DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the explosion-proof isolation device must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 3, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. See MPEP 2173.05(p) II. Claim 2 recites “steam generated by reaction….” In lines 5-7. Claim 3 recites “flue gas generated by reaction….” In lines 5-7. Claim 5 recites that the temperature of the gasifier “is controlled” to be within a set range. These are all considered process limitations since they state what is happening without specific structures associated with performing them as functions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (US 2017/0175016 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses an apparatus comprising: a circulating fluidized bed gasifier 300 and a waste incineration assembly (combustor) 100 (paragraph 23). Lee discloses a carbon pipeline (the pipe upstream of element 310) and an injection port (the pipe downstream of element 310). Lee discloses that solids can be transferred from the gasifier 300 to the combustor 100 via 310 (paragraph 25). It is the Office’s position that whether or not activated carbon is generated in the reaction and harmful substances are captured in the combustor is dependent on reaction conditions such as composition of the feedstock, the oxidants of the gasifier, and the temperatures in the reactors. See MPEP 2114 II. No feedstock or materials are positively recited.
Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses a riser 210 that connects an outlet 101 of the combustor 100 to an inlet 430 of the gasifier 300 (see Figure 1). The riser is capable of transferring gases such a steam (paragraphs 103 & 104). Neither steam nor water are positively recited. See MPEP 2114 II.
Regarding claim 3, Lee discloses a riser 210 that connects an outlet 101 of the combustor 100 to an inlet 430 of the gasifier 300 (see Figure 1). The riser is capable of transferring gases such flue gas for heat (paragraphs 103 & 104). Flue gas is not positively recited. See MPEP 2114 II.
Regarding claim 5, the temperature is a matter of intended use when not clearly positively recited. Lee an operate at temperatures less than 1,000 °C (paragraph 34). See MPEP 2114 II.
Regarding claim 8, the biomass is not positively recited. Lee can utilize biomass/waste/coal (paragraph 1). See MPEP 2114 II.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Mennell (US 2022/0228082 A1).
Lee does not disclose a pneumatic conveying device. Mennell—in an invention appropriate for waste incinerators and gasifiers (paragraph 621)—discloses the use of pneumatic conveying means so that activated carbon can be injected as a powder to downstream processes (paragraph 583) to control contaminant emissions in gas streams from waste incinerators and gasifiers (paragraph 621). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to add pneumatic conveying means to the effluent pipelines of the gasifier and incinerator to controllably move activated carbon between the reactors to decrease contaminants as suggested by Mennell.
Claims 6, 7, 9, 10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as applied to claims 1-3 and 5 above, and further in view of Tsangaris (US 2014/0332724 A1).
Lee does not disclose an explosion-proof isolation device or leakage detector. Tsangaris—in an invention for a gasification system for burners—discloses the use of sealed box between the gasifier and burners to prevent formation of an explosive gas mixture within the box (paragraph 334) with advanced leak detections systems to monitor leakers (paragraph 418). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to add a leak detection and mitigation means to Lee so as to prevent unwanted explosions as suggested by Tsangaris.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee and Mennell as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Tsangaris.
Neither Lee nor Mennell discloses an explosion-proof isolation device or leakage detector. Tsangaris—in an invention for a gasification system for burners—discloses the use of sealed box between the gasifier and burners to prevent formation of an explosive gas mixture within the box (paragraph 334) with advanced leak detections systems to monitor leakers (paragraph 418). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to add a leak detection and mitigation means to Lee and Mennell so as to prevent unwanted explosions as suggested by Tsangaris.
Conclusion
/IMRAN AKRAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725