Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Namura et al. (US 2021/0230345).
Regarding claims 1 and 7-9, Namura teaches a laminate for forming a synthetic leather (Namura para 71-73, 75) comprising a thermoplastic resin layer, which may be polyvinyl chloride (PVC) (Namura para 76-78), with a coating of a polyurethane resin (A) having a non-ionic group of ethylene oxide (i.e. an oxyethylene structure) (Namura para 28), a water (B) (Namura para 64), and an epoxy crosslinking agent (Namura para 69-70).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Namura et al. (US 2021/0230345), as applied to claim 1, above.
Regarding claim 6, Namura teaches a synthetic leather with an epoxy component as above for claim 1. Namura further teaches that the epoxy crosslinking agent may be included in an amount of 1.0-7.5 parts by mass (parts by weight or wt%) relative to the total amount of polyurethane. One of ordinary skill in the art would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the wt% taught by Namura overlaps with the instantly claimed wt% and therefore is considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portion of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art reference, see MPEP 2144.05.
Claims 2-5 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Namura et al. (US 2021/0230345), as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of Murahara et al. (US 2016/0289890).
Regarding claims 2-5 and 10-20, Namura teaches a synthetic leather with an epoxy component as above for claim 1. Namura further teaches that the epoxy crosslinking agent may be included in an amount of 1.0-7.5 parts by mass (parts by weight or wt%) relative to the total amount of polyurethane. One of ordinary skill in the art would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the wt% taught by Namura overlaps with the instantly claimed wt% and therefore is considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portion of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art reference, see MPEP 2144.05.
Namura is silent with respect to the epoxy (c) having a number average molecular weight of 200-1500, a number of functional groups from 2-6, no aromatic ring, and a chlorine content of 9% by mass or lower.
Namura and Murahara are related in the field of synthetic leathers formed from polyurethanes using epoxies as a cross-linking agent. Murahara teaches the use of resorcinol diglycidyl ether, neopentyl glycol diglycidyl ether, 1,6-hexanediol diglycidyl ether, glycerol polyglycidyl ether, hydrogenated bisphenol A diglycidyl ether, trimethylolpropane polyglycidyl ether, pentaerythritol polyglycidyl ether, and polypropylene glycol diglycidyl ether (Murahara para 129, 137), all of which are the same as utilized by Applicant, for example at paragraph 40 of the As-Filed application. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select one of these epoxies as taught by Murahara for the epoxy of Namura because the epoxies of Murahara are known effective cross-linking agents for polyurethane in the field of synthetic leathers.
Further, as these epoxies are the same as utilized by Applicant, they would be expected to possess the same features and properties as claimed, such the number average molecular weight being 200-1500, a number of functional groups from 2-6, no aromatic rings, and chlorine content of 9% by mass or lower. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977), see MPEP 2112.01.
Conclusion
/LAURA B FIGG/Examiner, Art Unit 1781 1/7/26