DETAILED ACTION
Notice of Amendments
2. The Examiner acknowledges the amended claims filed on 07/30/2026.
- Claims 1, 5-6, 8, 10, 12 and 14-16 have been amended.
- Claims 4 and 11 have been cancelled.
- Claims 17-22 have been added.
Response to Amendment
3. The Examiner withdraws the 35 USC 112(f) claim interpretation of claims of claims 1-14 as per amendment filed on 07/30/2026 addresses issues.
4. The Examiner withdraws the 35 USC 101 rejection of claim 16 as per amendment filed on 07/30/2026 addresses issues.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant's arguments filed 07/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
6. In Re Claim 1: Applicant submits that Ikeda fails to disclose various features recited in claim 1. Specifically, Applicant submits that the examiner relies upon conditions associated with establishment of RF-ID communication and power supply resulting from proximity of the devices, rather than a transmission condition of captured image data as recited in the claim; see page 7 of the Remarks.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 1 does not recite what exactly the transmission condition of the captured image data comprises to preclude the teachings of Ikeda from being reasonably applied to the claim limitations. Since the transmission conditions are not restricted to any specific transmission conditions, then a plurality of transmission conditions of the captured image data can be applied, as long as they are related to the claimed power supply requirements. In the instant case,
1) the first condition is interpreted as “detecting that the captured images are to be reproduced and some images are not yet uploaded”; which triggers using first power interpreted as “supplying power to the Second power supply 91 AND supplying power to the First power supply 101”, that is for example, power 1 = W1 + W2.
2) the second condition is interpreted as “detecting that the captured images are to be reproduced and ALL images have been uploaded”; which triggers using second power interpreted as “only supplying power to the Second power supply unit 91”, that is for example, power 2 = W1;
3) the third condition is interpreted as “detecting that the captured images are to be reproduced and some images are not yet uploaded in combination to detecting not enough power in the first power supply unit 101”; which triggers using third power interpreted as “providing external power to the first power supply unit 101”, that is for example, power 3 = W1 +W2+ Wexternal.
When supplying power to multiple units, that is, when supplying power to unit 91 and unit 101, the total load is larger, requiring and using more total power.
All of these conditions are detected while also detecting the proximity of the camera 1 to the device 46. The claims do not preclude additional conditional functions of the proximity detection.
Applicant further argues that a request for additional power in response to insufficient available power does not disclose supplying third power higher than first power in a case where a transmission condition satisfies a third condition, as now recited; see page 8 of the Remarks.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claim does not recite what exactly the third condition comprises. Thus, the third condition can be interpreted as “detecting that the captured images are to be reproduced and some images are not yet uploaded in combination to detecting not enough power in the first power supply unit 101”.
7. In Re Claims 2-3, 5-10 and 12-22, Applicant submits similar arguments as those presented for claim 1, see pages 8-9 of the Remarks, thus, the response to arguments provided in section 6 is also applicable to these claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
10. Claims 1-3, 5-8 and 12-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ikeda et al. (US-PGPUB 2010/0283586).
Regarding claim 1, Ikeda discloses an imaging apparatus (Image capturing device 1; see fig. 1 and paragraphs 0308-0309) comprising:
a memory storing a program (Memories 52 and 174; see fig. 1 and paragraphs 0309, 0014), and
at least one processor (First and Second processing units 35, 95; see paragraph 0309 and fig. 1) configured to execute the program to perform operations comprising:
performing wireless communication with another information processing apparatus using an antenna (RF-ID unit 47 performs a wireless communication with RF-ID Reader/Writer 46 using antenna 21; see fig. 1 and paragraphs 0316); and
controlling power to be supplied to the antenna in accordance with a transmission condition of captured image data in the wireless communication (When detecting the conditions that the captured images are to be reproduced and the camera 1 is moved into proximity of RF-ID Reader/Writer 46 of TV 45, then, the RF-ID reader/writer 46 supplies power to the RF-ID unit 47 via the second antenna 21, and thereby the second power supply unit 91 provides power to the units in the RF-ID unit 47. Subsequently, the captured image state information 60 and the server specific information 48 are read by the second processing unit 95 from the second memory 52, and transmitted to the TV 45 via the second antenna 21; see paragraph 0316);
supplying first power to the antenna in a case where the transmission condition satisfies a first condition (When the captured images are to be reproduced and some images are not yet uploaded, power is supplied to the Second power supply unit 91 and the First power supply unit 101; see paragraphs 0316, 0325. If it is determined that any image has not yet been uploaded, then the TV 45 issues an instruction to the camera via the RF-ID antenna 21 to transmit an activation signal to the activation unit 170, thereby supplying power to the first power supply unit 101 of the image capturing device 1. Thereby, the TV 45 causes the image capturing device 1 to upload, to the server 42, the images in the first memory 174; see paragraph 0325), and
supplying second power lower than the first power to the antenna in a case where the transmission condition satisfies a second condition (When the captured images are to be reproduced and all images have been uploaded, power is only supplied to the Second power supply unit 91; see paragraph 0316); and
supplying third power higher than the first power to the antenna in a case where the transmission condition satisfies a third condition (When the first power supply unit 101 does not have enough power or that the image capturing device 1 is not connected to an external power, the second processing unit 95, sends a power increase request signal to the RF-ID reader/writer 46 of the TV 45 via the second antenna 21, to request for power support, increasing providing power to the first processing unit 35 having the first power supply unit 101; see paragraphs 0327, 0328. Therefore, when the captured images are to be reproduced and some images are not yet uploaded and the first power supply unit 101 does not have enough power; then power is supplied to the Second power supply unit 91 and the First power supply unit 101 and Increased in power is supplied to unit 101; see paragraphs 0316, 0325, 0327, 0328).
Regarding claim 2, Ikeda discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Ikeda discloses the transmission condition is determined in accordance with a user operation related to a setting of the imaging apparatus (The second memory 52 also stores image display method instruction information 77. In the situation where a list display 78 is selected, when the second antenna 21 is moved into proximity of the RF-ID reader/writer 46 of the TV 45, the camera 1 causes the TV 45 to display a list of thumbnails of images; see paragraphs 0336, 0316 and fig. 5).
Regarding claim 3, Ikeda discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 2). In addition, Ikeda discloses the user operation is an operation of selecting a menu item related to a transmission setting of the captured image data to the another information processing apparatus by the imaging apparatus (When the list display 78 is selected and the second antenna 21 is moved into proximity of the RF-ID reader/writer 46 of the TV 45, the camera 1 causes the TV 45 to display a list of thumbnails of images; see paragraphs 0336, 0316).
Regarding claim 5, Ikeda discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Ikeda discloses the first condition is satisfied in a case where an operation of selecting a menu item for transmitting the captured image data to a server device, which is the another information processing apparatus, is performed (The TV 45 can display a message of "Please upload images" to a viewer for a user to select the option of uploading images to the server 42; see paragraph 0325).
Regarding claim 6, Ikeda discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Ikeda discloses the second condition is satisfied in a case where an operation of selecting a menu item for transmitting the captured image data to a mobile terminal, which is the another information processing apparatus, is performed (When the list display 78 is selected, the camera 1 causes the TV 45 to display a list of thumbnails of images; see paragraphs 0336, 0316. Using mobile phone as remote controller; see paragraph 0472. The program generated by the image capturing device 1 is transmitted to the remote controller (with display function) 6520, and executed by the remote controller (with display function) 6520; see paragraph 0475 and figs. 23, 38).
Regarding claim 7, Ikeda discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 2). In addition, Ikeda discloses the user operation includes an operation performed on the another information processing apparatus (The TV 45 can display a message of "Please upload images" to a viewer for the user to select to upload images. Then, camera 1 can select RF-ID antenna 21 for uploading and displaying image on the TV; see paragraphs 0316, 0325, 0327).
Regarding claim 8, Ikeda discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Ikeda discloses changing the power to be supplied to the antenna in accordance with a timing at which an operation of starting transmission of the captured image data to the another information processing apparatus is performed (If the image capturing device is forced to be activated to upload images not yet been uploaded, the RF-ID antenna 21 can be used for uploading and displaying on the TV. When power is not enough, the second processing unit 95 can send a power increase request signal to the RF-ID reader/writer 46 of the TV 45 via the second antenna 21, to request for power support. In response to the request, the RF-ID reader/writer 46 increases providing power to have a value greater than the set value for the power used in reading data from the RF-ID unit. Since the RF-ID unit receives more power via the second antenna 21, the RF-ID unit can provide power to the first processing unit 35. Then, camera 1 can practically and unlimitedly continue transmission; see paragraphs 0327, 0328).
Regarding claim 12, Ikeda discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Ikeda discloses the third condition is satisfied in a case where an operation of selecting a menu item for starting reception of a remote operation from a mobile terminal, which is the another information processing apparatus, is performed (When the list display 78 is selected, the camera 1 causes the TV 45 to display a list of thumbnails of images; see paragraphs 0336, 0316. Using mobile phone as remote controller; see paragraph 0472. The program generated by the image capturing device 1 is transmitted to the remote controller (with display function) 6520, and executed by the remote controller (with display function) 6520; see paragraph 0475 and figs. 23, 38).
Regarding claim 13, Ikeda discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Ikeda discloses the transmission condition is determined in accordance with reception strength in the wireless communication (The communication unit 171 in the RF-ID unit 47 cannot communicate with the TV 45, until the image capturing device 1 is physically located in proximity of the RF-ID reader/writer 46; see paragraphs 0402, 0316. If the camera 1 and TV 45 are far away from each other, the reception strength is weak and wireless transmission is not executed).
Regarding claim 14, Ikeda discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Ikeda discloses in a case where the transmission condition satisfies the first condition or the third condition, the operations further comprise: setting the power to be supplied to the antenna to the second power before a timing at which an operation of starting transmission of the captured image data to the another information processing apparatus is performed (During initial transmission, while captured image state information 60 indicates that captured images are uploaded, power is only supplied to the Second power supply unit 91 and the first power supply unit 101 remains OFF; see paragraph 0316), and supplying the first or third power higher than the second power to the antenna after the timing (Once it is detected that a captured image is not uploaded, then, power is supplied to the First power supply unit 101 and the Second power supply unit 91 to upload images to server 42 and/or TV 45. In addition, if it is detected that the power is not enough in first power supply unit 101 or the camera 1 is not connected to external power, the second processing unit 95, sends a power increase request signal to the RF-ID reader/writer 46 of the TV 45 via the second antenna 21, to request for power support, increasing providing power to the first processing unit 35 having the first power supply unit 101; see paragraphs 0316, 0325, 0327, 0328).
Regarding claim 15, Ikeda discloses a power control method for an image capturing apparatus (Image capturing device 1; see fig. 1 and paragraphs 0308-0309), the method comprising:
performing wireless communication with another information processing apparatus using an antenna (RF-ID unit 47 performs a wireless communication with RF-ID Reader/Writer 46 using antenna 21; see fig. 1 and paragraphs 0316), and
controlling power to be supplied to the antenna in accordance with a transmission condition of captured image data in the wireless communication (When detecting the condition that the captured images are to be reproduced and the camera 1 is moved into proximity of RF-ID Reader/Writer 46 of TV 45, then, the RF-ID reader/writer 46 supplies power to the RF-ID unit 47 via the second antenna 21, and thereby the second power supply unit 91 provides power to the units in the RF-ID unit 47. Subsequently, the captured image state information 60 and the server specific information 48 are read by the second processing unit 95 from the second memory 52, and transmitted to the TV 45 via the second antenna 21; see paragraph 0316);
supplying first power to the antenna in a case where the transmission condition satisfies a first condition (When the captured images are to be reproduced and some images are not yet uploaded, power is supplied to the Second power supply unit 91 and the First power supply unit 101; see paragraphs 0316, 0325. If it is determined that any image has not yet been uploaded, then the TV 45 issues an instruction to the camera via the RF-ID antenna 21 to transmit an activation signal to the activation unit 170, thereby supplying power to the first power supply unit 101 of the image capturing device 1. Thereby, the TV 45 causes the image capturing device 1 to upload, to the server 42, the images in the first memory 174; see paragraph 0325), and
supplying second power lower than the first power to the antenna in a case where the transmission condition satisfies a second condition (When the captured images are to be reproduced and all images have been uploaded, power is only supplied to the Second power supply unit 91; see paragraph 0316); and
supplying third power higher than the first power to the antenna in a case where the transmission condition satisfies a third condition (When the first power supply unit 101 does not have enough power or that the image capturing device 1 is not connected to an external power, the second processing unit 95, sends a power increase request signal to the RF-ID reader/writer 46 of the TV 45 via the second antenna 21, to request for power support, increasing providing power to the first processing unit 35 having the first power supply unit 101; see paragraphs 0327, 0328. Therefore, when the captured images are to be reproduced and some images are not yet uploaded and the first power supply unit 101 does not have enough power; then power is supplied to the Second power supply unit 91 and the First power supply unit 101 and Increased in power is supplied to unit 101; see paragraphs 0316, 0325, 0327, 0328).
Regarding claim 16, Ikeda discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium (Memories 52 and 174; see fig. 1 and paragraphs 0309, 0014) storing a program for controlling an imaging apparatus (Image capturing device 1; see fig. 1 and paragraphs 0308-0309), the program being executable by a processor (First and Second processing units 35, 95; see paragraph 0309 and fig. 1) to perform operations comprising:
performing wireless communication with another information processing apparatus using an antenna (RF-ID unit 47 performs a wireless communication with RF-ID Reader/Writer 46 using antenna 21; see fig. 1 and paragraphs 0316); and
controlling power to be supplied to the antenna in accordance with a transmission condition of captured image data in the wireless communication (When detecting the condition that the captured images are to be reproduced and the camera 1 is moved into proximity of RF-ID Reader/Writer 46 of TV 45, then, the RF-ID reader/writer 46 supplies power to the RF-ID unit 47 via the second antenna 21, and thereby the second power supply unit 91 provides power to the units in the RF-ID unit 47. Subsequently, the captured image state information 60 and the server specific information 48 are read by the second processing unit 95 from the second memory 52, and transmitted to the TV 45 via the second antenna 21; see paragraph 0316);
supplying first power to the antenna in a case where the transmission condition satisfies a first condition (When the captured images are to be reproduced and some images are not yet uploaded, power is supplied to the Second power supply unit 91 and the First power supply unit 101; see paragraphs 0316, 0325. If it is determined that any image has not yet been uploaded, then the TV 45 issues an instruction to the camera via the RF-ID antenna 21 to transmit an activation signal to the activation unit 170, thereby supplying power to the first power supply unit 101 of the image capturing device 1. Thereby, the TV 45 causes the image capturing device 1 to upload, to the server 42, the images in the first memory 174; see paragraph 0325), and
supplying second power lower than the first power to the antenna in a case where the transmission condition satisfies a second condition (When the captured images are to be reproduced and all images have been uploaded, power is only supplied to the Second power supply unit 91; see paragraph 0316); and
supplying third power higher than the first power to the antenna in a case where the transmission condition satisfies a third condition (When the first power supply unit 101 does not have enough power or that the image capturing device 1 is not connected to an external power, the second processing unit 95, sends a power increase request signal to the RF-ID reader/writer 46 of the TV 45 via the second antenna 21, to request for power support, increasing providing power to the first processing unit 35 having the first power supply unit 101; see paragraphs 0327, 0328. Therefore, when the captured images are to be reproduced and some images are not yet uploaded and the first power supply unit 101 does not have enough power; then power is supplied to the Second power supply unit 91 and the First power supply unit 101 and Increased in power is supplied to unit 101; see paragraphs 0316, 0325, 0327, 0328).
Regarding claim 17, Ikeda discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 16). In addition, Ikeda discloses the third condition is satisfied in a case where an operation of selecting a menu item for starting reception of a remote operation from a mobile terminal, which is the another information processing apparatus, is performed (When the list display 78 is selected, the camera 1 causes the TV 45 to display a list of thumbnails of images; see paragraphs 0336, 0316. Using mobile phone as remote controller; see paragraph 0472. The program generated by the image capturing device 1 is transmitted to the remote controller (with display function) 6520, and executed by the remote controller (with display function) 6520; see paragraph 0475 and figs. 23, 38).
Regarding claim 18, Ikeda discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 16). In addition, Ikeda discloses in a case where the transmission condition satisfies the first condition or the third condition, the operations further comprise: setting the power to be supplied to the antenna to the second power before a timing at which an operation of starting transmission of the captured image data to the another information processing apparatus is performed (During initial transmission, while captured image state information 60 indicates that captured images are uploaded, power is only supplied to the Second power supply unit 91 and the first power supply unit 101 remains OFF; see paragraph 0316), and supplying the first or third power higher than the second power to the antenna after the timing (Once it is detected that a captured image is not uploaded, then, power is supplied to the First power supply unit 101 and the Second power supply unit 91 to upload images to server 42 and/or TV 45. In addition, if it is detected that the power is not enough in first power supply unit 101 or the camera 1 is not connected to external power, the second processing unit 95, sends a power increase request signal to the RF-ID reader/writer 46 of the TV 45 via the second antenna 21, to request for power support, increasing providing power to the first processing unit 35 having the first power supply unit 101; see paragraphs 0316, 0325, 0327, 0328).
Regarding claim 19, Ikeda discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 16). In addition, Ikeda discloses the transmission condition is determined according to which of a plurality of wireless communication functions is selected by a user (Supplying power to units 91 and 101 in accordance to different detected wireless uploading images conditions; see paragraphs 0325, 0316).
Regarding claim 20, Ikeda discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 16). In addition, Ikeda discloses the second power is supplied while awaiting a trigger for transmission of the captured image data (Supplying only power to unit 91 when all images are uploaded; see paragraph 0316), and the first power or the third power is supplied after detection of the trigger (Supplying power to unit 91 and unit 101 after detecting that not all images are uploaded; see paragraph 0325).
Regarding claim 21, Ikeda discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Ikeda discloses the transmission condition is determined according to which of a plurality of wireless communication functions is selected by a user (Supplying power to units 91 and 101 in accordance to different detected wireless uploading images conditions; see paragraphs 0325, 0316).
Regarding claim 22, Ikeda discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Ikeda discloses the second power is supplied while awaiting a trigger for transmission of the captured image data (Supplying only power to unit 91 when all images are uploaded; see paragraph 0316), and the first power or the third power is supplied after detection of the trigger (Supplying power to unit 91 and unit 101 after detecting that not all images are uploaded; see paragraph 0325).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
13. Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikeda in view of Fredlund (US-PGPUB 2006/0028555).
Regarding claim 9, Ikeda discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 8). However, Ikeda does not expressly disclose the operation of starting transmission of the captured image data is an operation of pressing a shutter button.
On the other hand, Fredlund discloses the operation of starting transmission of the captured image data is an operation of pressing a shutter button (Fig. 9 illustrates a wireless device for the invention. The device 60 is a cell phone having a selection panel to be used for controlling of the camera in deciding when to capture an image. Once the image has been captured, the digital images can be wireless transmitted back to the device 60 from the remote camera 12 for writing on the memory card of device 60; see paragraphs 0050, 0052).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ikeda and Fredlund to provide the operation of starting transmission of the captured image data is an operation of pressing a shutter button for the purpose of easily allowing the user to remotely control the camera from different locations.
Regarding claim 10, Ikeda and Fredlund disclose everything claimed as applied above (see claim 9). In addition, Ikeda discloses a mobile phone can be used as remote controller in combination with TV 45; see paragraphs 0472, 0475 and figs. 23, 38.
However, Ikeda does not expressly disclose the shutter button is a manipulating element for remote operation displayed on a display of the another information processing apparatus.
Nevertheless, Fredlund discloses the shutter button is a manipulating element for remote operation displayed on a display unit of the another information processing apparatus (Fig. 9 illustrates a wireless device for the invention. The device 60 is a cell phone having a selection panel to be used for controlling of the camera in deciding when to capture an image. Once the image has been captured, the digital images can be wireless transmitted back to the device 60 from the remote camera 12 for writing on the memory card of device 60; see paragraphs 0050, 0052).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ikeda and Fredlund to provide the shutter button is a manipulating element for remote operation displayed on a display unit of the another information processing apparatus for the purpose of easily allowing the user to remotely control camera functions from different locations.
Conclusion
14. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CYNTHIA CALDERON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639 08/28/2026