DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group III, claims 21-50, in the reply filed on May 4, 2026 is acknowledged.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
See claim limitations in independent claim 50 that use the word “means”.
Claim Objections
Claim 29 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 27. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Abotabl (WO 2021/231003 A1, submitted by applicant).
As to claim 21, Abotabl discloses a method of performing a round trip time message exchange, comprising: performing the round trip time message exchange with a wireless node including receiving a downlink positioning reference signal and transmitting an uplink positioning reference signal (see paragraph [0012]), wherein the round trip time message exchange is associated with at least one duplex mode (see paragraph [0012]); and reporting a receive-transmit time difference measurement value (see paragraph [0003]) and an indication of the at least one duplex mode based on the performed round trip time message exchange (see paragraphs [0008], [0011], [0013], [0014]).
As to claim 22, Abotabl discloses that the indication of the at least one duplex mode indicates the downlink positioning reference signal is received in a first half duplex slot and the uplink positioning reference signal is transmitted in a second half duplex slot. See paragraph [0129].
As to claim 23, Abotabl discloses that the indication of the at least one duplex mode indicates the downlink positioning reference signal is received in a first full duplex slot and the uplink positioning reference signal is transmitted in a second full duplex slot. See paragraphs [0068], [0098], [0129].
As to claim 24, Abotabl discloses that the indication of the at least one duplex mode indicates the downlink positioning reference signal is received in a full duplex slot and the uplink positioning reference signal is transmitted in a half duplex slot. See paragraph [0023].
As to claim 25, Abotabl discloses that the indication of the at least one duplex mode indicates the downlink positioning reference signal is received in a half duplex slot and the uplink positioning reference signal is transmitted in a full duplex slot. See paragraph [0023].
As to claim 26, Abotabl discloses that the indication of the at least one duplex mode indicates the downlink positioning reference signal is received while in a half duplex operational mode and the uplink positioning reference signal is transmitted while in the half duplex operational mode. See paragraphs [0004], [0044], [0113].
As to claims 27, 29, Abotabl discloses that the indication of the at least one duplex mode indicates the downlink positioning reference signal is received while in a full duplex operational mode and the uplink positioning reference signal is transmitted while in the full duplex operational mode. See paragraph [0113].
As to claim 28, Abotabl discloses that the indication of the at least one duplex mode indicates the downlink positioning reference signal is received while in a half duplex operational mode and the uplink positioning reference signal is transmitted while in a full duplex operational mode. See paragraph [0023].
As to claims 30, 47, Abotabl discloses providing an on-demand request for the round trip time message exchange, wherein the on-demand request includes the indication of the at least one duplex mode. See paragraphs [0093], [0109].
As to claim 31, Abotabl discloses that reporting the receive-transmit time difference measurement value based on the performed round trip time message exchange comprises: providing one or more measurement reports comprising at least one the receive-transmit time difference measurement value (see paragraph [0003]) and the indication of the at least one duplex mode (see paragraphs [0008], [0011], [0013], [0014]).
As to claim 32, Abotabl discloses that the at least one duplex mode comprises a half duplex mode and a full duplex mode. See paragraphs [0023], [0069].
As to claims 33, 48, Abotabl discloses receiving assistance data including configuration information for the downlink positioning reference signal and the uplink positioning reference signal (see paragraphs [0112], [0113]); and determining timing information for the downlink positioning reference signal and the uplink positioning reference signal relative to a first period associated with the half duplex mode and a second period associated with the full duplex mode based on the received assistance data (see paragraphs [0112], [0113]), wherein performing the round trip time message exchange with the wireless node comprises: receiving the downlink positioning reference signal and transmitting the uplink positioning reference signal in either the first period or the second period (see paragraphs [0078], [0098]).
As to claim 34, Abotabl discloses that receiving the assistance data comprises: receiving one or more long term evolution positioning protocol (LPP) messages comprising the assistance data (see paragraph [0112]); or receiving one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages comprising the assistance data.
As to claim 35, Abotabl discloses that the assistance data includes timing information for half duplex operations and full duplex operations (see paragraphs [0112], [0113]), further comprising: determining the first period associated with the half duplex mode based on the timing information for the half duplex operations (see paragraphs [0112], [0113]); or determining the second period associated with the full duplex mode based on the timing information for the full duplex operations (see paragraphs [0112], [0113]).
As to claim 36, Abotabl discloses that reporting the receive-transmit time difference measurement value and the indication of the at least one duplex mode based on the performed round trip time message exchange comprises: reporting at least one of: a receive time for the received downlink positioning reference signal (see paragraph [0003]); a transmit time for the transmitted uplink positioning reference signal (see paragraph [0003]); a reference signal received power measurement value for the received downlink positioning reference signal; a batch of positioning reference signal measurement values; or associated indications of the associated duplex mode for each positioning reference signal measurement value in the batch of positioning reference signal measurement values.
As to claim 37, Abotabl discloses that reporting the receive-transmit time difference measurement value and the indication of the at least one duplex mode based on the performed round trip time message exchange comprises: reporting a first set of one or more receive-transmit time difference measurement values (see paragraph [0003]) and a first indication that the first set of one or more receive-transmit time difference measurement values are associated with the half duplex mode (see paragraphs [0023], [0069]); and reporting a second set of one or more receive-transmit time difference measurement values (see paragraph [0003]) and a second indication that the second set of one or more receive-transmit time difference measurement values are associated with the full duplex mode (see paragraphs [0023], [0069]).
As to claim 38, Abotabl discloses receiving assistance data including configuration information for the downlink positioning reference signal and the uplink positioning reference signal (see paragraphs [0112], [0113]); and determining timing information for the downlink positioning reference signal and the uplink positioning reference signal relative to a first half duplex slot associated with the half duplex mode and a second half duplex slot associated with the half duplex mode based on the received assistance data (see paragraphs [0113], [0129]), wherein performing the round trip time message exchange with the wireless node comprises: receiving the downlink positioning reference signal in the first half duplex slot; and transmitting the uplink positioning reference signal in the second half duplex slot (see paragraphs [0113], [0129]).
As to claim 39, Abotabl discloses receiving assistance data including configuration information for the downlink positioning reference signal and the uplink positioning reference signal (see paragraphs [0112], [0113]); and determining timing information for the downlink positioning reference signal and the uplink positioning reference signal relative to a first full duplex slot associated with the full duplex mode and a second full duplex slot associated with the full duplex mode based on the received assistance data (see paragraphs [0068], [0098], [0129]), wherein performing the round trip time message exchange with the wireless node comprises: receiving the downlink positioning reference signal in the first full duplex slot; and transmitting the uplink positioning reference signal in the second full duplex slot (see paragraphs [0068], [0098], [0129]).
As to claim 40, Abotabl discloses receiving assistance data including configuration information for the downlink positioning reference signal and the uplink positioning reference signal (see paragraphs [0112], [0113]); and determining timing information for the downlink positioning reference signal and the uplink positioning reference signal relative to a half duplex slot associated with the half duplex mode and a full duplex slot associated with the full duplex mode based on the received assistance data (see paragraphs [0112], [0113]), wherein performing the round trip time message exchange with the wireless node comprises: receiving the downlink positioning reference signal in the half duplex slot (see paragraph [0023]); and transmitting the uplink positioning reference signal in the full duplex slot (see paragraph [0023]).
As to claim 41, Abotabl discloses receiving assistance data including configuration information for the downlink positioning reference signal and the uplink positioning reference signal (see paragraphs [0112], [0113]); and determining timing information for the downlink positioning reference signal and the uplink positioning reference signal relative to a half duplex slot associated with the half duplex mode and a full duplex slot associated with the full duplex mode based on the received assistance data (see paragraphs [0112], [0113]), wherein performing the round trip time message exchange with the wireless node comprises: receiving the downlink positioning reference signal in the full duplex slot (see paragraph [0023]); and transmitting the uplink positioning reference signal in the half duplex slot (see paragraph [0023]).
As to claim 42, Abotabl discloses that performing the round trip time message exchange with the wireless node comprises: receiving the downlink positioning reference signal when in a half duplex operational mode; and transmitting the uplink positioning reference signal when in the half duplex operational mode. See paragraph [0129].
As to claim 43, Abotabl discloses that performing the round trip time message exchange with the wireless node comprises: receiving the downlink positioning reference signal when in a full duplex operational mode; and transmitting the uplink positioning reference signal when in the full duplex operational mode. See paragraph [0129].
As to claim 44, Abotabl discloses that performing the round trip time message exchange with the wireless node comprises: receiving the downlink positioning reference signal when in a half duplex operational mode; and transmitting the uplink positioning reference signal when in a full duplex operational mode. See paragraph [0023].
As to claim 45, Abotabl discloses that performing the round trip time message exchange with the wireless node comprises: receiving the downlink positioning reference signal when in a full duplex operational mode; and transmitting the uplink positioning reference signal when in a half duplex operational mode. See paragraph [0023].
As to claim 46, it is rejected for similar reasons with respect to independent claim 21 as set forth above. In addition, Abotabl discloses one or more memories 1635 (see paragraph [0124]), one or more processors 1610 (see paragraph [0124]).
As to claim 49, it is rejected for similar reasons with respect to independent claim 21 as set forth above. In addition, Abotabl discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium (see paragraph [0124]).
As to claim 50, it is rejected for similar reasons with respect to independent claim 21 as set forth above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Duan (US 2021/0321387 A1); Khoryaev (US 2022/0110085 A1); Abotabl (US 2021/0360575 A1) disclose positioning techniques in full duplex mode.
/NGUYEN T VO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646