Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 3, 5, and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, the term “a softening temperature” is not clear. In particular, softening, unlike melting, is something that occurs over a range of temperatures. Moreover, in thermoplastic materials, some degree of softening occurs at any elevated temperature, even those below Tg and/or mp. Clarification is needed.
Regarding claim 3, the mixing step and forming step can occur separately, in which case they do not occur simultaneously. Alternatively, they can occur simultaneously, in which case they do not occur separately. Thus, it is unclear what is meant by “at least one of simultaneously and separately”.
Regarding claim 5 the recitation “nitrile rubbers such as NBR, HNBR” is unclear as to whether the claim is meant to be limited only to NBR and HNBR, or if the claim is intended to allow any nitrile rubber with NBR and HNBR just being examples. If the latter, than “such as NBR, HNBR” should be removed. If the former, then “nitrile rubbers such as” should be removed.
Regarding claim 8, there is no antecedent basis for “the surface of the tab intended to face the negative electrode”. Additionally, it is noted that the claim should include transition language such as “wherein” or the like.
Claim 9 is indefinite because it is unclear if the claim requires porosity less than 10% or if it requires the narrower range of less than 5%. Claims 10-12 depend from claim 9 and are thus indefinite for this same reason.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0299461 to Kim (“Kim”) and U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0061176 to Bruckner (“Bruckner”) in combination. Regarding claim 1, 3, 5, and 8, Kim discloses a ceramic coating for tab portions of a positive electrode current collector of not coated by positive electrode active material and facing an opposed negative electrode in a lithium ion battery in order to protect against unwanted short circuiting between the two electrodes. Kim at paragraphs [0007] and [0008]. The ceramic includes a polymer binder and ceramic particles where the layer is deposited by dissolving/blending those materials with a solvent and applying to the portions of the current collector.
Bruckner discloses that such solvent-based approaches to coating portions of electrode current collectors with particular material have the downside of using noxious solvent and requiring the cost/time of drying. Bruckner at paragraphs [0001]-[0005]. To cure this problem, Koo discloses mixing the particles to be deposited on the current collector with a PTFE polymer, milling the mixture to fibrillate the PTFE, then rolling/calendaring the fibrillated mixture to form a film. The film is then applied to a current collector.
Further regarding claim 2, Bruckner discloses that the film-forming step may be carried out at elevated temperature between 50-150 degrees, which will soften the PTFE at least to some degree compared to performing the process at room temperature.
Further regarding claim 4 the insulating ceramic particles of Koo can be in some embodiments alumina (aluminum oxide) or magnesia (magnesium oxide).
Further regarding claim 6, Bruckner discloses that its film is formed with polymer content of 5-10% and remaining content coating particles. Kim discloses a ratio of ceramic particle to binder of 95:5. Thus, because both of these rangers are encompassed by the claimed range, the Office finds the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention would have had reason to experiment within that range to arrive at a robust insulating ceramic coating via a dry process.
Further regarding claim 7, Bruckner discloses optionally providing additives, including liquid additives that would act to lubricate the system.
Further regarding claim 9 and 11, Neither Kim nor Bruckner disclose a porosity of the film created. Nonetheless, because the purpose of the film is to provide electrical insulation, the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention would have had reason to provide a porosity sufficiently low to ensure the film is electrically insulating against contact with the negative electrode, thereby rendering the claimed range obvious absent a showing of unexpected results.
Further regarding claim 10, Kim discloses a thickness of the ceramic insulating layer is from 1-100 microns.
Further regarding claim 12, although neither Kim nor Bruckner disclose providing a stack of cells to create a module, the Office notes that duplication of cells and placing them in stack form to increase capacity of a battery module for a given application is ubiquitous way of applying multiple lithium ion battery cell units and thus obvious.
/WYATT P MCCONNELL/Examiner, Art Unit 1727