DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “outlet end of the outdoor circuit breaker” (claim 1), “isolating driving mechanism” (claim 2), “base frame” (claim 2), “pin shaft(s)” (claims 2 and 3), “opening mechanism” (claim 6), “closing mechanism” (claim 6), “stopper apparatus” (claim 6), “outlet end of the pole of the outdoor circuit breaker” (claim 10), “contact assembly” (claim 11), “outer side of the contact assembly” (claim 11), “conductive tape” (claim 11), must be shown and reference numbers provided therefor on the drawings and in the specification, or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Furthermore, the drawings appears to be of insufficient quality, the figures are small and quality of the lines is unsatisfactory. The drawings will not reproduce well due to the character of
the lines. All drawings must be made by a process which will give them satisfactory reproduction
characteristics. See 37 CFR 1.84(1).
(1) Character of lines, numbers, and letters. All drawings must be made by a process
which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter
must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and
uniformly thick and well-defined. The weight of all lines and letters must be heavy enough to
permit adequate reproduction. This requirement applies to all lines however fine, to shading, and
to lines representing cut surfaces in sectional views. Lines and strokes of different thicknesses
may be used in the same drawing where different thicknesses have a different meaning.
(m) Shading. The use of shading in views is encouraged if it aids in understanding the
invention and if it does not reduce legibility. Shading is used to indicate the surface or shape of
spherical, cylindrical, and conical elements of an object. Flat parts may also be lightly shaded.
Such shading is preferred in the case of parts shown in perspective, but not for cross sections.
See paragraph (h)(3) of this section. Spaced lines for shading are preferred. These lines must be
thin, as few in number as practicable, and they must contrast with the rest of the drawings. As a substitute for shading, heavy lines on the shade side of objects can be used except where they superimpose on each other or obscure reference characters. Light should come from the upper left corner at an angle of 45°. Surface delineations should preferably be shown by proper shading. Solid black shading areas are not permitted, except when used to represent bar graphs or color.
Furthermore, Figs. 3 and 5 do not have any reference numbers (characters).
Examiner’s Note: the aforementioned problems have been cited as examples. Applicant’s cooperation is hereby requested in correcting any remaining similar problems of which Applicant may become aware in the drawings.
Specification
The specification is objected. The 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, requires the specification to be written in "full, clear, concise, and exact terms." The specification contains terms which are not clear, concise and exact. The specification should be revised carefully in order to comply with 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph. Examples of some unclear, inexact or verbose terms used in the specification are: “help of special work” (par. [0004]); “layout is reasonable” (par. [0034]), “space is compact” (par. [0034]), “into one with integrated design and complete set” (par. [0034]), “closing (opening) is in place” (pars. [0023], [0024], [0069], [0073], [0074], [0075]), etc.
The Office would like to emphasize that aforementioned problems are only the examples. The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which Applicant may become aware in the specification. Applicant must carefully review the entire disclosure and to amend the specification and the abstract in proper English, without any artifacts of the incorrect translation from foreign documents. Verbose passages should be streamlined, and sentences with non-standard sentence construction or grammar should be editorially improved. No new matter should be introduced (37 CFR 1.125(a)).
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 3, 9, and 13, are objected.
Claim 2 sets forth “a driving mechanism”. However, claim 1 previously introduced “an electric isolating driving mechanism”, then claims on numerous instances refer to the “driving mechanism” (e.g., claim 2, l. 11, claim 3, ll. 1-2, claim 5, ll. 1-2), etc. This creates ambiguity and confusion, since it’s not clear to which particular driving mechanism the claims are referring to ? It appears that there are two distinct driving mechanisms are present in the claimed apparatus: the electric isolating driving mechanism and the driving mechanism of the isolating switch mechanism.
Applicant is required to clearly differentiate between said two distinct driving mechanisms throughout all pending claims by providing fully descriptive limitations. Appropriate correction is required.
The Office reminds Applicant that the uniform terminology should be used throughout the claims. The claimed terminology should be consistent with the terminology of the specification and should follow the nomenclature of the specification. The terms and phrases used in claims must have a clear support or antecedent basis in the description so that the meaning of the terms in the claims may be ascertainable by reference to the description. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o).
Furthermore, claim 3 (l. 8) recites the limitation “pin shafts” which lacks proper antecedent basis, since a single “pin shaft” has been positively set forth in the parent claim 2 (l. 11).
Furthermore, claims 9 recites ungrammatical cumbersome clauses “closing in place” (ll. 10 and 14-15).
Furthermore, claim 13 refers to the same component by using different terminology, i.e., “installation board” vs. “installing board” (ll. 1-3).
Appropriate corrections are required. Applicant’s cooperation is hereby requested in correcting any remaining problems and informalities of Applicant may become aware in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 217933517 to Gao Jie et al. (hereafter “Jie”, cited in IDS) in view of CN 108962666 to Jian Gong (hereafter “Gong”, cited in IDS), CN 202601497 to Qian Zichu (hereafter “Zichu”, cited in IDS), and CN 2687827 to Yu-Cheng Bai (hereafter “Bai”).
Regarding claim 1, Jie discloses an outdoor switchgear (Figs. 1-6) for control and protection of connection and disconnection of a medium-voltage microgrid, comprising: a current transformer (2), an isolating switch mechanism (6), an outdoor circuit breaker (1, Fig. 6), an electric isolating driving mechanism (11); wherein the current transformer (2) is installed on an outlet end of the outdoor circuit breaker (1), the isolating switch mechanism (6) is connected to the current transformer (2), the isolating switch mechanism (6) is connected to the outlet end of the outdoor circuit breaker (1) through the current transformer (2), a top of the isolating switch mechanism (2) on a side away from the current transformer (1) is connected to a top of the isolating support (3), a bottom of the isolating switch mechanism (6) on the side away from the current transformer (2) is connected to a bottom of the isolating support (3), and the electric isolating driving mechanism (11) is installed on a bottom of the isolating switch mechanism (6).
Jie does not disclose: and an outdoor jet type fuse, wherein a top of the isolating switch mechanism on a side away from the current transformer is connected to a top of the outdoor jet type fuse, a bottom of the isolating switch mechanism on the side away from the current transformer is connected to a bottom of the outdoor jet type fuse.
Gong discloses an outdoor switchgear (Figs. 1 and 2), with an outdoor fuse (15), wherein a top of the isolating switch mechanism (6, 13) is connected to a top of the outdoor jet type fuse, a bottom of the isolating switch mechanism is connected to a bottom of the outdoor jet type fuse (15).
Furthermore, Zichu also discloses an outdoor switchgear (Fig. 1), with an outdoor fuse (700), wherein a top of the isolating switch mechanism (600) is connected to a top of the outdoor type fuse, a bottom of the isolating switch mechanism is connected to a bottom of the outdoor type fuse (700).
Furthermore, Bai teaches conventionality of the jet type electrical fuses (Figs. 1 and 2 and English abstract)
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in related arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified to Jie according to the combined teachings of Gong, Zichu, and Bai by providing an outdoor jet type fuse, wherein a top of the isolating switch mechanism on a side away from the current transformer is connected to a top of the outdoor jet type fuse, a bottom of the isolating switch mechanism on the side away from the current transformer is connected to a bottom of the outdoor jet type fuse, in order to predictably augment protection of the connected electrical line(s). Also, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined / modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination / modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Furthermore, regarding the preamble limitations (A smart outdoor switchgear for control and protection of connection and disconnection of a medium-voltage microgrid), these limitations are directed to the intended use of the switchgear, and inasmuch as it imparts any structure, and absent any evidence to the contrary, the switchgear of the Jie- Gong-Zichu-Bai combination is capable of acting in such a manner. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. See Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987). If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, as in the instant case, then it meets the claim. See In re Casey, 370 F.2d 576, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967) and In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 939, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). In view of the above, these intended use limitations have not been given patentable weight.
Regarding claim 10, Jie discloses that the outdoor circuit breaker comprises a pole (1) of the outdoor circuit breaker (Fig. 6) and a mechanism (12) of the outdoor circuit breaker; and the pole (1) of the outdoor circuit breaker is installed on the mechanism (12) of the outdoor circuit breaker, the mechanism (12) of the outdoor circuit breaker is installed on a side of the isolating switch mechanism (6), and an outlet end of the pole (1) of the outdoor circuit breaker is connected to the current transformer (2), (Figs. 1-5).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-9 and 11-14, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and subject to obviation of the objections as explained above.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 2-9, the limitations of claim 2 (“the isolating switch mechanism comprises a current transformer support column, a driving mechanism, a base frame, a knife switch support column, an isolating insulating board and a knife switch; and the base frame is set on a bottom of the outdoor circuit breaker and is on a same side as the current transformer, the current transformer support column and the knife switch support column are set on the base frame, the current transformer is installed on ends of the current transformer support column and the knife switch support column away from the base frame, an end of the knife switch is fixed on the knife switch support column, a middle section of the knife switch is connected to the driving mechanism by a pin shaft, an end of the driving mechanism away from the knife switch is connected to the base frame, the electric isolating driving mechanism is set on a side of the base frame, the electric isolating driving mechanism is connected to the driving mechanism, the electric isolating driving mechanism is configured to drive the driving mechanism and to realize opening and closing of the knife switch, and the isolating insulating board is installed between the base frame and the outdoor jet type fuse”) in combination with all of the limitations of claim 1, are believed to render the combined subject matter and claims 3-9 depended therefrom allowable over the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination.
Regarding claims 11-14, the limitations of claim 11 (“the outdoor jet type fuse comprises a contact assembly, a composite insulating umbrella skirt, a lower outlet connection port, an epoxy resin base and a sealing plate; and the composite insulating umbrella skirt is wrapped around an outer side of the contact assembly, the epoxy resin base is set on an end of the contact assembly, the epoxy resin base is connected to a bottom of a side of the isolating switch mechanism away from the current transformer, another end of the contact assembly away from the epoxy resin base is connected to a top of the side of the isolating switch mechanism away from the current transformer, the lower outlet connection port is set below the composite insulating umbrella skirt, a lower static contact is connected to the lower outlet connection port through a conductive tape, and the sealing plate is installed on a bottom of the epoxy resin base”) in combination with all of the limitations of claim 1, are believed to render the combined subject matter and claims 12-14 depended therefrom allowable over the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination.
Conclusion
The additional prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure, because of the teachings of various outdoor switchgears of similar design.
/Anatoly Vortman/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2835