Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3 and 8 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 should be re-written as following:
a tool for forming sheet metal blanks provided with a material layer on one or both sides, said tool comprising: a cutting bell rigidly coupled to an upper forming punch and a drawing cushion coupled to a hold-down device,
the upper forming punch and a lower forming punch being movable relative to one another to close the tool;
a first gap being present between the cutting bell and the hold-down device when the tool is closed; and
the lower forming punch is capable to be moved relative to a lower pressure piece,
the lower forming punch having an end stop for stop the movement of the lower pressure piece,
wherein the sheet metal blank is clamped between the upper forming punch and the lower pressure piece, and during a relative movement between the lower forming punch and the lower pressure piece, the upper forming punch and the lower pressure piece remain in their position relative to one another clamping the sheet metal blank.
Regarding claim 3, the phrase “wherein the sheet metal blank can be clamped between” should be changed to “wherein the sheet metal blank is clamped between”.
Regarding claim 8, the phrase “a drawing cushion” should be changed to “the drawing cushion”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, in lines 6-8 the phrase “an end stop formed by the lower forming punch for a lower pressure piece that can be moved relative to it” render the claim indefinite because it is unclear what is meant by “that can be moved relative to it”.
As best understood and for the purpose of the examination the Examiner interpreted “an end stop formed by the lower forming punch for a lower pressure piece that can be moved relative to it” as “the lower forming punch is capable to be moved relative to a lower pressure piece, the lower forming punch having an end stop for stop the movement of the lower pressure piece”.
Claims 2-12 are rejected because they depend from claim 1.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the sum" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the thickness" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the width" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the second gap" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 4, in line 3 the phrase “the second gap” render the claim indefinite because it is unclear what is meant by “the second gap”.
As best understood and for the purpose of the examination the Examiner interpreted claim 4 is depended form claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jensen (US4382737A).
Regarding claim 1, Jensen discloses a tool for forming sheet metal blanks provided with a material layer on one or both sides (abstract, fig.22B and col.12 line 18-col.13; the device is capable to process sheet metal blanks provided with a material layer on one or both sides), said tool: comprising
a cutting bell (fig.22B: (278)) which is rigidly coupled to an upper forming punch (fig.22B: (280)) and a drawing cushion (fig.22B: (294)) which is coupled to a hold-down device (fig.22B: (284)), the upper forming punch and a lower forming punch (fig.22B: (290)) being movable relative to one another to close the tool;
a first gap being present between the cutting bell and the hold-down device when the tool is closed (fig.22B: the gap between elements (278) and (284)); and
an end stop formed by the lower forming punch for a lower pressure piece (fig.22B: (288)) that can be moved relative to it (fig.22B: the element (288) is fixedly relative to the element (290)), that the sheet metal blank can be clamped between the upper forming punch and the lower pressure piece, and that during a relative movement between the lower forming punch and the lower pressure piece, the upper forming punch and the lower pressure piece remain in their position relative to one another clamping the sheet metal blank.
Regarding claim 2, Jensen discloses wherein the lower forming punch (fig.22B: (290)) comprises a pocket-shaped recess in which the lower pressure piece (fig.22B: (288)) is accommodated.
Regarding claim 3, Jensen discloses wherein the sheet metal blank can be clamped between the upper forming punch and the lower pressure piece in such a way that a second gap S2 is formed between the sheet metal blank and the cutting bell (fig.22B: the gap between elements (278) and blank).
Regarding claim 4, Jensen discloses wherein the width of the first gap S is the sum of the thickness D of the sheet metal blank and the width of the second gap S2 (fig.22B).
Regarding claim 7, Jensen discloses wherein the drawing cushion (fig.22B: (294)) is rigidly coupled to the hold-down device (fig.22B: (284)) and the lower pressure piece (fig.22B: (288)).
Regarding claim 8, Jensen discloses wherein the hold-down device (fig.22B: (284)) is connected to a drawing cushion (fig.22B: (294)) via at least one drawing pin.
Regarding claim 9, Jensen discloses wherein the lower pressure piece (fig.22B: (288)) is connected to the drawing cushion (fig.22B: (294)) via at least one drawing pin.
Regarding claim 10, Jensen discloses further comprising an ejector (fig.22B: (292)) is provided for ejecting the formed sheet.
Regarding claim 11, Jensen discloses wherein the ejector (fig.22B: (292)) and the drawing cushion (fig.22B: (294)) are subjected to a permanent force.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jensen (US4382737A).
Regarding claims 5-6 and 12; Jensen does not disclose wherein the width is up to 200% greater than the thickness; wherein the width is 0.1 mm greater than the thickness; and wherein the width (W) is 10-50% greater than the thickness.
However, choosing the relative dimensions of the parts of the tool and the blank is very known in art and a matter of routine engineering design choice that depends on the general design of the tool and specific requirements of the process as desired;
Therefore; it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to select the relative dimensions of the parts of the tool and the blank as desired, including wherein the width is up to 200% greater than the thickness; wherein the width is 0.1 mm greater than the thickness; and wherein the width (W) is 10-50% greater than the in order to meet a specific requirement of the process of the as desired..
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED S. ALAWADI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725