DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the pouch casing" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7, 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wi (WO Publication 2022-035124, U.S. Patent Publication 2023/0264430 will be used as an English translation).
Regarding claims 1, 2 and 9, Wi discloses a sealing apparatus 100 for sealing a battery case 11 comprising: a pair of sealing blocks 130 for pressing an outer circumferential surface 11d of the battery case and a heating unit 140 provided in the pair of the sealing blocks, wherein the sealing blocks comprise lead sealing regions E1 and E2 for pressing a lead sealing portion P1 of the battery case and case sealing regions C1 and C2 for pressing a case sealing portion P2 of the case, wherein the sealing blocks comprise outer portions (sealing blocks) that comprise the heating units, and inner portions that press the battery case (sealing tool), and wherein the sealing blocks comprise heat insulators 270 between case sealing regions and lead sealing regions (Paragraphs 0023, 0075, Figs. 1 and 5). Wi also discloses that the battery case is a pouch casing (Paragraph 0007).
As to claim 3, Wi shows in Fig. 1 that the height of the lead sealing portion E2 is lower than a height of the case sealing portion C2.
Regarding claim 5, Wi discloses that heat insulators are positioned between the case sealing regions and lead sealing regions, but not on the surface of the outer portions where the inner portions sit (Paragraph 0075 and Fig. 5).
As to claim 7, Wi teaches that the heating unit 140 is provided in the pair of sealing blocks (Paragraph 0050).
Regarding claim 10, Wi discloses that the apparatus comprises moving units 161-164 for moving the pair of sealing blocks 130 (Paragraph 0044).
Wi teaches every limitation of claims 1-3, 5, 7, 9 and 10 of the present invention and thus anticipates the claims.
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lim (U.S. Patent Publication 2018/0047950).
Regarding claims 1, 7 and 9, Lim discloses a sealing apparatus for sealing a pouch-type battery comprising: upper and lower sealing blocks 141, 142, and blocks 160a, 160b (sealing tool) used as a lead guide for the battery, wherein the sealing blocks are used to heat and compress the pouch, and wherein the blocks 160 are made of an insulating material (Paragraphs 0036, 0043, 0046-0048 and Fig. 7). Lim also discloses that it is known to include heating means in the sealing apparatus for heating sealing portion of the battery (Paragraph 0007).
As to claims 2 and 3, Lim teaches that the sealing blocks have slanted step portions at a position corresponding to the lead 117 of the battery so that the height of the lead sealing portion is lower than the height of the case sealing portion (Paragraph 0036 and Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 10, Lim discloses that the blocks 160 may be moved vertically and sideways by a driving means (Paragraph 0045).
Lim teaches every limitation of claims 1-3, 7, 9 and 10 of the present invention and thus anticipates the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wi (WO Publication 2022-035124, U.S. Patent Publication 2023/0264430 will be used as an English translation) or Lim (U.S. Patent Publication 2018/0047950) in view of Jung (U.S. Patent Publication 2023/0064291).
The teachings of Wi and Lim have been discussed in paragraphs 5 and 6 above.
Wi and Lim fail to disclose that the insulation coating layer comprises a bonding layer on one surface thereof and bonded to the sealing tool.
Jung discloses an electrode assembly comprising a cathode, anode, separator and current collector, wherein an insulating layer is formed between the separator and current collector, and an adhesive layer is formed between the insulating layer and separator (Paragraphs 0101-0104).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention that the insulating part of Wi or Lim could comprise an insulating layer bonded to the press with an adhesive layer because Jung teaches that this improves bonding of an insulating layer to other surfaces and creates an evenly coated insulating layer on the apparatus.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wi (WO Publication 2022-035124, U.S. Patent Publication 2023/0264430 will be used as an English translation) or Lim (U.S. Patent Publication 2018/0047950) in view of Fukuda (U.S. Patent Publication 2002/0157242).
The teachings of Wi and Lim have been discussed in paragraphs 5 and 6 above.
Wi and Lim fail to disclose that the heating member is provided in the form of a rod or a coil.
Fukuda discloses a work pressing machine for receiving an embossed hollow part of a workpiece, wherein the work pressing machine comprises a first die part 131 and a second die part 135, and wherein a heater is embedded in the first die part (Paragraph 0159 and Fig. 17). Fukuda shows in Fig. 17 that the heater is in the form of a coil.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention that the heating units of Wi or Lim could be in the form of a coil because Fukuda teaches that this is a common type of heater placed within a press used for pressing and heating a workpiece.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
BRITTANY L. RAYMOND
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1722
/BRITTANY L RAYMOND/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722