DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-12, in the reply filed on 09/15/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 13-27 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/15/2026.
Claim Status
Claims 1-27 are pending.
Claims 13-27 are withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: “at least one thickening agent present in amount” should read “at least one thickening agent is present in an amount”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: “wherein the liquid carrier comprise” should read “wherein the liquid carrier comprises”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Longo et al (US 20070202059 A1, hereinafter “Longo”), as evidenced by Landers et al (Appl. Mater, Interfaces, 2024, 16 (26):43135-34140, hereinafter “Landers”)
Longo discloses stable one-part aqueous tooth whitening compositions comprising aqueous hydrogen peroxide and thickening agents, including crosslinked plasdone and polyplasdone polymers such as peroxydone polymers (abs, ¶¶ 20, 30, 32, 33). The compositions comprises at least about 15 wt% aqueous hydrogen peroxide of the total composition weight (¶ 4). The thickening agents may be less than about 1.5 wt% and from about 5-50 wt% of the total composition weight (¶ 20). In embodiments the composition comprises 53.65 wt% hydrogen peroxide solution 50%, 10.00 wt% peroxydone XL-10 (PVP/H2O2 complex), 12.79 wt% disodium EDTA solution (3%) in water, 12.72 wt% etidronic acid solution (3%) in water, 2.12 wt% ammonium hydroxide solution (30%), 2.09 wt% ammonium hydroxide solution (30%), 5.35 wt% glycerin, etc., with a pH of 6.0 to 6.5 (example 3). The above formula titrated to 27.92% available hydrogen peroxide with an initial pH of approximately 6.5. It survived for an excess of 12 weeks at 40° C. with no appreciable loss of hydrogen peroxide content, viscosity or pH (example 3). As evidenced by Landers, peroxydone XL-10 is 22 wt% H2O2 (results and discussion). The examples are in the form of a gel (¶ 42). In another embodiment, the aqueous composition comprised 44.57 wt% hydrogen peroxide solution 30%, and 7.27 wt% peroxydone XL-10 (PVP/H2O2 complex), with a pH of 6.0 to 6.5, where the formula was titrated to 17.142% available hydrogen peroxide with an initial pH of approximately 6.4 (example 6). The composition survived for an excess of 9 weeks at 47° C with no appreciable loss of hydrogen peroxide content, viscosity or pH (example 6). The tooth whitening compositions exhibit high temperature stability, based on retention of available hydrogen peroxide and net viscosity loss (¶ 25). The compositions maintain greater than 95% available hydrogen peroxide content after 12 weeks storage at 40 degrees C with no loss of gel viscosity. After 15 weeks at 40 degrees C., the compositions exhibit retention of greater than 94% available hydrogen peroxide with little to no viscosity loss and greater than 90% available peroxide retention after 20 weeks with a slight loss in viscosity and pH (¶ 25). Stability is defined as the ability of the composition to not lose more than about 10% of the gels initial available hydrogen peroxide content through about a 2 year time frame and remaining viscous and substantially free of entrained oxygen bubbles resulting from decomposition of peroxide (¶ 25). Stability tests at high temperature and a short time frame was a known method of predicting long term stability at room temperature (¶ 25).
Regarding claim 1, Longo discloses a one part aqueous tooth whitening composition comprising 27.92 wt% hydrogen peroxide, at least one thickening agent comprising crosslinked polyvinylpyrrolidone at 7.8 wt% (10.00% peroxydone XL-10, 22% H2O2, 78% crosslinked PVP), and water at 52.76 wt% (calculated from example 3), it appears the composition is met.
Regarding the stability limitations, the limitations appear to be functional limitations tied to the intended use of formulating the composition to maintain the claimed stability after storing 4 weeks at 60 °C. Example 3 of Longo appears to comprise the same components within the amounts as claimed, and discloses that the composition retains greater than 95% hydrogen peroxide after 12 weeks of storage at 40 °C with no loss of gel viscosity, retains greater than 90% hydrogen peroxide after 20 weeks at 40 °C while remaining viscous, and are disclosed as not losing more than 10% of the initial available hydrogen peroxide content through about a 2 year time frame and remaining viscous. Where example 3 of Longo appears to comprise the same components and amounts as claimed, and are stable under prolonged storage conditions at elevated temperatures, it appears that the composition would be capable of being of formulated to, and would be reasonably expected to maintain at least 90% available hydrogen peroxide content and at least 80% viscosity after a shorter period of 4 weeks at other elevated temperatures, including 60 °C, where the stability appears to be an inherent property of the composition itself. The discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer. A rejection can be made when the prior art product seems to be identical except that the prior art is silent as to an inherent characteristic. See MPEP 2112 I-III.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, example 3 of Longo has a pH of approximately 6.5, falling within the claimed ranges.
Regarding claim 4, example 3 of Longo comprises crosslinked polyvinylpyrrolidone, a thickener as taught by the reference, thereby meeting the claimed limitation.
Regarding claims 5 and 8, the limitations appear to be functional limitations tied to the intended use of formulating the composition to maintain the claimed stability after storing 24 and 36 months at 23 °C. Where the composition of Longo appears to comprise the same components as instantly claimed, and within the claimed amounts, and is recited as maintaining greater than 95% hydrogen peroxide after 12 weeks of storage at 40 °C, with no loss of viscosity, and do not lose more than 10% of the initial available hydrogen peroxide content through about a 2 year time frame and remaining viscous, it appears that the composition would be capable of being of formulated to, and would be reasonably expected to maintain at least 80% viscosity after the intended use of storage for 34 and 36 months at 23 °C, where the stability appears to be an inherent property of the composition itself, for the same reasons discussed above. See MPEP 2112 I-III.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Longo discloses a one part aqueous tooth whitening composition comprising 44.57 wt% hydrogen peroxide solution 30%, at least one thickening agent comprising crosslinked polyvinylpyrrolidone at 5.67 wt% (7.27 wt% peroxydone XL-10, 22% H2O2, 78% crosslinked PVP)), and water at 31.2 wt% from hydrogen peroxide solution alone (calculated from example 6), the resulting hydrogen peroxide content is 13.37 wt% (44.57% x 30% = 13.37%), thereby appearing to meet the claimed limitation. The intended use and functional limitations of stability appear to be met for the same reasons discussed above.
Regarding claim 9, example 3 comprises at least one thickening agent comprising crosslinked polyvinylpyrrolidone at 7.8 wt%, falling within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 10, example 3 comprises 52.76 wt% water, calculated from the aqueous solutions of example 3, falling within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 11, example 3 further comprises glycerin at 5.35 wt%, falling within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 12, example 3 is in the form of a gel, thereby meeting the claimed limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Longo et al (US 20070202059 A1, hereinafter “Longo”), as evidenced by Landers et al (Appl. Mater, Interfaces, 2024, 16 (26):43135-34140, hereinafter “Landers”).
Longo discloses stable one-part aqueous tooth whitening compositions comprising aqueous hydrogen peroxide and thickening agents, including crosslinked plasdone and polyplasdone polymers such as peroxydone polymers (abs, ¶¶ 20, 30, 32, 33). The compositions comprises at least about 15 wt% aqueous hydrogen peroxide of the total composition weight (¶ 4). The thickening agents may be less than about 1.5 wt% and from about 5-50 wt% of the total composition weight (¶ 20). In embodiments the composition comprises 53.65 wt% hydrogen peroxide solution 50%, 10.00 wt% peroxydone XL-10 (PVP/H2O2 complex), 12.79 wt% disodium EDTA solution (3%) in water, 12.72 wt% etidronic acid solution (3%) in water, 2.12 wt% ammonium hydroxide solution (30%), 2.09 wt% ammonium hydroxide solution (30%), 5.35 wt% glycerin, etc., with a pH of 6.0 to 6.5 (example 3). The above formula titrated to 27.92% available hydrogen peroxide with an initial pH of approximately 6.5. It survived for an excess of 12 weeks at 40° C. with no appreciable loss of hydrogen peroxide content, viscosity or pH (example 3). As evidenced by Landers, peroxydone XL-10 is 22 wt% H2O2 (results and discussion). The examples are in the form of a gel (¶ 42). In another embodiment, the aqueous composition comprised 44.57 wt% hydrogen peroxide solution 30%, and 7.27 wt% peroxydone XL-10 (PVP/H2O2 complex), with a pH of 6.0 to 6.5, where the formula was titrated to 17.142% available hydrogen peroxide with an initial pH of approximately 6.4 (example 6). The composition survived for an excess of 9 weeks at 47° C with no appreciable loss of hydrogen peroxide content, viscosity or pH (example 6). The tooth whitening compositions exhibit high temperature stability, based on retention of available hydrogen peroxide and net viscosity loss (¶ 25). The compositions maintain greater than 95% available hydrogen peroxide content after 12 weeks storage at 40 degrees C with no loss of gel viscosity. After 15 weeks at 40 degrees C., the compositions exhibit retention of greater than 94% available hydrogen peroxide with little to no viscosity loss and greater than 90% available peroxide retention after 20 weeks with a slight loss in viscosity and pH (¶ 25). Stability is defined as the ability of the composition to not lose more than about 10% of the gels initial available hydrogen peroxide content through about a 2 year time frame and remaining viscous and substantially free of entrained oxygen bubbles resulting from decomposition of peroxide (¶ 25). Stability tests at high temperature and a short time frame was a known method of predicting long term stability at room temperature (¶ 25). The pH, the presence of stabilizing agents, the combined ingredients and their weight percentages and ratios affect stability (¶¶ 8, 10, 16).
Purely arguendo, if somehow the stability limitations are not met for the reasons discussed above, the following applies.
Regarding claim 1, Longo discloses a one part aqueous tooth whitening composition comprising 27.92 wt% hydrogen peroxide, at least one thickening agent comprising crosslinked polyvinylpyrrolidone at 7.8 wt% (10.00% peroxydone XL-10, 22% H2O2, 78% crosslinked PVP), and water at 52.76 wt% (calculated from example 3), it appears the composition is met.
Regarding the stability limitations, the limitations appear to be functional limitations tied to the intended use of formulating the composition to maintain the claimed stability after storing 4 weeks at 60 °C, and appear to be met for the reasons discussed above. Purely arguendo, if not, where Longo teaches that higher temperature stability testing for a shorter duration was a known method of predicting long term stability at room temperature, where 2 year storage stability with at least 90% available hydrogen content and no viscosity loss was known, and where the Longo teaches pH, the presence of stabilizing agents, the combined ingredients and their weight percentages and ratios affect stability, it would have been well within the relative skills of the skilled artisan to have routinely optimized the pH, stabilizing agents, combination of ingredients and their amounts in order to achieve desired stability properties for desired storage and temperature testing conditions. Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, example 3 of Longo has a pH of approximately 6.5, falling within the claimed ranges.
Regarding claim 4, example 3 of Longo comprises crosslinked polyvinylpyrrolidone, a thickener as taught by the reference, thereby meeting the claimed limitation.
Regarding claims 5 and 8, the limitations appear to be functional limitations tied to the intended use of formulating the composition to maintain the claimed stability after storing 24 and 36 months at 23 °C, and appear to be met for the same reasons discussed above. Purely arguendo, if not, where Longo teaches that higher temperature stability testing for a shorter duration was a known method of predicting long term stability at room temperature, where 2 year storage stability with at least 90% available hydrogen content and no viscosity loss was known, and where the Longo teaches pH, the presence of stabilizing agents, the combined ingredients and their weight percentages and ratios affect stability, it would have been well within the relative skills of the skilled artisan to have routinely optimized the pH, stabilizing agents, combination of ingredients and their amounts in order to achieve desired stability properties for desired storage and temperature testing conditions. Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Longo discloses a one part aqueous tooth whitening composition comprising 44.57 wt% hydrogen peroxide solution 30%, at least one thickening agent comprising crosslinked polyvinylpyrrolidone at 5.67 wt% (7.27 wt% peroxydone XL-10, 22% H2O2, 78% crosslinked PVP)), and water at 31.2 wt% from hydrogen peroxide solution alone (calculated from example 6), the resulting hydrogen peroxide content is 13.37 wt% (44.57% x 30% = 13.37%), thereby appearing to meet the claimed limitation. The intended use and functional limitations of stability appear to be met or are obvious for the same reasons discussed above.
Regarding claim 9, example 3 comprises at least one thickening agent comprising crosslinked polyvinylpyrrolidone at 7.8 wt%, falling within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 10, example 3 comprises 52.76 wt% water, calculated from the aqueous solutions of example 3, falling within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 11, example 3 further comprises glycerin at 5.35 wt%, falling within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 12, example 3 is in the form of a gel, thereby meeting the claimed limitation.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of copending Application No. 17/578,303 (reference application), hereinafter ‘303, in view of Longo et al (US 20070202059 A1, hereinafter “Longo”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of ‘303 disclose a tooth whitening kit comprising a first part comprising a whitening agent and about 6-12 wt% of a first thickening agent selected from crosslinked polyvinylpyrrolidone, wherein the tooth whitening kit, when combined, has a pH between 7 and 9. The second part comprises about 50-95 wt% of a liquid carrier. The composition is a viscous gel. The whitening agent is 45-48 wt% of the first part. The crosslinked PVP is 4-9 wt% of the mixture once combined. The whitening agent is aqueous hydrogen peroxide. The composition further comprises water and polyethylene glycol.
The claims of ‘303 are different insofar as they do not disclose wherein the composition is a single part composition, nor the stability under the storage conditions as instantly claimed.
Longo is discussed above.
It would have been obvious to modify the claims of ‘303 by formulating the composition as a single part aqueous composition, as taught by Longo, such as for desired formulation type and convenience to the user.
Regarding the stability, the limitation appears to be a functional limitation tied to the intended use of the composition. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to formulate the composition for high temperature and prolonged storage stability, such as those taught by Longo, which appears to be capable of meeting the limitations for the same reasons discussed above. Purely arguendo, even if not, where Longo teaches that higher temperature stability testing for a shorter duration was a known method of predicting long term stability at room temperature, where 2 year storage stability with at least 90% available hydrogen content and no viscosity loss was known, and where the Longo teaches pH, the presence of stabilizing agents, the combined ingredients and their weight percentages and ratios affect stability, it would have been well within the relative skills of the skilled artisan to have routinely optimized the pH, stabilizing agents, combination of ingredients and their amounts in order to achieve desired stability properties for desired storage and temperature testing conditions. Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of copending Application No. 18/379,052 (reference application), hereinafter ‘052, in view of Longo et al (US 20070202059 A1, hereinafter “Longo”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of ‘052 disclose a tooth whitening kit comprising a first part comprising a whitening agent and about 6-12 wt% of a first thickening agent selected from crosslinked polyvinylpyrrolidone, wherein the tooth whitening kit, when combined, has a pH between 7 and 9. The first part maintains at least 90% available hydrogen peroxide content and at least 80% viscosity after 12 months of storage at 23 °C. The second part comprises about 50-95 wt% of a liquid carrier. The composition is an aqueous gel. The whitening agent is at least 45% of the first part. The whitening agent is hydrogen peroxide. The composition further comprises polyethylene glycol from 35-50 wt% of the second part.
The claims of ‘052 are different insofar as they do not disclose wherein the composition is a single part composition, nor the stability of a single part composition under the storage conditions as instantly claimed.
Longo is discussed above.
It would have been obvious to modify the claims of ‘052 by formulating the composition as a single part aqueous composition, and within those amounts taught by taught by Longo, such as for desired formulation type and convenience to the user.
Regarding the stability, the limitation appears to be a functional limitation tied to the intended use of the composition. Nevertheless, where the claims of ‘052 disclose the first part (hydrogen peroxide + crosslinked PVP) maintains at least 90% available hydrogen peroxide content and at least 8% viscosity after 12 months of storage at 23 °C, it would have been obvious to formulate the single part composition for with similar room temperature stability, as well as for high temperature and prolonged storage stability, such as those taught by Longo, which appears to be capable of meeting the limitations for the same reasons discussed above. Purely arguendo, even if not, where Longo teaches that higher temperature stability testing for a shorter duration was a known method of predicting long term stability at room temperature, where 2 year storage stability with at least 90% available hydrogen content and no viscosity loss was known, and where the Longo teaches pH, the presence of stabilizing agents, the combined ingredients and their weight percentages and ratios affect stability, it would have been well within the relative skills of the skilled artisan to have routinely optimized the pH, stabilizing agents, combination of ingredients and their amounts in order to achieve desired stability properties for desired storage and temperature testing conditions. Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/JOSHUA A ATKINSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1612
/SAHANA S KAUP/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612