DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims and Other Notes
Claims 1–14 are pending.
The paragraph numbers cited in this Office Action in reference to the instant application are referring to the paragraph numbering of the PG-Pub of the instant application. See US 2024/0413426 A1.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 09 April 2024, 31 January 2025, and 23 April 2025 were filed before the mailing of a first Office Action on the merits. The submissions comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
The numbers and letters identifying the views are associated with brackets. Numbers and letters identifying the views must be simple and clear and must not be used in association with brackets, circles, or inverted commas. The view numbers must be larger than the numbers used for reference characters. See 37 CFR 1.84 (u)(2).
FIGS. 1–9 do not have satisfactory reproduction characteristics. See US 2024/0413426 A1. All drawings must be made by a process, which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well defined. The weight of all lines and letters must be heavy enough to permit adequate reproduction. This requirement applies to all lines however fine, to shading, and to lines representing cut surfaces in sectional views. Lines and strokes of different thicknesses may be used in the same drawing where different thicknesses have a different meaning. See 37 CFR 1.84 (l).
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: ENDOTHERMIC POUCH ASSEMBLY INCLUDING RIM FRAME BINDING HEAT-FUSION SEALING PORTION OF ENDOTHERMIC POUCH FOR SECONDARY BATTERIES.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2–10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "a first vulnerable portion." The term "vulnerable" is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite (see vulnerable, New Oxford American Dictionary). The term "vulnerable" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the limitation "a first vulnerable portion" is indefinite.
Claim 3 is directly dependent from claim 2 and includes all the limitations of claim 2. Therefore, claim 3 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "a remainder of the heat-fusion sealing portion." Claim 2, which claim 4 is indirectly dependent, recites the limitation "a remainder of the heat-fusion sealing portion." It is unclear if "a remainder" recited in claim 4 is further limiting or referencing "a remainder" of claim 2. Claim 2 provides antecedent basis for the term "a remainder." However, claim 4 does not include "the" or "said" indicating the term is further limiting or referencing the previously recited term.
Claim 5 is directly dependent from claim 4, is indirectly dependent from claim 2, and includes all the limitations of claims 2 and 4. Therefore, claim 5 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "a superabsorbent matrix." The term "superabsorbent" is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite (see super-absorbent, Canadian Oxford Dictionary; see extremely, New Oxford American Dictionary). The term "superabsorbent" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the limitation "a superabsorbent matrix" is indefinite.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "a superabsorbent polymer." The term "superabsorbent" is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite (see super-absorbent, Canadian Oxford Dictionary; see extremely, New Oxford American Dictionary). The term "superabsorbent" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the limitation "a superabsorbent polymer" is indefinite.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "a superabsorbent fiber." The term "superabsorbent" is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite (see super-absorbent, Canadian Oxford Dictionary; see extremely, New Oxford American Dictionary). The term "superabsorbent" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the limitation "a superabsorbent fiber" is indefinite.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the surface tension" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the superabsorbent matrix." The term "superabsorbent" is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite (see super-absorbent, Canadian Oxford Dictionary; see extremely, New Oxford American Dictionary). The term "superabsorbent" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the limitation "the superabsorbent matrix" is indefinite.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "causing a phase change to gas." It is unclear what element is cause to phase change to gas.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the pressure" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the bursting strength" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the first vulnerable portion" in lines 3–4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the first vulnerable portion." The term "vulnerable" is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite (see vulnerable, New Oxford American Dictionary). The term "vulnerable" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the limitation "the first vulnerable portion" is indefinite.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "allowing gas inside the endothermic pouch" in line 4. Claim 9 has previously recited the limitation "causing a phase change to gas" in line 2 It is unclear if "gas" recited in line 4 is further limiting or referencing "gas" recited in line 2. The term "gas" in line 4 does not include "the" or "said" indicating the term is further limiting or referencing the previously recited term.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the venting induction hole" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "a second vulnerable portion." The term "vulnerable" is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite (see vulnerable, New Oxford American Dictionary). The term "vulnerable" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the limitation "a second vulnerable portion" is indefinite.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "a remainder of the heat-fusion sealing portion." Claim 2, which claim 10 is indirectly dependent, recites the limitation "a remainder of the heat-fusion sealing portion." It is unclear if "a remainder" recited in claim 10 is further limiting or referencing "a remainder" of claim 2. Claim 2 provides antecedent basis for the term "a remainder." However, claim 10 does not include "the" or "said" indicating the term is further limiting or referencing the previously recited term.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "a bursting strength of the first vulnerable portion." Claim 2, which claim 10 is indirectly dependent, recites the limitation "a first vulnerable portion having a lower bursting strength." It is unclear if "a bursting strength" recited in claim 10 is further limiting or referencing "bursting strength" of claim 2. Claim 2 provides antecedent basis for the term "bursting strength." However, claim 10 does not include "the" or "said" indicating the term is further limiting or referencing the previously recited term.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the first vulnerable portion." The term "vulnerable" is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite (see vulnerable, New Oxford American Dictionary). The term "vulnerable" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the limitation "the first vulnerable portion" is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 6–9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ninomiya et al. (US 2022/0006158 A1, hereinafter Ninomiya).
Regarding claim 1, Ninomiya discloses an endothermic pouch assembly (1, [0040]) comprising:
an endothermic pouch (110) with liquid-impregnated absorbent material (130) sealed inside (FIG. 1A, [0045]) and
a heat-fusion sealing portion (121) formed along a rim of the endothermic pouch (110, [0079]); and
a pouch cartridge (110a) comprising a pair of rim frames (110a) that bind the heat-fusion sealing portion (121) of the endothermic pouch (110) at opposite sides of the endothermic pouch (110, [0044]).
Regarding claim 6, Ninomiya discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an endothermic pouch assembly:
wherein the absorbent material (130) is a superabsorbent matrix (see porous body, [0070]).
Regarding claim 7, Ninomiya discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an endothermic pouch assembly:
wherein the superabsorbent matrix comprises a superabsorbent polymer or superabsorbent fiber (see porous body, [0070]).
Regarding claim 8, Ninomiya discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an endothermic pouch assembly:
wherein the liquid is water mixed with additives (see liquid, [0059]), and
wherein the additive is a substance that lowers the surface tension of water, or is a fire extinguishing agent (see liquid, [0059]).
Regarding claim 9, Ninomiya discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an endothermic pouch assembly:
wherein the liquid impregnated in the superabsorbent matrix absorbs heat, causing a phase change to gas (see evaporation, [0069]), and
wherein when the pressure of the gas exceeds the bursting strength of the first vulnerable portion (140), the first vulnerable portion (140) fractures, allowing gas inside the endothermic pouch (110) to be inductively ejected through the venting induction hole (FIG. 4, [0081]).
Claims 1–5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maeda et al. (US 2008/0292950, hereinafter Maeda).
Regarding claim 1, Maeda discloses an endothermic pouch assembly (FIG. 10, [0112]) comprising:
an endothermic pouch (52) with liquid-impregnated absorbent material sealed inside (FIG. 10, [0116]) and
a heat-fusion sealing portion formed along a rim of the endothermic pouch (52, [0116]); and
a pouch cartridge (30) comprising a pair of rim frames (30) that bind the heat-fusion sealing portion of the endothermic pouch (52) at opposite sides of the endothermic pouch (52, [0112]).
Regarding claim 2, Maeda discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an endothermic pouch assembly:
wherein the heat-fusion sealing portion is provided with a first vulnerable portion (14) having a lower bursting strength than a remainder of the heat-fusion sealing portion (FIG. 9, [0122]), and
wherein the rim frame (30) is provided with a venting induction hole aligned with the first vulnerable portion (FIG. 10, [0116]).
Regarding claim 3, Maeda discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an endothermic pouch assembly:
wherein the pouch cartridge (30) exposes a surface of the endothermic pouch (52) in an interior region of the rim frame (30, [0117]).
Regarding claim 10, Maeda discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an endothermic pouch assembly:
wherein the endothermic pouch (53) is provided with a second vulnerable portion (15L) having a lower bursting strength than a remainder of the heat-fusion sealing portion (FIG. 11, [0131]),
the second vulnerable portion (15L) on a surface of the endothermic pouch not covered by the pouch cartridge (34, [0127]), and
wherein the bursting strength of the second vulnerable portion (15L) is higher than a bursting strength of the first vulnerable portion (15H, [0133]).
Regarding claim 4, Maeda discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an endothermic pouch assembly:
wherein the endothermic pouch (53) is provided with a second vulnerable portion (15L) having a lower bursting strength than a remainder of the heat-fusion sealing portion (FIG. 11, [0131]),
the second vulnerable portion (15L) on a surface of the endothermic pouch (53) not covered by the pouch cartridge (34, [0127]).
Regarding claim 5, Maeda discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an endothermic pouch assembly:
wherein the second vulnerable portion (15L) is located directly inside the pouch cartridge (34) at a location of the venting induction hole (FIG. 15, [0127]).
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ninomiya et al. (JP 2020-161290 A, hereinafter Ninomiya '290).
Regarding claim 1, Ninomiya '290 discloses an endothermic pouch assembly (1, [0040]) comprising:
an endothermic pouch (110) with liquid-impregnated absorbent material (130) sealed inside (FIG. 2A, [0029]) and
a heat-fusion sealing portion (121) formed along a rim of the endothermic pouch (110, [0054]); and
a pouch cartridge (110a) comprising a pair of rim frames (110a) that bind the heat-fusion sealing portion (121) of the endothermic pouch (110) at opposite sides of the endothermic pouch (110, [0029]).
Regarding claim 2, Ninomiya '290 discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an endothermic pouch assembly:
wherein the heat-fusion sealing portion (110a) is provided with a first vulnerable portion (W) having a lower bursting strength than a remainder of the heat-fusion sealing portion (110a, [0017]), and
wherein the rim frame (110a) is provided with a venting induction hole aligned with the first vulnerable portion (W, [0064]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11–14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ninomiya (US 2022/0006158 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Binder (US 2022/0115733 A1).
Regarding claims 11–14, Ninomiya discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose an endothermic pouch assembly:
wherein the heat-fusion sealing portion of the endothermic pouch is provided with at least one guide hole, and
wherein at least one of the pair of rim frames is provided with a projection that inserts into the at least one guide hole;
wherein the endothermic pouch and the rim frame are mutually aligned by an insertion of the projection of the rim frame into the at least one guide hole of the endothermic pouch;
wherein the pair of rim frames are each equipped with a pair of hooks, respectively, and
wherein the pair of rim frames are bound together by the engagement of the pair of hooks; and
wherein the heat-fusion sealing portion of the endothermic pouch has an incision formed in a position corresponding to the pair of hooks.
Binder discloses an endothermic pouch assembly (1) comprising an endothermic pouch (30) having a heat-fusion sealing portion provided with at least one guide hole (311, [0132]), and a pair of rim frames (10) is provided with a projection (141) that inserts into the at least one guide hole (311, [0097]); wherein the endothermic pouch (30) and the rim frame (10) are mutually aligned by an insertion of the projection (141) of the rim frame (10) into the at least one guide hole (311) of the endothermic pouch (30, [0097]); wherein the pair of rim frames (10) are each equipped with a pair of hooks (142), respectively, and wherein the pair of rim frames (10) are bound together by the engagement of the pair of hooks (142, [0097]); and wherein the heat-fusion sealing portion of the endothermic pouch (30) has an incision (312) formed in a position corresponding to the pair of hooks (142, [0097]) to improve the efficiency of cell cooling (see thermal control, [0087]). Ninomiya and Binder are analogous because they are directed to endothermic pouch assemblies. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the endothermic pouch assembly of Ninomiya with the rim frame of Binder in order to improve the efficiency of cell cooling.
Conclusion
/Sean P Cullen, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725