DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “identification component” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 6-8, 10-11 and 15- 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Adams et al. (US 2007/0049853 A1)
Regarding claim 6, Adams discloses a compression system for analyzing usage of compression therapy (compression device comprises a control system arranged to control fluid flow in the device and a memory arranged to store gathered data relating to the use of the device, Abstract, Paragraph 0017, Figure 1) by using at least one compression garment (sleeve 2 comprising an inflatable chamber, Paragraphs 0033-0034 and Figure 1), comprising a user interface (display 21 comprising a user input 26, Paragraph 0033 and Figure 1), wherein the user interface comprises: a first display indicator associated with the usage of the at least one compression garment in a first state of operation of the compression system (the microprocessor 28 is able to determine if the sleeve 2 is either in place on the limb or not in place, Paragraph 0044; wherein a display 21 is used to display various data such as data relating to the length of time for which each cell was inflated/deflated while surrounding the limb of the user at a particular pressure and particular mode, such as continuous constant pressure mode or intermittent pneumatic compression mode, therefore displaying a visual indication associated with usage of the sleeve 2 in a first or second state of operation, Paragraph 0042), and a second display indicator associated with the usage of the at least one compression garment in a second state of operation of the compression system (the microprocessor 28 is able to determine if the sleeve 2 is either in place on the limb or not in place, Paragraph 0044; wherein a display 21 is used to display various data such as data relating to the length of time for which each cell was inflated/deflated while surrounding the limb of the user at a particular pressure and particular mode, such as continuous constant pressure mode or intermittent pneumatic compression mode, therefore displaying a visual indication associated with usage of the sleeve 2 in a first or second state of operation, Paragraph 0042).
Regarding claim 7, Adams further discloses wherein the system comprises a control unit configured for monitoring the operation and delivery means of prophylaxis impulses to a limb or anatomical structure of a patient and measuring a compression parameter forming a detectable characteristic of the presence of the limb or anatomical structure in contact with the compression garment (the control system comprising a microprocessor 28 may monitor a change in the pressure exerted by the sleeve 2 as it is inflated by monitoring the time it takes to inflate the sleeve to a predetermined pressure, and this will vary depending on whether or not the device is in place surrounding a limb, Paragraph 0017, see also Paragraph 0038 describing the control system configured to monitor the operation and delivery means of the compressions delivered to the limb).
Regarding claim 8, Adams further discloses wherein the compression parameters are capable of adaptation and modification based on the degree of previous usage based on records held in the memory storage device (due to the sensors and monitoring capacity of the compression device, and the microprocessor in the control system, it is possible to monitor the usage of the compression device by the patient, and the knowledge of the usage allows the most suitable treatment for the next stage to be delivered, Paragraph 0020).
Regarding claim 10, Adams further discloses wherein a compression pressure is adjusted based on the analysis of records of previous usage of the compression system stored in a storage memory of the compression system (due to the sensors and monitoring capacity of the compression device, and the microprocessor in the control system, it is possible to monitor the usage of the compression device by the patient, and the knowledge of the usage allows the most suitable treatment for the next stage to be delivered, suitable treatment involves selectively prescribing compression pressures through the inflating/deflating actions of the pump, Paragraphs 0020 and 0038).
Regarding claim 11, Adams further discloses where the cycle time of the compression system is adjusted based on the analysis of records of previous usage of the compression system stored in a storage memory of the compression system (due to the sensors and monitoring capacity of the compression device, and the microprocessor in the control system, it is possible to monitor the usage of the compression device by the patient, and the knowledge of the usage allows the most suitable treatment for the next stage to be delivered, suitable treatment data stored in the memory 30 of the microprocessor includes various time parameters of the treatment being applied, Paragraphs 0020 and 0038).
Regarding claim 15, Adams discloses a method for analyzing usage of compression therapy (compression device comprises a control system arranged to control fluid flow in the device and a memory arranged to store gathered data relating to the use of the device, Abstract, Paragraph 0017, Figure 1) by using at least one compression garment of a compression system (sleeve 2 comprising an inflatable chamber, Paragraphs 0033-0034 and Figure 1) comprising a user interface (display 21 comprising a user input 26, Paragraph 0033 and Figure 1), wherein the user interface comprising a first display indicator associated with the usage of the compression garment in a first state of operation of the compression system (the microprocessor 28 is able to determine if the sleeve 2 is either in place on the limb or not in place, Paragraph 0044; wherein a display 21 is used to display various data such as data relating to the length of time for which each cell was inflated/deflated while surrounding the limb of the user at a particular pressure and particular mode, such as continuous constant pressure mode or intermittent pneumatic compression mode, therefore displaying a visual indication associated with usage of the sleeve 2 in a first or second state of operation, Paragraph 0042); and a second display indicator associated with the usage of the garment in a second state of operation of the compression system (the microprocessor 28 is able to determine if the sleeve 2 is either in place on the limb or not in place, Paragraph 0044; wherein a display 21 is used to display various data such as data relating to the length of time for which each cell was inflated/deflated while surrounding the limb of the user at a particular pressure and particular mode, such as continuous constant pressure mode or intermittent pneumatic compression mode, therefore displaying a visual indication associated with usage of the sleeve 2 in a first or second state of operation, Paragraph 0042), wherein the method comprising monitoring time when the compression garment is in each state of operation (due to the sensors and monitoring capacity of the compression device, and the microprocessor in the control system, it is possible to monitor the usage of the compression device by the patient, and the knowledge of the usage allows the most suitable treatment for the next stage to be delivered, suitable treatment data stored in the memory 30 of the microprocessor includes various time parameters of the treatment being applied, Paragraphs 0020 and 0038).
Regarding claim 16, Adams further discloses monitoring delivered effectiveness of the prophylaxis (the microprocessor 28 may recognize if the sleeve 2 has a puncture and a suitable error message can be displayed to inform the user that there is a puncture in one or more of the inflatable cells 22, therefore decreasing effectiveness of the applied compressions, Paragraph 0045).
Regarding claim 17, Adams further discloses comprising monitoring the at least one connected compression garment and the presence of a patient limb by a monitoring system of the compression system over time to provide a metric of system usage (the pressure sensor 34 provides information related to the pressure exerted by the sleeve 2 to the limb, such as the length of time the sleeve 2 is inflated and placed in the limb, therefore able to detect presence of the limb within the sleeve 2, Paragraph 0034; see also Paragraph 0020 related to monitoring the usage of the compression device).
Regarding claim 18, Adams further discloses comprising comparing the usage state over the monitored time with a target usage threshold (see Paragraph 0044 describing the monitoring and comparing of inflation/usage times with the expected range).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 9, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adams et al. (US 2007/0049853 A1) in view of Newton (US 2005/0033351 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Adams discloses a control unit for analyzing usage of compression therapy to a patient's limb or anatomical structure (compression device comprises a control system arranged to control fluid flow in the device and a memory arranged to store gathered data relating to the use of the device, Abstract, Paragraph 0017, Figure 1) by using at least one inflatable compression garment comprising at least one inflatable chamber (sleeve 2 comprising an inflatable chamber, Paragraphs 0033-0034 and Figure 1), an air pump for regulating air pressure to the at least one compression garment (control system comprises a pump 38 and valve arrangement including six valves 36 such that pressure to the sleeve 2 may be selectively inflated or deflated, Paragraph 0038 and Figure 4) and at least one pressure sensor for measuring the pressure present in at least one of the inflatable chambers of the connected at least one garment during the compression therapy and generating signals corresponding to the pressure in the chamber (a pressure sensor 34 is attached to the sleeve 2 and located between the sleeve 2 and the limb and provides readings of the pressure experienced by the limb due to inflation of the sleeve 2 by the control system, the microprocessor 28 of the control system is able to read data from and write data to the memory, Paragraphs 0033-0034); wherein the pressure sensor is providing signals during the application of compression which signals comprises characteristics of the presence of the limb or anatomical structure within the at least one compression garment (the pressure sensor 34 provides information related to the pressure exerted by the sleeve 2 to the limb, such as the length of time the sleeve 2 is inflated and placed in the limb, therefore able to detect presence of the limb within the sleeve 2, Paragraph 0034), wherein the pressure sensor denoting a change in the compression level of the at least one compression garment as a result of the limb or anatomical structure being removed from the at least one compression garment compared to the characteristic of the signals during the previous compression (the pressure sensor may detect when the sleeve 2 is not in place surrounding the limb, and therefore signals the control system to shut off delivery of fluid through the sleeve and deflate the sleeve, whereas when the sensor detects the sleeve 2 is surrounding a limb, the inflation profile will be different, Paragraphs 0017-0019, see also Paragraph 0044), wherein a visual indication is provided by the system to the user based on monitored time when the limb or anatomical structure is present in the at least one connected garment (the microprocessor 28 is able to determine if the sleeve 2 is either in place on the limb or not in place, Paragraph 0044; wherein a display 21 is used to display various compliance data such as data relating to the length of time for which each cell was inflated/deflated while surrounding the limb of the user at a particular pressure and particular mode, the number of times in which the patient has used the device, the time of day the user used the device, etc., Paragraph 0042), and wherein a visual indication is provided by the system to the user based on monitored time when the limb or anatomical structure is detected as not being present in the at least one connected garment (the microprocessor 28 is able to determine if the sleeve 2 is either in place on the limb or not in place, Paragraph 0044; wherein a display 21 is used to display various compliance data such as data relating to the length of time for which each cell was inflated/deflated while surrounding the limb of the user at a particular pressure and particular mode, the number of times in which the patient has used the device, the time of day the user used the device, etc., therefore also able to display data related to when the sleeve 2 was not surrounding the limb of the user, Paragraph 0042).
However, Adams is silent on the control unit comprising: an identification component for detecting a type of at least one compression garment, used during the compression therapy, and located within a connector of the at least one compression garment; wherein the air pump regulates pressure based on the detected type.
However, Newton teaches a pneumatic system consisting of an inflatable/deflatable garment operatively connected to a pump (compression garment 21 connected to a pump 20, Abstract and Figure 1) wherein a control unit comprises an identification component for detecting a type of at least one compression garment used during the compression therapy (a radio circuit 31 reads information within a transponder 30 memory and identifies the garment 21 and if the information is compatible with that held within the pump 20, then the pump operates the garment 21 according to the information transmitted by the transponder 30, Paragraph 0045), and located within a connector of the at least one compression garment (the transponder 30 storing the garment 21 information is located within a connector part 12 of the compression garment 21, Paragraph 0035 and Figure 1) wherein the pump regulates pressure based on the detected type ((a radio circuit 31 reads information within a transponder 30 memory and identifies the garment 21 and if the information is compatible with that held within the pump 20, then the pump operates the garment 21 according to the information transmitted by the transponder 30, Paragraph 0045).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Adams’s compression device and control system by including an identification component for detecting a type of at least one compression garment, as taught by Newton, as providing such an identifying means allows the system to be used with various types of compression garments without the pumps having to be changed or upgraded (Paragraph 0046 of Newton), and ensures the particular compression garment connected to the pump is compatible with the pump and operates the pump in accordance with that particular compression garment (Paragraph 0007 of Newton).
Regarding claim 2, Adams further teaches wherein the control unit is configured to form a detectable characteristic associated with the presence of a limb or anatomical structure surrounded by the at least one inflatable compression garment (the pressure sensor 34 provides information related to the pressure exerted by the sleeve 2 to the limb, such as the length of time the sleeve 2 is inflated and placed in the limb, therefore able to detect presence of the limb within the sleeve 2, Paragraph 0034), however again is silent wherein correlating the connected compression garment type with measurements obtained from a pressure transducer connected to a pump outlet.
However, Newton teaches a pneumatic system consisting of an inflatable/deflatable garment operatively connected to a pump (compression garment 21 connected to a pump 20, Abstract and Figure 1) wherein a control unit comprises an identification component for detecting a type of at least one compression garment used during the compression therapy (a radio circuit 31 reads information within a transponder 30 memory and identifies the garment 21 and if the information is compatible with that held within the pump 20, then the pump operates the garment 21 according to the information transmitted by the transponder 30, Paragraph 0045),and correlating the connection compression garment type with measurements obtained from a pressure transducer connected to a pump outlet ((a radio circuit 31 reads information within a transponder 30 memory and identifies the garment 21 and if the information is compatible with that held within the pump 20, then the pump operates the garment 21 according to the information transmitted by the transponder 30, Paragraph 0045; the information exchanged is used by the pump control system to active and to operate the pump to provide particular operating parameters for the particular garment, Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Adams’s compression device and control system by including an identification component for detecting a type of at least one compression garment, as taught by Newton, as providing such an identifying means allows the system to be used with various types of compression garments without the pumps having to be changed or upgraded (Paragraph 0046 of Newton), and ensures the particular compression garment connected to the pump is compatible with the pump and operates the pump in accordance with that particular compression garment (Paragraph 0007 of Newton).
Regarding claim 3, Adams further teaches wherein the control unit is configured for: monitoring the operation and delivery means of prophylaxis impulses to a limb or anatomical structure of a patient (the control system comprising a microprocessor 28 may monitor a change in the pressure exerted by the sleeve 2 as it is inflated by monitoring the time it takes to inflate the sleeve to a predetermined pressure, and this will vary depending on whether or not the device is in place surrounding a limb, Paragraph 0017, see also Paragraph 0038 describing the control system configured to monitor the operation and delivery means of the compressions delivered to the limb), and measuring a parameter forming a detectable characteristic of the presence of the limb or anatomical structure in contact with the compression garment (the pressure sensor 34 provides information related to the pressure exerted by the sleeve 2 to the limb, such as the length of time the sleeve 2 is inflated and placed in the limb, therefore able to detect presence of the limb within the sleeve 2, Paragraph 0034)
Regarding claim 5, Newton further teaches wherein the identification component being made of ferrite, steel or brass material (the connecting element 21 may include a ring of ferrite material 40, Paragraph 0057 and Figure 4a).
Regarding claim 9, Adams teaches the compression system according to claim 8, however is silent wherein the compression parameters that are capable of being modified are based on a sensed identification component in a garment connector.
However, Newton teaches a pneumatic system consisting of an inflatable/deflatable garment operatively connected to a pump (compression garment 21 connected to a pump 20, Abstract and Figure 1) wherein a control unit comprises an identification component for detecting a type of at least one compression garment used during the compression therapy (a radio circuit 31 reads information within a transponder 30 memory and identifies the garment 21 and if the information is compatible with that held within the pump 20, then the pump operates the garment 21 according to the information transmitted by the transponder 30, Paragraph 0045), and correlating the connection compression garment type with measurements obtained from a pressure transducer connected to a pump outlet ((a radio circuit 31 reads information within a transponder 30 memory and identifies the garment 21 and if the information is compatible with that held within the pump 20, then the pump operates the garment 21 according to the information transmitted by the transponder 30, Paragraph 0045; the information exchanged is used by the pump control system to active and to operate the pump to provide particular operating parameters for the particular garment, Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Adams’s compression device and control system by including an identification component for detecting a type of at least one compression garment, as taught by Newton, as providing such an identifying means allows the system to be used with various types of compression garments without the pumps having to be changed or upgraded (Paragraph 0046 of Newton), and ensures the particular compression garment connected to the pump is compatible with the pump and operates the pump in accordance with that particular compression garment (Paragraph 0007 of Newton).
Regarding claim 12, Adams further teaches the detection of the present presence of a limb in the at least one compression garment only occurs during the inflation of the at least one compression garment (the microprocessor 28 is able to determine if the sleeve 2 is either in place on the limb or not in place, Paragraph 0044; wherein a display 21 is used to display various compliance data such as data relating to the length of time for which each cell was inflated/deflated while surrounding the limb of the user at a particular pressure and particular mode, the number of times in which the patient has used the device, the time of day the user used the device, etc., Paragraph 0042).
Regarding claim 13, Adams further teaches wherein the sensing of the presence of the limb is based on at least one parameter from the list of pressure transducer (the microprocessor 28 is able to determine if the sleeve 2 is either in place on the limb or not in place, Paragraph 0044; wherein a display 21 is used to display various compliance data such as data relating to the length of time for which each cell was inflated/deflated while surrounding the limb of the user at a particular pressure and particular mode, the number of times in which the patient has used the device, the time of day the user used the device, etc., Paragraph 0042).
Regarding claim 14, Adams discloses a compression system (compression device comprises a control system arranged to control fluid flow in the device and a memory arranged to store gathered data relating to the use of the device, Abstract, Paragraph 0017, Figure 1) comprising: a connector (the compression sleeve 2 is connected to the controller unit 8 via a conduit 10, Paragraph 0032 and Figure 1) of the compression system in fluidic communication with at least one compression garment (sleeve 2 comprising an inflatable chamber, Paragraphs 0033-0034 and Figure 1), an air pump for supplying and regulating air pressure to the at least one compression garment (control system comprises a pump 38 and valve arrangement including six valves 36 such that pressure to the sleeve 2 may be selectively inflated or deflated, Paragraph 0038 and Figure 4) at least one pressure sensor for measuring the pressure present in at least one inflatable chamber of the at least one connected compression garment during the compression therapy and generating signals corresponding to the pressure in the at least one inflatable chamber (a pressure sensor 34 is attached to the sleeve 2 and located between the sleeve 2 and the limb and provides readings of the pressure experienced by the limb due to inflation of the sleeve 2 by the control system, the microprocessor 28 of the control system is able to read data from and write data to the memory, Paragraphs 0033-0034); the pressure sensor providing signals during the application of compression comprising characteristics of the presence of the limb or anatomical structure within the at least one compression garment (the pressure sensor 34 provides information related to the pressure exerted by the sleeve 2 to the limb, such as the length of time the sleeve 2 is inflated and placed in the limb, therefore able to detect presence of the limb within the sleeve 2, Paragraph 0034); the pressure sensor denoting a change in the compression level of the at least one compression garment as a result of the limb or anatomical structure being removed from the at least one compression garment compared to the characteristic during the previous inflation (the pressure sensor may detect when the sleeve 2 is not in place surrounding the limb, and therefore signals the control system to shut off delivery of fluid through the sleeve and deflate the sleeve, whereas when the sensor detects the sleeve 2 is surrounding a limb, the inflation profile will be different, Paragraphs 0017-0019, see also Paragraph 0044); and a visual indication provided by a control unit of the compression system to the user based on monitored time when the limb or anatomical structure is present in the at least one connected garment (the microprocessor 28 is able to determine if the sleeve 2 is either in place on the limb or not in place, Paragraph 0044; wherein a display 21 is used to display various compliance data such as data relating to the length of time for which each cell was inflated/deflated while surrounding the limb of the user at a particular pressure and particular mode, the number of times in which the patient has used the device, the time of day the user used the device, etc., Paragraph 0042) compared to monitored time when the limb is detected as not being present in the at least one connected garment (the microprocessor 28 is able to determine if the sleeve 2 is either in place on the limb or not in place, Paragraph 0044; wherein a display 21 is used to display various compliance data such as data relating to the length of time for which each cell was inflated/deflated while surrounding the limb of the user at a particular pressure and particular mode, the number of times in which the patient has used the device, the time of day the user used the device, etc., therefore also able to display data related to when the sleeve 2 was not surrounding the limb of the user, Paragraph 0042).
However, Adams is silent on the connector being able to detect which garment type is connected from a plurality of possible garment types; and wherein the air pump regulates pressure based on the detected type.
However, Newton teaches a pneumatic system consisting of an inflatable/deflatable garment operatively connected to a pump (compression garment 21 connected to a pump 20, Abstract and Figure 1) wherein a connector is able to detect which garment is connected (a radio circuit 31 reads information within a transponder 30 memory and identifies the garment 21 and if the information is compatible with that held within the pump 20, then the pump operates the garment 21 according to the information transmitted by the transponder 30; the transponder 30 storing the garment 21 information is located within a connector part 12 of the compression garment 21, Paragraph 0035 and Figure 1 Paragraph 0045), wherein the pump regulates pressure based on the detected type (a radio circuit 31 reads information within a transponder 30 memory and identifies the garment 21 and if the information is compatible with that held within the pump 20, then the pump operates the garment 21 according to the information transmitted by the transponder 30, Paragraph 0045).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Adams’s compression device and control system by including an identification component for detecting a type of at least one compression garment, as taught by Newton, as providing such an identifying means allows the system to be used with various types of compression garments without the pumps having to be changed or upgraded (Paragraph 0046 of Newton), and ensures the particular compression garment connected to the pump is compatible with the pump and operates the pump in accordance with that particular compression garment (Paragraph 0007 of Newton).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adams et al. (US 2007/0049853 A1) in view of Newton (US 2005/0033351 A1) and in further view of Wright et al. (US 2013/0331748 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Adams in view of Newton teach the control unit according to claim 1, however is silent wherein the control unit is in electronic communication with a separate patient-mounted remote sensor , wherein the sensor is configured for measuring patient specific parameters and including at least one of the following: the control unit performing an analysis of the signal(s) received from the sensor, the control unit detecting the correlation between a change in the patient sensor with the operation of the control unit such that a change in the movement of blood in the anatomical structure is detected as a result of the operation of the control unit, the control unit providing an indication to the user that communication is established with the remote sensor, and the control unit monitoring the patient usage of the garment over elapsed time based on the remote sensor signal.
However, Wright teaches a compression therapy device (Abstract and Figure 1) comprising a control unit (controller 145, Paragraph 0060) in electronic communication with a separate patient-mounted remote sensor (patient related data such as blood pressure, EKG, or blood oxygen saturation levels may be measured by sensors during a therapeutic session), wherein the control unit preforms an analysis of the signals received by the sensors (controller 145 may record and analyze sensor readings, Paragraph 0061).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Adams’s compression device and control system by including a patient-mounted remote sensor, as taught by Wright, as providing patient-mounted sensors, may provide a means of collecting important patient-specific data such as blood pressure readings, which may aide in contributing to the overall effectiveness of the compressive therapy delivered to the patient.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Chase et al. (US 2019/0133873 A1) and Perry et al. (US 2008/0103422 A1).
/SARAH B LEDERER/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/MARGARET M LUARCA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785