIGS. 5A3-5A4 illustrate continued navigation from the user-arranged page 5052 to a system-arranged user interface (e.g., a system-arranged home screen 5054”]. Examiner notes that, as depicted in Figs. 5A1-5A4, the first page (numeral 5050) and second page (numeral 5050) are the same size and the third page (numeral 5054) is larger than the first and second pages as the dock is removed.
As for dependent claim 28, Tyler and Yano teach the method as described in claim 21 and Tyler further teaches:
further comprising: in response to tapping the third icon by the user, displaying a service interface of software corresponding to the third icon [(e.g. see Tyler paragraph 0245) ”FIG. 5A9 following FIG. 5A4 illustrates that, in response to another tap input by contact 5514 that is detected at the location corresponding to the folder launch icon 5014a on the grouping icon 5020a, a folder window 5080, corresponding to grouping 5020a, is displayed overlaying a background user interface 5054′ (e.g., blurred and darkened system-arranged home screen 5054). The folder window 5080 shows application icons and related widgets (e.g., ‘mCall’ widget 5022c corresponding to phone application) for multiple (e.g., all, some, etc.) applications belonging to the application grouping 5020a”].
As for dependent claim 29, Tyler and Yano teach the method as described in claim 21 and Tyler further teaches:
wherein the electronic device displays a first card on the screen of the electronic device at a second time, the first card comprises fourth icons, wherein the fourth icons comprise fourth application icons and/or fourth service cards, the fourth application icons are different from the first application icons, and the fourth service cards are different from the first service cards [(e.g. see Tyler paragraph 0241 and Fig. 5A5) ”in FIG. 5A5, the application groupings represented by grouping icons 5020a-5020d are moved upwards in accordance with the upward swipe input by contact 5508. Previously undisplayed … application grouping corresponding to “system” (e.g., represented by grouping icon 5020f) are shown below widget 5022b due to the swipe input by contact 5508 moving upward”]. Examiner notes that the set of icons presented for system are different than the set of icons on the first page (Fig. 5A1).
the first operation on the first card is received again, and in response to the first operation, the electronic device displays a second card, wherein the second card comprises fifth icons and some fourth icons, the fifth icons comprise fifth application icons and/or fifth service cards, and an icon different from the fourth icons exists in the fifth icons [(e.g. see Tyler paragraph 0241 and Fig. 5A6) ”As shown in FIG. 5A6, as the swipe input by contact 5508 continues moving upward, more user interface elements are revealed on the system-arranged home screen 5054, including application grouping corresponding to “games” (e.g., represented by grouping icon 5020g) and application grouping corresponding to “financial” (e.g., represented by grouping icon 5020h)”]. Examiner notes that the settings icon remains displayed while additional games and financial icons are displayed.
and the electronic device displays a third card when the operation of the second card is received again, wherein the third card comprises sixth icons corresponding to the fifth icons, the sixth icons comprise sixth application icons and/or sixth service cards, and at least some icons comprises in the sixth icons belong to same applications or services as the fifth icons [(e.g. see Tyler paragraph 0245 and Fig. 5A9) ”FIG. 5A9 following FIG. 5A4 illustrates that, in response to another tap input by contact 5514 that is detected at the location corresponding to the folder launch icon 5014a on the grouping icon 5020a, a folder window 5080, corresponding to grouping 5020a, is displayed overlaying a background user interface 5054′ (e.g., blurred and darkened system-arranged home screen 5054). The folder window 5080 shows application icons and related widgets (e.g., ‘mCall’ widget 5022c corresponding to phone application) for multiple (e.g., all, some, etc.) applications belonging to the application grouping 5020a”].
As for dependent claim 30, Tyler and Yano teach the method as described in claim 29 and Tyler further teaches:
wherein the fifth application icons are different from the second application icons, or the fifth service cards are different from the second services card [(e.g. see Tyler paragraph 0241 and Figs. 5A3 and 5A6) ”As shown in FIG. 5A6, as the swipe input by contact 5508 continues moving upward, more user interface elements are revealed on the system-arranged home screen 5054, including application grouping corresponding to “games” (e.g., represented by grouping icon 5020g)”]. Examiner notes that there are no games applications present on the second page (Fig. 5A3).
the sixth application icons are different from the third application icons, or the sixth service cards are different from the third service cards [(e.g. see Tyler paragraph 0245 and Figs. 5A4 and 5A9) ”FIG. 5A9 following FIG. 5A4 illustrates that, in response to another tap input by contact 5514 that is detected at the location corresponding to the folder launch icon 5014a on the grouping icon 5020a, a folder window 5080, corresponding to grouping 5020a, is displayed overlaying a background user interface 5054′ (e.g., blurred and darkened system-arranged home screen 5054). The folder window 5080 shows application icons and related widgets (e.g., ‘mCall’ widget 5022c corresponding to phone application) for multiple (e.g., all, some, etc.) applications belonging to the application grouping 5020a”]. Examiner notes that there are additional different icons presented (numeral 5080) compared to the third page (Fig. 5A4).
As for dependent claim 32, Tyler and Yano teach the method as described in claim 21 and Tyler further teaches:
wherein the first operation comprises a sliding operation [(e.g. see Tyler paragraph 0232) ”The swipe input by contact 5502 is detected after contact 5502 touched down at a location that corresponds to application icon 5008a. In some embodiments, the device detects the swipe input by contact 5502 when the device detects substantial movement (e.g., with more than a nominal amount of movement within a nominal threshold amount of time) … the computer system detects a swipe input that starts at a respective location on the currently displayed page, and in response to detecting the swipe input: in accordance with a determination that the swipe input is in a first direction, the computer system navigates from the current page to the next page in a first navigation direction through the sequence of pages (e.g., forward direction)”].
and after the second card is displayed, the electronic device displays the first card when a cancellation operation for the first operation is received, wherein the cancellation operation for the first operation is an operation of stopping touching the screen [(e.g. see Tyler paragraph 0233, 0258) ”In FIG. 5A2, the user-arranged page 5050 of the multipage home screen user interface, including application icons 5008a-5008m and other concurrently displayed user interface elements, are shown moving in accordance with the movement of contact 5502 to the left, dragging a previously undisplayed user-arranged page of the home screen onto the display (e.g., the next user-arranged page in the forward direction through the sequence of pages) … the various characteristics of the movement of the contact 5527 (e.g., speed, acceleration, distance, beginning location, liftoff location, etc.) are used to compute various movement metrics that are used to determine the destination page that is displayed after the end of the swipe input is detected. For example, a quick swipe without a deliberately pinpointed liftoff location may cause the device to land on the same page of the home screen user interface”].
As for dependent claim 35, Tyler and Yano teach the method as described in claim 21 and Tyler further teaches:
wherein the first operation is an operation of touching an initial interface in the first card, sliding a first distance, and maintaining contact with the screen, wherein the first distance is less than a preset distance [(e.g. see Tyler paragraphs 0232, 0234, 0236) ”the computer system detects a swipe input that starts at a respective location on the currently displayed page, and in response to detecting the swipe input: in accordance with a determination that the swipe input is in a first direction, the computer system navigates from the current page to the next page in a first navigation direction through the sequence of pages (e.g., forward direction) … In FIG. 5A3, the next user-arranged page 5052 of the multipage home screen user interface (e.g., previously undisplayed user-arranged home screen 5052) is displayed as a result of the swipe input by contact 5502, replacing the previously-displayed user-arranged page 5050 … a predefined threshold amount of movement (e.g., half of the display width)”].
As for dependent claim 36, Tyler and Yano teach the method as described in claim 35 and Tyler further teaches:
wherein the second operation is a continuation of the first operation, the second operation of continuing to slide from the first distance to a second distance, and the second distance is greater than or equal to the preset distance [(e.g. see Tyler paragraph 0236) ”the device detects the swipe input by contact 5506 when the device detects substantial movement (e.g., with more than a nominal amount of movement within a nominal threshold amount of time) … In response to the swipe input by contact 5506 and in accordance with a determination that the movement of contact 5506 has exceeded a predefined threshold amount of movement (e.g., half of the display width) to complete the page navigation operation, a system-arranged page 5054 of the multipage home screen user interface is displayed as a result of swipe input by contact 5506, replacing the previously-displayed user-arranged home screen 5052, as shown in FIG. 5A4”].
As for dependent claim 37, Tyler and Yano teach the method as described in claim 36 and Tyler further teaches:
wherein the electronic device arranges and displays the second icons based on the sliding direction, a size of the second card, and a layout of the preset position [(e.g. see Tyler paragraphs 0229, 0231, 0241) ”user interfaces for displaying and interacting with user interface objects corresponding to different applications on a multipage home screen user interface (e.g., including two or more user-arranged home screens and a system-arranged home screen arranged in a predefined sequence in a first page navigation direction (e.g., from left to right) … the user-arranged home screen is a fixed sized page and not scrollable … The user-arranged home screen 5050 includes a plurality of application icons (application icons 5008a-5008m) arranged in a preset layout”].
As for dependent claim 38, Tyler and Yano teach the method as described in claim 21 and Tyler further teaches:
wherein a displaying form of all second icons that are different from the first icons in the second card comprises: displaying in tiled grids or displaying in stacks [(e.g. see Tyler paragraph 0054) ”application icons on a home screen user interface may be arbitrarily arranged according to user's inputs, or arranged in a fixed grid with a predetermined sequential order”].
As for dependent claim 42, Tyler and Yano teach the method as described in claim 21 and Tyler further teaches:
wherein the electronic device sets a size of the third icon according to a first preset rule, the first preset rule comprise: setting the size of the third icon based on a type of an application [(e.g. see Tyler paragraphs 0053, 0237) ”FIG. 5A4 shows that system-arranged home screen 5054 includes an application grouping corresponding to “communication” (e.g., represented by grouping icon 5020a), an application grouping corresponding to “recently added” (e.g., represented by grouping icon 5020b), an application grouping corresponding to “utilities” (e.g., represented by grouping icon 5020c), and an application grouping corresponding to “productivity” (e.g., represented by grouping icon 5020d … the computer system displays the application icons within the suggested applications widget with sizes and positions matching and aligned with other application icons on the same page, to create a uniform and consistent layout”].
As for dependent claim 44, Tyler and Yano teach the method as described in claim 42 and Tyler further teaches:
wherein arranging is performed based on use frequencies of corresponding applications, wherein a third icon of a larger size corresponds to an application with a higher use frequency [(e.g. see Tyler paragraph 0242) ”the applications that are represented by their application icons on the grouping icon are automatically selected by the system without user input based on various criteria, such as usage frequency … The folder launch icon 5014a on the grouping icon 5020a shows miniature images of application icons for seven applications that are currently included in the “communication” grouping”].
As for independent claim 50, Tyler and Yano teach a device. Claim 50 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 21. Therefore, it is rejected with the same rational as claim 21.
As for independent claim 51, Tyler and Yano teach a non-transitory computer storage medium. Claim 51 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 21. Therefore, it is rejected with the same rational as claim 21.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tyler et al. (US 2021/0286510 A1) in view of Yano (US 2013/0249843 A1), as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Rolston et al. (US 2010/0211872 A1).
As for dependent claim 22, Tyler and Yano teach the method as described in claim 21 and Tyler further teaches:
wherein a third application icon that is in the third icons and belongs to a same application or service as the second icons is different from a corresponding second application icon is size or style [(e.g. see Tyler paragraph 0237 and Figs. 5A3-5A4) ”FIG. 5A4 shows the system-arranged home screen 5054 of the multipage home screen user interface, in accordance with some embodiments. The system-arranged home screen 5054 differs from user-arranged home screen 5050 and 5052 in that system-arranged home screen 5054 has a layout (e.g., positions and grouping) for application icons and user interface objects containing application content that is automatically generated without user input, whereas user-arranged home screen 5052 and 5050 have layouts (e.g., positions and grouping) for application icons and user interface objects containing application content that are user-configured. In some embodiments, the device generates the system-arranged home screen 5054 by assigning (e.g., categorizing, clustering, grouping, etc.) application icons that share one or more characteristics under the same automatically generate application grouping. For example, FIG. 5A4 shows that system-arranged home screen 5054 includes an application grouping corresponding to “communication” (e.g., represented by grouping icon 5020a), an application grouping corresponding to “recently added” (e.g., represented by grouping icon 5020b), an application grouping corresponding to “utilities” (e.g., represented by grouping icon 5020c), and an application grouping corresponding to “productivity” (e.g., represented by grouping icon 5020d)”]. Examiner notes that, as depicted in Figs. 5A3-5A4, the application icons of app store, calculator and microphone (Fig. 5A4 numeral 5020d) are smaller in size than those same application icons as presented in Fig. 5A3.
Tyler and Yano do not specifically teach a third service card that is in the third icons and that belongs to a same application or service as the second icons is different from a corresponding second service card in size or style. However, in the same field of invention or solving similar problems, Rolston teaches:
and a third service card that is in the third icons and that belongs to a same application or service as the second icons is different from a corresponding second service card in size or style [(e.g. see Rolston paragraphs 0051, 0082, 0088) ”a plurality of application stacks, each of the application stacks being movable into and out of the active area in response to user input, and each of the application stacks containing one or more stack cards. Each of the application stacks is associated with a respective corresponding computer application, and each of the stack cards represents a respective corresponding content entity capable of being operated on by the computer application corresponding to the application stack containing the stack card representing the content entity … While the figures generally show all the stacks, whether active or not, to be the same size and hence equally visible (bracketing the fact that stacks may be partly cut off due to the size limits of the display area), this need not be the case. For example, it could be arranged so that only active stacks are made large or easily visible/legible to the user, while other stacks are shown with less resolution … the application stacks may be displayed on display device 230 as three-dimensional entities extending (along a hypothetical z-axis) perpendicular to the surface of the display device, each application stack containing stack cards displayed as two-dimensional entities positioned successively in the stack along the z-axis depthwise (from foreground to background) into the display device 230”].
Therefore, considering the teachings of Tyler, Yano and Rolston, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a third service card that is in the third icons and that belongs to a same application or service as the second icons is different from a corresponding second service card in size or style, as taught by Rolston, to the teachings of Tyler and Yano because it is useful and advantageous to provide a user interface and that is more practical, convenient and user-friendly, specifically, that renders desired content more easily and quickly accessible (e.g. see Rolston paragraph 0006).
Claims 33, 39, 41, 45 and 47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tyler et al. (US 2021/0286510 A1) in view of Yano (US 2013/0249843 A1), as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Yang et al. (US 2024/0176628 A1).
As for dependent claim 33, Tyler and Yano teach the method as described in claim 24, but do not specifically teach wherein a third operation on a third card of the second size is received, and the electronic device, restores the third card of the second size to a first card of the first size and restores the first icons on the first card or no operation of a user is received within a first time period after the electronic device displays a third card of the second size, and the electronic device automatically restores the third card of the second size to a first card of the first size and restores the first icons on the first card. However, in the same field of invention or solving similar problems, Yang teaches:
wherein a third operation on a third card of the second size is received, and the electronic device, restores the third card of the second size to a first card of the first size and restores the first icons on the first card or no operation of a user is received within a first time period after the electronic device displays a third card of the second size, and the electronic device automatically restores the third card of the second size to a first card of the first size and restores the first icons on the first card [(e.g. see Yang paragraphs 0224, 0233 and Figs. 10G-H) ”The add-to-desktop control 1022 may be used to trigger the electronic device 100 to add, to a blank area on the desktop, the card component currently displayed on the component management interface 1020 … As shown in FIG. 10H, when the electronic device 100 returns to and displays the interface 1010 on the desktop”].
Therefore, considering the teachings of Tyler, Yano and Yang, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add wherein a third operation on a third card of the second size is received, and the electronic device, restores the third card of the second size to a first card of the first size and restores the first icons on the first card or no operation of a user is received within a first time period after the electronic device displays a third card of the second size, and the electronic device automatically restores the third card of the second size to a first card of the first size and restores the first icons on the first card, as taught by Yang, to the teachings of Tyler and Yano because it allows the user to select a favorite style of the card which improves the user experience (e.g. see Yang paragraphs 0019, 0022).
As for dependent claim 39, Tyler, Yano and Yang teach the method as described in claim 33, but Tyler and Yano do not specifically teach the following limitation. However, Yang teaches:
wherein the third card of the second size covers a home screen background of the screen, and a position of content in an original home screen background is unchanged; the third card of the second size is inserted into a home screen background interface of the screen, and a part of content of an original home screen is extruded from an interface of the screen [(e.g. see Yang paragraphs 0224, 0233 and Figs. 10G-H) ”The add-to-desktop control 1022 may be used to trigger the electronic device 100 to add, to a blank area on the desktop, the card component currently displayed on the component management interface 1020 … As shown in FIG. 10H, when the electronic device 100 returns to and displays the interface 1010 on the desktop”].
The motivation to combine is the same as that used for claim 33.
As for dependent claim 41, Tyler, Yano and Yang teach the method as described in claim 33, but Tyler and Yano do not specifically teach wherein the third card of the second size is displayed on the screen in full screen. However, Yang teaches:
wherein the third card of the second size is displayed on the screen in full screen [(e.g. see Yang paragraph 0162 and Fig. 4K) ”electronic device 100 may display a music playing interface 450 of the music application shown in FIG. 4K. The music playing interface 450 includes music information displayed in the music component 444 (for example, an album image, a name, a singer and the like of the specified music”].
The motivation to combine is the same as that used for claim 33.
As for dependent claim 45, Tyler, Yano and Yang teach the method as described in claim 39 and Tyler further teaches:
wherein the third icons are displayed in the third card of the second size according to a second preset rule and the second preset rule comprises: arranging the preview recommendation slots on the screen from top to bottom according to a descending order of use frequencies among corresponding applications [(e.g. see Tyler paragraph 0242, 0282, 0283, 0383) ”the applications that are represented by their application icons on the grouping icon are automatically selected by the system without user input based on various criteria, such as usage frequency … sequential order of the positions of the representations of the user-arranged pages in the preset layout (e.g., left to right, and up to down) … first reconfiguration mode is redisplayed, as shown in FIG. 5C3. In FIG. 5C3, the selected widget (e.g., widget 5310a, relabeled as widget 5322 when shown on the home screen) is automatically inserted at a respective placement location in the redisplayed page 5302′ in the first reconfiguration mode (e.g., at the top of the redisplayed page 5302′ … one or more recommended widgets (widgets 5310a, 5310b, 5310c, etc.) that are configured to occupy different sized placement locations and/or that correspond to different applications”].
the third icons are arranged on the screen from top to bottom according to a descending order of size [(e.g. see Tyler paragraph 0242, 0383) ”the applications that are represented by their application icons on the grouping icon are automatically selected by the system without user input based on various criteria, such as usage frequency … The folder launch icon 5014a on the grouping icon 5020a shows miniature images of application icons for seven applications that are currently included in the “communication” grouping … sequential order of the positions of the representations of the user-arranged pages in the preset layout (e.g., left to right, and up to down)”].
As for dependent claim 47, Tyler and Yano teach the method as described in claim 25, but do not specifically teach the following limitation. However, Yang teaches:
wherein the displaying, by the electronic device, a third card when a second operation on the second card is received comprises: displaying, by the electronic device, a second card of the third size in response to the second operation, wherein the third size is greater than the first size and receiving a fourth operation on the second card of the third size, and enlarging by the electronic device, the second card from the third size to the second size [(e.g. see Yang paragraphs 0157, 0158, 0160, 0162 and Figs. 4H-K) ”For example, as shown in FIG. 4H, the electronic device 100 displays the interface 430 on the desktop. The interface 430 includes an icon 431 of an application folder 2. The application folder 2 includes the clock application icon and the music application icon … The electronic device 100 may receive a sliding input (for example, upward sliding) of the user for the icon 431 of the application folder 2. In response to the sliding operation, as shown in FIG. 4I, the electronic device 100 may temporarily display the card stacking component 440 … The electronic device 100 may receive the sliding operation (for example, upward sliding) of the user on the card stacking component 440. In response to the sliding operation, as shown in FIG. 4J, the electronic device 100 may switch to display, on the card stacking component 440, a music component 444 corresponding to a music application … For example, as shown in FIG. 4J, the electronic device 100 may receive a tapping operation of the user on the music component 444. In response to the tapping operation, the electronic device 100 may display a music playing interface 450 of the music application shown in FIG. 4K”].
the motivation to combine is the same as that used for claim 33.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. PGPub 2015/0346989 A1 issued to Lee on 03 December 2015. The subject matter disclosed therein is pertinent to that of claims 21, 22, 24, 28-30, 32, 33, 35-39, 41, 42, 44, 45, 47, 50 and 51 (e.g. grouping and displaying applications when scrolling horizontally).
U.S. PGPub 2023/0077467 A1 issued to Xu et al. on 16 March 2023. The subject matter disclosed therein is pertinent to that of claims 21, 22, 24, 28-30, 32, 33, 35-39, 41, 42, 44, 45, 47, 50 and 51 (e.g. a sliding input to launch a card within application icons).
Contact Information
/CHRISTOPHER J FIBBI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174