DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
At least claims 1, 2 and 3 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 9 and 20 respectively of copending Application No. 18/716,534 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each and every limitation in the claims of the current application can be found in the respective claims of the ‘534 reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2018/0101082 to Yu et al in view of CN 11-379871 to Cui.
In regards to claim 1, Yu recites a photodetector (Figures 1, 2A & 2B), comprising a waveguide structure (101 & 106) and a light trapping structure (105/205; [0091]), wherein the waveguide structure extends into the light trapping structure; a first side, on which a first sidewall of the waveguide structure is positioned, is tangent to a second side, on which a second sidewall of the light trapping structure is positioned; and the waveguide structure is configured to import incident light into the light trapping structure in a direction tangent to the first side; the imported light is confined to travel within the light trapping structure by total internal reflection of sidewalls of the light trapping structure. But Yu fails to expressly recite an absorption structure positioned on the light trapping structure; the coupled light is confined to travel annularly within the absorption structure by total internal reflection of sidewalls of the absorption structure, and the coupled light is converted into electrons and holes. However, Cui teaches a photodetector having an absorption structure (30). Cui further teaches the light trapping structure section of the waveguide to annular (claim 1). Cui teaches these features to improve the responsiveness of the photodetector without prolonging the absorption length and having no influence on the bandwidth. Since Yu and Cui both teach photodetectors are both from the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have provided an absorption structure positioned on the light trapping structure; the coupled light is confined to travel annularly within the absorption structure by total internal reflection of sidewalls of the absorption structure, and the coupled light is converted into electrons and holes for a more advantageous responsiveness of the photodetector.
In regards to claim 2, Yu in view of Cui teaches a shape of a projection of the waveguide structure on a preset plane comprises an elongated shape; a shape of a projection of the light trapping structure on the preset plane comprises an enclosed shape formed by at least one straight line and/or at least one curve; and an angle formed by the second side, on which the second sidewall of the light trapping structure is positioned, and a third side, on which a third sidewall of the light trapping structure is positioned, is an obtuse angle; and the preset plane is perpendicular to a direction of a thickness of the light trapping structure, and the third sidewall is a sidewall where the incident light is reflected for a first time after the incident light enters the light trapping structure. [0091]
In regards to claim 3, Yu in view of Cui teaches the shape of the projection of the light trapping structure on the preset plane comprises one of: a circle; an enclosed shape formed by connecting a plurality of curves; an enclosed shape formed by connecting a plurality of straight lines and a plurality of curves; or a polygon. [0091]
In regards to claim 5, Yu in view of Cui teaches the projection of the light trapping structure (105/205 of Yu) on the preset plane covers a projection of the absorption structure (30 of Cui) on the preset plane.
In regards to claims 6 and 7, Yu in view of Cui teaches a slab structure (220a & 220b), a first doped structure, a first doped region (208), a second doped region (209), a first electrode (232a & 232b) and a second electrode (232a & 232b), wherein the slab structure surrounds the waveguide structure and the light trapping structure; and a thickness of the waveguide structure is greater than a thickness of the slab structure; the first doped structure is positioned in the slab structure and surrounds the light trapping structure; the first doped region is positioned on a surface of the first doped structure and a region with a certain depth downward from the surface of the first doped structure; the second doped region is positioned on a surface of the absorption structure and a region with a certain depth downward from the surface of the absorption structure; the first electrode is positioned on the first doped region, and the first electrode is configured to collect electrons or holes flowing sequentially along the absorption structure, the light trapping structure, the first doped structure, and the first doped region; and the second electrode is positioned on the second doped region, and the second electrode is configured to collect electrons or holes flowing sequentially along the absorption structure and the second doped region, wherein the thickness of the waveguide structure is the same as a thickness of the light trapping structure, and the thickness of the waveguide structure is greater than the thickness of the slab structure.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 8 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In regards to claim 4, the prior art of record fails to disclose or reasonably suggest the polygon comprises a regular polygon and has a number of sides greater than or equal to 6 in addition to the accompanying features of the independent claim and any intervening claims.
In regards to claims 8 and 9, the prior art of record fails to disclose or reasonably suggest a second doped structure and a recessed structure, wherein the second doped structure is positioned between the slab structure and the light trapping structure; a thickness of the second doped structure is less than a thickness of the light trapping structure, the thickness of the second doped structure is less than a thickness of the first doped structure; and the thickness of the waveguide structure is the same as the thickness of the light trapping structure; the recessed structure is positioned between the slab structure and the waveguide structure; a thickness of the recessed structure is less than the thickness of the slab structure, and the thickness of the recessed structure is less than the thickness of the waveguide structure; and the first electrode is further configured to collect electrons or holes flowing sequentially along the absorption structure, the light trapping structure, the second doped structure, the first doped structure, and the first doped region in addition to the accompanying features of the independent claim and any intervening claims.
References Cited
The references cited made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
The documents submitted by applicant in the Information Disclosure Statements have been considered and made of record. Note attached copy of forms PTO-1449.
Inventorship
Conclusion
/TINA WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874