DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on September 29, 2025. These drawings are not acceptable. The drawings are objected to because the reference character “19” is used in the specification (see amendment filed 9/29/2025) to designate a piston rod; however, figure 1 uses the reference character “19” is used to designate a part or surface of the housing (1) or magnet armature chamber (17).
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “the magnet armature chamber” in line 17. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, it is assumed that the recitation “the magnet armature chamber” in claim 10, line 17, should read –the magnetic armature [[chamber]]--.
Claims 11-18 are rejected because they depend on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10, 12-15, 17 and 18, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US2023/0278065 (“Walter”).
Regarding claim 10, Walter discloses a gas metering valve, comprising:
a housing (mainly defined by 21, 37 and housing element(s) encasing electromagnetic actuator 26) in which a gas chamber (20) is formed, which can be filled with gaseous fuel via an inlet opening (see annotated fig. 5, below) and from which gaseous fuel can be discharged in a metered manner (via armature 33 and electromagnet 26) via an outlet opening (23);
a valve element (mainly defined by 24 and 25) which is longitudinally moveably arranged (so as to allow valve head 24 to contact and separate from valve seat 22) in the gas chamber, wherein the valve element has a valve seal surface (upper surface of valve head, relative to the orientation of fig. 5) which cooperates with a valve seat (22) for opening and closing the outlet opening;
a magnetic armature (33) which is connected to the valve element (via threaded shaft 48) and can be moved by an electromagnet (28);
a bellows (39) which is connected in a gas-tight manner (via laser welding; see specification paragraphs [0072] through [0074]) to the valve element at one end (42) and to the housing at the other end (40), wherein the gas-tight connection with the housing is formed along a sealing line (defined along connection face 41);
wherein a diameter (see “sealing line diameter” in annotated partial of fig. 7, below) of the sealing line is greater than a diameter (see “valve seat diameter” in annotated partial of fig. 7, below) of the valve seat, such that, using pressure in the gas chamber, a resulting pneumatic longitudinal force is exerted on the valve element in a closing direction (although not explicitly discussed by Walter, fluid pressure acting in a closing direction on bellows 39 is larger than fluid pressure acting on valve head 24 towards an opening direction because of the difference in respective effective pressure areas),
wherein the bellows forms a gas-tight separation between the gas chamber (20) and the magnet armature chamber (bellows 39 seals stem 25 away from fluid disposed in chamber 20).
With regards recitations directed to the fluid being handled (e.g., “gas”), “Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim.” Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969). Furthermore, “[i]nclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims.” In re Young, 75 F.2d * > 996 < , 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)).
Regarding claim 12, Walter discloses a valve disk (24) formed at an outlet end (bottom end, relative to the orientation of fig. 5) of the valve element (mainly defined by 24 and 25), the valve seal surface (upper conical surface of valve head 24, which abuts seat 22) being formed on the valve disk and facing the housing (facing upward, relative to the orientation of fig. 5).
Regarding claim 13, Walter discloses the valve seal surface (upper conical surface of valve head 24, which abuts seat 22) is conical in shape.
Regarding claim 14, Walter discloses the magnet armature (33) is a plunger armature (see fig. 3).
Regarding claim 15, Walter discloses the magnet armature (33) is sealed in a gas-tight manner (magnet armature 33 is isolated from fluid in chamber 20) against the gas chamber (20) by the bellows (39).
Regarding claim 17, Walter discloses the magnet armature (33) is arranged in a magnet armature chamber (see chamber within which armature 33 reciprocates) which can be filled with gas (atmospheric gas) and in which a lower pressure prevails during operation of the gas metering valve (operating fluid pressure enters chamber 20; however, armature 33 remains to be exposed to atmospheric pressure via openings proximal spring 32) than in the gas chamber (20).
Regarding claim 18, Walter discloses the magnet armature chamber (see chamber within which armature 33 reciprocates) is connected to ambient air via a compensating line (opening(s) defined in housing section 21 proximal to spring 32; see fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11, as best understood, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walter in view of engineering expedient.
Regarding claim 11, Walter discloses the diameter of the sealing line (see “sealing line diameter” in annotated partial fig. 7, above) being larger than the diameter of the valve seat (see “valve seat diameter” in annotated partial fig. 7, above).
Walter is silent to the diameter of the sealing line being at least 5% larger than the diameter of the valve seat.
However, one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention would know that experimenting with different bellows sizes and/or different diameters of the sealing line would affect the fluid forces acting on the bellows, and subsequently on the valve element.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the invention of Lewis by configuring the diameter of the sealing line to be at least 5% larger than the diameter of the valve seat, to effect a desired fluid pressure force on the valve element, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 2383.
Claim 16, as best understood, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walter in view of DE10204655 (“Stier”).
Regarding claim 16, Walter discloses the gas metering valve having an actuator spring (32) isolated form the gas chamber; however, Walter does not disclose a closing spring is arranged in the gas chamber, the closing spring being arranged under a pressure bias between a shoulder on the housing and the valve element and exerts a closing force in a longitudinal direction on the valve element.
Stier teaches (see fig. 1) a closing spring (22) is arranged in an operation fluid chamber (chamber within which spring 22 is disposed), the closing spring being arranged under a pressure bias (compression) between a shoulder (see bottom abutment of spring 22, relative to the orientation of fig. 1) on a housing (mainly defined by 2 and 20) and a valve element (mainly defined by 16, 19 and 23) and exerts a closing force in a longitudinal direction (vertical direction, relative to the orientation of fig. 1) on the valve element.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the invention of Walter by employing a closing spring is arranged in the gas chamber, the closing spring being arranged under a pressure bias between a shoulder on the housing and the valve element, as taught by Stier, to ensure sufficient closure of the valve element.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 29, 2025, have been fully considered.
With regards to the objections to the drawings, Applicant alleges that amendments to the specification filed 9/29/2025 have overcome the drawing objections; however, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The specification merely changes the reference character designated for the piston rod to be “19”, but the piston rod (19) moves synchronously together with the magnet armature (18) and the valve element (8). Figure 1 indicates the reference character “19” as a portion of the housing (1) or the magnet armature chamber (17), which cannot move with the magnet armature (18) or the valve element (8). Therefore, reference character “19” in figure 1 fails to indicate the correct element of the invention.
With regards to the objection to the specification, in light of the current amendments, the objection to the specification is now withdrawn.
With regards to the claim objection(s), in light of the current amendments, these claim objection(s) are now withdrawn.
With regards to the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claim 16, in light of the current amendments, this rejection is now withdrawn; however, the amended claims have necessitated a new 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claim 10, see Office action, above.
With regards to the prior art rejection of claims 10 and 12-15 over Lewis, Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejection(s) of claim(s) 10 and 12-15 over Lewis have been considered but are moot because the current ground of rejection does not rely on Lewis, or any combinations thereof, for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HAILEY K. DO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753