DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Applicant amended claims 1, 3-6, 8, 12-13, 16-18 (4/9/2024) and cancelled claims 20-63 (4/9/2024). No new matter was added. Thus, claims 1-19 are under examination.
Priority
Claims 1-19 receive a priority date of 10/10/2021, the filing date of US Provisional No. 63254161.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
No Information Disclosure Statements were submitted, and therefore none were considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan et al. (US PGPub 2018/0088112 A1; published 3/29/2018).
Regarding claims 1-8, Fan teaches that some embodiments disclosed herein provide a plurality of compositions each comprising a protein binding reagent conjugated with an oligonucleotide, where the oligonucleotide comprises a unique identifier for the protein binding reagent it is conjugated with, and the protein binding reagent is capable of specifically binding to a protein target, and further disclosed are methods and kits for quantitative analysis of a plurality of protein targets in a sample and for simultaneous quantitative analysis of protein and nucleic acid targets in a sample, and also disclosed herein are systems and methods for preparing a labeled biomolecule reagent, including a labeled biomolecule agent comprising a protein binding reagent conjugated with an oligonucleotide (Abstract).
Further, Fan teaches that in some embodiments, the label comprises a fluorophore, a chromophore, a polypeptide, a protein, an enzyme, an enzyme substrate, a catalyst, a redox label, a radiolabels, an acoustic label, a Raman (SERS) tag, a mass tag, an isotope tag, a magnetic particle, a microparticle, a nanoparticle, an oligonucleotide, or any combination thereof. In some embodiments, the label comprises an enzyme, an enzyme substrate, or a combination thereof, and wherein the enzyme is capable of modifying the enzyme substrate into a corresponding modified enzyme substrate (Paragraph 202, lines 1-5). Fan also teaches that the label is conjugated to the biomolecule through a linker, where the label can comprise the linker and the linker can comprise a chemical group and the chemical group can be reversibly attached to the biomolecule where the chemical group can be selected from the group consisting of a UV photocleavable group, a streptavidin, a biotin, an amine, and any combination thereof (Paragraph 207, lines 1-3). Fan also teaches that the unique identifier may not be homologous to genomic sequences of a sample, where the sample can be a single cell, a plurality of cells, a tissue, a tumor sample, or any combination thereof (the sample can be a mammalian sample, a bacterial sample, a viral sample, a yeast sample, a fungal sample, or any combination thereof), and the oligonucleotide can comprise a barcode sequence (e.g., a molecular label sequence), a poly(A) tail, or a combination thereof (Paragraph 208, lines 1-5).
Specifically, Fan teaches that in some embodiment, the biomolecule comprises a polypeptide, a nucleic acid, a polysaccharide, or any combination thereof, where the nucleic acid can be an oligonucleotide, DNA or RNA and the polypeptide can be a protein, an enzyme or a protein binding reagent, where the protein binding reagent can comprise an antibody, an aptamer, or a combination thereof and the protein binding reagent conjugated with the label can be capable of specifically binding to at least one of a plurality of protein targets (Paragraph 210, lines 1-5). Also, Fan teaches that in some embodiments, the label comprises a fluorophore, a chromophore, a polypeptide, a protein, an enzyme, an enzyme substrate, a catalyst, a redox label, a radiolabels, an acoustic label, a Raman (SERS) tag, a mass tag, an isotope tag, a magnetic particle, a microparticle, a nanoparticle, an oligonucleotide, or any combination thereof and in some embodiments, the label comprises an enzyme, an enzyme substrate, or a combination thereof, and wherein the enzyme is capable of modifying the enzyme substrate into a corresponding modified enzyme substrate (Paragraph 212, lines 1-5).
Fan further teaches that in some embodiments, the oligonucleotide comprises a unique identifier for the biomolecule, where the unique identifier can comprise a nucleotide sequence of 25-45 nucleotides in length and the unique identifier can be selected from a diverse set of unique identifiers and the diverse set of unique identifiers can comprise at least 100, 1,000, or 10,000 different unique identifiers and where the oligonucleotide can have a sequence selected from at least 10, 100, or 1,000 different barcode sequences (Paragraph 216, lines 1-5).
Regarding claims 9-13, Fan teaches that some embodiments disclosed herein provide a plurality of compositions each comprising a protein binding reagent conjugated with an oligonucleotide, where the oligonucleotide comprises a unique identifier for the protein binding reagent it is conjugated with, and the protein binding reagent is capable of specifically binding to a protein target, and further disclosed are methods and kits for quantitative analysis of a plurality of protein targets in a sample and for simultaneous quantitative analysis of protein and nucleic acid targets in a sample, and also disclosed herein are systems and methods for preparing a labeled biomolecule reagent, including a labeled biomolecule agent comprising a protein binding reagent conjugated with an oligonucleotide (Abstract).
Fan teaches that in some embodiments, the method comprises contacting the cell with a second pair of interaction determination compositions, wherein the cell comprises a third protein target and a fourth protein target, wherein each of the second pair of interaction determination compositions comprises a protein binding reagent associated with an interaction determination oligonucleotide, wherein the protein binding reagent of one of the second pair of interaction determination compositions is capable of specifically binding to the third protein target and the protein binding reagent of the other of the second pair of interaction determination compositions is capable of specifically binding to the fourth protein target and at least one of the third and fourth protein targets can be different from one of the first and second protein targets and at least one of the third and fourth protein targets and at least one of the first and second protein targets can be identical (Paragraph 163, lines 1-10).
Further, Fan teaches that in some embodiments, the label comprises a fluorophore, a chromophore, a polypeptide, a protein, an enzyme, an enzyme substrate, a catalyst, a redox label, a radiolabels, an acoustic label, a Raman (SERS) tag, a mass tag, an isotope tag, a magnetic particle, a microparticle, a nanoparticle, an oligonucleotide, or any combination thereof. In some embodiments, the label comprises an enzyme, an enzyme substrate, or a combination thereof, and wherein the enzyme is capable of modifying the enzyme substrate into a corresponding modified enzyme substrate (Paragraph 202, lines 1-5). Fan also teaches that the label is conjugated to the biomolecule through a linker, where the label can comprise the linker and the linker can comprise a chemical group and the chemical group can be reversibly attached to the biomolecule where the chemical group can be selected from the group consisting of a UV photocleavable group, a streptavidin, a biotin, an amine, and any combination thereof (Paragraph 207, lines 1-3). Fan also teaches that the unique identifier may not be homologous to genomic sequences of a sample, where the sample can be a single cell, a plurality of cells, a tissue, a tumor sample, or any combination thereof (the sample can be a mammalian sample, a bacterial sample, a viral sample, a yeast sample, a fungal sample, or any combination thereof), and the oligonucleotide can comprise a barcode sequence (e.g., a molecular label sequence), a poly(A) tail, or a combination thereof (Paragraph 208, lines 1-5).
Specifically, Fan teaches that in some embodiment, the biomolecule comprises a polypeptide, a nucleic acid, a polysaccharide, or any combination thereof, where the nucleic acid can be an oligonucleotide, DNA or RNA and the polypeptide can be a protein, an enzyme or a protein binding reagent, where the protein binding reagent can comprise an antibody, an aptamer, or a combination thereof and the protein binding reagent conjugated with the label can be capable of specifically binding to at least one of a plurality of protein targets (Paragraph 210, lines 1-5). Also, Fan teaches that in some embodiments, the label comprises a fluorophore, a chromophore, a polypeptide, a protein, an enzyme, an enzyme substrate, a catalyst, a redox label, a radiolabels, an acoustic label, a Raman (SERS) tag, a mass tag, an isotope tag, a magnetic particle, a microparticle, a nanoparticle, an oligonucleotide, or any combination thereof and in some embodiments, the label comprises an enzyme, an enzyme substrate, or a combination thereof, and wherein the enzyme is capable of modifying the enzyme substrate into a corresponding modified enzyme substrate (Paragraph 212, lines 1-5).
Fan further teaches that in some embodiments, the oligonucleotide comprises a unique identifier for the biomolecule, where the unique identifier can comprise a nucleotide sequence of 25-45 nucleotides in length and the unique identifier can be selected from a diverse set of unique identifiers and the diverse set of unique identifiers can comprise at least 100, 1,000, or 10,000 different unique identifiers and where the oligonucleotide can have a sequence selected from at least 10, 100, or 1,000 different barcode sequences (Paragraph 216, lines 1-5). Fan teaches that a barcode can comprise one or more spatial labels, and in some embodiments, a spatial label can comprise a nucleic acid sequence that provides information about the spatial orientation of a target molecule which is associated with the barcode, where a spatial label can be associated with a coordinate in a sample, where the coordinate can be a fixed coordinate and for example a coordinate can be fixed in reference to a substrate (Paragraph 317, lines 1-5). Further, Fan teaches that a spatial label can be in reference to a two or three-dimensional grid and a coordinate can be fixed in reference to a landmark, where the landmark can be identifiable in space and a landmark can be a structure which can be imaged, where a landmark can be a biological structure, for example an anatomical landmark, where a landmark can be a cellular landmark, for instance an organelle, where a landmark can be a non-natural landmark such as a structure with an identifiable identifier such as a color code, bar code, magnetic property, fluorescents, radioactivity, or a unique size or shape, where a spatial label can be associated with a physical partition (e.g. a well, a container, or a droplet) and in some embodiments, multiple spatial labels are used together to encode one or more positions in space (Paragraph 317, lines 1-15).
Fan also teaches that following lysis of the cells and release of nucleic acid molecules therefrom, the nucleic acid molecules can randomly associate with the barcodes of the co-localized solid support and association can comprise hybridization of a barcode's target recognition region to a complementary portion of the target nucleic acid molecule (e.g., oligo(dT) of the barcode can interact with a poly(A) tail of a target), where the assay conditions used for hybridization (e.g. buffer pH, ionic strength, temperature, etc.) can be chosen to promote formation of specific, stable hybrids and in some embodiments, the nucleic acid molecules released from the lysed cells can associate with the plurality of probes on the substrate (e.g., hybridize with the probes on the substrate) (Paragraph 424, lines 1-5). Further, Fan teaches that when the probes comprise oligo(dT), mRNA molecules can hybridize to the probes and be reverse transcribed, and the oligo(dT) portion of the oligonucleotide can act as a primer for first strand synthesis of the cDNA molecule and for example, in a non-limiting example of barcoding illustrated in FIG. 2, at block 216, mRNA molecules can hybridize to barcodes on beads and for example, single-stranded nucleotide fragments can hybridize to the target-binding regions of barcodes (Paragraph 424, lines 5-15).
Regarding claims 14-19, Fan teaches that some embodiments disclosed herein provide a plurality of compositions each comprising a protein binding reagent conjugated with an oligonucleotide, where the oligonucleotide comprises a unique identifier for the protein binding reagent it is conjugated with, and the protein binding reagent is capable of specifically binding to a protein target, and further disclosed are methods and kits for quantitative analysis of a plurality of protein targets in a sample and for simultaneous quantitative analysis of protein and nucleic acid targets in a sample, and also disclosed herein are systems and methods for preparing a labeled biomolecule reagent, including a labeled biomolecule agent comprising a protein binding reagent conjugated with an oligonucleotide (Abstract).
Fan teaches that in some embodiments, the method comprises contacting the cell with a second pair of interaction determination compositions, wherein the cell comprises a third protein target and a fourth protein target, wherein each of the second pair of interaction determination compositions comprises a protein binding reagent associated with an interaction determination oligonucleotide, wherein the protein binding reagent of one of the second pair of interaction determination compositions is capable of specifically binding to the third protein target and the protein binding reagent of the other of the second pair of interaction determination compositions is capable of specifically binding to the fourth protein target and at least one of the third and fourth protein targets can be different from one of the first and second protein targets and at least one of the third and fourth protein targets and at least one of the first and second protein targets can be identical (Paragraph 163, lines 1-10).
Further, Fan teaches that in some embodiments, the label comprises a fluorophore, a chromophore, a polypeptide, a protein, an enzyme, an enzyme substrate, a catalyst, a redox label, a radiolabels, an acoustic label, a Raman (SERS) tag, a mass tag, an isotope tag, a magnetic particle, a microparticle, a nanoparticle, an oligonucleotide, or any combination thereof. In some embodiments, the label comprises an enzyme, an enzyme substrate, or a combination thereof, and wherein the enzyme is capable of modifying the enzyme substrate into a corresponding modified enzyme substrate (Paragraph 202, lines 1-5). Fan also teaches that the label is conjugated to the biomolecule through a linker, where the label can comprise the linker and the linker can comprise a chemical group and the chemical group can be reversibly attached to the biomolecule where the chemical group can be selected from the group consisting of a UV photocleavable group, a streptavidin, a biotin, an amine, and any combination thereof (Paragraph 207, lines 1-3). Fan also teaches that the unique identifier may not be homologous to genomic sequences of a sample, where the sample can be a single cell, a plurality of cells, a tissue, a tumor sample, or any combination thereof (the sample can be a mammalian sample, a bacterial sample, a viral sample, a yeast sample, a fungal sample, or any combination thereof), and the oligonucleotide can comprise a barcode sequence (e.g., a molecular label sequence), a poly(A) tail, or a combination thereof (Paragraph 208, lines 1-5).
Specifically, Fan teaches that in some embodiment, the biomolecule comprises a polypeptide, a nucleic acid, a polysaccharide, or any combination thereof, where the nucleic acid can be an oligonucleotide, DNA or RNA and the polypeptide can be a protein, an enzyme or a protein binding reagent, where the protein binding reagent can comprise an antibody, an aptamer, or a combination thereof and the protein binding reagent conjugated with the label can be capable of specifically binding to at least one of a plurality of protein targets (Paragraph 210, lines 1-5). Also, Fan teaches that in some embodiments, the label comprises a fluorophore, a chromophore, a polypeptide, a protein, an enzyme, an enzyme substrate, a catalyst, a redox label, a radiolabels, an acoustic label, a Raman (SERS) tag, a mass tag, an isotope tag, a magnetic particle, a microparticle, a nanoparticle, an oligonucleotide, or any combination thereof and in some embodiments, the label comprises an enzyme, an enzyme substrate, or a combination thereof, and wherein the enzyme is capable of modifying the enzyme substrate into a corresponding modified enzyme substrate (Paragraph 212, lines 1-5).
Fan further teaches that in some embodiments, the oligonucleotide comprises a unique identifier for the biomolecule, where the unique identifier can comprise a nucleotide sequence of 25-45 nucleotides in length and the unique identifier can be selected from a diverse set of unique identifiers and the diverse set of unique identifiers can comprise at least 100, 1,000, or 10,000 different unique identifiers and where the oligonucleotide can have a sequence selected from at least 10, 100, or 1,000 different barcode sequences (Paragraph 216, lines 1-5). Fan teaches that a barcode can comprise one or more spatial labels, and in some embodiments, a spatial label can comprise a nucleic acid sequence that provides information about the spatial orientation of a target molecule which is associated with the barcode, where a spatial label can be associated with a coordinate in a sample, where the coordinate can be a fixed coordinate and for example a coordinate can be fixed in reference to a substrate (Paragraph 317, lines 1-5). Further, Fan teaches that a spatial label can be in reference to a two or three-dimensional grid and a coordinate can be fixed in reference to a landmark, where the landmark can be identifiable in space and a landmark can be a structure which can be imaged, where a landmark can be a biological structure, for example an anatomical landmark, where a landmark can be a cellular landmark, for instance an organelle, where a landmark can be a non-natural landmark such as a structure with an identifiable identifier such as a color code, bar code, magnetic property, fluorescents, radioactivity, or a unique size or shape, where a spatial label can be associated with a physical partition (e.g. a well, a container, or a droplet) and in some embodiments, multiple spatial labels are used together to encode one or more positions in space (Paragraph 317, lines 1-15).
Fan also teaches that following lysis of the cells and release of nucleic acid molecules therefrom, the nucleic acid molecules can randomly associate with the barcodes of the co-localized solid support and association can comprise hybridization of a barcode's target recognition region to a complementary portion of the target nucleic acid molecule (e.g., oligo(dT) of the barcode can interact with a poly(A) tail of a target), where the assay conditions used for hybridization (e.g. buffer pH, ionic strength, temperature, etc.) can be chosen to promote formation of specific, stable hybrids and in some embodiments, the nucleic acid molecules released from the lysed cells can associate with the plurality of probes on the substrate (e.g., hybridize with the probes on the substrate) (Paragraph 424, lines 1-5). Further, Fan teaches that when the probes comprise oligo(dT), mRNA molecules can hybridize to the probes and be reverse transcribed, and the oligo(dT) portion of the oligonucleotide can act as a primer for first strand synthesis of the cDNA molecule and for example, in a non-limiting example of barcoding illustrated in FIG. 2, at block 216, mRNA molecules can hybridize to barcodes on beads and for example, single-stranded nucleotide fragments can hybridize to the target-binding regions of barcodes (Paragraph 424, lines 5-15).
Fan also teaches that this disclosure provides for a method to create a target-barcode conjugate using reverse transcription (e.g., at block 224 of FIG. 2), where the target-barcode conjugate can comprise the barcode and a complementary sequence of all or a portion of the target nucleic acid (i.e. a barcoded cDNA molecule, such as a stochastically barcoded cDNA molecule) and reverse transcription of the associated RNA molecule can occur by the addition of a reverse transcription primer along with the reverse transcriptase, where the reverse transcription primer can be an oligo(dT) primer, a random hexanucleotide primer, or a target-specific oligonucleotide primer. Oligo(dT) primers can be, or can be about, 12-18 nucleotides in length and bind to the endogenous poly(A) tail at the 3′ end of mammalian mRNA and target-specific oligonucleotide primers typically selectively prime the mRNA of interest (Paragraph 429, lines 1-10).
Specifically, Fan teaches that reverse transcription can occur repeatedly to produce multiple labeled-cDNA molecules and the methods disclosed herein can comprise conducting at least about 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, or 20 reverse transcription reactions and the method can comprise conducting at least about 25, 30, 35, 40, 45, 50, 55, 60, 65, 70, 75, 80, 85, 90, 95, or 100 reverse transcription reactions (Paragraph 431, lines 1-5). Fan further teaches that one or more nucleic acid amplification reactions (e.g., at block 228 of FIG. 2) can be performed to create multiple copies of the labeled target nucleic acid molecules and amplification can be performed in a multiplexed manner, wherein multiple target nucleic acid sequences are amplified simultaneously and the amplification reaction can be used to add sequencing adaptors to the nucleic acid molecules, where amplification reactions can comprise amplifying at least a portion of a sample label, if present and the amplification reactions can comprise amplifying at least a portion of the cell label and/or barcode sequence (e.g., molecular label) (Paragraph 433, lines 1-10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the methods taught by Fan to provide microparticles having one or more fluorophores linked thereto by one or more cleavable linkers, including different fluorophores and/or cleavable linkers, and to use the resulting combinations as fluorescent identifying barcodes. Fan expressly teaches the use of fluorophores, microparticles, oligonucleotide barcodes and other identifying labels, as well as reversible linkers including UV-photocleavable groups. Fan further teaches the use of multiple and diverse unique identifiers and the use of multiple labels together for encoding purposes. Thus, the proposed modification represents the combination of known labeling and encoding components disclosed by Fan according to their established functions to provide distinguishable, multiplexed identifiers.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification because employing different combinations of fluorophores and selectively cleavable linkers would predictably increase the number of distinguishable encoding states obtainable from the particles and permit the encoded particles to be differentiated and/or decoded in a multiplexed assay. The modification would therefore further Fan’s expressly disclosed objective of uniquely identifying and distinguishing different biomolecules, targets, and/or spatially associated particles using diverse identifiers and labels.
Regarding claim 14’s workflow, specifically, it would have been obvious to employ Fan’s cleavable fluorophore labeling system in the claimed cleave, detect, correlate, and identify workflow. Fan teaches fluorphore labels, reversible/photocleavable linkers, and barcodes or unique identifiers. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to cleave and detect the fluorphore and correlate the resulting signal with its associated barcode because this predictably uses each component for its disclosed function to identify the encoded microparticle. For embodiments involving repeated detection or different cleaving agents, repeating the cleavage and detection using distinguishable fluorophores and/or independently cleavable linkers would have been an obvious extension of Fan’s teachings of multiple labels, diverse identifiers, multiplexing, and reversible attachment, thereby permitting additional encoding information to be obtained.
A skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Fan teaches the underlying components and techniques—microparticles, fluorophores, barcode identifiers, cleavable linkers, and multiplexed detection. The modification would not alter their established functions and would predictably permit identification of an encoded microparticle through controlled release and detection of its fluorescent label. See MPEP 2143 and 2143.02.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/ELIZABETH ROSE LAFAVE/Examiner, Art Unit 1684
/HEATHER CALAMITA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1684