Claims 1-5, 7,9,10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Edge (2021/242933).
For independent claim 1, Edge (2021/242933) discloses (see in particular para 93, 307-309, figure 1) according to all the features of present claim 1: A method for conducting network selection and/or cell selection of a user equipment with regard to a mobile communication network (see para 309: select a PLMN, select a radio cell), wherein the mobile communication network (see "100" in figure 1) comprises or uses or is associated or assigned to a radio access network comprising at least one base station entity being an air-based or a space-based base station entity (see para 93; see Figure 1), wherein the network selection and/or cell selection of the user equipment is conducted in a location-dependent manner, depending on the location of the user
equipment (see para 307: the UE 105 may receive location related information for the supported PLMNs broadcast (e.g. in one or more SIBs) in the one or more radio cells, ") wherein, in order to conduct the network selection (see para 309: select a PLMN) and/or the cell selection (see para 309: select a radio cell) in the location- dependent manner, the method comprises the following steps:
-- in a first step, the user equipment receives at least one radio signal being related to or indicative of the location of the user equipment (see para 306: "At
stage 3, the UE 105 obtains location related measurements, e.g., for DL signals received from the SV 102/202/302, from navigation SVs 190 (not shown), or from some combination of these." these signals relate or indicate the location of the UE), and detects or derives a location-related information from the radio signal (see para 307: "At stage 2, the UE 105 may receive location related information for the supported PLMNs broadcast (e.g. in one or more SIBs) in the one or more radio cells from the sNB 106/202/307 via the SV 102/202/302. " in combination with para 308 the UE 105 may optionally determine the location of the UE 105 from the location related measurements from stage 3 if stage 3 occurs. UE 105 may optionally determine the UE 105 country in which the UE 105 is located using the determined location and the location related information received...") -- in a second step, the air-based or space-based base station entity is used, by the user equipment (see in particular para 74: UE, for example, may access a satellite (instead of a terrestrial base station) ---") and in view of network selection and/or cell selection, in dependency of the location-related information
or derived by the user equipment (see para 309: "At stage 6, UE 105 selects a radio cell. In one implementation, referred to as implementation 6, if the UE 105 did not determine the UE 105 country at stage 5, the UE 105 may first select a PLMN (referred to as a preferred PLMN), where the PLMN is a preferred PLMN in the supported PLMNs indicated at stage 2 in the one or more radio cells of the sNB 106/202/307. The UE 105 may then select the radio cell at stage 6 based on the radio cell indicating support for the preferred PLMN.").
For independent claims 9 and 11 are rejected for the same reason as in claim 1.
For dependent claim 2: in case that the location-related information detected or derived by the user equipment (20) indicates that the air-based or space-based base station entity (111) shall not be used by the user equipment (20), the user equipment (20) conducts network selection and/or cell selection using one or a plurality of further base station entities (112, 113, 212) of the mobile communication network (100) and/or of a further mobile communication network : Edge (2021/242933) discloses wherein, in case that the location-related information detected or derived by the user equipment indicates that the air- based or space-based base station entity shall not be used by the user equipment , the user equipment conducts network selection and/or cell selection using one or a plurality of further base station entities of the mobile communication network and/or of a further mobile communication network, the further base station entities especially corresponding to terrestrial base station entities (see in particular para 355 - 357) that the UE using SIB1 or SIB2 may select other base stations or radio cells in particular depending on a remaining life time (see para 397, 398), wherein the new radio cell is different to the radio cell, and the new radio cell indicates support for the serving PLMN and the allowed TA."
For dependent claim 3: UE is able to infer location related information based on at least one radio signal: Edge (2021/242933) discloses wherein the at least one radio signal corresponds to a radio signal received, by the user equipment , from one or a plurality of further base station entities of the mobile communication network (100) and/or of a further mobile communication network, wherein the user equipment is able to infer the location-related information based on the at least one radio signal or radio signals, especially the signal strength thereof (see in particular para 307 that the UE 105 may receive location related information for the supported PLMNs broadcast (e.g. in one or more SIBs) in the one or more radio cells from the sNB) .
For dependent claim 4: user equipment (20) comprises a global navigation satellite system receiver module, and wherein the user equipment (20) is able to detect or calculate, by means of the global navigation satellite system receiver module, its geographical location from the at least one radio signal - Edge discloses wherein the at least one radio signal corresponds to a signal received, by the user equipment from a global navigation satellite system (200), wherein the user equipment comprises a global navigation satellite system receiver module, and wherein the user equipment is able to detect or calculate, by means of the global navigation satellite system receiver module, its geographical location from the at least one radio signal. (see in particular para 306, 383, 478) that the UE obtains location related measurements from navigation SVs/Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) satellites and that UE the UE may obtain the position of the UE by obtaining location measurements for downlink signals received from one or more communication satellites (e.g. SVs 102. 202 and/or 302), one or more Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) satellites.
For dependent claim 7: Edge already discloses wherein the set or sets of geographical configuration information is/are received by the user equipment (20) and/or stored in the user equipment (20) according to at least one out of the following mechanisms: -- the set or sets of geographical configuration information, especially country polygons and/or region polygons and/or parts thereof, is/are preconfigured in the software of the user equipment (20), either at production or by means of a software update, especially over the air, -- the set or sets of geographical configuration information, especially country polygons and/or region polygons and/or parts thereof, is/are received, by the user equipment via a broadcast channel of the at least one base station entity ) and/or of one or a plurality of the further base station entities (112, 113, 212) of the mobile communication network (100), especially via the broadcast control channel and/or using one or a plurality of system information blocks, especially a system information block dedicated to transmit geographical configuration information. (see point 3.4.2 above) that geographic definitions are used defining cells, tracking areas, country borders.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over. Edge (2021/242933) in view of Nam(2016/0157218).
For Claim 13, Edge (2021/242933) discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of memory, processor and a non-transitory computer readable medium having executable codes in a communications network. Nam et al. from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches a provision of the memory, processor and a non-transitory computer readable medium having executable codes ( See paragraphs 0014 and 0052). Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use memory, processor and a non- transitory computer readable medium having executable codes as taught by Nam et al. in the communication network of Edge (2021/242933) for the purpose of storing codes in the memory to execute the process by the processor.
Claims 6,8 and 14-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Applicant's arguments filed 6/17/2-26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the remarks of 6/17/2026, applicants traverse the rejection under 35 USC 102(a1). The reversal is based on ground of that Edge also fails to render obvious claims as it is directed at selecting or validating a same-country PLMN or core network while using satellite access. Edge does not address the claimed problem of controlling whether the UE should use the air-based or space-based base station entity itself for network selection and/or cell selection based on location-related information detected or derived by the UE. In Edge, the location/country information is used to select a serving PLMN associated with the UE's country. Edge therefore uses location to choose among PLMNs supported by a satellite radio cell. This arguments are not found to be persuasive. Applicant’s directive at (see para 306: "At
stage 3, the UE 105 obtains location related measurements, e.g., for DL signals received from the SV 102/202/302, from navigation SVs 190 (not shown), or from some combination of these." these signals relate or indicate the location of the UE), and detects or derives a location-related information from the radio signal (see para 307: "At stage 2, the UE 105 may receive location related information for the supported PLMNs broadcast (e.g. in one or more SIBs) in the one or more radio cells from the sNB 106/202/307 via the SV 102/202/302. " in combination with para 308 the UE 105 may optionally determine the location of the UE 105 from the location related measurements from stage 3 if stage 3 occurs. UE 105 may optionally determine the UE 105 country in which the UE 105 is located using the determined location and the location related information received wherein it teaches Edge also fails to render obvious claim 1 as it is directed to selecting or validating a same-country PLMN or core network while using satellite access. Edge does not address the claimed problem of controlling whether the UE should use the air-based or space-based base station entity itself for network selection and/or cell selection based on location-related information detected or derived by the UE. In Edge, the location/country information is used to select a serving PLMN associated with the UE's country. Edge therefore uses location to choose among PLMNs supported by a satellite radio cell wherein it teaches selecting or validating a same-country PLMN or core network while using satellite access. Edge does not address the claimed problem of controlling whether the UE should use the air-based or space-based base station entity itself for network selection and/or cell selection based on location-related information detected or derived by the UE. In Edge, the location/country information is used to select a serving PLMN associated with the UE's country. Edge therefore uses location to choose among PLMNs supported by a satellite radio cell.
9. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicants are reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANG T TON/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476
/D.T.T/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476