Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: " a sterilization module... configured to output at least [[any]] one of [[the]] a sterilization gas [[and]] or sterilization particulates" in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
2. Claims 10, 11, 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 10, 11, and 13 recites the limitation wherein “the generator” produces “ozone”, “ions” and “insecticide”. It is understood the sterilization module is able to hold sterilization gas/particulates such as mentioned above, however there isn’t sufficient disclosure in the specification as to how the generator is able to produce sterilization gas/particulates such as ozone, ions and insecticide. Therefore, subject matter disclosed in the specification was not described in such way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the art.
Claim 19 recites the limitation wherein “the sterilization module” generates “plasma”, and “high voltage”. It is understood the sterilization module is able to hold sterilization gas/particulates such as mentioned above, however there isn’t sufficient disclosure in the specification as to how the sterilization module is able to generate plasma or high voltage to produce sterilization gas/particulates such as ozone, ions and insecticide. Therefore, subject matter disclosed in the specification was not described in such way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the art.
3. Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Any remaining claims are rejected based on their dependency to a rejected base claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the sprayer" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Earlier in claim 1, line 7 recites “a sterilization module” in wherein performs the similar function of outputting sterilization gas/particulates, which establishes it as a known part of claimed invention. However, it is unclear to the examiner whether “sprayer” is a different component than the previously established “sterilization module”, which renders the claim indefinite. As best understood from the specifications, “sprayer” will be interpreted as “the sterilization module” and will be treated as such for the sake of the current Office Action.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “sprayer generates insecticide”. It is understood sprayer is able to hold sterilization gas/particulate but it is unclear to the examiner as to how insecticide is generated within the sprayer and what specific chemical constitutes as insecticide, which renders the claim indefinite. As best understood from the specifications, “insecticide” will be interpreted the same as “ozone” due to having the function of killing insects and will be treated as such for the sake of the current Office Action.
Claim 19 recites the limitation wherein “the sterilization module” generates “plasma”, and “high voltage”. It is understood the sterilization module is able to hold sterilization gas/particulates such as mentioned above, however there isn’t sufficient disclosure in the specification as to how the sterilization module is able to generate plasma or high voltage to produce sterilization gas/particulates such as ozone, ions and insecticide. Therefore, subject matter disclosed in the specification was not described in such way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-4, 12, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jung (US 2005/0198770).
6. Regarding claim 1, Jung discloses a cleaner station comprising:
a suction flow path pipe (polluted air conduit wherein guides “the polluted air sucked through the main inlet of the suction nozzle 10 to the inlet 52 of the dust collecting assembly”, paragraph [0072]) having an inlet end (suction nozzle 10, Figure 3) configured to communicate with a dust bin of a cleaner (wherein suction nozzle 10 would be capable of collecting dust from dust bin) coupled to the cleaner station (cleaner body 20, Figure 3);
Examiner indicates that dust bin has not been positively recited as part of the claimed invention. Therefore, the device of Jung would be capable of collecting dust from a dust bin of cleaner such as a vacuum cleaner.
a dust collector (dust collecting assembly 50, Figure 5) defining a storage space (dust collecting assembly is a container, thus having a hollow storage space that houses dust, Figure 5) connected to an outlet end of the suction flow path pipe (polluted air outlet 24, Figure 3) and configured to receive and capture dust from [[in]] the dust bin of the cleaner (“the polluted air sucked through the main inlet is flowed into the dust collecting assembly through the polluted air outlet 24”, paragraph [0024]);
and a sterilization module (sprayer 60, Figure 6) provided at [[one]] a side of the dust collector (see Figure 6, wherein sprayer 60 is located in the upper end of dust collecting assembly 50) and configured to output at least [[any]] one of [[the]] a sterilization gas [[and]] or sterilization particulates into the storage space of the dust collector (wherein sprayer 60 is “for spraying an insecticide or an antistatic”, paragraph [0108]).
Figure 3 (Jung)
Figure 5 (Jung)
7. Regarding claim 2, Jung discloses the cleaner station of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the dust collector comprises:
a dust collecting casing configured to define a receiving space therein (receiving recess 22, wherein surrounding walls of cavity represent the casing, detail X, Figure 3);
and a dust collecting container (dust collecting container 51, Figure 5) that defines the storage space (it is understood a container includes a space to store objects such as dust) and is separably installed in the receiving space (receiving recess 22, Figure 3) of the dust collecting casing (detail X, wherein dust collecting assembly 50 can attach and detach within cavity 330, Figure 3),
and wherein the sterilization module (sprayer 60, Figure 6) is coupled to a side of the dust collector casing (sprayer 60 is coupled to casing detail X through intermediary means) and outputs the at least [[any]] one of the sterilization gas [[and]] or the sterilization particulates into the dust collecting container (wherein sprayer 60 releases “antistatic, insecticide, or fragrance into the dust collecting assembly”, wherein insecticide meets the description of a sterilization gas/particulates to kill insects as per applicant’s specifications , paragraph [0136]).
Figure 6 (Jung)
8. Regarding claim 3, Jung discloses the cleaner station of claim 2, and further discloses wherein:
when the dust collecting container (dust collecting container 51, Figure 5) is installed in the dust collecting part casing (detail X, Figure 3), at least a part of the sprayer (sprayer 60, Figure 6) is inserted into the storage space of the dust collecting container (see Figure 6, wherein sprayer 60 is within the storage space of dust collecting container 50).
9. Regarding claim 4, Jung discloses the cleaner station of claim 3, and further discloses wherein:
wherein the dust collecting container (dust collecting container 51, Figure 5) is configured to be inserted into the receiving space (receiving recess 22, Figure 3) of the dust collecting casing (detail X, Figure 3) while moving in a first direction (along the direction of axis A, Figure 3.1) and to be fixed to the dust collector casing while moving in a second direction (axis B, Figure 3.1) intersecting the first direction (wherein dust collecting container will remain fixed if moved in the direction of Axis B due to bottom and upper compartment of cleaner body 20).
Figure 3.1 (Jung)
10. Regarding claim 12, Jung discloses the cleaner station of claim 1, and further discloses wherein:
wherein the sterilization module (sprayer 60, Figure 6) outputs the at least [[any]] one of the sterilization gas [[and]] or the sterilization particulates (wherein sprayer 60 is “for spraying an insecticide or an antistatic”, paragraph [0108]) in a first direction (direction J, Figure 6) that is parallel to a second direction (direction K, Figure 6) in which air carrying the dust from the dust bin of the cleaner is introduced into the dust collector (dust collecting assembly 50, Figure 6) from the outlet end (polluted air outlet 24, Figure 3) of the suction flow path pipe (polluted air conduit wherein guides “the polluted air sucked through the main inlet of the suction nozzle 10 to the inlet 52 of the dust collecting assembly”, paragraph [0072]). See Figure 6.1, wherein direction j of sprayer spray orifice 63 is parallel to dust coming in through inlet 52.
Figure 6.1 (Jung)
11. Regarding claim 17, Jung discloses the cleaner station of claim 1, and further discloses:
a housing forming at least a portion of an outer appearance of the cleaner station and to which the cleaner is coupled (see Figure 3, in which cleaner body 20 serves as a housing and part of the outer appearance of cleaner station, wherein it would be capable to be connected to the cleaner via suction nozzle 100 through intermediary means).
12. Regarding claim 20, Jung discloses the cleaner station of claim 1, and further discloses wherein:
at least one of the sterilization gas or the sterilization particulates outputted by the sterilization module (sprayer 60, Figure 6) into the dust collector kills an insect in the dust collector (“the sprayer 60, … destroys insects, or gives out a fragrance by spraying an antistatic, insecticide, or fragrance into the dust collecting assembly”, paragraph [00136]).
13. Claims 1, 8-10, and 13-15 are under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Makarov (US 2007/0067943).
14. Regarding claim 1, Makarov discloses a cleaner station comprising:
a suction flow path pipe (Figure 13 demonstrates a schematic that discloses a vacuum cleaner having a suction flow path 604) having an inlet end (nozzle main suction opening 26, Figure 2) configured to communicate with a dust bin of a cleaner (wherein nozzle main suction opening 26 would be capable of collecting dust from dust bin) coupled to the cleaner station (vacuum cleaner A, Figure 2);
Figure 13 (Makarov)
Examiner indicates that dust bin has not been positively recited as part of the claimed invention. Therefore, the device of Jung would be capable of collecting dust from a dust bin of cleaner such as a vacuum cleaner.
a dust collector (dirt cup or container 50, Figure 3) defining a storage space (dirt cup is a container, thus having a hollow storage space that houses dust, Figure 3) connected to an outlet end of the suction flow path pipe (outlet section 116, Figure 3) and configured to receive and capture dust from [[in]] the dust bin of the cleaner (“dust and dirt from the suction airstream and causes the dust and dirt to be deposited in the dirt container 50”, paragraph [0037]);
and a sterilization module (Figure 15 shows a different view/embodiment of present invention wherein it contains germicidal UV source 806, wherein “can create ozone from ambient oxygen”, paragraph [0090]) provided at [[one]] a side of the dust collector (wherein germicidal UV source 806 is provided at a bottom side of dirt cup (labeled as 802 in Figure 15)) and configured to output at least [[any]] one of [[the]] a sterilization gas [[and]] or sterilization particulates into the storage space of the dust collector (wherein “ozone created in the filter housing assembly can be redirected back to the dirt cup 802”, paragraph [0090]).
Figure 2 and 3 (Makarov)
15. Regarding claim 8, Makarov discloses the cleaner station of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the sterilization module comprises:
a generator (germicidal UV source 806, Figure 15) configured to produce the at least any [[one]] of the sterilization gas [[and]] or the sterilization particulates (“the UV source disinfects the filter and the airstream flowing through the filter housing assembly and can create ozone from ambient oxygen”, paragraph [0090]);
Additionally, Makarov further teaches wherein a spray guide (conduit or hose 808, Figure 15) provided at an outlet end of the generator (conduit protrudes from filter housing assembly 800, Figure 15) and configured to guide the at least [[any]] one of the sterilization gas [[and]] or the sterilization particulates from the generator and toward the dust collector (wherein “ozone created in the filter housing assembly can be redirected back to the dirt cup 802 through a hose or conduit 808”, paragraph [0090], Figure 15).
Figure 15 (Makarov)
16. Regarding claim 9, Makarov discloses the cleaner station of claim 8, and further discloses wherein:
the dust collector (dirt cup or container 50, Figure 1) comprises:
a dust collecting casing configured to define a receiving space therein (upper housing B of vacuum cleaner to receive dirt cup or container 50, Figure 1);
and a dust collecting container (it is established that dirt cup is also a container, Figure 1) to define the storage space (it is understood a container includes a space to store objects such as dust) and separably installed in the receiving space of the dust collecting casing (wherein “a dirt cup or container 50 which is releasably connected to the upper housing B of the vacuum cleaner”, paragraph [0037], Figure 1). Therefore, dirt cup or container 50 can be removed from upper housing B, where it is understood that upper housing B must have a receiving space for dirt cup or container 50.
wherein the generator (germicidal UV source 806, Figure 15) is coupled to the dust collecting casing (coupled to dirt cup or container 802 through intermediary means, Figure 15),
wherein the spray guide (conduit or hose 808) extends toward the dust collecting container from the generator (see Figure 15, wherein hose 808 extends from germicidal UV source 806 into dirt cup or container 802);
and wherein an outlet end of the spray guide (conduit or hose 808) is inserted into an interior of the dust collecting container (see Figure 15, wherein conduit or hose is inserted into dirt cup 802 wherein element 834 is located).
Figure 1 (Makarov)
17. Regarding claim 10 (US 20210308612 A1), Makarov discloses the cleaner station of claim 8, and further discloses wherein:
the generator produces ozone (it was established previously wherein germicidal UV source “disinfects the filter and the airstream flowing through the filter housing assembly and can create ozone from ambient oxygen”, paragraph [0090]).
18. Regarding claim 13, Makarov discloses a cleaner station wherein:
a conduit (Figure 13 demonstrates a schematic that discloses a vacuum cleaner having a suction flow path 604) having an inlet end (nozzle main suction opening 26, Figure 2) configured to communicate with a dust bin of a cleaner (wherein nozzle main suction opening 26 would be capable of collecting dust from dust bin) when the cleaner is coupled to the cleaner station (vacuum cleaner A, Figure 2);
Examiner indicates that dust bin has not been positively recited as part of the claimed invention. Therefore, the device of Makarov would be capable of collecting dust from a dust bin of cleaner such as a vacuum cleaner.
a dust case (dirt cup or container 50, Figure 3) connected to an outlet end of the conduit (outlet section 116, Figure 3) and configured to capture dust [[in]] transported by the conduit from the dust bin of the cleaner (“dust and dirt from the suction airstream and causes the dust and dirt to be deposited in the dirt container 50”, paragraph [0037]);
and a sprayer (Figure 15 shows a different view/embodiment of present invention wherein it contains germicidal UV source 806, wherein “can create ozone from ambient oxygen”, paragraph [0090]) configured to output an insecticide into the dust case (wherein “ozone created in the filter housing assembly can be redirected back to the dirt cup 802”, paragraph [0090]).
sprayer generates insecticide (it has been established that germicidal UV source 806 creates ozone, which are deadly to insects with respect to applicant’s specifications);
wherein an operation of the sprayer is stopped for at least a reference pause time after the sprayer operates for a reference operation time (wherein a control system can “monitor the amount of ozone in ambient air and can turn off the UV light source 160, … as the level of ozone decreases, the closed loop control system can turn back on the UV light source 160”, paragraph [0057], Figure 3). Therefore, any time when the UV light source is turned off, it is considered a pause time since ozone is not being created, therefore not sprayed. Furthermore, a user would be capable of turning on and off the cleaner station to start or stop spraying. Any time wherein cleaner station is off would be considered a reference pause time, since a controller is not claimed to perform pause or operation of the sprayer.
19. Regarding claim 14, Makarov discloses the cleaner station of claim 13, and further discloses wherein:
a dust collecting motor configured to generate an airflow in conduit (“a suitable suction source, such as an electric motor and fan assembly E, generates a suction force in a suction inlet”, paragraph [0036]),
wherein the dust collecting motor operates after the reference pause time elapses (electric motor is powered by power source via electrical socket 162 [paragraph 0054], therefore a human is capable of manually of turning on electric motor after a reference pause time has elapsed. Furthermore, when UV light starts to generate ozone again or user turns on cleaner station, a reference pause time has elapsed. After, a user can then manually turn on the dust collecting motor after pause time).
20. Regarding claim 15, Makarov discloses the cleaner station of claim 13, however it does not disclose wherein:
a dust collecting motor configured to generate an airflow in the conduit (“a suitable suction source, such as an electric motor and fan assembly E, generates a suction force in a suction inlet”, paragraph [0036]),
wherein the sprayer (germicidal UV source 806) alternately operates and stops operating operate (wherein “as the level of ozone decreases, the closed loop control system can turn back on the UV light source 160” to produce more ozone; therefore the sprayer alternates between operating and pausing based on ozone produced by UV light source 160, paragraph [0057]) while the dust collecting motor does not operate (wherein “appreciated that the UV light source 160 can remain on after the electric motor and fan assembly E or the vacuum cleaner is turned off”, paragraph [0053]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
22. Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Makarov (2007/0067943) in view of Leyva (2017/0225985).
23. Regarding claim 5, Makarov discloses the cleaner station of claim 1, however it does not disclose wherein:
the sterilization module comprises a guide seal provided at [[the]] an outlet end of the sterilization module and configured to fill a gap between the outlet end of the sterilization module and the dust collector.
Leyva is also concerned with an enclosed container wherein it has a sterilization module that disperses sterilization particulates/gas such as ozone is dispersed to kill bacteria that may accumulate overtime. Leyva further teaches wherein the sterilization module (gas sanitization system 301, Figure 3) comprises a guide seal (sealing element 325, Figure 3) provided at [[the]] an outlet end of the sterilization module (single supply line 302, Figure 3) and configured to fill a gap between the outlet end of the sterilization module and the dust collector (wherein sealing element 325 is “configured such that a water and/or gas tight seal is present between the sealing element 325 and the inward facing surface of hole 320”, paragraph [0027] Figure 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to have configured Makarov’s invention to have a guide seal at the end of sterilization module outlet as taught by Leyva. One of ordinary skill would recognize a seal to provide structural rigidity of single supply line 302, as well as keep the gas dispersed inside the container and isolated from the ambient surroundings.
Figure 3 (Leyva)
24. Regarding claim 6, Makarov modified in view of Leyva discloses the cleaner station of claim 5, however, it does not disclose wherein:
the dust collector comprises a sterilization module insertion hole penetrated by the sterilization module.
and a length of the guide seal in a direction is greater than a length of the sterilization module insertion hole in the direction.
Leyna further discloses wherein the dust collector (reservoir 305, Figure 3) comprises a sterilization module insertion hole penetrated by the sterilization module (hole 320, wherein outlet of gas sanitization system goes through, Figure 3).
Leyna also discloses the length of the guide seal (length of sealing element 325, L1, Figure 3.1) in a direction (along x-axis) is greater than a length of the sterilization module insertion hole in the direction (length of hole 320, L2, Figure 3.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to have further configured Makarov’s dust container to have a have a sterilization module insertion hole and additionally have a guide seal be greater in length than the sterilization module insertion hole as taught by Leyna. One of ordinary skill would recognize a hole would be needed to incorporate to transport sterilization gas from an external sterilization module to the inside of dust collecting container as taught by Lenya. Furthermore, the seal would have to be generally larger than the length of an insertion hole to further ensure sterilization module is fixed, as well to completely seal the sterilization module away from the inside of the container, in which keeps dust collected and sterilization particulates/gas isolated from ambient surroundings.
Figure 3.1 (Leyva)
25. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Makarov (2007/0067943) in view of Conrad (US Patent 10464746).
26. Regarding claim 11, Makarov discloses the cleaner station of claim 8, however, it does not disclose wherein:
the generator produces ions.
Conrad is also concerned with a dust collecting container that uses sprayers to control the dust. Furthermore, Conrad teaches an embodiment wherein container may include a generator (ion emitters) that produces ions (“ion emitters for selectively dispersing negative (and/or positive) ions into the air, … reduce the tendency of the charged particulate matter to disperse”, col 27, II 14-17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to have further configured Makarov’s generator to further include a generator capable of producing ions as taught by Conrad. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that ionizing dust particulates would decrease likelihood of dispersion, thus keeping dust collected more compact in dust collection containers as taught by Conrad, and therefore easier to spray other sterilization particulates/gas.
27. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Makarov (2007/0067943) in view of Yoo (KR 100842371).
28. Regarding claim 16, Makarov discloses the cleaner station of claim 8, and further discloses wherein:
the generator (germicidal UV source 806) is positioned above the spray guide (conduit or hose 808 extends from below germicidal UV source at element 806, Figure 15).
However, Makarov does not disclose wherein:
a cross-section area of the spray guide decreases in a vertical direction downward away from the generator and toward an outlet end of the spray guide.
Yoo is also concerned a cleaner station wherein dust travels through a suction pipe where it contains a spraying module. Yoo further teaches wherein cross-section of spray guide (injection nozzle 15, Figure 4) decreases in a vertical direction (see how injection nozzle 15 is of a triangular shape, as cross section decreases in the direction where sterilization gas or particulates are sprayed, Figure 4) downward away from the generator (storage tank 21, Figure 4) and toward an outlet end of the spray guide (end of injection nozzle 15, Figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to have further configured Makarov’s sprayer to have a cross section that decreases in a vertical direction as taught by Yoo. One of ordinary skill would recognize it a cone shaped nozzle is common in the art to disperse liquids, and therefore would be capable in effectively spraying sterilization gas/particulates into dust collecting container.
Figure 4 (Yoo)
29. Claim 1 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Foreign Reference (KR 100715774 B1) in view of Makarov (2007/0067943)
30. Regarding claim 1, Foreign Reference (KR 100715774 B1) discloses a cleaner station comprising:
a suction flow path pipe (suction passage 251, Figure 8) having an inlet end (suction through hole 132) configured to communicate with a dust bin of a cleaner (dust container 13, Figure 8) coupled to the cleaner station (robot cleaner 1, Figure 8);
a dust collector (dust storage space, Figure 8) defining a storage space (it is established that it is a storage space) connected to an outlet end of the suction flow path pipe (“a dust storage space 252 formed inside the filling body 21 while communicating with an end of the suction passage 251”, paragraph [0101]) and configured to receive and capture dust from [[in]] the dust bin of the cleaner (wherein the motor sucks “the dust inside the dust container 13 through the suction passage 251 to store the dust in the dust storage space 252”, paragraph [0102]).
However, Foreign Reference (KR 100715774 B1) does not disclose wherein:
and a sterilization module provided at [[one]] a side of the dust collector and configured to output at least [[any]] one of [[the]] a sterilization gas [[and]] or sterilization particulates into the storage space of the dust collector
Makarov is also concerned with a cleaner station that comprises a dust collecting container wherein dust travels through a suction flow path pipe. Furthermore, Makarov discloses wherein a sterilization module (Figure 15 shows a different view/embodiment of present invention wherein it contains germicidal UV source 806, wherein “can create ozone from ambient oxygen”, paragraph [0090]) provided at [[one]] a side of the dust collector (wherein germicidal UV source 806 is provided at a bottom side of dirt cup (labeled as 802 in Figure 15)) and configured to output at least [[any]] one of [[the]] a sterilization gas [[and]] or sterilization particulates into the storage space of the dust collector (wherein “ozone created in the filter housing assembly can be redirected back to the dirt cup 802”, paragraph [0090]).
It would have It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to have further configured the cleaner station Foreign Reference (KR 100715774 B1) to include a sterilization module as taught by Makarov. One of ordinary skill would recognize that cleaner station tends to accumulate dust over long periods of time, wherein dust mites and insects may be present in the container. Therefore, a sterilization module would be required to kill any insects or bacteria that may arise while dust accumulates.
31. Regarding claim 18, Foreign Reference (KR 100715774 B1) in view of Makarov discloses the cleaner station of claim 1, and further discloses wherein:
an inlet pipe cover (filter plate 254a, Figure 8) having a first side that is rotatably coupled to the outlet end of the suction flow path pipe (“filter unit 254 is hinged to the inner surface of the dust storage space 252”, paragraph [0103]),
and a second side (end of filter plate 254a wherein weight 254b is located, Figure 8) that moves away from the outlet end of the suction flow path pipe when the dust is drawn into the dust container (“being angularly moved by suction of the charging base suction motor 253, and a weight 254b formed at an end of the filter plate 254a so that the angularly moved filter plate 254 a is returned by its own weight”, paragraph [0103]). Furthermore, filter plate 254a moves exposing the dust storage space 252 when motor is turned on to suck dust from robot cleaner;
and wherein the second side is positioned closer to the spray module than the first side (one of ordinary skill would be able to modify the cleaner station of Foreign Reference (KR 100715774 B1) in view of Makarov to have the second side closer to the sterilization module than the first side as to not make a difference in the function of invention).
Figure 8 (Foreign Reference (KR 100715774 B1))
32. Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Makarov (2007/0067943) in view of Bae (2017/0312376)
33. Regarding claim 19, Makarov discloses the cleaner station of claim 1, however it does not disclose wherein:
the sterilization module generates a plasma discharge or a high voltage to produce the at least one of the sterilization gas or the sterilization particulates.
Bae is also concerned a generator that aids in the production of sterilization gas/particulates that is to be sprayed in an enclosed space. Furthermore, Bae further teaches wherein the sterilization module (spray apparatus 130) generates a plasma discharge or a high voltage to produce the at least one of the sterilization gas or the sterilization particulates (wherein it has plasma generator device 140 that “generates plasma discharge of 17,000 volt such that vapor of the hydrogen peroxide sprayed through the first and second jet nozzles of the spray apparatus is ionized into ROS (Reactive Oxygen Species) to diffuse rapidly in a room (for sterilization)”,paragraph [0029]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to have further configured Makarov’s sterilization module to generate plasma for the production of a sterilization gas/particulates as taught by Bae. One of ordinary skill would recognize plasma is an effective way of sterilizing, much like ozone and ionic sterilizing which would be capable of killing insects through means of dispersion such as spraying.
Figure 4 (Bae)
Allowable Subject Matter
34. Claim 7 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
35. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lam (US 2021/0220500) discloses a container with a lid to disinfect herbs through plasma, wherein pump is used to pump sterilization gas/particulates.
/D.J.N./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRYAN R MULLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723 21 August 2026