Status of Claims
Applicant’s amendments dated 4/13/26 have been entered. Claim 1 has been amended. Claims 5, 13, and 14 stand cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 10-12, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Namura et al. (US 2021/0230345) and further in view of Murahara et al. (US 2016/0289890).
Regarding claims 1-4, 10-12, and 15-20, Namura teaches a laminate for forming a synthetic leather (Namura para 71-73, 75) comprising a thermoplastic resin layer, which may be polyvinyl chloride (PVC) (Namura para 76-78), with a coating of a polyurethane resin (A) having a non-ionic group of ethylene oxide (i.e. an oxyethylene structure) (Namura para 28), a water (B) (Namura para 64), and an epoxy crosslinking agent (Namura para 69-70).
Namura further teaches that the epoxy crosslinking agent may be included in an amount of 1.0-7.5 parts by mass (parts by weight or wt%) relative to the total amount of polyurethane. One of ordinary skill in the art would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the wt% taught by Namura overlaps with the instantly claimed wt% and therefore is considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portion of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art reference, see MPEP 2144.05.
Namura is silent with respect to the epoxy (c) having a number average molecular weight of 200-1500, a number of functional groups from 2-6, no aromatic ring, and a chlorine content of 9% by mass or lower.
Namura and Murahara are related in the field of synthetic leathers formed from polyurethanes using epoxies as a cross-linking agent. Murahara teaches the use of resorcinol diglycidyl ether, neopentyl glycol diglycidyl ether, 1,6-hexanediol diglycidyl ether, glycerol polyglycidyl ether, hydrogenated bisphenol A diglycidyl ether, trimethylolpropane polyglycidyl ether, pentaerythritol polyglycidyl ether, and polypropylene glycol diglycidyl ether (Murahara para 129, 137), all of which are the same as utilized by Applicant, for example at paragraph 40 of the As-Filed application. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select one of these epoxies as taught by Murahara for the epoxy of Namura because the epoxies of Murahara are known effective cross-linking agents for polyurethane in the field of synthetic leathers.
Further, as these epoxies are the same as utilized by Applicant, they would be expected to possess the same features and properties as claimed, such the number average molecular weight being 200-1500, a number of functional groups from 2-6, no aromatic rings, and chlorine content of 9% by mass or lower. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977), see MPEP 2112.01.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Namura et al. in view of Murahara, as applied to claim 1, above.
Regarding claim 6, Namura in view of Murahara teaches a synthetic leather with an epoxy component as above for claim 1. Namura further teaches that the epoxy crosslinking agent may be included in an amount of 1.0-7.5 parts by mass (parts by weight or wt%) relative to the total amount of polyurethane. One of ordinary skill in the art would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the wt% taught by Namura overlaps with the instantly claimed wt% and therefore is considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portion of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art reference, see MPEP 2144.05.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding the 102 rejection of claim 1, see Remarks pages 5 and 6, filed 4/13/26, with respect to amended claim 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 102 rejection of claim 1 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 4/46/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 6-8 that Namura in view of Murahara does not teach the claimed epoxy crosslinking agent with less than 9% chlorine content. Applicant asserts as part of this that Murahara only teaches classes of epoxy crosslinking agents, and therefore does not disclose any epoxy crosslinking agents which possess the claimed amount chlorine. Applicant also recites, however, the exact list of specific compounds Murahara suggests using, which are specific examples and not classes, on page 7.
Therefore, the Examiner respectfully disagrees with the apparent argument that the same named compounds as used by Applicant wouldn’t intrinsically meet the claimed amount of chlorine, particularly as none contain chlorine, unlike the polyvinyl chloride that may form the thermoplastic resin layer. Additionally, selecting options from a discreet list, such as the one in Murahara is not considered a burden for one in the art, rather Murahara may be considered to explicitly teach an embodiment which uses each of the taught crosslinking agents.
Applicant argues on pages 8-9 that the Examiner’s finding of inherency when the same materials were used is legally insufficient.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The art utilizes the same materials as claimed and as taught by Applicant in their specification as being suitable for the claimed use. Further, the epoxy materials listed by Murahara do not contain chlorine. This is inherent, intrinsic, to the materials themselves. Absent a showing that a nonexistent element has been included, there is no reasonable expectation that it would exist within the same materials used.
Applicant argues on page 9 that the chlorine content is not arbitrary and provides a distinct advantage.
The Examiner acknowledges this argument, however, absent a showing that chlorine would be present in compounds that do not possess it, this argument is not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.B.F/Examiner, Art Unit 1781 6/25/26
/ALICIA J WEYDEMEYER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781