DETAILED OFFICE ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-5 are pending examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1 ,4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103(a) as being unpatentable over CHAN et al. (USPUB 20110280583) in view of Pheiffer et al. (USPUB 20030063343) .
As per claim 1, CHAN et al. teaches A switch control apparatus ( Paragraph [0085]- “…a controller designed to control the division of optical power by the divider based on information received by the controller. Such a subsystem may provide power to optical sinks or may be an optical sink itself….”) comprising: a processor ( Paragraph [0094]- “… a microprocessor configured by a computer program which at least partially carries out processes and/or devices described herein), electrical circuitry forming a memory device (e.g., forms of random access memory), electrical circuitry forming a communications device (e.g., a modem, communications switch, …”) ; and a storage medium having computer program instructions stored thereon ( Paragraph [0093]- “…implemented in integrated circuits, as one or more computer programs running on one or more computers (e.g., as one or more programs running on one or more computer systems), as one or more programs running on one or more processors (e.g., as one or more programs running on one or more microprocessors), as firmware…”) , when executed by the processor, perform to: connects a plurality of optical power feeding devices and a plurality of optical power reception devices that convert light received from the plurality of optical power feeding devices into power and store the power ( Connecting of plurality of optical power source/feeding devices with optical power receivers taught within FIG. 1 and 2 AND Paragraphs [0046-0048]- “… FIG. 1, an exemplary optical power transmission system 100 is depicted. Optical power system 100 includes but is not limited to a first optical power source 120 providing a first optical power form and a second optical power source 140 providing a second optical power form. A first optical coupler 130 is configured to provide the first optical form and the second optical form to a common output 135 of the first optical coupler 130. A second optical coupler 180 may be configured to receive the first and second optical power forms through a common input 185 and to divide the first optical power form and the second optical power form between a first output 186 and a second output 187 … the optical receiver may be configured to convert the one or more of the optical power forms to electrical power having at least a first electrical power form. In yet another aspect, one or more of the optical power receivers includes a control circuit configure to control the operation of an optical power converter….” AND storing of power/energy taught within Paragraph [0054]- “…the optical receivers may include energy storage or filtering circuitry. With such, the optical receivers may be capable of smoothing the power signals, storing at least some of the stored energy, or some combination thereof….”) , and controls an optical power supply switch that switches an emission destination of light emitted from the optical power feeding devices (Optical power supply and switching taught within Paragraph [0062-0064]- “…An optical power switching unit (or central power command unit) 560 may be coupled to the optical power source and may be configured to receive optical power from the optical power source via optical conduit 550. Optical power switching unit 560 may be configured to change the characteristics of the received optical power and to selectively provide optical power to one or more of the optical power outlet nodes….”) ;
CHAN et al. does not explicitly teach receives data of a power storage amount stored by the plurality of optical power reception devices; and determines a distribution of light emitted from the plurality of optical power feeding devices to the plurality of optical power reception devices based on data of the power storage amount, and controls the optical power supply switch based on the distribution determined by the distribution determination unit.
However, within analogous art, Pheiffer et al. teaches receives data of a power storage amount stored by the plurality of optical power reception devices ( Power storage and receiving of the power storage information/parameters taught within Paragraphs [0052-0055]- “updating the power parameters at each node based on the received power parameters… These pre-computed parameters are then stored for future use. Therefore, instead of having to spend time re-computing power parameters as switching events occur, the pre-computed values can be used to allow the network elements to quickly adjust to accommodate network switching events….”) ; and determines a distribution of light emitted from the plurality of optical power feeding devices to the plurality of optical power reception devices based on data of the power storage amount ( Distribution of the optical power received from transmitter taught within Paragraphs [0043-0045]- “…a parameter input at one node can be used to input configuration parameters for multiple nodes, wherein the node receiving the configuration parameters distributes them to other nodes via the information links.…the output signal powers of signals transmitted on the signal links between neighboring network elements are held at consistent output power per wavelength. This is accomplished utilizing specialized hardware and software at each network element. For example, the signal power levels associated with signals transmitted over signal link 210 from node 202 to node 204 are held at a consistent power level per wavelength by hardware and/or software located at node 202. Node 204, which receives these signals…” ) , and
controls the optical power supply switch based on the distribution determined by the distribution determination unit ( Paragraphs [0245]- “…The switching control module 1242 receives network switching information and distributes the switching information to selected modules in the network element via a switching bus 1244. A wavelength management module 1246 couples to the administrative bus 1240 and receives wavelength information about signals transmitted over the optical network. The wavelength management module 1246 distributes the wavelength information to selected modules within the network element 1200 via a wavelength management bus 1248….”) .
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Pheiffer et al. within the modified teaching of the Optical Power Transmission Systems And Methods mentioned by CHAN et al. because the Optical Power Management In An Optical Network mentioned by Pheiffer et al. provides a method and system for implementation of optical power parameter and level management within optical network nodes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the Optical Power Management In An Optical Network mentioned by Pheiffer et al. within the modified teaching of the Optical Power Transmission Systems And Methods mentioned by CHAN et al. for implementing a system and method for optical power parameter and level management within optical network nodes.
As per claim 4, CHAN et al. teaches An optical power feeding system comprising: a plurality of optical power feeding devices that transmit light (Connecting of plurality of optical power source/feeding devices with optical power receivers taught within FIG. 1 and 2 AND Paragraphs [0046-0048]- “… FIG. 1, an exemplary optical power transmission system 100 is depicted. Optical power system 100 includes but is not limited to a first optical power source 120 providing a first optical power form and a second optical power source 140 providing a second optical power form. A first optical coupler 130 is configured to provide the first optical form and the second optical form to a common output 135 of the first optical coupler 130. A second optical coupler 180 may be configured to receive the first and second optical power forms through a common input 185 and to divide the first optical power form and the second optical power form between a first output 186 and a second output 187 …”); a plurality of optical power reception devices that convert light received from the plurality of optical power feeding devices into power and store the power( Connecting of plurality of optical power source/feeding devices with optical power receivers taught within FIG. 1 and 2 AND Paragraphs [0046-0048]- “… FIG. 1, an exemplary optical power transmission system 100 is depicted…. the optical receiver may be configured to convert the one or more of the optical power forms to electrical power having at least a first electrical power form. In yet another aspect, one or more of the optical power receivers includes a control circuit configure to control the operation of an optical power converter….” AND storing of power/energy taught within Paragraph [0054]- “…the optical receivers may include energy storage or filtering circuitry. With such, the optical receivers may be capable of smoothing the power signals, storing at least some of the stored energy, or some combination thereof….”); an optical power supply switch that connects the plurality of optical power feeding devices and the plurality of optical power reception devices and switches an emission destination of light emitted from the optical power feeding devices( Paragraph [0062-0064]- “…An optical power switching unit (or central power command unit) 560 may be coupled to the optical power source and may be configured to receive optical power from the optical power source via optical conduit 550. Optical power switching unit 560 may be configured to change the characteristics of the received optical power and to selectively provide optical power to one or more of the optical power outlet nodes….”) ; a switch control unit that controls the optical power supply switch( Optical power supply and switching taught within Paragraph [0085]- “…a controller designed to control the division of optical power by the divider based on information received by the controller. Such a subsystem may provide power to optical sinks or may be an optical sink itself….”) ;
CHAN et al. does not explicitly teach a power storage data reception unit that receives data of a power storage amount stored by the plurality of optical power reception devices; and a distribution determination unit that determines a distribution of light emitted from the plurality of optical power feeding devices to the plurality of optical power reception devices based on data of the power storage amount received by the power storage data reception unit, wherein the switch control unit controls the optical power supply switch based on the distribution determined by the distribution determination unit.
However, within analogous art, Pheiffer et al. teaches a power storage data reception unit that receives data of a power storage amount stored by the plurality of optical power reception devices ( Power storage and receiving of the power storage information/parameters taught within Paragraphs [0052-0055]- “updating the power parameters at each node based on the received power parameters… These pre-computed parameters are then stored for future use. Therefore, instead of having to spend time re-computing power parameters as switching events occur, the pre-computed values can be used to allow the network elements to quickly adjust to accommodate network switching events….”) ; and a distribution determination unit that determines a distribution of light emitted from the plurality of optical power feeding devices to the plurality of optical power reception devices based on data of the power storage amount received by the power storage data reception unit ( Distribution of the optical power received from transmitter taught within Paragraphs [0043-0045]- “…a parameter input at one node can be used to input configuration parameters for multiple nodes, wherein the node receiving the configuration parameters distributes them to other nodes via the information links.…the output signal powers of signals transmitted on the signal links between neighboring network elements are held at consistent output power per wavelength. This is accomplished utilizing specialized hardware and software at each network element. For example, the signal power levels associated with signals transmitted over signal link 210 from node 202 to node 204 are held at a consistent power level per wavelength by hardware and/or software located at node 202. Node 204, which receives these signals…” ) , wherein the switch control unit controls the optical power supply switch based on the distribution determined by the distribution determination unit ( Paragraphs [0245]- “…The switching control module 1242 receives network switching information and distributes the switching information to selected modules in the network element via a switching bus 1244. A wavelength management module 1246 couples to the administrative bus 1240 and receives wavelength information about signals transmitted over the optical network. The wavelength management module 1246 distributes the wavelength information to selected modules within the network element 1200 via a wavelength management bus 1248….”) .
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Pheiffer et al. within the modified teaching of the Optical Power Transmission Systems And Methods mentioned by CHAN et al. because the Optical Power Management In An Optical Network mentioned by Pheiffer et al. provides a method and system for implementation of optical power parameter and level management within optical network nodes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the Optical Power Management In An Optical Network mentioned by Pheiffer et al. within the modified teaching of the Optical Power Transmission Systems And Methods mentioned by CHAN et al. for implementing a system and method for optical power parameter and level management within optical network nodes.
As per claim 5, CHAN et al. teaches A switch control method ( Paragraph [0085]- “…a controller designed to control the division of optical power by the divider based on information received by the controller. Such a subsystem may provide power to optical sinks or may be an optical sink itself….”) comprising: a switch control step of connecting a plurality of optical power feeding devices and a plurality of optical power reception devices that convert light received from the plurality of optical power feeding devices into power and store the power ( Connecting of plurality of optical power source/feeding devices with optical power receivers taught within FIG. 1 and 2 AND Paragraphs [0046-0048]- “… FIG. 1, an exemplary optical power transmission system 100 is depicted. Optical power system 100 includes but is not limited to a first optical power source 120 providing a first optical power form and a second optical power source 140 providing a second optical power form. A first optical coupler 130 is configured to provide the first optical form and the second optical form to a common output 135 of the first optical coupler 130. A second optical coupler 180 may be configured to receive the first and second optical power forms through a common input 185 and to divide the first optical power form and the second optical power form between a first output 186 and a second output 187 … the optical receiver may be configured to convert the one or more of the optical power forms to electrical power having at least a first electrical power form. In yet another aspect, one or more of the optical power receivers includes a control circuit configure to control the operation of an optical power converter….” AND storing of power/energy taught within Paragraph [0054]- “…the optical receivers may include energy storage or filtering circuitry. With such, the optical receivers may be capable of smoothing the power signals, storing at least some of the stored energy, or some combination thereof….”), and controlling an optical power supply switch that switches an emission destination of light emitted from the optical power feeding devices (Optical power supply and switching taught within Paragraph [0062-0064]- “…An optical power switching unit (or central power command unit) 560 may be coupled to the optical power source and may be configured to receive optical power from the optical power source via optical conduit 550. Optical power switching unit 560 may be configured to change the characteristics of the received optical power and to selectively provide optical power to one or more of the optical power outlet nodes….”) ;;
CHAN et al. does not explicitly teach a power storage data reception step of receiving data of a power storage amount stored by the plurality of optical power reception devices; and a distribution determination step of determining a distribution of light emitted from the plurality of optical power feeding devices to the plurality of optical power reception devices based on data of the power storage amount received by the power storage data reception step, wherein in the switch control step, the optical power supply switch is controlled based on the distribution determined in the distribution determination step.
However, within analogous art, Pheiffer et al. teaches a power storage data reception step of receiving data of a power storage amount stored by the plurality of optical power reception devices ( Power storage and receiving of the power storage information/parameters taught within Paragraphs [0052-0055]- “updating the power parameters at each node based on the received power parameters… These pre-computed parameters are then stored for future use. Therefore, instead of having to spend time re-computing power parameters as switching events occur, the pre-computed values can be used to allow the network elements to quickly adjust to accommodate network switching events….”) ; and a distribution determination step of determining a distribution of light emitted from the plurality of optical power feeding devices to the plurality of optical power reception devices based on data of the power storage amount received by the power storage data reception step (
Distribution of the optical power received from transmitter taught within Paragraphs [0043-0045]- “…a parameter input at one node can be used to input configuration parameters for multiple nodes, wherein the node receiving the configuration parameters distributes them to other nodes via the information links.…the output signal powers of signals transmitted on the signal links between neighboring network elements are held at consistent output power per wavelength. This is accomplished utilizing specialized hardware and software at each network element. For example, the signal power levels associated with signals transmitted over signal link 210 from node 202 to node 204 are held at a consistent power level per wavelength by hardware and/or software located at node 202. Node 204, which receives these signals…” ) , wherein in the switch control step, the optical power supply switch is controlled based on the distribution determined in the distribution determination step ( Paragraphs [0245]- “…The switching control module 1242 receives network switching information and distributes the switching information to selected modules in the network element via a switching bus 1244. A wavelength management module 1246 couples to the administrative bus 1240 and receives wavelength information about signals transmitted over the optical network. The wavelength management module 1246 distributes the wavelength information to selected modules within the network element 1200 via a wavelength management bus 1248….”) .
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Pheiffer et al. within the modified teaching of the Optical Power Transmission Systems And Methods mentioned by CHAN et al. because the Optical Power Management In An Optical Network mentioned by Pheiffer et al. provides a method and system for implementation of optical power parameter and level management within optical network nodes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the Optical Power Management In An Optical Network mentioned by Pheiffer et al. within the modified teaching of the Optical Power Transmission Systems And Methods mentioned by CHAN et al. for implementing a system and method for optical power parameter and level management within optical network nodes.
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Allowable Subject Matter
2. Claims 2 and 3 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
3. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for objecting the claims as allowable subject matter:
As to claim 2, prior art of record does not teach or suggest the limitation mentioned within claim2: “… determines a distribution such that the optical power reception device having a smaller power storage amount receives more light from the optical power feeding device.”
As to claim 3, prior art of record does not teach or suggest the limitation mentioned within claim 3: “…the optical power supply switch includes a coupler having an input side connected to all the optical power feeding devices and an output side connected to one optical power reception device, and the coupler multiplexes the light transmitted from the optical power feeding device using mode multiplexing, polarization multiplexing, or wavelength multiplexing.”
Conclusion
4. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892, Notice of Reference Cited for a listing of analogous art.
http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/OMAR S ISMAIL/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635