DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: in the last line of the claim applicant writes “axel” which appears to be a misspelling of the word “axle”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 remains rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Specifically, the claim recites "an axle support member inwardly extending from a bottom portion of legs of the telescopic handle", which could mean inward in the direction of the two supports of the handle or it could mean inward towards the back of the base container. Alternatively there could be another inward orientation to be considered as well as there has been no scope provided in the claim to establish inwardly extending relative to what.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7-9, 17, 19, 28, and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C.
102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Katz (US 7,845,653).
With regards to claim 1, Katz discloses a transportable container assembly comprising a base container (20) configured with upright extending side walls defining a top opening (28) of the base container, a slidable lid (48) is slidingly displaceable over the top opening of the base container between a closed position wherein the lid coextends over and covers the top opening (Figures 1-2) , and an open position wherein the lid is displaced backwards and exposes the base container (Figures 3-9) to allow access thereto; wherein the slidable lid is configured with an articulation arrangement (Column 4, Lines 25-30) for detachably articulating thereto at least one utility module (40), and wherein a back portion of the lid is configured with a handle assembly (70, 71, 72, 74, 80, 81, 82) and a locomotive arrangement (60 and 62) for locomoting the container assembly at the closed position, wherein the handle assembly is a telescopic handle (via 76) manipulable between a collapsed position and at least one retracted position, and the locomotive arrangement is a wheel assembly (60) disposed at a bottom portion of the handle assembly, and wherein the container assembly is locomoted over the wheel assembly by tilting the container assembly backwards, and at a retracted position of the telescopic handle, a bottommost end (72 and 74) of the telescopic handle extends below an axle (62) of the wheel assembly (60) and above a bottom face of the base container (Figures 2- 3, 5-7).
NOTE: The claim as currently worded does not define the sections of what Applicant is defining as the sections of the telescopic handle. It is Examiner’s understanding that Applicant is attempting to claim that member 82 has elements 86 integrally formed as one U-shaped member that slides within the element with the identification marking of 84. So that when the telescopic handle is fully extended upwards the bottommost end is above the axle and when fully retracted the bottommost end of the handle extends below the axle. Applicant may need to both further define the sections of the telescopic handle and the state of the bottommost end’s different positions based on the associated state. Also, Applicant may want to review Chen et al. (US 12,459,105) (Figure 7 in particular) and Brunner (WO 2017/098511) when considering this amendment.
With regards to 3, Katz discloses the transportable container assembly according to claim 1, wherein the wheel assembly comprises at least a pair of wheels wherein a tangent of the wheels is leveled with a bottom face of the base container (Figure 5).
With regards to claim 4, Katz discloses the transportable container assembly according to claim 1, wherein the wheels are disposed at a fixed elevation, and wherein when the container assembly is positioned over a flat support surface, displacing the slidable lid into its open position entails rolling displacement of the wheels over a ground surface.
With regards to claim 5, Katz discloses the transportable container assembly according to claim 1, wherein a roll axis of the wheels extends (i) below bottom ends of legs of the handle assembly (Figure 5), or (ii) between a back face of the base container and the front face of the handle assembly.
With regards to claim 7, Katz discloses the transportable container assembly according to claim 1, wherein an axle (62) of the wheels is articulable to an axle support member inwardly extending from a bottom portion of legs of the telescopic handle.
With regards to claim 8, Katz discloses the transportable container assembly according to claim 7, wherein the wheels axle is supported by two support members (bottom portions of 74 and 72, respectively), each extending at a bottom of a respective leg of the handle assembly.
With regards to claim 9, Katz discloses the transportable container assembly according to claim 1, wherein an axle of the wheels is articulable to a non-displaceable bottom support segment of the handle assembly, thereby retaining the wheels at a fixed elevation.
With regards to claim 17, Katz discloses the transportable container assembly according to claim 1, wherein the slidable lid is configured at a back end thereof with a downwardly extending portion, wherein at the closed position of the slidable lid a front face of said downwardly extending portion extends behind a rear face of a rear top edge of the base container.
With regards to claim 19, Katz discloses the transportable container assembly according to claim 1, wherein at the fully closed position of the slidable lid, a portion of the wheels is received within depressions (24) configured at respective side walls of the base container.
With regards to claim 28, Katz discloses the transportable container assembly according to claim 1, wherein the utility module is detachably attachable over the top face of the slidable lid, regardless of the position of the slidable lid and/or of the telescopic handle.
With regards to claim 38, Katz discloses the transportable container assembly according to claim 1, wherein the articulation arrangement is configured at any location of the of the slidable lid (Column 4, Lines 25-30).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katz (US 7,845,653) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Brunner (US 2010/0052276).
With regards to claim 13, Katz discloses the transportable container assembly according to claim 1 but fails to disclose wherein at the closed position of the slidable lid, a bottom face portion of a wheel axle support indention of the base container bears over a top face of said axle support members. However, Brunner, teaches this feature, as illustrated best in Figures 12A and 12B. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have incorporated the teachings of Brunner into Katz in order to allow a further retention of the wheel assembly in to the base container, providing further protection around the wheels of the device.
Claim(s) 31 and 34-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katz (US 7,845,653) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Brunner (WO 2014/125484).
With regards to claim 31, Katz discloses the transportable container assembly according to claim 1, but fails to explicitly disclose, while Brunner teaches, wherein the slidable lid is slidably articulated over the base container by a rail mechanism disposed at respective side ends of the base container and slidable lid, wherein the rail mechanism is a telescopic rail set, comprising a first rail member (52) articulated at a top portion of the base container, and a second rail member articulated at a bottom portion (54) of the slidable lid, wherein the first rail member and the second rail member are engaged with one another and configured for sliding displacement with respect to one another. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have incorporated the teachings of Brunner in to the invention of Katz as it would have been an art recognized equivalent to the rail arrangement generally discussed in the Katz reference to achieve the objective of being able to access the containers by linear displacement of the lid.
With regards to claim 34, the combination of Katz and Brunner teaches the transportable container assembly according to claim 31 wherein the first rail member is secured at an inside top side edges of the base container, and the second rail member is configured at an outside-facing wall portion of the slidable lid, respectively (Figures 5A and 5B).
With regards to claim 35, the combination of Katz and Brunner teaches the transportable container assembly according to claim 1, and Brunner further teaches wherein either or both of the base container and the slidable lid comprise a sliding restricting arrangement (80), configured for restricted sliding displacement of the sliding lid between a fully open position and a closed position thereof. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have incorporated the teachings of Brunner in to the invention of Katz as it would have been an art recognized equivalent to the lock arrangement generally discussed in the Katz reference to achieve the objective of being able to secure access to the bin for security and transport.
Claim(s) 37 and 39-43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katz (US 7,845,653) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Brunner (US 2019/0002004).
With regards to claim 37, Katz discloses the transportable container assembly according to claim 1, however, while Katz generally discloses an articulation arrangement on the lid, it is not so specific as to exact placement, but Brunner teaches wherein the articulation arrangement is configured at a top face of the slidable lid (245). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have incorporated the teachings of Brunner in to the invention of Katz in order to provide an easy to access locking means for securing stacked elements relative to one another to avoid the stack falling when tilted and rolled.
With regards to claim 39, the combination of Katz and Brunner teaches the transportable container assembly according to claim 1, wherein the articulation arrangement is configured at either or both side portions of the slidable lid (245), and/or the articulation arrangement can be disposed at either or both back and front portions of the slidable lid.
With regards to claim 40, the combination of Katz and Brunner teaches the transportable container assembly according to claim 1, wherein the articulation arrangement is configured for attaching a utility module having a smaller footprint than that of the lid assembly (240 and 230 nesting arrangement).
With regards to claim 41, the combination of Katz and Brunner teaches the transportable container assembly according to claim 1, wherein the articulation arrangement (245) comprises at least one locking member (248) pivotally secured to the lid assembly, and the utility module is configured with a locking receptacle (254); wherein the locking member is configured with at least one locking latch (250) configurable for locking engagement within said locking receptacle; and wherein the locking member is pivotally displaceable between a locked position in which the at least one locking latch is radially engaged within the locking receptacle, and an unlocked position in which the locking member is outwardly pivoted and the at least one locking latch is disengaged from the locking receptacle (Paragraph [0136]).
With regards to claim 42, Katz discloses the transportable container assembly according to claim 1, however, while Katz generally discloses an articulation arrangement on the lid, it is not so specific as to exact design, but Brunner teaches wherein the articulation arrangement comprises a sliding locking mechanism (60), wherein the lid assembly is configured with a first locking member (64) and the utility module is configured at a bottom portion thereof with a second locking member (90); such that when the utility module rests over the lid assembly, said first locking member and said second locking members are aligned and are configured for lockingly interacting with one another (Paragraphs 0115 and 0116). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have incorporated the teachings of Brunner into the invention of Katz in order to provide an easy to access locking means for securing stacked elements relative to one another to avoid the stack falling when tilted and rolled.
With regards to claim 43, the combination of Katz and Brunner teaches the transportable container assembly according to claim 1, wherein the articulation arrangement comprises a pair of pivoting latch members (245), each disposed near an opposite end of the lid assembly, and the utility module is configured at a bottom portion thereof with a pair of spaced apart locking retaining members (254) for detachable articulation with the pivoting latch members of the slidable lid; wherein the slidable lid is configured with a top bearing face (230) and said utility module is configured with a bottom bearing face (240), whereby the pivoting latch members can be arrested by the locking retaining members when the bottom bearing face bears over the top bearing face.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8-9 of Applicant’s remarks, filed June 18, 2026, with respect to the Objections to the Specification, Objections to the Drawings, and the Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) (with respect to claims 13 and 33) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Objections to the Specification, Objections to the Drawings, and the Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) (with respect to claims 13 and 33) have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed June 18, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 112 rejection of claim 7 still remains for the same reasons regarding the usage of the language “inwardly extending” and a lack of defined relationship with the other elements. Also, arguments surrounding the amendment to claim 1 are not persuasive as the lower end of the telescopic handle assembly of Katz (US 7,845,653) discloses the bottommost end as being below the axle, as the axle goes through the walls of this section of the telescopic handle assembly and the bottommost end of the telescopic handle assembly is clearly shown as being above the bottom face of the base container. Examiner has provided a note above regarding the potential intent of the amendment to highlight the need for additional language. That note is being provided here as well: The claim as currently worded does not define the sections of what Applicant is defining as the sections of the telescopic handle. It is Examiner’s understanding that Applicant is attempting to claim that member 82 has elements 86 integrally formed as one U-shaped member that slides within the element with the identification marking of 84. So that when the telescopic handle is fully extended upwards the bottommost end is above the axle and when fully retracted the bottommost end of the handle extends below the axle. Applicant may need to both further define the sections of the telescopic handle and the state of the bottommost end’s different positions based on the associated state. Also, Applicant may want to review Chen et al. (US 12,459,105) (Figure 7 in particular) and Brunner (WO 2017/098511) when considering this amendment.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Supervisory Patent Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Supervisory Patent Examiner’s supervisor, TC Director Joseph Thomas can be reached at 571-272-8004. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
JOHN R. OLSZEWSKI
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3617
/JOHN OLSZEWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3617