DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13-17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamamoto (US 4,602,063).
Yamamoto is directed to a tire rubber composition comprising at least one diene-based elastomer (Column 2, Lines 47-61) and 0.2-5 parts by weight of a novolak type phenol formaldehyde resin (corresponds with claimed at least one chemical) having the following general formula (Column 4, Lines 25+).
With further respect to claim 13, the language “for a radiofrequency identification (RFD) device for a tire” corresponds to the intended use of a rubber composition or coating and as such, fails to further define the structure of the claimed composition.
Regarding claim 17, the rubber composition of Yamamoto includes a filler (Column 6, Lines 60+).
As to claim 19, the rubber composition of Yamamoto includes polyisoprene (Column 2, Lines 50+).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto.
As detailed above, Yamamoto is directed to a tire rubber composition comprising reinforcing agents or fillers (Column 6, Lines 60-69 and Column 7, Lines 16+). Included among the exemplary additives are carbon black, calcium carbonate, and clay. While Yamamoto fails to suggest the use of silica, silica represents one of the most well-known and conventional reinforcing agents or fillers (along with carbon black) in tire rubber compositions. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to form the tire rubber composition of Yamamoto with silica absent a conclusive showing of unexpected results (well recognized as providing suitable reinforcing properties when used in tire rubber compositions).
6. Claim(s) 13-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uehara (US 2009/0015415) and further in view of Giller (DE 2537656).
Uehara is directed to an RFID module covered with a rubber coating, wherein said coating includes at least one diene-based rubber (Paragraph 10). In such an instance, though, Uehara fails to specifically teach the inclusion of at least one chemical having a specific formula.
It is noted, though, that Uehara teaches the use of “various types of compounding agents compounded for general use and tire rubber” (Paragraph 15). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the claimed chemical as being included within the “various types of agents compounded for general use and tire rubber”. Giller, for example, recognizes the known us of alkyl phenol novolac resins (corresponds with claimed chemical) as a tackifier in natural or synthetic rubber tire compositions (Abstract). It is well recognized that tackifiers are extensively used in tire rubber compositions to provide the desired tack- the specific use of a chemical satisfying the claimed formula would have been obvious given the general disclosure by Uehara to include various compounding agents and Applicant has not provided a conclusive showing of unexpected results for the claimed composition.
Regarding claims 15 and 16, Giller teaches the use of 0.3-15 percent by weight (Abstract).
As to claims 17 and 18, Uehara teaches the inclusion of silica (Paragraph 12).
With respect to claim 19, Uehara teaches the use of natural rubber and synthetic polyisoprene (Paragraph 10).
7. Claim(s) 20-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uehara and Giller as applied in claim 13 above and further in view of Adamson (US 2004/0159383).
As detailed above, Uehara is directed to a tire including an RFID module. While Uehara fails to describe the makeup of said RFID device, it is well known and conventional that such a device is commonly formed with an antenna comprising a brass coated wire, as shown for example by Adamson (Paragraph 20). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to form the RFID of Uehara in accordance to the claimed invention. Figure 1 of Adamson specifically depicts an RFID formed with a rubber coating 22 and an antenna 20 in the form of a brass coated spring steel.
Regarding claims 24-26, Giller recognizes the known inclusion of a chemical at loadings that satisfy the claimed invention.
With respect to claims 27 and 28, the rubber composition of Uehara includes silica (Paragraph 12).
As to claim 29, Uehara teaches the use of natural rubber and synthetic polyisoprene (Paragraph 10).
Conclusion
Justin Fischer
/JUSTIN R FISCHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1749 July 29, 2026