DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claim 10 has been canceled. Claims 1-2, 6-9, and 11 have been amended. Claims 1-9, and 11-13 remain pending in the application.
Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome each objection previously set forth in the Final Office Action mailed 9/16/25.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 12/9/25, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-8 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Aritomi et al. (JP2015057554A) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Aritomi.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 12/9/25, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim 9 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aritomi in view of Mita et al. (WO2020090414A1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Aritomi.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 12/9/25, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 11-13 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aritomi in view of Mita and Hausmann (U.S. 2018/0149285) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Aritomi.
Product by process limitations
Product by process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps.
"[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." (See MPEP § 2113)
Claim 3 recites: “… is scraped off…”, this limitations are subject to product by process analysis.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 1 be found allowable, claim 2 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Applicant is advised that should claim 6 be found allowable, claim 7 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Aritomi et al. (JP2015057554A).
Re claim 1:
Aritomi discloses an electromagnetic suction valve (200, electromagnetically driven intake valve mechanism - Para 19) that is in an open state when not energized (see Figs. 1, 2, 3A, 4B and Para 24), comprising:
a valve part (203, valve - Para 21; 214, valve housing - Para 22 (elements 203 and 214 are collectively a type of valve part as shown in Figs. 1-4B)) that opens (see Figs. 1, 2, 3A, 4B) and closes a fuel introduction opening (10P, fuel introduction passage - Para 42)(see Figs. 1, 2, 3A, 4A, 4B, and Paras 61-67); and
a stopper (S0, stopper - Para 22) including a bottom section (Modified Fig. 4A above - B (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element B as a type of bottom section of element S0; element B includes the portion of element S0 which includes element S2 which is the “bottom surface receiving surface” per Para 44)) that comes into contact with the valve part (203, 214) in the open state (Figs. 1, 2, 3A, 4B) in which the valve part (203, 214) opens the fuel introduction opening (10P)(see Figs. 1, 2, 3A, 4B and Paras 61-63), and a side wall section (SG, cylindrical surface portion - Para 44) facing a side circumferential surface (Modified Fig. 4A above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element A as a type of side circumferential surface of element 203/214; element A corresponds to the portion of element 203 shown which performs the function of guiding element 203 by element SG as described in Para 44 - “…the cylindrical surface portion SG functions as a guide portion that guides the axial stroke of the valve 203…”)) of the valve part (203, 214)(see Modified Fig. 4A above and Para 44 (see Figs. 3A, 3B, and Paras 45 and 47)), wherein
the bottom section (Modified Fig. 4A above - B) of the stopper (S0) includes a plurality of fuel passage holes (Sn1-Sn3, notches - Para 45), and
when viewed from an opening and closing direction (Modified Fig. 4A above - C (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element C as a type of direction in which element 203 and element B of S0 are facing each other)) of the valve part (203, 214), each of the plurality of fuel passage holes (Sn1-Sn3) has: (a) a first region (Modified Fig. 3B above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element A (dark shaded portion within examiner added circle) as a type of first region of elements Sn1, Sn2, and Sn3 that lies within a projected area of element 203/214 viewed in direction of element C of Modified Fig. 4A above)) that lies within a projected area (Modified Fig. 3B above - B (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element B as a type of projected area of element 203/214 (dark shaded portion within examiner added circle) viewed in direction of element C of Modified Fig. 4A above)) of the valve part (203, 214)(see Modified Figs. 3B and 4A above), and (b) a second region (Modified Fig. 3B above - C (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element C (light shaded portion within boundaries of Sn1, Sn2, Sn3) as a type of second region of elements Sn1, Sn2, and Sn3 that lies outside of element B)) that lies outside the projected area (Modified Fig. 3B above - B) of the valve part (203, 214)(see Modified Figs. 3B and 4A above), and
the second region (Modified Fig. 3B above - B) has an area that is greater than an area of the first region (Modified Fig. 3B above - A)(see Modified Figs. 3B and 4A above (in Figs. 3B and 4A each of elements Sn1, Sn2, and Sn3 are shown completely within and overlapping with a total projected area of element 203/214, and therefore regions of elements Sn1, Sn2, and Sn3 can be identified which fall within the claimed limitations as demonstrated)).
Re claim 2:
Aritomi discloses an electromagnetic suction valve (200, electromagnetically driven intake valve mechanism - Para 19) that is in an open state when not energized (see Figs. 1, 2, 3A, 4B and Para 24), comprising:
a valve part (203, valve - Para 21; 214, valve housing - Para 22 (elements 203 and 214 are collectively a type of valve part as shown in Figs. 1-4B)) that opens (see Figs. 1, 2, 3A, 4B) and closes a fuel introduction opening (10P, fuel introduction passage - Para 42)(see Figs. 1, 2, 3A, 4A, 4B, and Paras 61-67); and
a stopper (S0, stopper - Para 22) including a bottom section (Modified Fig. 4A above - B (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element B as a type of bottom section of element S0; element B includes the portion of element S0 which includes element S2 which is the “bottom surface receiving surface” per Para 44)) that comes into contact with the valve part (203, 214) in the open state (Figs. 1, 2, 3A, 4B) in which the valve part (203, 214) opens the fuel introduction opening (10P)(see Figs. 1, 2, 3A, 4B and Paras 61-63), and a side wall section (SG, cylindrical surface portion - Para 44) facing a side circumferential surface (Modified Fig. 4A above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element A as a type of side circumferential surface of element 203/214; element A corresponds to the portion of element 203 shown which performs the function of guiding element 203 by element SG as described in Para 44 - “…the cylindrical surface portion SG functions as a guide portion that guides the axial stroke of the valve 203…”)) of the valve part (203, 214)(see Modified Fig. 4A above and Para 44 (see Figs. 3A, 3B, and Paras 45 and 47)), wherein
the bottom section (Modified Fig. 4A above - B) of the stopper (S0) includes a plurality of fuel passage holes (Sn1-Sn3, notches - Para 45), and
when viewed from an opening and closing direction (Modified Fig. 4A above - C (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element C as a type of direction in which element 203 and element B of S0 are facing each other)) of the valve part (203, 214), each of the plurality of fuel passage holes (Sn1-Sn3) has: (a) a first region (Modified Fig. 3B above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element A (dark shaded portion within examiner added circle) as a type of first region of elements Sn1, Sn2, and Sn3 that lies within a projected area of element 203/214 viewed in direction of element C of Modified Fig. 4A above)) that lies within a projected area (Modified Fig. 3B above - B (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element B as a type of projected area of element 203/214 (dark shaded portion within examiner added circle) viewed in direction of element C of Modified Fig. 4A above)) of the valve part (203, 214)(see Modified Figs. 3B and 4A above), and (b) a second region (Modified Fig. 3B above - C (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element C (light shaded portion within boundaries of Sn1, Sn2, Sn3) as a type of second region of elements Sn1, Sn2, and Sn3 that lies outside of element B)) that lies outside the projected area (Modified Fig. 3B above - B) of the valve part (203, 214)(see Modified Figs. 3B and 4A above), and
the second region (Modified Fig. 3B above - B) has an area that is greater than an area of the first region (Modified Fig. 3B above - A)(see Modified Figs. 3B and 4A above (in Figs. 3B and 4A each of elements Sn1, Sn2, and Sn3 are shown completely within and overlapping with a total projected area of element 203/214, and therefore regions of elements Sn1, Sn2, and Sn3 can be identified which fall within the claimed limitations as demonstrated)).
Re claim 3:
Aritomi discloses the electromagnetic suction valve (200) according to claim 1 (as described above),
wherein a portion (see Modified Fig. 4A above at elements B, and SG (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize a type of portion of element SG within element B as a type of portion of element SG which overlaps elements Sn-Sn3)) of the side wall section (SG) of the stopper (S0) which overlaps the plurality of fuel passage holes (Sn1-Sn3) is scraped off in the direction (Modified Fig. 4A above - C) in which the valve part (203, 214) and the bottom section (Modified Fig. 4A above - B) of the stopper (S0) face each other (see Modified Fig. 4A above (“scraped off” is subject to product by process analysis as described above; portion of element SG within element B is shown with structure capable of being formed by scraping off)).
Re claim 4:
Aritomi discloses the electromagnetic suction valve (200) according to claim 1 (as described above),
wherein the bottom section (Modified Fig. 4A above - B) of the stopper (S0) includes a concave portion (Modified Fig. 4A above - H (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element H as a type of concave portion (see element H where element S6 transitions to element S5))) in a surface (Modified Fig. 4A above - F (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element F as a type of surface opposite of element G)) opposite to a surface (Modified Fig. 4A above - G (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element G as a type of surface facing element 203)) facing the valve part (203, 214)(see Modified Fig. 4A above), and
the concave portion (Modified Fig. 4A above - H) forms a step with an outer edge portion (see Modified Fig. 4A above at F (a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize a type of outer edge portion of element B is shown at element F as an outer peripheral edge of element S6 is shown at element F)) of the bottom section (Modified Fig. 4A above - B)(see Modified Fig. 4A above at element H (a type of step is shown formed by element H with element at F)).
Re claim 5:
Aritomi discloses the electromagnetic suction valve (200) according to claim 1 (as described above).
wherein the plurality of fuel passage holes (Sn1-Sn3) are each formed across the concave portion (Modified Fig. 4A above - H) and the outer edge portion (Modified Fig. 4A above at F)(see Modified Fig. 4A above (elements Sn1-Sn3 are shown formed across element at F)).
Re claim 6:
Aritomi discloses a fuel supply pump (see Fig. 2 at “PUMP” and Para 1 - “…a high-pressure fuel supply pump…”), comprising:
a body (Modified Fig. 2 above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element A as a type of body)) including a pressurizing chamber (12, pressurizing chamber - Para 18)(see Modified Fig. 2 above);
a plunger (2, piston plunger - Para 18) that is supported to the body (Modified Fig. 2 above - A) in a reciprocating possible manner and increases or decreases a capacity of the pressurizing chamber (12) by a reciprocating motion (see Modified Fig. 2 above at elements 2, Q1, Q2, and Para 27); and
an electromagnetic suction valve (200, electromagnetically driven intake valve mechanism - Para 19) that discharges fuel to the pressurizing chamber (12)(see Fig. 2 and Para 36),
wherein the electromagnetic suction valve (200) is in an open state when not energized (see Figs. 1, 2, 3A, 4B and Para 24), and includes
a valve part (203, valve - Para 21; 214, valve housing - Para 22 (elements 203 and 214 are collectively a type of valve part as shown in Figs. 1-4B)) that opens (see Figs. 1, 2, 3A, 4B) and closes a fuel introduction opening (10P, fuel introduction passage - Para 42)(see Figs. 1, 2, 3A, 4A, 4B, and Paras 61-67), and
a stopper (S0, stopper - Para 22) including a bottom section (Modified Fig. 4A above - B (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element B as a type of bottom section of element S0; element B includes the portion of element S0 which includes element S2 which is the “bottom surface receiving surface” per Para 44)) that comes into contact with the valve part (203, 214) in the open state (Figs. 1, 2, 3A, 4B) in which the valve part (203, 214) opens the fuel introduction opening (10P)(see Figs. 1, 2, 3A, 4B and Paras 61-63), and a side wall section (SG, cylindrical surface portion - Para 44) facing a side circumferential surface (Modified Fig. 4A above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element A as a type of side circumferential surface of element 203/214; element A corresponds to the portion of element 203 shown which performs the function of guiding element 203 by element SG as described in Para 44 - “…the cylindrical surface portion SG functions as a guide portion that guides the axial stroke of the valve 203…”)) of the valve part (203, 214)(see Modified Fig. 4A above and Para 44 (see Figs. 3A, 3B, and Paras 45 and 47)), wherein
the bottom section (Modified Fig. 4A above - B) of the stopper (S0) includes a plurality of fuel passage holes (Sn1-Sn3, notches - Para 45), when viewed from an opening and closing direction (Modified Fig. 4A above - C (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element C as a type of direction in which element 203 and element B of S0 are facing each other)) of the valve part (203, 214), each of the plurality of fuel passage holes (Sn1-Sn3) has: (a) a first region (Modified Fig. 3B above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element A (dark shaded portion within examiner added circle) as a type of first region of elements Sn1, Sn2, and Sn3 that lies within a projected area of element 203/214 viewed in direction of element C of Modified Fig. 4A above)) that lies within a projected area (Modified Fig. 3B above - B (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element B as a type of projected area of element 203/214 (dark shaded portion within examiner added circle) viewed in direction of element C of Modified Fig. 4A above)) of the valve part (203, 214)(see Modified Figs. 3B and 4A above), and (b) a second region (Modified Fig. 3B above - C (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element C (light shaded portion within boundaries of Sn1, Sn2, Sn3) as a type of second region of elements Sn1, Sn2, and Sn3 that lies outside of element B)) that lies outside the projected area (Modified Fig. 3B above - B) of the valve part (203, 214)(see Modified Figs. 3B and 4A above)t, and
the second region (Modified Fig. 3B above - B) has an area that is greater than an area of the first region (Modified Fig. 3B above - A)(see Modified Figs. 3B and 4A above (in Figs. 3B and 4A each of elements Sn1, Sn2, and Sn3 are shown completely within and overlapping with a total projected area of element 203/214, and therefore regions of elements Sn1, Sn2, and Sn3 can be identified which fall within the claimed limitations as demonstrated)).
Re claim 7:
Aritomi discloses a fuel supply pump (see Fig. 2 at “PUMP” and Para 1 - “…a high-pressure fuel supply pump…”), comprising:
a body (Modified Fig. 2 above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element A as a type of body)) including a pressurizing chamber (12, pressurizing chamber - Para 18)(see Modified Fig. 2 above);
a plunger (2, piston plunger - Para 18) that is supported to the body (Modified Fig. 2 above - A) in a reciprocating possible manner and increases or decreases a capacity of the pressurizing chamber (12) by a reciprocating motion (see Modified Fig. 2 above at elements 2, Q1, Q2, and Para 27); and
an electromagnetic suction valve (200, electromagnetically driven intake valve mechanism - Para 19) that discharges fuel to the pressurizing chamber (12)(see Fig. 2 and Para 36),
wherein the electromagnetic suction valve (200) is in an open state when not energized (see Figs. 1, 2, 3A, 4B and Para 24), and includes
a valve part (203, valve - Para 21; 214, valve housing - Para 22 (elements 203 and 214 are collectively a type of valve part as shown in Figs. 1-4B)) that opens (see Figs. 1, 2, 3A, 4B) and closes a fuel introduction opening (10P, fuel introduction passage - Para 42)(see Figs. 1, 2, 3A, 4A, 4B, and Paras 61-67), and
a stopper (S0, stopper - Para 22) including a bottom section (Modified Fig. 4A above - B (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element B as a type of bottom section of element S0; element B includes the portion of element S0 which includes element S2 which is the “bottom surface receiving surface” per Para 44)) that comes into contact with the valve part (203, 214) in the open state (Figs. 1, 2, 3A, 4B) in which the valve part (203, 214) opens the fuel introduction opening (10P)(see Figs. 1, 2, 3A, 4B and Paras 61-63), and a side wall section (SG, cylindrical surface portion - Para 44) facing a side circumferential surface (Modified Fig. 4A above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element A as a type of side circumferential surface of element 203/214; element A corresponds to the portion of element 203 shown which performs the function of guiding element 203 by element SG as described in Para 44 - “…the cylindrical surface portion SG functions as a guide portion that guides the axial stroke of the valve 203…”)) of the valve part (203, 214)(see Modified Fig. 4A above and Para 44 (see Figs. 3A, 3B, and Paras 45 and 47)),
the bottom section (Modified Fig. 4A above - B) of the stopper (S0) includes a plurality of fuel passage holes (Sn1-Sn3, notches - Para 45), when viewed from an opening and closing direction (Modified Fig. 4A above - C (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element C as a type of direction in which element 203 and element B of S0 are facing each other)) of the valve part (203, 214), each of the plurality of fuel passage holes (Sn1-Sn3) has: (a) a first region (Modified Fig. 3B above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element A (dark shaded portion within examiner added circle) as a type of first region of elements Sn1, Sn2, and Sn3 that lies within a projected area of element 203/214 viewed in direction of element C of Modified Fig. 4A above)) that lies within a projected area (Modified Fig. 3B above - B (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element B as a type of projected area of element 203/214 (dark shaded portion within examiner added circle) viewed in direction of element C of Modified Fig. 4A above)) of the valve part (203, 214)(see Modified Figs. 3B and 4A above), and (b) a second region (Modified Fig. 3B above - C (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element C (light shaded portion within boundaries of Sn1, Sn2, Sn3) as a type of second region of elements Sn1, Sn2, and Sn3 that lies outside of element B)) that lies outside the projected area (Modified Fig. 3B above - B) of the valve part (203, 214)(see Modified Figs. 3B and 4A above)t, and
the second region (Modified Fig. 3B above - B) has an area that is greater than an area of the first region (Modified Fig. 3B above - A)(see Modified Figs. 3B and 4A above (in Figs. 3B and 4A each of elements Sn1, Sn2, and Sn3 are shown completely within and overlapping with a total projected area of element 203/214, and therefore regions of elements Sn1, Sn2, and Sn3 can be identified which fall within the claimed limitations as demonstrated)).
Re claim 8:
Aritomi discloses electromagnetic suction valve (200) according to claim 1 (as described above),
wherein a center (see Fig. 3B at each of Sn1, Sn2, and Sn3 (a type of center of each of elements Sn1, Sn2, and Sn3 is shown)) of each of the fuel passage holes (Sn1, Sn2, and Sn3) is positioned such that said center does not overlap an outer peripheral edge (see Figs. 4A and 3B at element 1GH) of the valve part (203, 214)(see Figs. 4A and 3B).
Re claim 9:
Aritomi discloses electromagnetic suction valve (200) according to claim 8 (as described above), further comprising: a housing (1, housing - Para 18) configured to house the valve part (203, 214)(see Fig. 1).
Re claim 11:
Aritomi discloses electromagnetic suction valve (200) according to claim 9 (as described above),
wherein fuel flows from a downstream side (Modified Fig. 3A above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element A as a type of downstream side of element 203)) of the valve part (203, 214) toward an upstream side (Modified Fig. 3A above - B (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element B as a type of upstream side of element 203)) through the plurality of fuel passage holes (Sn1-Sn3)(see Modified Fig. 3A above at FF).
Re claim 12:
Aritomi discloses electromagnetic suction valve (200) according to claim 11 (as described above),
wherein the side wall section (SG) of the stopper (S0) faces a cylindrical outer surface (see Modified Fig. 4A above - at A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize a type of cylindrical outer surface at element A as Para 44 describes “…a cylindrical surface portion SG that protrudes toward the bottomed tubular portion of the valve 203…”)) of the valve part (203, 214)(see Modified Fig. 4A above).
Re claim 13:
Aritomi discloses electromagnetic suction valve (200) according to claim 12 (as described above),
wherein the side wall section (SG) of the stopper (S0) is spaced apart from the valve part (203, 214) in a radial direction (see Fig. 4A (element SG is shown spaced from element 20 in the up and down direction which a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize as a type of radial direction)).
Conclusion
/LOREN C EDWARDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746 2/27/26