DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the Remark filed on 6/4/26.
Claim(s) 47, 54 & 61 was/were amended.
Claim(s) 47-66 is/are presented for examination.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 47-66 is/are unclear to the examiner; what does it mean by stating “the first synchronization indication comprising the second clock domain identification information and a first moment at which the second device sends the first synchronization indication”? The claim languages are not clear on exactly what are the “moments” impact the synchronization of the clocks. What is the claim invention? What is the Applicant trying to solve? Please clarify
Claim(s) 49, 56 & 63 is/are unclear to the examiner; what does it mean by stating “updating, by the first device, the clock domain identification information of the first device to the second clock domain identification information and sending the first synchronization request to the second device when the quality of the signal between the first device and the second master device meets the first condition and a ranking priority of the second master device is higher than a ranking priority of the first master device”? The claim languages are not clear about the “ranking priority” for? What does the ranking have anything to do with anything? what exactly the claim trying to solve? Please clarify
Claim(s) 50, 57 & 64 is/are unclear to the examiner; what does it mean by stating “sending, by the first device, a first domain merge request to a third device, the third device being located in a first island of the mesh network system, the first island including the first and third devices, the third device being an island owner of the first island, wherein the first domain merge request comprises information about the second master device, the information about the second master device comprises identification information of the second master device or the second clock domain identification information, and the third device updates clock domain identification information of the third device to the second clock domain identification information based upon the information about the second master device”? the claim languages are not clear about the involvement of the “island”? what is the island have anything to do with the claim invention? What about the domain merge request when it only comprises “information about the second master device”? what exactly the claim trying to solve? Please clarify
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 47-66 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2016/0374041 A1 in view of Dai, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2023/0239771 A1, and Kim, US 2023/0059797 A1, and further in view of Hong, US 2019/0053134 A1.
As to claim 47, Zhang teaches a clock synchronization method applied to a first device in a wireless mesh network, the method comprising:
synchronizing a clock of the first device with a clock of a first master device of the wireless mesh network (Zhang, page 1, paragraph 8-9; page 7, paragraph 82; i.e., [0009] to perform synchronization in the second clock domain with another node device in a second node clock domain; and synchronizing, by the first node device, to the second master clock of the second node clock domain; [0082] Further, each node device in the second clock domain may select a second master clock by using the BMC algorithm, and a master clock node device may send a node identifier of itself to the communications controller);
synchronizing a clock of a second device with a second clock of a second master device (Zhang, page 1, paragraph 8-9; page 7, paragraph 82; i.e., [0009] to perform synchronization in the second clock domain with another node device in a second node clock domain, and carries a second master clock of the second node clock domain; [0082] a master clock node device may send a node identifier of itself to the communications controller, so that the communications controller learns that the second master clock in the current first node clock domain belongs to which node device);
receiving, by the first device, first information sent by the second device in the wireless mesh network, wherein the first information is a data frame or a management frame, the first information comprising second clock domain identification information (Zhang, page 1, paragraph 8-9; page 7, paragraph 82; i.e., [0009] to perform synchronization in the second clock domain with another node device in a second node clock domain; and synchronizing, by the first node device, to the second master clock of the second node clock domain; [0082] Further, each node device in the second clock domain may select a second master clock by using the BMC algorithm, and a master clock node device may send a node identifier of itself to the communications controller);
updating, by the first device, clock domain identification information of the first device to the second clock domain identification information (Zhang, page 6, paragraph 61 & 66; i.e., [0061] The first clock domain selection parameter includes various attribute parameters, such as a priority, a quality level, precision, stability, a clock domain, a clock identity, an attribute indicating one-step/two-step synchronization in protocol use, and a path attribute; [0066] the first clock domain selection parameter all are subtracted by a constant, so that the priority changes from 1 to 0, or changes from 2 to 1. Because the BMC algorithm is preset, a clock with a smaller priority value may have higher precision);
receiving, by the first device, a first synchronization indication from the second device in response to the first synchronization request, and a first moment at which the second device sends the first synchronization indication (Zhang, page 1, paragraph 8-9; page 7, paragraph 82; i.e., [[0009] to perform synchronization in the second clock domain with another node device in a second node clock domain; and synchronizing, by the first node device, to the second master clock of the second node clock domain; [0082] a master clock node device may send a node identifier of itself to the communications controller); and
synchronizing, by the first device, the clock of the first device to the second clock based on the second clock domain identification information and the first moment (Zhang, page 6, paragraph 61 & 66; i.e., [0061] The first clock domain selection parameter includes various attribute parameters, such as a priority, a quality level, precision, stability, a clock domain, a clock identity, an attribute indicating one-step/two-step synchronization in protocol use, and a path attribute; [0066] the first clock domain selection parameter all are subtracted by a constant, so that the priority changes from 1 to 0, or changes from 2 to 1. Because the BMC algorithm is preset, a clock with a smaller priority value may have higher precision).
But Zhang failed to teach the claim limitation wherein sending a first synchronization request to the second device when quality of a signal between the first device and the second master device meets a first condition; wherein the first synchronization indication is a beacon frame or a period notification frame (PNF) frame, the first synchronization indication comprising the second clock domain identification information in an Address3 (Addr3) field; the second clock domain identification information being located in a media access control (MAC) header of the data frame or the management frame in an Address3 (Addr3) field; wherein the first moment is a timing synchronization function (TSF) carried in a timestamp field of the beacon frame or the period notification frame (PNF) frame; wherein synchronizing comprises updating the first device based on a timing synchronization function (TSF) carried in the timestamp field of the beacon frame or the period notification frame (PNF) frame.
However, Dai teaches the limitation wherein sending a first synchronization request to the second device when quality of a signal between the first device and the second master device meets a first condition (Dai, page 4, paragraph 63; i.e., [0063] cell having the strongest sub-signal strength, any second cell in a second cell set in which the sub-signal strength exceeds a threshold, and a second cell whose signal
strength is greater than the signal strength of the first cell. When the detected signal strength of the second cell is less than the threshold, or when the detected signal strength of all the second cells is less than the signal strength of the first cell).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang to substitute cyclic prefix-preconfigured uplink resource from Dai for time division duplex from Zhang to satisfy ever-increasing traffic requirements, the entire evolution of mobile communications from the 1st generation mobile communication technology (1G) to 5G (Dai, page 1, paragraph 2).
However, Kim teaches the limitation wherein the first synchronization indication is a beacon frame or a period notification frame (PNF) frame, the first synchronization indication comprising the second clock domain identification information in an Address3 (Addr3) field; the second clock domain identification information being located in a media access control (MAC) header of the data frame or the management frame in an Address3 (Addr3) field (Kim, figure 10; page 6, paragraph 98; page 7, paragraph 108; i.e., [0098] The MAC header includes a frame control field, a duration/ID field, an address field, etc. The frame control field may include control information necessary for frame transmission/reception; [0108] the BSS configuration parameter set sets a field of each of Address 1 and Address 3 fields of the probe request frame to BSSID of the AP; ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang to substitute AP-CSN from Kim for access node from Zhang to performing active scanning based on a previously obtained BSS configuration parameter (1G) to 5G (Kim, page 1, paragraph 1).
However, Hong teaches the limitation wherein the first moment is a timing synchronization function (TSF) carried in a timestamp field of the beacon frame or the period notification frame (PNF) frame; wherein synchronizing comprises updating the first device based on a timing synchronization function (TSF) carried in the timestamp field of the beacon frame or the period notification frame (PNF) frame (Hong, page 2, paragraph 31; page 4, paragraph 84; i.e., [0031] the station to maintain time synchronization with the access point is to listen to time synchronization function (TSF) information in the beacon frame broadcasted by the access point to update its own clock, so as to achieve synchronization; [0084] the access point
(the timestamp is continuously maintained by the terminal after the association is completed, that is, it is always updated over time) to update the clocks of link 1 and link 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang to substitute MLA from Hong for uplink/downlink from Zhang to simultaneous transmission of data in multiple frequency bands to improve transmission efficiency (Hong, page 1, paragraph 2).
As to claim 48, Zhang-Dai-Kim-Hong teaches the method as recited in claim 47. But Zhang-Kim-Hong failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the first condition comprises at least one of an indication of quality of the signal between the first device and the second master device is greater than quality of a signal between the first device and the first master device, or quality of the signal between the first device and the second master device is greater than a preset quality threshold (Zhang, page 1, paragraph 8-9; page 7, paragraph 82; i.e., [0009] to perform synchronization in the second clock domain with another node device; and synchronizing, by the first node device, to the second master clock of the second node clock domain; [0082] a master clock node device may send a node identifier of itself to the communications controller, so that the communications controller learns that the second master clock in the current first node clock domain belongs to which node device).
However, Dai teaches the limitation wherein the first condition comprises at least one of an indication of quality of the signal between the first device and the second master device is greater than quality of a signal between the first device and the first master device, or quality of the signal between the first device and the second master device is greater than a preset quality threshold (Dai, page 4, paragraph 63; i.e., [0063] cell having the strongest sub-signal strength, any second cell in a second cell set in which the sub-signal strength exceeds a threshold, and a second cell whose signal strength is greater than the signal strength of the first cell. When the detected signal strength of the second cell is less than the threshold, or when the detected signal strength of all the second cells is less than the signal strength of the first cell, the UE accesses the first cell ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang-Kim-Hong to substitute cyclic prefix-preconfigured uplink resource from Dai for time division duplex from Zhang-Kim-Hong to satisfy ever-increasing traffic requirements, the entire evolution of mobile communications from the 1st generation mobile communication technology (1G) to 5G (Dai, page 1, paragraph 2).
As to claim 49, Zhang-Dai-Kim-Hong teaches the method as recited in claim 47, wherein updating, by the first device, the clock domain identification information of the first device to the second clock domain identification information and sending the first synchronization request to the second device when a ranking priority of the second master device is higher than a ranking priority of the first master device (Zhang, page 6, paragraph 61 & 66; i.e., [0061] The first clock domain selection parameter includes various attribute parameters, such as a priority, a quality level, precision, stability, a clock domain, a clock identity, an attribute indicating one-step/two-step synchronization in protocol use, and a path attribute; [0066] the first clock domain selection parameter all are subtracted by a constant, so that the priority changes from 1 to 0, or changes from 2 to 1. Because the BMC algorithm is preset, a clock with a smaller priority value may have higher precision; precision of a master clock whose priority is 0 is higher than precision of a master clock whose priority is 1).
But Zhang-Kim-Hong failed to teach the claim limitation wherein sending the first synchronization request to the second device when the quality of the signal between the first device and the second master device meets the first condition.
However, Dai teaches the limitation wherein sending the first synchronization request to the second device when the quality of the signal between the first device and the second master device meets the first condition (Dai, page 4, paragraph 63; i.e., [0063] cell having the strongest sub-signal strength, any second cell in a second cell set in which the sub-signal strength exceeds a threshold, and a second cell whose signal strength is greater than the signal strength of the first cell. When the detected signal strength of the second cell is less than the threshold, or when the detected signal strength of all the second cells is less than the signal strength of the first cell, the UE accesses the first cell ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang-Kim-Hong to substitute cyclic prefix-preconfigured uplink resource from Dai for time division duplex from Zhang-Kim-Hong to satisfy ever-increasing traffic requirements, the entire evolution of mobile communications from the 1st generation mobile communication technology (1G) to 5G (Dai, page 1, paragraph 2).
As to claim 50, Zhang-Dai-Kim-Hong teaches the method as recited in claim 47, further comprising:
sending, by the first device, a first domain merge request to a third device, the third device being located in a first island of the mesh network system, the first island including the first and third devices, the third device being an island owner of the first island, wherein the first domain merge request comprises information about the second master device, the information about the second master device comprises identification information of the second master device or the second clock domain identification information, and the third device updates clock domain identification information of the third device to the second clock domain identification information based upon the information about the second master device (Zhang, page 1, paragraph 8-9; page 7, paragraph 75 & 82; i.e., [0075] the first clock domain selection parameter includes at least one of the following parameters: a priority, a quality level and precision, stability, a clock domain, a clock identity, a synchronization attribute, and a path attribute, where the clock domain is a first clock domain, [0082] a master clock node device may send a node identifier of itself to the communications controller, the second master clock in the current first node clock domain belongs to which node device); and
sending, by the first device, a second synchronization indication to the third device, wherein the second synchronization indication comprises the second clock domain identification information and a second moment at which the first device sends the second synchronization indication (Zhang, page 1, paragraph 8-9; page 7, paragraph 75 & 82; i.e., [0075] Further, the first node device may determine the first master clock by using a BMC algorithm and by using the first clock domain selection parameter, where the first clock domain selection parameter includes at least one of the following parameters: a priority, a quality level and precision, stability, a clock domain, a clock identity, a synchronization attribute, and a path attribute, where the clock domain is a first clock domain; [0082] a master clock node device may send a node identifier of itself to the communications controller, so that the communications controller learns that the second master clock in the current first node clock domain belongs to which node device); and
synchronizing a clock of the third device to the second clock based on the second clock domain identification information and the second moment (Zhang, page 1, paragraph 8-9; page 7, paragraph 75 & 82; i.e., [0075] Further, the first node device may determine the first master clock by using a BMC algorithm and by using the first clock domain selection parameter, where the first clock domain selection parameter includes at least one of the following parameters: a priority, a quality level and precision, stability, a clock domain, a clock identity, a synchronization attribute, and a path attribute, where the clock domain is a first clock domain; [0082] a master clock node device may send a node identifier of itself to the communications controller, so that the communications controller learns that the second master clock in the current first node clock domain belongs to which node device).
As to claim 51, Zhang-Dai-Kim-Hong teaches the method as recited in claim 47, wherein sending, by the first device, a seventh synchronization indication to at least one eighth device in the wireless mesh network system, wherein the seventh synchronization indication comprises a seventh moment at which the first device sends the seventh synchronization indication; and the seventh moment is used by the at least one eighth device to synchronize a clock of the at least one eighth device to the second clock(Zhang, page 1, paragraph 8-9; page 7, paragraph 82; i.e., [0009] to perform synchronization in the second clock domain with another node device; and synchronizing, by the first node device, to the second master clock of the second node clock domain; [0082] a master clock node device may send a node identifier of itself to the communications controller, so that the communications controller learns that the second master clock in the current first node clock domain belongs to which node device) .
As to claim 52, Zhang-Dai-Kim-Hong teaches the method as recited in claim 51, further comprising:
sending, by the first device, a third domain merge request to the first master device, wherein the third domain merge request comprises information about the second master device, the information about the second master device comprising identification information of the second master device or the second clock domain identification information, and the first master device updates clock domain identification information of the first master device to the second clock domain identification information based upon the information about the second master device (Zhang, page 1, paragraph 8-9; page 7, paragraph 82; i.e., [0009] to perform synchronization in the second clock domain with another node device; and synchronizing, by the first node device, to the second master clock of the second node clock domain; [0082] and a master clock node device may send a node identifier of itself to the communications controller, so that the communications controller learns that the second master clock in the current first node clock domain belongs to which node device); and
sending, by the first device, an eighth synchronization indication to the first master device, wherein the eighth synchronization indication comprises the second clock domain identification information and an eighth moment at which the first device sends the eighth synchronization indication, and the first master device synchronizing the clock of the first master device to the second clock based upon the second clock domain identification information and the eighth moment (Zhang, page 1, paragraph 8-9; page 7, paragraph 82; i.e., [0009] to perform synchronization in the second clock domain with another node device; and synchronizing, by the first node device, to the second master clock of the second node clock domain; [0082] the second master clock in the current first node clock domain belongs to which node device).
As to claim 53, Zhang-Dai-Kim-Hong teaches the method as recited in claim 47, wherein sending, by the first device, a tenth synchronization indication to the at least one tenth device, wherein the tenth synchronization indication comprises a tenth moment at which the first device sends the tenth synchronization indication, and the at least one tenth device synchronizes a clock of the at least one tenth device to the second clock based upon the tenth moment(Zhang, page 1, paragraph 8-9; page 7, paragraph 82; i.e., [0009] to perform synchronization in the second clock domain with another node device; and synchronizing, by the first node device, to the second master clock of the second node clock domain; [0082] and a master clock node device may send a node identifier the second master clock in the current first node clock domain belongs to which node device) .
Claim(s) 54-60 & 61-66 is/are directed to system claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 47-53. Therefore, claim(s) 54-60 & 61-66 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 47-53.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim(s) 47-66 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Listing of Relevant Arts
Park, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20190029065 A1 discloses updates uplink transmission using the time synchronization value.
Rune, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20180368135 A1 discloses threshold signal strength and time synchronization.
Contact Information
THUONG NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-3864. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 9:00-6:00.
/THUONG NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416