DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Species A, readable on Claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 4/8/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oginski et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0112141, hereinafter Oginski).
In regard to claim 1, Oginski discloses a scope adapter (6) for adapting a surgical scope to a robotic manipulator system (Fig. 1), the scope adapter comprising:
a rotational motor (63) mounted in a fixed position relative to an outer cylinder (61);
an inner cylinder (60) rotatably coupled to the outer cylinder; and
a support plate assembly (62) that is removably coupled to the surgical scope and the inner cylinder (Fig. 1).
In regard to claim 2, Oginski teaches wherein the inner cylinder is
rotatable concentrically inside the outer cylinder (Fig. 1).
In regard to claim 4, Oginski teaches further comprising a shelf extending from an inner diameter of the inner cylinder, where the shelf comprises a groove that is slidably couplable with a ridge extending from the support plate (see annotated Fig. 10 below).
In regard to claim 5, Oginski teaches further comprising a plurality of spherical bearings (610,611) located between the inner cylinder and the outer cylinder (Fig. 1).
In regard to claim 6, Oginski teaches further comprising:
a scope gear (13) fixably coupled to the surgical scope (Fig. 1); and
an articulation motor (64) rotatably coupled to an articulation gear (650), wherein the articulation gear is operably coupled to the scope gear and is configured to transfer rotations of the articulation motor to the scope gear, and thereby change an adjustable direction of a field of view for the surgical scope (Par. 83).
In regard to claim 7, Oginski teaches wherein the support plate assembly further comprises:
a front base (621) with a front aperture passing therethrough along a central axis of the inner cylinder (Fig. 1); and
a rear base (622) with a rear aperture passing therethrough, wherein the front aperture and the rear aperture are configured to fixably couple to the surgical scope (Fig. 1).
In regard to claim 8, Oginski teaches wherein the front aperture is at least partially cylindrical, and wherein the rear aperture is positioned along an axis that is non-parallel with respect to the central axis of the inner cylinder (see annotated Fig. 3 below).
In regard to claim 9, Oginski teaches wherein:
the front base (625) rotatably couples to a front cap (626) with a front hinge (Fig. 9A shows the adaptor parts (625,626) coupled via hinge);
the rear base (625) rotatably couples to a rear cap (626) with a rear hinge (Fig. 9A shows the adaptor parts (625,626) coupled via hinge); and
wherein the front aperture opens by operation of the front hinge, and the rear aperture opens by operation of the rear hinge (Fig. 9A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oginski et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0112141, hereinafter Oginski) in view of Rockrohr et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0315715, hereinafter Rockrohr).
In regard to claim 3, Oginski is silent with respect to further comprising a belt operatively coupled to the rotational motor, wherein the belt circumferentially wraps around a portion of an outer diameter of the inner cylinder, and wherein the belt is configured to transfer rotation from the rotational motor to the inner cylinder.
Rockrohr teaches an analogous surgical assembly (Figs. 24-26) for rotating an instrument (200) or surgical scope (250). The surgical assembly comprises a carriage (42) configured to rotate a drive belt (122) via motor (118) which engages a pulley (48, i.e. inner cylinder) for rotating the instrument (200) or surgical scope (250) about it’s longitudinal axis (Par. 176).
It would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the motor/gear arrangement (63,631) of Oginski for the motor/drive belt arrangement (118,122) of Rockrohr as a matter of design choice to use a drive belt as an alternative means for transmitting rotational force to the inner cylinder. There being no unexpected results in using a drive belt of Rockrohr to transfer rotational motion as opposed to the gear of Oginski.
Conclusion
/RYAN N HENDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795 May 16, 2026