DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In regards to claim 1, line 1 “A power-receiving end, wherein a power-receiving end” should be read as “A power-receiving end, wherein the power-receiving end”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2016/0156200 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Kim discloses, in figure 2, a power-receiving end (200, 201), wherein a power-receiving end (200, 201) is configured to be mutually coupled with a power-transmitting end (Fig. 1; 100, 101) in a wireless power supply system (Par 0023-0024); the power-receiving end (200, 201) comprises a receiving circuit (201, 230, 240) and a receiving controller (210, 220), wherein the receiving controller comprises a first unit (210) and a second unit (220) (Par 0033-0036); the first unit (210) is connected to the receiving circuit (Par 0038-0039); the receiving circuit (201, 230, 240) is configured to supply power to the first unit (210) when the wireless power supply system is in a power supply state (Par 0039-0041; “the controller 210 and the communication unit 220 may be operated by the power signal output from the rectifier 230”), wherein the power supply state is of a transmission of electrical energy from the power-transmitting end (Fig. 1; 100, 101) to the power-receiving end (200, 201) (Par 0024, 0039-0041); and the second unit (220) is configured to be connected to an additional power source (280) (Par 0042), and the additional power source (280) is configured to provide power to the second unit (220) (Par 0042; auxiliary battery 280 is connected to communication unit 220 and provides charging power through power selecting unit 290).
In regards to claim 8, Kim discloses, in figure 2, the power-receiving end according to claim 1, wherein a communication method between the first unit (210) and the power-transmitting end (Fig. 1; 100, 101) is any one or more of load modulation communication (Par 0036), amplitude modulation communication, frequency modulation communication, and phase modulation communication.
In regards to claim 12, Kim discloses, in figure 1, a wireless power supply system (Par 0022-0023), wherein the wireless power supply system comprises a power-transmitting end (100, 101) and the power-receiving end (200, 201) according to claim 1, wherein the power-transmitting end (100, 101) and the power-receiving end (200, 201) are mutually coupled (Par 0023-0024).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-11, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2016/0156200 A1) in view of Kimura et al. (US 2026/0131684 A1).
In regards to claim 9, Kim discloses, in figure 2, the power-receiving end according to claim 1, wherein the receiving circuit (200, 201) comprises a rectifier (230) and the rectifier (230) is configured to be connected to a back-end load module (300) (Par 0037-0038), but does not disclose wherein the receiving circuit comprises sequentially cascaded receiving coils, a second matcher; and the receiving coils are configured to be mutually coupled with transmitting coils in the power-transmitting end.
However, Kimura discloses, in figure 2, wherein the receiving circuit (5) comprises sequentially cascaded receiving coils (52, 62) (Par 0077), a second matcher (51, 61) (Par 0077; “the electrostatic capacitance of the power reception-side capacitor 53, and the like) of the power reception coil 52 and the power reception-side capacitor 53 are determined such that the resonance frequency of the power reception-side resonance circuit 51 matches the resonance frequency of the power transmission-side resonance circuit 43”); and the receiving coils (52, 62) are configured to be mutually coupled with transmitting coils (Fig. 4; 44) in the power-transmitting end (4) (Par 0078).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim’s receiving apparatus by including wherein the receiving circuit comprises sequentially cascaded receiving coils, a second matcher; and the receiving coils are configured to be mutually coupled with transmitting coils in the power-transmitting end as taught by Kimura in order to enable more accurate diagnosis of abnormality of a ground power supply device (Kimura; Par 0004).
In regards to claim 10, Kim and Kimura disclose the power-receiving end according to claim 9. Kim does not disclose wherein the first unit is connected to an output end of the rectifier, and the rectifier is configured to convert an AC output from the second matcher into a DC and transmit the DC backward.
However, Kimura discloses, in figure 2, wherein the first unit (210 as discussed in Kim) is connected to an output end of the rectifier (54), and the rectifier (54) is configured to convert an AC output from the second matcher (51) into a DC and transmit the DC backward (Par 0079).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim’s receiving apparatus by including wherein the first unit is connected to an output end of the rectifier, and the rectifier is configured to convert an AC output from the second matcher into a DC and transmit the DC backward as taught by Kimura in order to enable more accurate diagnosis of abnormality of a ground power supply device (Kimura; Par 0004).
In regards to claim 11, Kim and Kimura disclose the power-receiving end according to claim 9. Kimura further discloses, in figure 2, wherein a backend of the rectifier (54) is provided with a regulator (55) (Par 0080); the regulator (55) is configured to be connected to the load module (32), and the regulator (55) is connected to the first unit (210 as discussed in Kim) and controlled by the first unit (Par 0080).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim’s receiving apparatus by including wherein a backend of the rectifier is provided with a regulator; the regulator is configured to be connected to the load module, and the regulator is connected to the first unit and controlled by the first unit as taught by Kimura in order to enable more accurate diagnosis of abnormality of a ground power supply device (Kimura; Par 0004).
In regards to claim 20, Kim and Kimura disclose the power-receiving end according to claim 10. Kimura further discloses, in figure 2, wherein a backend of the rectifier (54) is provided with a regulator (55) (Par 0080); the regulator (55) is configured to be connected to the load module (32), and the regulator (55) is connected to the first unit (210 as discussed in Kim) and controlled by the first unit (Par 0080).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim’s receiving apparatus by including wherein a backend of the rectifier is provided with a regulator; the regulator is configured to be connected to the load module, and the regulator is connected to the first unit and controlled by the first unit as taught by Kimura in order to enable more accurate diagnosis of abnormality of a ground power supply device (Kimura; Par 0004).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2016/0156200 A1) in view of Ye et al. (US 2015/0061577 A1).
In regards to claim 13, Kim disclose the wireless power supply system according to claim 12, but does not disclose wherein the power-transmitting end comprises a transmitting controller, a first matcher, an inverter, and transmitting coils; the inverter, the first matcher, and the transmitting coils are sequentially cascaded; the inverter is configured to be connected to an external power source, and the transmitting coils are configured to be mutually coupled with the receiving coils in the power-receiving end; and the transmitting controller is connected to the first matcher and/or the inverter, and the transmitting controller is configured to send control commands to the first matcher and/or the inverter.
However, Ye discloses, in figure 2, wherein the power-transmitting end (200) comprises a transmitting controller (216), a first matcher (204), an inverter (202), and transmitting coils (206); the inverter (202), the first matcher (204), and the transmitting coils (206) are sequentially cascaded (Par 0031; “The primary coil array 206 includes a plurality of selectable primary coils that are individually selectable such that a selected coil combination of one or more primary coils can be used to transmit a power transfer signal to a receiver coil of the electronic device”); the inverter (202) is configured to be connected to an external power source (201) (Par 0031), and the transmitting coils (206) are configured to be mutually coupled with the receiving coils (Fig. 1; 108) in the power-receiving end (Par 0030); and the transmitting controller (216) is connected to the first matcher (204) and/or the inverter (202), and the transmitting controller (216) is configured to send control commands to the first matcher (204) and/or the inverter (202) (Par 0032-0033).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim’s transmitting apparatus by including wherein the power-transmitting end comprises a transmitting controller, a first matcher, an inverter, and transmitting coils; the inverter, the first matcher, and the transmitting coils are sequentially cascaded; the inverter is configured to be connected to an external power source, and the transmitting coils are configured to be mutually coupled with the receiving coils in the power-receiving end; and the transmitting controller is connected to the first matcher and/or the inverter, and the transmitting controller is configured to send control commands to the first matcher and/or the inverter as taught by Ye in order to reduce power consumption and may result in improved power transfer efficiency (Ye; Par 0062).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7, 14-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Carobolante et al. (US 2014/0266018 A1); discloses an apparatus transfers energy wirelessly to at least one receive antenna of at least one receiver. The apparatus comprises a first antenna configured to generate a first wireless field when the at least one receiver is in an energy transfer region of the first transmit antenna. The apparatus further comprises a second antenna configured to generate a second wireless field when the at least one receiver is in an energy transfer region of the second transmit antenna. The apparatus further comprises a controller configured to activate at least one of the first antenna or the second antenna based on whether the at least one receiver is in an energy transfer region of one or both of the first and second wireless fields.
Shichino et al. (US 2019/0363758 A1); discloses a power transmission apparatus has a first communication function for communicating with a power reception apparatus and a second communication function for communicating with the power reception apparatus at a radio frequency different from a radio frequency used in the first communication function, and makes a decision as to whether to use the first communication function or the second communication function in communication for controlling wireless transmission of power, the decision being made on the basis of device information obtained from the power reception apparatus through communication using the first communication function.
Zhou et al. (US 2022/0045552 A1); discloses a wireless charging method, a receiver, a terminal device, and a charger are provided. A receiver (20) includes an oscillation circuit (210), a power processor (220), a sampling control module (230), and an auxiliary power supply module (240). In a ping phase, the oscillation circuit receives first energy sent by a transmitter (10), and the sampling control module collects a first voltage value output by the oscillation circuit based on the first energy, and when the first voltage value is less than a startup voltage value of the power processor, controls the auxiliary power supply module to supply power to the power processor, so that the power processor is started. In a power transfer phase, the power processor sends a power transfer instruction to the transmitter, so that the transmitter sends second energy based on the power transfer instruction, to provide electric energy for a load in the receiver.
/ALEX W LAM/ Examiner, Art Unit 2836