DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 9 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Yasuda et al. (US 2016/0103010).
In re claim 9, Yasuda, in figures 1-2, discloses a magnet element comprising: a magnet part (50); and a support (60) made of an elastic resin and configured to support the magnet part, wherein the support is a foam (see paragraph 28), and the foam has a columnar or cylindrical shape and the magnet part is disposed on an outer side surface of the foam (outer surface is interpreted as an external surface that is on an outside of the support).
In re claim 10, Yasuda, in figures 1-2, discloses that the foam includes a constricted portion on the outer side surface of the foam, the constricted portion is an annular groove (66), and the magnet part is fitted in the annular groove.
In re claims 11-12, Yasuda, in figures 1-2, discloses that the magnet part is disposed at one end in an extension and compression direction of the support (as seen in figure 2).
In re claims 13-14, Yasuda, in figures 1-2, discloses that the magnet part has a ring shape (see paragraph 29).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-22 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasuda et al. (US 2016/0103010) in view of Reymann (US 9151591).
In re claims 21-22, Yasuda teaches the claimed device except for the induction coil. Raymann teaches a similar device having induction coils 8 and 9. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used coils as taught by Raymann to measure the position of the magnet of Yasuda to provide a more precise sensing of the position of the magnet.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Alexander Talpalatski/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837