DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/18/2026 with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-6, 19, 40, and 42-48 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection under 103 as being unpatentable over Tao et al. (US 2024/0406771 A1) in view of Jin et al. (US 2022/0321310 A1). Applicant’s argument: Regarding claims 1 and 40, Applicant amended the claims to include “the plurality of SMTCs are represented in the measurement object configuration using a first SMTC set for the first periodicity and a second SMTC set for a second periodicity, wherein the first SMTC set comprises first one or more SMTCs of the plurality of SMTCs indicating the first periodicity, and wherein the second SMTC set comprises second one or more SMTCs of the plurality of SMTCs indicating the second periodicity” and argues that “[b]ecause “the value for Period1 and Period2 may be the same or different” under Tao, it is clear there is no periodicity-based delineation/organization being imposed as between these SMTCs within Tao’s measurement object.” Examiner’s response: With respect to claim 1, Examiner submits that Jin discloses the limitation in [0104]: an SMTC1 and an SMTC2 are included in the MeasObjectNR IE. The SMTC1 is a primary Measurement Timing Configuration, and the SMTC2 is a secondary Measurement Timing Configuration, according to the introduction of the MeasObjectNR field description. When the signals are synchronized, the Periodicity is represented by a Periodicity in the SMTC2, and the time offset is equal to the offset indicated in the Periodicity with a periodicityAndOffset coefficient. The Periodicity in the SMTC2 can only be configured to a value strictly shorter than the Periodicity indicated by periodicityAndOffset in the SMTC1. For example, if periodicityAndOffset indicates sf10, then Periodicity can only be configured to sf5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 40, and 42-45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tao et al. (US 2024/0406771 A1) in view of Jin et al. (US 2022/0321310 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 40, Tao discloses A method of a user equipment (UE) (claim 1) and An apparatus of a user equipment (UE), comprising one or more baseband processors configured to cause the UE to (claim 40) (Figs. 3 and 7, [0106]: UE includes a processor 720):
receiving, from a base station, a measurement object configuration for a carrier used by one or more non-terrestrial network (NTN) intra-frequency neighbor cells of the UE (Fig. 3, [0031]: the network device 102 sends measurement configuration information to the user equipment. The measurement configuration information includes more than one SSB-based RRM measurement timing configuration (SMTC) corresponding to a same measurement object. [0032]: the user equipment 101 receives the measurement configuration information from the network device 102. [0034]: the measurement object is the carrier corresponding to the cell. [0035]: different SMTCs are set for different neighbor cells to be measured corresponding to the same measurement object, allowing the user equipment to measure different neighbor cells under the same carrier. Fig. 1, [0003]-[0004]: NTN includes cells 1-3), the measurement object configuration comprising a plurality of synchronization signal block (SSB)-based measurement timing configurations (SMTCs), each of the plurality of SMTCs having periodicity information and offset information for SSB measurements on the carrier ([0031]: The measurement configuration information includes more than one SSB-based RRM measurement timing configuration (SMTC) corresponding to a same measurement object. [0035]: different SMTCs are set for different neighbor cells to be measured corresponding to the same measurement object, allowing the user equipment to measure different neighbor cells under the same carrier. [0063]: The SMTC configuration for cell1 is SMTC #1 {Offset1, Period1, Duration1}, and the SMTC configuration for cell2 is SMTC #2 {Offset2, Period2, Duration2}. Here, Offset1 and Offset2 are different, and the values for Period1 and Period2 may be the same), wherein:
a first of the plurality of SMTCs indicates a first periodicity and a first offset and a second of the plurality of SMTCs indicates the first periodicity and a second offset ([0062]: in the SMTCs of different neighbor cells to be measured corresponding to the same measurement object in the measurement configuration information, the offset values are different, and the period values are the same. [0063]: The SMTC configuration for cell1 is SMTC #1 {Offset1, Period1, Duration1}, and the SMTC configuration for cell2 is SMTC #2 {Offset2, Period2, Duration2}. Here, Offset1 and Offset2 are different, and the values for Period1 and Period2 may be the same); and
the plurality of SMTCs are represented in the measurement object configuration using a first SMTC set for the first periodicity and a second SMTC set for a second periodicity, wherein the first SMTC set comprises first one or more SMTCs of the plurality of SMTCs indicating the first periodicity, and wherein the second SMTC set comprises second one or more SMTCs of the plurality of SMTCs indicating the second periodicity;
performing one of the SSB measurements on one of the one or more NTN intra-frequency neighbor cells according to one of the plurality of SMTCs (Fig. 3, [0033]: the user equipment 101 measures the neighbor cell to be measured corresponding to the measurement object according to the measurement configuration information. [0031]: The measurement configuration information includes more than one SSB-based RRM measurement timing configuration (SMTC) corresponding to a same measurement object. [0035]: different SMTCs are set for different neighbor cells to be measured corresponding to the same measurement object, allowing the user equipment to measure different neighbor cells under the same carrier. Fig. 1, [0003]-[0004]: NTN includes cells 1-3).
Tao does not disclose, but Jin discloses the plurality of SMTCs are represented in the measurement object configuration using a first SMTC set for the first periodicity and a second SMTC set for a second periodicity, wherein the first SMTC set comprises first one or more SMTCs of the plurality of SMTCs indicating the first periodicity, and wherein the second SMTC set comprises second one or more SMTCs of the plurality of SMTCs indicating the second periodicity ([0104]: an SMTC1 and an SMTC2 are included in the MeasObjectNR IE. The SMTC1 is a primary Measurement Timing Configuration, and the SMTC2 is a secondary Measurement Timing Configuration, according to the introduction of the MeasObjectNR field description. When the signals are synchronized, the Periodicity is represented by a Periodicity in the SMTC2, and the time offset is equal to the offset indicated in the Periodicity with a periodicityAndOffset coefficient. The Periodicity in the SMTC2 can only be configured to a value strictly shorter than the Periodicity indicated by periodicityAndOffset in the SMTC1. For example, if periodicityAndOffset indicates sf10, then Periodicity can only be configured to sf5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the measurement configuration, as taught by Tao, to include SMTC1 and SMTC2 where Periodicity in the SMTC2 can only be configured to a value strictly shorter than the Periodicity indicated by periodicityAndOffset in the SMTC1, as taught by Jin.
Doing so provides SSB information for each beam cell (Jin: [0102]-[0104]).
Regarding claim(s) 3 and 42, Tao in view of Jin discloses all features of claim(s) 2 and 41 as outlined above.
Tao discloses wherein each of the first one or more SMTCs indicates for a use of a unique offset as among the first one or more SMTCs ([0063]: The SMTC configuration for cell1 is SMTC #1 {Offset1, Period1, Duration1}).
Regarding claim(s) 4 and 43, Tao in view of Jin discloses all features of claim(s) 2 and 41 as outlined above.
Tao discloses wherein a number of the first one or more SMTCs in the first SMTC set is limited by a first upper bound ([0063]: The SMTC configuration for cell1 is SMTC #1 {Offset1, Period1, Duration1}).
Regarding claim(s) 5 and 44, Tao in view of Jin discloses all features of claim(s) 4 and 43 as outlined above.
Tao discloses wherein a number of second one or more SMTCs in the second SMTC set is limited by a second upper bound ([0063]: the SMTC configuration for cell2 is SMTC #2 {Offset2, Period2, Duration2}).
Regarding claim(s) 6 and 45, Tao in view of Jin discloses all features of claim(s) 1 and 40 as outlined above.
Tao discloses wherein the measurement object configuration comprises a single SMTC set including the plurality of SMTCs, and wherein each of the plurality of SMTCs indicates a same periodicity ([0031]: The measurement configuration information includes more than one SSB-based RRM measurement timing configuration (SMTC) corresponding to a same measurement object. [0035]: different SMTCs are set for different neighbor cells to be measured corresponding to the same measurement object, allowing the user equipment to measure different neighbor cells under the same carrier. [0063]: The SMTC configuration for cell1 is SMTC #1 {Offset1, Period1, Duration1}, and the SMTC configuration for cell2 is SMTC #2 {Offset2, Period2, Duration2}... the values for Period1 and Period2 may be the same).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19 and 46-48 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Applicant’s amendments, i.e., “wherein Y is less than X; indicating the number Y to the base station” (claim 19) filed 08/18/2026, in conjunction with other limitations, i.e., “wherein a total number of the plurality of SMTCs is X; determining a number Y of the plurality of SMTCs to use to perform one or more corresponding ones of the SSB measurements during a period” (claim 19) recited in the claim have overcome the previous rejection(s). An updated search has been performed and no prior art has been found that solely, or in any reasonable combination, reads on the claims as amended. The closest prior(s) art found is/are as follows:
Tao et al. (US 2024/0406771 A1) (previously cited) teaches Fig. 3, [0031]: the network device 102 sends measurement configuration information to the user equipment. The measurement configuration information includes more than one SSB-based RRM measurement timing configuration (SMTC) corresponding to a same measurement object. [0032]: the user equipment 101 receives the measurement configuration information from the network device 102. [0033]: the user equipment 101 measures the neighbor cell to be measured corresponding to the measurement object according to the measurement configuration information. [0034]: the measurement object is the carrier corresponding to the cell. [0035]: different SMTCs are set for different neighbor cells to be measured corresponding to the same measurement object, allowing the user equipment to measure different neighbor cells under the same carrier. Fig. 1, [0003]-[0004]: NTN includes cells 1-3. [0062]: in the SMTCs of different neighbor cells to be measured corresponding to the same measurement object in the measurement configuration information, the offset values are different, and the period values are the same. [0063]: The SMTC configuration for cell1 is SMTC #1 {Offset1, Period1, Duration1}, and the SMTC configuration for cell2 is SMTC #2 {Offset2, Period2, Duration2}. Here, Offset1 and Offset2 are different, and the values for Period1 and Period2 may be the same.
Zhang et al. (US 2024/0260052 A1) teaches [0060]: the UE reports the capability to support simultaneous SMTC configurations; that is, the UE indicates a maximum number of SMTC configurations supported simultaneously, with different SMTC offsets (and that may further have different periodicities). The network configures and reconfigures through specific signaling messages, including Radio Resource Control (RRC), MAC control element (CE) and/or downlink control information (DCI) according to the UE capability and the estimated timing differences among serving and target cells. When the UE measures with multiple SMTC configurations, according to different UE capability/implementation, there can be scheduling restrictions on the SMTC occasions. This may avoid issues arising from large propagation delays between serving and neighbor cells for NTN UE measurements. [0065]: the number of supported SMTC configurations with different offsets may be indicated via UE capability signalling.
Neither Tao nor Zhang, taken alone or in any reasonable combination, teach the claims as amended.
Therefore claims 19 and 46-48 are allowed over the prior art of record.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action.
/THE HY NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478
TheHy.Nguyen@USPTO.gov